Disclosure: Top10VPN is editorially independent. We may earn commissions if you buy a VPN through links on our site.

AzireVPN Review

 0% 
No user reviews
AzireVPN screenshot
Headshot of Top10VPN.com Site Editor Callum Tennent

Callum oversees how we test and review VPN services. He's a member of the IAPP, and his advice about VPNs has featured in Forbes and the Internet Society. Read full bio

Ask Callum about AzireVPN

Our Verdict

7.57.5/10
How is this calculated?

Our overall rating is reached by combining several subcategories. The subcategories are weighted as follows:

  • Logging & Jurisdiction: 30%
  • Speed & Reliability: 25%
  • Security & Features: 20%
  • Streaming: 10%
  • Torrenting: 5%
  • Ease of Use: 5%
  • Support: 5%

See our full methodology in how we review VPNs.

AzireVPN comes close to top tier VPNs. It has a no-logs policy, superb download speeds, no location data leaks and it works with Netflix. It's also really cheap. There's no kill switch, though, and the app aren't very easy to use.

Ranked #24 out of 68

AzireVPN Category Ratings

  • 7.57.5/10
  • 5.85.8/10
  • 9.99.9/10
  • 7.27.2/10
  • 6.46.4/10
  • 4.24.2/10
  • 7.57.5/10
  • 6.96.9/10
  • 6.86.8/10
  • 77.0/10

AzireVPN Pros & Cons

Pros

  1. Excellent no-logs policy
  2. No IP/DNS/WebRTC leaks
  3. Fast on nearby VPN servers
  4. Currently works with US Netflix

Cons

  1. No VPN kill switch
  2. Very small VPN server network
  3. No live chat support
  4. Custom apps are a little clunky

AzireVPN promises to help users avoid censorship, interception, and internet regulations. It certainly talks the talk, but can it walk the walk? Our thorough VPN tests reveal all.

In this review we set out to answer all these questions (and more):

  • Is AzireVPN as safe as it says it is?
  • How fast is it?
  • Does AzireVPN work with Netflix?
  • Can you torrent on AzireVPN?
  • What is WireGuard?

Before we dive in, here’s a quick look at AzireVPN’s pros and cons.

AzireVPN Key Data

Data CapUnlimited
Speed86Mbps
Logging PolicyNo Logs
Data LeaksNo
JurisdictionSweden (14-Eyes Member)
Servers61
IP AddressesNot disclosed
Countries17
US NetflixYes
TorrentingUnlimited
Works in ChinaNo
SupportEmail & Online Resources Only
Cheapest Price$3.61 over 24 months
Official WebsiteAzireVPN.com

A trustworthy VPN with a great logging policy

Logging & Jurisdiction

9.99.9/10
How is this calculated?

We dissect the logging and privacy policies of every VPN. A VPN should never log:

  • Your real IP address
  • Connection timestamps
  • DNS requests

A base of operations outside of 14-Eyes or EU jurisdiction is preferable.

Despite being registered in Sweden, AzireVPN has a strict zero-logs policy. This is exactly what you should expect from a privacy focused VPN.

AzireVPN was founded in 2012 and is owned by Swedish company Netbouncer AB.

Linus Larsson is the co-founder and CEO of the company; he also co-founded Nessla AB, which provides web building services.

The Netbouncer AB office is located in central Stockholm, and AzireVPN encourages users to visit the team, providing a full address on the website. This is really uncommon in the VPN industry and demonstrates AzireVPN’s commitment to transparency.

Speaking of which, AzireVPN publishes a regular warrant canary to assure users that “up to this point, no warrants have been served, nor have any searches or seizures taken place at any Netbouncer AB location or involving any Netbouncer AB personnel.”

Having said that, AzireVPN’s Swedish jurisdiction is a negative for privacy – it’s part of the 14-Eyes intelligence-sharing alliance and is a member of the EU, which also engages in data sharing.

In order to find out what that means for you and the rest of AzireVPN’s users, read on.

Logging Policy

Despite AzireVPN’s incorporation in a not-so-privacy-friendly nation, its strict no-logs policy more than makes up for it.

AzireVPN is very clear that it does not log:

  • Online activities
  • IP addresses
  • Timestamps
  • Number of active sessions

So even if the Swedish authorities requested user information, AzireVPN couldn’t hand any VPN logs over.

In fact, AzireVPN’s policy says that it “will never share or sell your Personal Data with any third parties.”

The VPN service does monitor its servers 24/7 for “uptime, general usage, and latencies,” but this can’t be tied back to an individual user.

You can trust AzireVPN with your privacy.

Fast on nearby VPN servers, mediocre across longer distances

Speed & Reliability

7.27.2/10
How is this calculated?

Speed ratings are calculated using upload speeds, download speeds, and ping (latency).

