Disclosure: Top10VPN is editorially independent. We may earn commissions if you buy a VPN through links on our site.

Freedome VPN Review

 0% 
No user reviews
Freedome VPN screenshot
Simon Migliano Head of Research at Top10VPN

Simon is a recognized world expert in VPNs. He's tested hundreds of VPN services and his research has featured on the BBC, The New York Times, CNet and more. Read full bio

Ask Simon about Freedome VPN

Our Verdict

66.0/10
How is this calculated?

Our overall rating is reached by combining several subcategories. The subcategories are weighted as follows:

  • Logging & Jurisdiction: 30%
  • Speed & Reliability: 25%
  • Security & Features: 20%
  • Streaming: 10%
  • Torrenting: 5%
  • Ease of Use: 5%
  • Support: 5%

See our full methodology in how we review VPNs.

Freedome VPN from F-Secure collects detailed data logs. It has a small server network, and we don't recommend it for streaming or torrenting. While it's reasonably fast and has strong VPN encryption, it's falling far behind top-rated VPN services.

Ranked #42 out of 68

Freedome VPN Category Ratings

  • 44.0/10
  • 6.46.4/10
  • 4.94.9/10
  • 7.97.9/10
  • 7.17.1/10
  • 11.0/10
  • 6.56.5/10
  • 88.0/10
  • 8.78.7/10
  • 66.0/10

Freedome VPN Pros & Cons

Pros

  1. Good connections speeds
  2. Working with BBC iPlayer
  3. Strong encryption & kill switch
  4. VPN kill switch
  5. Simple custom apps for four popular platforms
  6. No IP/DNS/WebRTC leaks

Cons

  1. Retains detailed user logs incl. IP addresses
  2. No access to Netflix, HBO Max & more
  3. Torrenting is not allowed
  4. Very small server network (22 countries)
  5. Only available on desktop & mobile
  6. Doesn’t work in China

Freedome VPN makes big promises for quality, claiming “30 years of experience,” a “simple, elegant interface,” and “fast servers.” But can it live up to its claims?

We tested F-Secure Freedome VPN thoroughly to find out how effective this VPN service is. We wanted answers to many questions, such as:

  • Is F-Secure Freedome VPN any good?
  • Does F-Secure Freedome VPN keep any logs?
  • Is F-Secure Freedome VPN safe?
  • Can you torrent using F-Secure Freedome?
  • Is Freedome a fast VPN?
  • Does F-Secure’s VPN work with Netflix?

Our latest Freedome VPN review goes into more detail to answer all of the above. Firstly though, let’s take a look at the VPN’s pros and cons:

Freedome VPN Key Data

Data CapUnlimited
Speed73Mbps
Logging PolicyIntrusive Logging
Data LeaksNo
JurisdictionFinland (EU Member)
ServersNot disclosed
IP AddressesNot disclosed
Countries22
US NetflixYes
TorrentingRestricted
Works in ChinaNo
SupportLive Chat
Cheapest Price$2.92/mo over 12 Months
Official WebsiteF-secure.com

Collects detailed connection logs

Logging & Jurisdiction

4.94.9/10
How is this calculated?

We dissect the logging and privacy policies of every VPN. A VPN should never log:

  • Your real IP address
  • Connection timestamps
  • DNS requests

A base of operations outside of 14-Eyes or EU jurisdiction is preferable.

Freedome VPN's logging policy is extremely intrusive. It logs your IP address and tracks the URLs you visit, checking whether each visit matches its use policy. This level of tracking and logging is the last thing a VPN should be doing.

Freedome VPN is part of the F-Secure Corporation. Its VPN service was initially released in 2013.

F-Secure is based in Helsinki, Finland, meaning it’s subject to intrusive EU data retention laws. That’s bad news for privacy.

What’s worse: Freedome VPN’s privacy policy states that it will share user data if necessary to comply with “lawful warrants and court orders of the jurisdictions applicable to [it],” and it has enough data to identify an individual user.

Logging Policy

Freedome VPN’s logging policy is extremely intrusive and far from privacy-friendly.

The VPN service collects detailed VPN connection logs, which include:

  • Your originating country and IP address
  • Duration of your VPN session
  • Total amount of data transferred per VPN session
  • Device ID
  • Host name (VPN gateway) from where the VPN client connects to its service

Your IP address can be used to identify you, which makes this VPN service a terrible choice for those with stringent privacy needs.

