Disclosure: Top10VPN is editorially independent. We may earn commissions if you buy a VPN through links on our site.

DotVPN Review

 0% 
No user reviews
DotVPN screenshot
Headshot of Top10VPN.com Site Editor Callum Tennent

Callum oversees how we test and review VPN services. He's a member of the IAPP, and his advice about VPNs has featured in Forbes and the Internet Society. Read full bio

Ask Callum about DotVPN

Our Verdict

5.45.4/10
How is this calculated?

Our overall rating is reached by combining several subcategories. The subcategories are weighted as follows:

  • Logging & Jurisdiction: 30%
  • Speed & Reliability: 25%
  • Security & Features: 20%
  • Streaming: 10%
  • Torrenting: 5%
  • Ease of Use: 5%
  • Support: 5%

See our full methodology in how we review VPNs.

DotVPN is a mobile VPN for android and ios devices with a sensible privacy policy. It is pretty fast but lacks proper security on iOS and has no kill switch on any platform. It also lacks P2P support, cannot unblock streaming sites, and offers very few server locations. We recommend avoiding it, especially on iOS.

Ranked #46 out of 68

DotVPN Category Ratings

  • 0.20.2/10
  • 00.0/10
  • 7.97.9/10
  • 8.68.6/10
  • 6.26.2/10
  • 4.14.1/10
  • 3.93.9/10
  • 5.25.2/10
  • 3.13.1/10
  • 66.0/10

DotVPN Pros & Cons

Pros

  1. Good privacy policy
  2. Very fast speeds
  3. Simple pricing plans
  4. Some decent security features

Cons

  1. Very small server list
  2. No streaming access
  3. Torrenting not allowed
  4. Can’t tackle censorship
  5. Some questionable security
  6. Better customer support required

DotVPN claims to offer a “better way to VPN,” but what does that mean? With millions of users choosing more popular and well established VPN brands, could this claim really be true?

Are we overlooking a hidden gem in the VPN market? We wanted to find out, and address the thoughts and questions that prospective users are asking, like:

  • How good is DotVPN?
  • What does DotVPN do?
  • Does it have a browser extension?
  • How do you use DotVPN?

We’ll answer those questions and more in this DotVPN review. But first let’s take a quick look at a summary of DotVPN’s pros and cons:
 

DotVPN Key Data

Data CapUnlimited
Speed47Mbps
Logging PolicyNo Logs
Data LeaksNo
JurisdictionHong Kong (Links with China)
ServersNot disclosed
IP AddressesNot disclosed
Countries12
US NetflixNo
TorrentingNo
Works in ChinaNo
SupportMessage Service
Cheapest Price$2.90 over 12 Months
Official WebsiteDotVPN.com

Logs IP addresses for 24 hours

Logging & Jurisdiction

7.97.9/10
How is this calculated?

We dissect the logging and privacy policies of every VPN. A VPN should never log:

  • Your real IP address
  • Connection timestamps
  • DNS requests

A base of operations outside of 14-Eyes or EU jurisdiction is preferable.

DotVPN has a generally strong privacy policy. It doesn't log any activity or connection timestamps. It does keep a record of your real IP address for 24 hours, though, which is bad practice.

We’ve been able to find a few facts about who operates DotVPN.

“DotVPN” is copyrighted by Smart Security Limited. 

The address on its website is listed as Unit 19, 7/F., One Midtown, No.11 Hoi Shing Road, New Territories, Tsuen Wan, Hong Kong.

Although Hong Kong has an independent jurisdiction and isn’t subject to any data retention laws, in real terms it has a very close relationship with the worst country in the world for privacy: China.

It’s unlikely DotVPN would not respond to data sharing requests coming from the Chinese government, although from a legal perspective there is no official obligation to do so.

This makes Hong Kong a tricky place to base a VPN. It’s even attempted to ban some VPNs under executive order. With so many countries in the world, and so many VPNs to choose from, there’s no need to settle for a location you’re uncomfortable with.

Logging Policy

DotVPN’s privacy policy is readable within the app, which is good to see. Not many VPNs offer that.

We trawled over it and will say this: it’s generally a good privacy policy. Here is all the information collected should you use DotVPN:

  • Email address & password
  • IP address (retained for 24 hours)
  • Information about payment dates
  • Data from tech support or comments on the website for up to two years

Now, we know what you’re thinking, and naturally we were worried when we read that DotVPN collects your IP address, too. But overall this is actually a very sensible and reasonable privacy policy that poses no threat to your privacy.