We test average speeds regularly using a dedicated 100Mbps connection in London, UK. Local download speed is considered the most important factor.

AzireVPN is a fairly fast VPN - fast enough for HD streaming and online gaming. It isn't as fast as the best VPNs, though.

AzireVPN is neither really fast, nor really slow.

On same-country connections, performance barely dropped from our normal internet speeds, which is great, but connecting to VPN servers located further away, such as UK to US, was much less impressive.

Local Speed Test results before using AzireVPN:

  • Download Speed: 91.43Mbps
  • Upload Speed: 98.31Mbps
  • Ping: 7ms

Local Speed Test results with AzireVPN:

  • Download Speed: 85.8Mbps
  • Upload Speed: 94.29Mbps
  • Ping: 7ms

Download speed loss when AzireVPN is running: 6%

As you can see, ping times were pretty quick, which is a plus for gamers.

Here are the download and upload speeds we recorded to global VPN server locations:

  • USA: 27Mbps (download) & 54Mbps (upload)
  • The Netherlands: 61Mbps (download) & 76Mbps (upload)
  • Canada: 20Mbps (download) & 8Mbps (upload)

If you’re located near one of AzireVPN’s servers you shouldn’t worry about speeds, but if you have to or want to connect to far away destinations, it’ll be quick enough for browsing and light streaming only.

If speed is your number one priority then you need to take a look at the fastest VPNs according to our testing.

Limited server locations

Server Locations

6.46.4/10
How is this calculated?

The global spread and coverage of the VPN server network is the most important factor here.

We also consider the number of city-level servers, plus how many IP addresses are maintained.

This rating does not directly contribute to the Overall Rating, but instead makes up a portion of the Security & Features rating.

AzireVPN underperforms on its server locations. With the exception of it's Thailand server, the network is restricted to North America and Europe.

Globe with a blue flag
17Countries
Image of a city landscape
9Cities
Image of a pink marker
Undisclosed number ofIP Addresses

Despite being over 10 years old, AzireVPN’s server network is very small.

AzireVPN has just 32 VPN servers in eight countries:

  • Canada
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Spain
  • Thailand (WireGuard protocol only)
  • Sweden – two cities (Gothenburg is WireGuard protocol only)
  • UK
  • US

Screenshot of AzireVPN server locations list

As frustrating as this may be if you’re located in other parts of the world, there’s a good reason for Azire’s tiny network.

AzireVPN owns all of its hardware, in all of its locations, including bare metal dedicated servers and switches. The AzireVPN team personally brings the hardware to the desired location and installs it. There are no rented virtual servers, either.

We love Azire’s transparency surrounding its server installation process and tight security requirements, which you can read all about on its website. It’s one of the best approaches we’ve seen from any VPN.

Decent streaming options

Streaming

7.57.5/10
How is this calculated?

Streaming is rated by the number of different services unlocked, how many regional libraries are viewable, and how consistently the VPN can access them.

Netflix, BBC iPlayer, HBO Max, DAZN, and Amazon Prime Video are all tested on a weekly basis.

AzireVPN worked to unblock both US Netflix and BBC iPlayer in our recent tests, but it's been unreliable in the past.

While we could watch US Netflix and BBC iPlayer during our latest tests, AzireVPN has been unreliable in the past.

The issue is Azire’s tiny VPN server network. Both Netflix and BBC iPlayer – as well as Hulu, Disney+, Amazon Prime Video, and Sky – are really effective at cracking down on VPN services.

These streaming platforms block IP addresses they deem to belong to a VPN service and only once the VPN brings out new IP addresses can users access their favorite content.

AzireVPN having such a small server network and a fairly limited range of IP addresses means that it’s just not geared towards unblocking streaming content. Its focus is very much on privacy instead.

Is streaming your favorite shows and movies from all over the world your priority? Consider one of our top-rated VPNs for streaming instead.

No kill switch

Torrenting

5.85.8/10
How is this calculated?

We calculate the average download bitrate of every VPN using a bespoke torrenting setup.

Testing also factors in the percentage of servers which permit P2P, plus useful features like port forwarding.

AzireVPN is a poor choice for torrenting. It's P2P speeds are slow and it doesn't include an all important kill switch.

AzireVPN does permit P2P traffic on all of its servers, but it’s still not a great VPN for torrenters.

While AzireVPN is a very private VPN, it lacks a VPN kill switch, which is an essential feature for torrenting.

Without it, your IP address and online activities could be exposed to your ISP should the VPN connection temporarily drop.

The P2P speeds were also week in our tests: down from 10 MiB/s without a VPN to just 3.4 MiB/s with Azire connected.

Take a look at our ExpressVPN review if you want to see what an ideal VPN for torrenting looks like.

Inadequate solution for China

Bypassing Censorship

4.24.2/10
How is this calculated?