Even worse, all of this information is stored for up to 90 days before being permanently deleted, depending on the purpose of the logs. This is a very long time to store such personally identifiable information.

In its policy, Freedome VPN state: “We do not seek to spy on the exact content of your private communications.” This implies that it does seek to spy on the general content.

F-Secure Freedome states that this information is necessary for troubleshooting purposes, as well as to monitor the service for misuse, but many other VPNs manage to maintain a quality service without such intrusive data logging. We’re not fooled.

And it gets even worse.

While Freedome VPN doesn’t store DNS requests for VPN-only users, if you use the Tracker Mapper service – which is automatically enabled when you first use the VPN – it checks all the URLs you visit while connected! 

These logs are permanently deleted after three days. But the privacy risks that come with Tracker Mapper far outweigh the advantages provided by the feature.

You should disable Tracker Mapper before you start using Freedome VPN and also opt out of sending ‘non-personalized usage data’ upon installing the software.

Overall, Freedome VPN’s privacy policy has very little interest in your privacy; it knows everything that you’re doing and even screens traffic to “inhibit usage against our acceptable use policy.”

Fairly quick on nearby servers

Speed & Reliability

7.97.9/10
How is this calculated?

Speed ratings are calculated using upload speeds, download speeds, and ping (latency).

We test average speeds regularly using a dedicated 100Mbps connection in London, UK. Local download speed is considered the most important factor.

Freedome VPN isn't a slow VPN but it's far from being the quickest. On local connections, we experienced a 30% speed loss when compared to our normal internet connection. Internationally, it's around 60% speed loss. Either result is not great, but we've also seen worse. This is a mid-range VPN.

Freedome VPN isn’t as fast as our top rated VPNs, but it’s still quite quick on nearby servers.

On same-country connections you can expect Freedome to bring your internet connection down by around 20% (the fastest VPNs record drops of less than 10%).

Here are the results in full:

Local Speed Test results before using Freedome VPN:

  • Download Speed: 91.59Mbps
  • Upload Speed: 96.62Mbps
  • Ping: 3ms

Local Speed Test results with Freedome VPN:

  • Download Speed: 73.91Mbps
  • Upload Speed: 64.58Mbps
  • Ping: 14ms

Download speed loss when Freedome VPN is running: 19%

That should be more than fast enough for HD streaming with very little buffering. We got speeds of 74Mbps down using the Freedome’s UK VPN server (we test from the UK) starting on a 100Mb connection.

Long-Distance Speeds

Over long-distance VPN connections Freedome VPN cuts down your download speeds by about 60% (the UK connecting to the US), a far cry from the speeds of our fastest VPN services.

Here are our speed test results connecting from the UK to various Freedome VPN servers:

  • USA:
    • Download: 38Mbps
    • Upload: 57Mbps
  • Germany:
    • Download: 71Mbps
    • Upload: 69Mbps
  • Singapore:
    • Download: 38Mbps
    • Upload:478Mbps
  • Australia:
    • Download: 37Mbps
    • Upload: 11Mbps

Freedome’s upload speeds are pretty good (a 33% drop on same-country connections), but its intrusive logging policy should be more than enough to put off torrenters.

Latency-wise, Freedome’s ping times are higher than gamers would tolerate. We’ve listed our top VPNs for gaming here.

Small server network of 22 countries

Server Locations

7.17.1/10
How is this calculated?

The global spread and coverage of the VPN server network is the most important factor here.

We also consider the number of city-level servers, plus how many IP addresses are maintained.

This rating does not directly contribute to the Overall Rating, but instead makes up a portion of the Security & Features rating.

Freedome VPN from F-Secure doesn't have many servers to connect to. There are only 22 countries, and all of these are virtual servers. We expect more from a major VPN provider.

Globe with a blue flag
22Countries
Image of a city landscape
28Cities
Image of a pink marker
Undisclosed number ofIP Addresses

Freedome VPN has a very small server network with only 22 to choose from across the world.

The vast majority of Freedom VPN’s servers are located in Europe and North America. Popular locations like the UK, the US, Canada, and Australia are covered.

Freedome VPN server network in the MacOS app.

Freedome VPN server network in the MacOS app.

Freedome VPN provides only two VPN server options for all of  Asia: Japan and Singapore. It used to cover Hong Kong but has since removed its servers from there.

There are no VPN servers at all in Central and South America, or Africa.

If you’re located far away from one of the server countries covered, choose a VPN with a wider range of server locations.