Privacy Policy

Excerpt from DotVPN Privacy Policy

It’s very minimal, and the temporary IP address storage is “to prevent spam, fraud or other abuse of [the] site and [its] services.” This is fair enough, and while we’d obviously like to see no IP address logging whatsoever, there’s nothing it could be used in tandem with to identify you.

Very fast connection speeds

Speed & Reliability

8.68.6/10
How is this calculated?

Speed ratings are calculated using upload speeds, download speeds, and ping (latency).

We test average speeds regularly using a dedicated 100Mbps connection in London, UK. Local download speed is considered the most important factor.

DotVPN is surprisingly fast on local connections, and ok on longer distance ones.

We got some impressive speeds when using DotVPN. Check it out:

Local Speed Test results before using DotVPN:

  • Download Speed: 52Mbps
  • Upload Speed: 55Mbps
  • Ping: 3ms

Local Speed Test results with DotVPN:

  • Download Speed: 47Mbps
  • Upload Speed: 46Mbps
  • Ping: 46ms

Download speed loss when DotVPN is running: 10%

A speed loss of 10% on local connections is good. You probably won’t even notice the difference when DotVPN is running compared to your normal internet.

We went further to test its speed for international connections. Would it perform just as well?

From our testing lab in the UK, we measured DotVPN’s average speeds connecting out to various locations worldwide. These were the results:

  • USA: 42.29Mbps (download) & 28.33Mbps (upload)
  • Germany: 42.56Mbps (download) & 45.36Mbps (upload)
  • Singapore: 5.1Mbps (download) & 9.17Mbps (upload)

We’re impressed: these scores are pretty good, too. Particularly when connecting to the US, which is picking up speeds as fast as a connection to Germany despite the extra distance.

Singapore is disappointing but not surprising, considering how far away it is – poor speeds are common.

All in all, DotVPN is a surprisingly speedy VPN, not too far behind some of the best.

If you’d like to know how we came to these scores, we talk all about how we test VPNs here.

Small server list for a paid VPN

Server Locations

6.26.2/10
How is this calculated?

The global spread and coverage of the VPN server network is the most important factor here.

We also consider the number of city-level servers, plus how many IP addresses are maintained.

This rating does not directly contribute to the Overall Rating, but instead makes up a portion of the Security & Features rating.

Twelve server locations covering North America, Europe and East Asia. No server coverage for Australia, South America, Africa or India.

Globe with a blue flag
12Countries
Image of a city landscape
12Cities
Image of a pink marker
Undisclosed number ofIP Addresses

DotVPN claims to have 700 servers on its website, but once you download the app you’ll see that it has servers in just 12 different countries, with next to no choice for anywhere outside of North America or Europe.

The only servers outside of these continents are located in Singapore and Japan – we were incredibly surprised to see no DotVPN servers in Australia or South America. Africa is also lacking in any coverage.

DotVPN Server Locations Ad

There are no city-level servers, which will be frustrating if you live in a larger country like the US, as it means you could end up connecting to a server over a thousand miles away. It’d be great to see a choice between East and West coast at some point.

The browser extensions offer more server locations (30 countries) but these are only proxies and nowhere near as secure as the mobile apps.

Not recommended for streaming Netflix

Streaming

0.20.2/10
How is this calculated?

Streaming is rated by the number of different services unlocked, how many regional libraries are viewable, and how consistently the VPN can access them.

Netflix, BBC iPlayer, HBO Max, DAZN, and Amazon Prime Video are all tested on a weekly basis.

It’s unfortunate that DotVPN is absolutely useless for streaming. We tested it for Netflix and BBC iPlayer and had zero success, although it does work with Disney+. It’s been this way for a long time, so stay away if you want a VPN for streaming.

DotVPN unblocks both Disney+ and All4, but we havn’t seen it working with any other streaming services.

We’d like to see DotVPN make moves to work with BBC iPlayer and US Netflix, as well as Amazon Prime Video.

As it stands, that’s not the case and there seems to be little indication that DotVPN are working diligently on it.

P2P traffic blocked

Torrenting

00.0/10
How is this calculated?

We calculate the average download bitrate of every VPN using a bespoke torrenting setup.

Testing also factors in the percentage of servers which permit P2P, plus useful features like port forwarding.

Our P2P tests found torrenting is blocked on every single DotVPN server.