Our remote-access server in Shanghai, China routinely tests if a VPN can beat restrictions and access a free, open internet. Obfuscation technologies and nearby servers are also a contributing factor.

This rating does not directly contribute to the Overall Rating, but instead makes up a portion of the Security & Features rating.

AzireVPN didn't work when we attempted to use it from out Shanghai server.

AzireVPN is unable to bypass the Great Firewall of China.

China aggressively blocks VPN connections and without special obfuscation tools it’s unlikely that AzireVPN will be able to fly under the radar.

There’s also the issue of Azire’s tiny VPN server network, which would lead to poor speeds as users attempt to connect over long distances to the nearest server.

If you’re based in or travelling to the region then try one of the highest-rated VPNs for China instead.

It might work in other censored regions, though.

Custom VPN apps for Windows, MacOS & Android

Device Compatibility

How is device compatibility rated?

A quality VPN should maintain functional, fully-featured applications and extensions for as many platforms and devices as possible.

This does not directly contribute to the Overall Rating, but instead makes up a portion of the Ease of Use rating.

AzireVPN includes apps for all popular operating systems including Mac, PC, iOS, Android, Linux, and is router-compatibile.

Apps

  1. Windows Logo
    Windows
  2. Mac Logo
    Mac
  3. iOS Logo
    iOS
  4. Android Logo
    Android
  5. Linux Logo
    Linux
  6. Router Logo
    Router

AzireVPN builds custom VPN apps for:

  • Windows
  • MacOS
  • Android
  • Linux

You may have noticed a glaring omission there, and it’s not that we forgot it. There really is no AzireVPN app for iOS (though one is currently in beta testing) – but you can still set it up manually on your iPhone if you really want to.

There are no browser extensions available, either, but you can use AzireVPN on up to five devices at once under one subscription.

It’s worth noting that the Android app is WireGuard-only. While we generally recommend OpenVPN, Wireguard is fast becoming an industry standard.

We talk more about that a bit further down the page.

Games Consoles & Streaming Devices

  1. AppleTV Logo
    AppleTV
  2. Amazon Fire TV Logo
    Amazon Fire TV
  3. Chromecast Logo
    Chromecast
  4. Nintendo Logo
    Nintendo
  5. PlayStation Logo
    PlayStation
  6. Roku Logo
    Roku
  7. Xbox Logo
    Xbox

While AzireVPN doesn’t provide any custom apps outside of those listed above, it is compatible with various router types – OpenWRT, DD-WRT, and pfSense.

If you install the VPN software at router level you’ll be able to protect all internet-connected devices in your home.

That means you can protect your Amazon Fire TV Stick, Apple TV, Xbox, PlayStation, and anything else connected to your home router.

Strong encryption, but the missing kill switch is inexcusable

Security & Features

7.57.5/10
How is this calculated?

Top-rated VPNs offer OpenVPN or WireGuard protocols, AES-256 encryption, and a functional kill switch. We also consider additional security features and the global spread of VPN servers.

AzireVPN is properly encrypted with industry standard AES-256 encryption, but it desperately needs a kill switch to safeguard this security.

Protocols
  1. OpenVPN (TCP/UDP)
  2. WireGuard
Encryption
  1. AES-256
Security
  1. First-party DNS
  2. Supports TCP Port 443
Advanced features
  1. SOCKS

AzireVPN goes above and beyond to make its server network as secure as possible, but the actual VPN apps are lacking in one fundamental security feature: a VPN kill switch.

This essential feature ensures that none of your personal information is leaked in the event of a sudden drop in the VPN connection.

AzireVPN has failed to include a kill switch in its apps. The VPN service does so much else right, but we can’t overlook the omission of such an important tool.

AzireVPN uses OpenVPN for both the Windows and MacOS apps, which is our preferred VPN protocol. It’s open-source, super secure, and well-tested.

AES-256 is the cipher that AzireVPN uses alongside OpenVPN to encrypt internet traffic, and that’s widely considered as good as it gets.

AzireVPN also provides WireGuard support, which not many VPN services currently do.

WireGuard is a new VPN protocol that aims to be faster and more secure than the current standards, like OpenVPN, but it’s still in a heavy stage of development.

This means that WireGuard should be treated as experimental only. Currently AzireVPN’s custom Android app runs exclusively on WireGuard, but you can manually configure the protocol on MacOS, iOS, and Linux devices too.

AzireVPN is also one of the only VPN services to provide IPv6 support, which prevents IPv6 leaks.

We didn’t experience any IP, DNS, or WebRTC leaks in our tests, so the technology is certainly all working:

Screenshot of AzireVPN leak test results

Here are AzireVPN’s leak test results. We test from the UK and you can see that there are no leaks.

If it weren’t for the lack of VPN kill switch, AzireVPN would be a really safe and secure VPN service.