For example, our review of NordVPN’s server park shows how it’s much richer than Freedome VPN’s.

We didn’t expect to be able to drill down to city level in any country considering F-Secure Freedome’s server network is tiny, but you can in Canada, which has three city options (Montreal, Toronto, and Vancouver).

Freedome VPN also provides regional options in the US, which is split into five regional servers with labels like East Coast, West Coast, South, and so on.

Connecting to the closest region will help you to experience the fastest speeds.

Freedome VPN doesn’t disclose the number of individual VPN servers in its network, the customer support team confirmed that the network consists of bare-metal physical and virtual VPN servers.

Some of the servers are owned by Freedome VPN and some are leased, which is common practice among VPN services.

Working with BBC iPlayer, but nothing else

Streaming

44.0/10
How is this calculated?

Streaming is rated by the number of different services unlocked, how many regional libraries are viewable, and how consistently the VPN can access them.

Netflix, BBC iPlayer, HBO Max, DAZN, and Amazon Prime Video are all tested on a weekly basis.

F-Secure Freedome VPN fails as a streaming VPN. Our most recent tests show that it works with BBC iPlayer on its UK server, but other than that you won't be able to get around geo-blocks and access Netflix US, HBO Max, Hulu, or DAZN for sport.

We don’t recommend Freedome VPN for streaming due to its very small server network.

During our most recent tests, we could watch BBC iPlayer while connected to Freedome VPN’s UK VPN server. But it failed to unblock US Netflix on its servers, as well as HBO Max, Hulu, Amazon Prime Video, DAZN, and more.

The lack of dedicated streaming servers means that Freedome VPN could get blocked when popular streaming services crack down on VPNs – which happens quite often.

If you’re mainly going to use a VPN to watch Netflix, then consult our top VPN choices for Netflix.

Doesn't allow torrenting

Torrenting

6.46.4/10
How is this calculated?

We calculate the average download bitrate of every VPN using a bespoke torrenting setup.

Testing also factors in the percentage of servers which permit P2P, plus useful features like port forwarding.

Don't choose Freedome VPN if you're looking to do anonymous and safe file sharing. It doesn't allow any P2P activity on most of its servers. Because it monitors all of your interactions (another reason not to use Freedome VPN) it actively blocks attempts to torrent.

Freedome VPN isn’t a good (or safe) VPN choice for torrenters. iT prohibits P2P activity on over half of its VPN servers, including those in the US, UK, and most of Europe.

Here’s a list of all servers that you’re not allowed to torrent on.

  • Australia
  • Belgium
  • Canada
  • France
  • Germany
  • Hong Kong
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Mexico
  • Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Singapore
  • United Kingdom
  • United States

If you attempt to torrent in any of these locations, Freedome VPN will temporarily block the user’s network connection for a few hours. This is a particularly strict VPN when it comes to cracking down on P2P file-sharing.

If that’s not enough to put you off Freedome VPN for torrenting, it’s intrusive logging policy will.

Use one of these VPN services for torrenting instead.

No obfuscation tools

Bypassing Censorship

11.0/10
How is this calculated?

Our remote-access server in Shanghai, China routinely tests if a VPN can beat restrictions and access a free, open internet. Obfuscation technologies and nearby servers are also a contributing factor.

This rating does not directly contribute to the Overall Rating, but instead makes up a portion of the Security & Features rating.

Freedome doesn't work in China. It doesn't work because it has no obfuscation technology to do so. Even if it could get around the Great Firewall, the lack of Asian servers means that you'd have an awful connection. For this reason we don't recommend it for countries in Africa or the Middle East, either.

Freedome VPN isn’t reliable for China, or other high-censorship countries like Iran, Russia, or Saudi Arabia.

Not only does Freedome VPN have a tiny VPN server network but it also lacks additional obfuscation tools or stealth protocols which mask VPN traffic to beat the censors.

In other words, blocked content will remain blocked.

Freedome VPN doesn’t work as an anti-censorship tool.

To learn more, read our dedicated guide to using Freedome VPN in China. Alternatively, you can see the top VPN recommendations for China here.

Restrictive device compatibility

Platforms & Devices

How is device compatibility rated?

A quality VPN should maintain functional, fully-featured applications and extensions for as many platforms and devices as possible.

This does not directly contribute to the Overall Rating, but instead makes up a portion of the Ease of Use rating.

Freedome VPN is restricted to the four major platforms: Windows, MacOS, iOS, and Android. There are no manual workarounds, either. For those looking to protect smart TVs, games consoles, routers, or Fire TV Sticks, look elsewhere.