Torrenting is unavailable or banned on all of DotVPNs servers, which is stated on its website: “DotVPN does not support torrents and P2P connections.”

Unsurprisingly then, DotVPN was not able to download torrents in our P2P tests.

DotVPN does go on to say that “this feature will certainly be added, although we cannot provide the exact date.”

This has been the service’s stance for several years now, so if you’re signing up to DotVPN hoping it’ll introduce torrenting sometime soon we say don’t hold your breath.

Look elsewhere to tackle censorship

Bypassing Censorship

4.14.1/10
How is this calculated?

Our remote-access server in Shanghai, China routinely tests if a VPN can beat restrictions and access a free, open internet. Obfuscation technologies and nearby servers are also a contributing factor.

This rating does not directly contribute to the Overall Rating, but instead makes up a portion of the Security & Features rating.

DotVPN doesn't include any obfuscation tools, so it most likely won't work in highly consored regions like China.

The fact that DotVPN has no sort of additional obfuscation tools means it’s not a reliable option for use in China or other high-censorship countries.

DotVPN states in the support section that it always tries its best to overcome any sort of online blocks, but “unfortunately, in some cases, to overcome the blockage is not possible.”

There are more reliable options out there that do a much better job in China – we like Astrill.

Mobile VPN with some extensions available

Device Compatibility

How is device compatibility rated?

A quality VPN should maintain functional, fully-featured applications and extensions for as many platforms and devices as possible.

This does not directly contribute to the Overall Rating, but instead makes up a portion of the Ease of Use rating.

DotVPN is a mobile VPN for iOS and Android only.

Apps

  1. iOS Logo
    iOS
  2. Android Logo
    Android

DotVPN is available on Android and iOS. It’s primarily a mobile VPN, but it also has a Chrome add-on. It claims to be developing a desktop app for Windows and MacOS. It told us mid-2019 for a desktop release, but it still hasn’t arrived as of October 2021.

As we’ve already seen, DotVPN throws a lot of promises around about future developments, but we’ve seen no progress since we’ve been monitoring it – which is a while now.

DotVPN Apps & Services

Browser Extensions

  1. Chrome Logo
    Chrome
  2. Firefox Logo
    Firefox

DotVPN has browser extensions available to install on Google Chrome, Opera, and Mozilla Firefox.

It’s important to remember that these aren’t full VPNs, but proxies that work to spoof your IP with no additional security to speak of.

Any other programs or background services (such as Netflix or Spotify) will operate outside of the VPN tunnel.

The potential dangers of using a VPN browser extension

For everyday web browsing an extension is handy, though, and it certainly doesn’t hurt to see DotVPN include one.

No kill switch

Security & Features

3.93.9/10
How is this calculated?

Top-rated VPNs offer OpenVPN or WireGuard protocols, AES-256 encryption, and a functional kill switch. We also consider additional security features and the global spread of VPN servers.

DotVPN uses OpenVPN on Android but the less secure IPSec on iPhone. Neither devices include a kill switch, which is a big security oversight.

Protocols
  1. L2TP/IPSec
  2. OpenVPN (TCP/UDP)
  3. SSL VPN
Encryption
  1. AES-256
Security
  1. None
Advanced features
  1. Ad Blocker
  2. TOR via VPN Server

The level of security on offer with DotVPN depends on which version of the software you use.

The Android app offers the highest level of protection, using the OpenVPN protocol and AES-256 encryption.

Its iOS app comes with the same level of encryption but uses the less secure IPSec protocol.

IPSec should be secure when used in union with AES-256 encryption, but it’s vulnerable to hacker attacks and is potentially compromised by the NSA.

For this reason, we recommend using DotVPN with Android, should you have the choice.

DotVPN has a number of toggle options in the app, including ‘Tracking Protection’, ‘Block Analytics’, ‘Firewall’ and ‘AdBlock’. It’s nice to see such features, especially when they can be so easily turned on and off.

DotVPN also claims to use its own DNS servers, an investment which helps to protect users privacy more considerably. More so, DotVPN lets you browse your favorite .onion websites with Tor via VPN server.

We didn’t detect any DNS or IPv6 leaks when using DotVPN, either.

There is, however, no kill switch. This presents a big red flag in terms of security, as a kill switch prevents your true IP from being revealed should your internet connection cease working for whatever random reason (and we all know it happens).

Browser Extensions

DotVPN’s browser extensions use 4096-bit RSA encryption, which has been hacked multiple times. DotVPN don’t seem to have got that memo as it promotes itself as using “stronger encryption than our competitors or even governments use.”