System tray app with minimal settings

Ease of Use

6.96.9/10
How is this calculated?

This rating mainly consists of the intuitiveness of setup and everyday use.

Device or platform compatibility and customization options are also a factor.

AzireVPN’s custom apps are pretty simple to use, even if the user experience isn’t as smooth as we’d like.

How to Install & Set Up AzireVPN

You can download AzireVPN’s apps directly from its website, then it’s just a case of clicking through the installation prompts.

The desktop apps don’t have a separate login screen, rather you log in once you’ve selected a VPN server.

You then have to re-log in each time you want to connect to a new server, which becomes frustrating quickly. The VPN app doesn’t remember your password, either.

Once you click ‘Connect’ the app minimizes to your system tray. The tray app is very minimal and doesn’t even display which server location you’re connected, let alone your new IP address.

There is no settings menu, either, and the only configurable option is choosing between a NAT IP address, which is shared with other users, or a public IP address, which is unique to you for the duration of your session.

AzireVPN needs a lot of work before it’s as easy to use as some of our highest-scoring VPNs. Even a complete technophobe will find IPVanish easy to use, for example.

Good email support & some basic online resources

Customer Support

6.86.8/10
How is this calculated?

This rating is based on our assessment of each VPN’s:

  • Email support
  • Live chat support
  • Online resources

Not every VPN offers all of these, and they often vary in quality and response time.

AzireVPN offers email support and online FAQs. Currently it lacks the live chat support offered by top-tier services.

EmailYes
Online ResourcesYes

AzireVPN doesn’t have live chat, which automatically puts it below a lot of the best VPN services when it comes to customer support.

There are some resources available on the website, including some setup guides and basic FAQs. There aren’t any troubleshooting tips, though.

If you do you run into any issues or have more technical questions, there is email support.

While the replies are fairly slow we found the responses to be detailed and helpful – it’s a shame you have to wait for them.

Very cheap, even on short-term plans

Price & Value

77.0/10
How is this calculated?

Price & Value for Money receives a rating, but is not factored into our Overall Rating. We believe the reader should decide what is or isn’t a reasonable price.

A good rating here isn’t just based on how cheap the VPN is, but for the value it offers overall.

AzireVPN is a super affordable VPN. The service's limitations prevent it from being one of the best value VPNs, though.

Price & Value for Money Rating: 7.0/10

AzireVPN is very cheap on both short and long plans.

All prices are given in Euros on AzireVPN’s website, and the monthly plan costs just €5 (~$5.55), which is one of the cheapest we’ve ever seen for a monthly rolling subscription.

There aren’t big savings to be had for subscribing to a longer plan, though – you’ll get 35% off for the two-year plan and 25% of the yearly one.

  1. Monthly

    US$3.24/mo

    Billed $3.25 every month
  2. 12 months

    US$4.16/mo

    Billed $49.92 every 12 months
    Save 25%
  3. 2 years

    US$3.84/mo

    Billed $92.16 every 2 years
    Save 35%

All plans have 7-day money-back guarantee

Payment & Refund Options

  1. American Express logo
    American Express
  2. Mastercard logo
    Mastercard
  3. PayPal logo
    PayPal
  4. Visa logo
    Visa

AzireVPN accepts a range of payment methods including:

  • Credit and debit cards
  • PayPal
  • Cryptocurrencies including Bitcoin, Litecoin, and Monero
  • Cash

There’s a seven-day money-back guarantee in case you change your mind. However, this is not available for the one-month package or for those who paid via cryptocurrency.

Do We Recommend AzireVPN?

The Bottom Line

Not really. AzireVPN is a very private VPN that clearly makes an effort to uphold high standards of server security, but it still lacks some basic features.

The server network is very small, the speeds as underwhelming, and there’s no VPN kill switch, which brings down the level of security offered.

It is a good VPN if you’d like to experiment with WireGuard, but you can find a better provider for everyday use – we recommend starting with the two recommended below.

Additional research by Liam Mullally

Alternatives to AzireVPN

CyberGhost

CyberGhost

9.29.2/10

CyberGhost is even cheaper than AzireVPN on its longest plan, and it’s great for both streaming and torrenting. It maintains a no-logs policy and has 24/7 live chat support for all your burning questions. Read CyberGhost review

Private Internet Access logo

Private Internet Access

8.88.8/10

If you have a need for speed, Private Internet Access is one of the fastest VPNs around. It’s also super private, and comes with all the necessary security features. Read Private Internet Access review

About the Author


  • Headshot of Top10VPN.com Site Editor Callum Tennent

    Callum Tennent

    Callum oversees how we test and review VPN services. He's a member of the IAPP, and his advice about VPNs has featured in Forbes and the Internet Society. Read full bio


User Feedback for AzireVPN

  • 0 user reviews
  • 0 questions answered