Apps

  1. Windows Logo
    Windows
  2. Mac Logo
    Mac
  3. iOS Logo
    iOS
  4. Android Logo
    Android

Freedome VPN provides custom VPN apps for just four platforms:

  • Windows
  • MacOS
  • iOS
  • Android

Unfortunately, there’s no way of manually configuring the Freedome VPN software to work with any other devices, such as Linux.

Freedome VPN doesn’t provide any native apps for streaming devices like the Amazon Fire TV Stick, either.

You can’t even install Freedome VPN at router level, so there’s no way of protecting any devices outside of the four main platforms shown above or using it on games consoles like Xbox or Playstation.

You can use Freedome VPN on up to three or seven devices at the same time, depending on the price plan you have chosen. We don’t like this approach; it should be standard across all plans.

There are also no browser extensions or add-ons for Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, Opera, or Safari.

Freedome VPN is very limiting.

Does the basics well

Security & Features

6.56.5/10
How is this calculated?

Top-rated VPNs offer OpenVPN or WireGuard protocols, AES-256 encryption, and a functional kill switch. We also consider additional security features and the global spread of VPN servers.

Freedome VPN has an industry-standard security suite in place. There are no flaws or vulnerabilities, but it's not the most advanced service we've come across. OpenVPN protocol is the default, which is good, but we'd also like to see WireGuard. AES-256 encryption is in place and we recorded no leaks, but we'd like to see more.

Protocols
  1. IKEv2/IPSec
  2. OpenVPN (TCP/UDP)
Encryption
  1. AES-256
Security
  1. DNS Leak Blocking
  2. First-party DNS
  3. IPV6 Leak Blocking
  4. VPN Kill Switch
Advanced features
  1. Ad Blocker

Freedome VPN will be secure enough for most everyday users, but it doesn’t have many configurable options.

The Windows, MacOS, and Android custom VPN apps run exclusively on our preferred VPN protocol OpenVPN, which gives the best balance between performance and privacy.

The iOS app operates on IKEv1 or IKEv2 (selectable by the user), the latter of which is second-best to OpenVPN, but still safe.

There is no option to choose WireGuard protocol on any of Freedome VPN’s apps.

freedome-vpn-settings-menu

Freedome VPN’s settings menu is sparse with hardly any customization options.

Encryption is via AES-256, a top cipher that’s considered to be ‘unhackable’.

Freedome VPM comes with the essential VPN kill switch feature, which cuts off all web traffic in case of a VPN connection drops to prevent your true IP address from being leaked.

The VPN service also operates its own DNS servers, further protecting your personal information.

We also verified it doesn’t leak IP, WebRTC or DNS requests.

Freedome VPN doesn’t have many other configurable options, though. So there’s no split tunneling, port control, or VPN servers optimized for Tor.

Overall, Freedome VPN has a good level of security that will protect your data but there’s barely any additional features to explore or take advantage of.

As it stands, this is a basic VPN.

Quick and easy setup of custom apps

Ease of Use

88.0/10
How is this calculated?

This rating mainly consists of the intuitiveness of setup and everyday use.

Device or platform compatibility and customization options are also a factor.

Freedome VPN's website is confusing but its app is simple. Advanced VPN users will be frustrated by the lack of customization options or features, but newcomers can appreciate the stripped-back simplicity of the service,

How to Install & Set Up Freedome VPN

Freedome VPN is really easy to download and install on your device, requiring no manual configuration or prior VPN knowledge.

Once set up, Freedome’s custom VPN apps are great for inexperienced VPN users or those looking to ‘click and forget.’

The home screen is incredibly simple, and there’s a ‘How Does This Work?’ prompt in the top-right corner that explains how virtual locations work and where you should connect for the best possible performance, which is a nice little touch for VPN newbies.

More tech-savvy users will be disappointed with the lack of manual configuration on offer, though.

Live chat support and community forum

Customer Support

8.78.7/10
How is this calculated?

This rating is based on our assessment of each VPN’s:

  • Email support
  • Live chat support
  • Online resources

Not every VPN offers all of these, and they often vary in quality and response time.

Freedome VPN has an active forum for support and some useful articles, but there's no live chat tool if you want to talk to an agent for quick and easy answers. It also doesn't help that F-Secure has a lot of different products and you have to dig deep before finding VPN help.

Live chat SupportYes
Online ResourcesYes

Freedome’s customer support is good, if a little difficult to navigate.