It also creates a tunnel using SSL-proxy, which is somewhat outdated. This mix is bad for security, but great for speed. Just don’t expect it to fortify your device.

Think about using an extension if you just want to browse the web a bit more privately. Anything other than that and use the full DotVPN app.

Simple mobile applications

Ease of Use

5.25.2/10
How is this calculated?

This rating mainly consists of the intuitiveness of setup and everyday use.

Device or platform compatibility and customization options are also a factor.

DotVPN is clearly laid out but the apps lack functionality.

How to Install & Set Up DotVPN

DotVPN looks professional, with a well put together site that includes information about both the service and the company, with multiple corporate email addresses.

Its app is equally well put together, if slightly on the tech side for our liking. It’ll only take a few minutes before you’re used to it, though.

The settings menu is limited, though, allowing you to toggle on and off the security features and ad blockers.

There’s not a lot of customization but with that comes greater simplicity. It’s quite obvious how to connect and disconnect to secure servers – a foolproof experience.

 

Customer support is limited

Customer Support

3.13.1/10
How is this calculated?

This rating is based on our assessment of each VPN’s:

  • Email support
  • Live chat support
  • Online resources

Not every VPN offers all of these, and they often vary in quality and response time.

In app support can take over 24 hours before getting a response.

EmailYes
Online ResourcesYes

The customer support option in the app is made up of a simple subject and message box. You type in your problem and send the message – easy.

There is no FAQ available in the app, but you get a few on the website. These cover the basic issues, and there aren’t any setup guides for beginners.

There is no live chat available despite the promise of an ‘around-the-clock’ help desk.

We waited for 24 hours before we got a response to our message.

The very best providers (like IPVanish) do a much better job of helping their customers. DotVPN has some work to do.

Simple, affordable pricing

Price & Value

66.0/10
How is this calculated?

Price & Value for Money receives a rating, but is not factored into our Overall Rating. We believe the reader should decide what is or isn’t a reasonable price.

A good rating here isn’t just based on how cheap the VPN is, but for the value it offers overall.

DotVPN is cheaper than most VPN services, however it also lacks many of the features of a top tier VPN.

DotVPN has a very simple pricing structure, which is refreshing to see.

You can either pay monthly or annually.

A single month is more expensive at $4.99 per month, but that’s still extremely cheap for a single month of VPN.

  1. Monthly

    US$4.99/mo

    Billed $4.99 every month
  2. 12 months

    US$2.90/mo

    Billed $34.99 every 12 months
    Save 40%

All plans have 30-day money-back guarantee

Payment & Refund Options

  1. Alipay logo
    Alipay
  2. Bitcoin logo
    Bitcoin
  3. iDeal logo
    iDeal
  4. PayPal logo
    PayPal

DotVPN allows you to pay with Bitcoin. This is one of the most private ways to make financial transactions (just shy of cash), which will naturally appeal to VPN users.

PayPal and AliPay are also available but it isn’t possible to pay directly by card.

Do We Recommend DotVPN?

The Bottom Line

DotVPN is a decent mid-range VPN service that gets a lot right, a few things wrong, but overall lacks the punch and benefits of the very best VPNs.

We were impressed by its speed but less so by its inability to stream or torrent. At least when using DotVPN you’ll know your internet browsing is safe and private.

It needs to streamline its service before we can fully recommend it. Should it get access to China and streaming services, we’d be more inclined to speak positively. But this is easier said than done and, as it stands, there are much better choices out there.

Additional research by Liam Mullally

Alternatives to DotVPN

NordVPN

NordVPN

9.59.5/10

NordVPN is the second best VPN on the market - and it’s almost as cheap as DotVPN. If you’re interested in DotVPN, you should consider spending a few cents more per month and upping your VPN game to one of the best. Read NordVPN review

The new ExpressVPN logo

ExpressVPN

9.79.7/10

Or you could just go all-out and get the best of the best. ExpressVPN is more expensive than DotVPN, but it'll do everything you hoped DotVPN could do and then some. Read ExpressVPN review

About the Author


  • Headshot of Top10VPN.com Site Editor Callum Tennent

    Callum Tennent

    Callum oversees how we test and review VPN services. He's a member of the IAPP, and his advice about VPNs has featured in Forbes and the Internet Society. Read full bio


User Feedback for DotVPN

  • 0 user reviews
  • 0 questions answered