Because the company has so many different products, and even different VPN packages, you have to do a bit of digging to avoid getting lost in irrelevant content. The website design doesn’t help either – it’s corporate and complicated.

As well as some useful online resources and a community forum, there’s also a live chat feature that’s available during normal working hours (the service hours are listed on the website) with friendly, helpful agents that were willing to answer all of our questions in detail.

It’s refreshing to see that F-Secure also includes contact telephone numbers for those that would rather speak to a human being – this isn’t very common with VPN providers, but we think it’s a really valuable feature that will be appreciated by a lot of people.

Confusing plan structure, and overpriced

Price & Value for Money

66.0/10
How is this calculated?

Price & Value for Money receives a rating, but is not factored into our Overall Rating. We believe the reader should decide what is or isn’t a reasonable price.

A good rating here isn’t just based on how cheap the VPN is, but for the value it offers overall.

Freedome VPN's pricing plans are confusing. The company has based prices around device allowances, which is a bizarre way of costing the product when most major VPNs have a generous device allowance on every plan. Even though it's quite cheap, we still don't think the VPN is worth the money due to its lack of features and servers.

Freedome VPN from F-Secure has VPN subscriptions that vary in cost based on the number of devices you can use the VPN on simultaneously.

To use Freedome VPN on seven devices for two years, the cost is $89.99. That works out as $3.75 per month.

To use Freedome on seven devices for one year, it costs $69.99, which comes to $5.83 per month.

The cheapest option is Freedome VPN’s offer of three devices for one year, which costs $34.99 up-front, which comes to $2.91 per month.

All of these are reasonable if slightly on the pricey side when considering what’s on offer, and we don’t like how cost is determined by the number of devices you wish to use your VPN on.

Most top-level VPNs offer five simultaneous connections as the default and some, like Surfshark, put no limits on the number of devices you can use under its subscription at all.

  1. 2 years

    US$3.75/mo

    7 devices - Billed $89.99 every 2 years
    Save 25%
  2. 12 months

    US$5.83/mo

    7 devices - Billed $69.99 every 12 months
    Save 22%
  3. 12 months

    US$2.92/mo

    3 devices - Billed $34.99 every 12 months
    Save 36%

All plans have 30-day money-back guarantee

Payment & Refund Options

You can pay for Freedome VPN through these methods:

  1. American Express logo
    American Express
  2. Mastercard logo
    Mastercard
  3. PayPal logo
    PayPal
  4. Visa logo
    Visa

Unlike many VPN services, you can’t pay using cryptocurrencies like Bitcoin for more privacy, nor can you use international methods like AliPay.

5-day unlimited trial

Freedome VPN offers a five-day free trial. You don’t have to provide any personal details or payment information, so there’s no risk of auto-renewal.

The free trial is unlimited, so you can test the full version of the VPN with no data, use or speed restrictions.

30-day refund policy

Freedome VPN also has a 30-day money-back guarantee, which is completely no-questions-asked.

This means you don’t need a specific reason to request a refund. All you need to do is contact the support team and ask for your money back.

A limited, underperforming VPN

The Bottom Line

While Freedome VPN is easy to use, making it attractive for those with little technical knowledge, we don’t recommend it due to its intrusive logging policy.

Freedome VPN logs your true IP address for 90 days, in addition to a bunch of other connection logs, and it doesn’t even work reliably with popular streaming services like Netflix or HBO Max. It does currently unblock BBC iPlayer, though.

It’s not suitable for torrenting or getting around internet blocks, it’s only available on the major devices, and there’s only a handful of countries to connect to.

We find Freedome VPN to be highly limited and sub-par when compared to the best VPNs on the market.

There are far better, cheaper, and safer VPNs available at the same (or even lower) price point.

 

Additional research by David Hughes

Alternatives to Freedome VPN

Surfshark VPN logo

Surfshark

99.0/10

Surfshark is a cheap VPN that's simple to use for beginners. It works with Netflix, BBC iPlayer, torrenting, and more. Best of all, it's trustworthy and safe to use. Read Surfshark review

The new ExpressVPN logo

ExpressVPN

9.79.7/10

ExpressVPN is a little more expensive than Freedome VPN, but it provides a far, far better VPN service. Not only can you connect to over triple the number of countries (94) but you can also install it on streaming devices and Linux, which isn't possible for Freedome. It works with streaming, torrenting, and in China, too. Read ExpressVPN review

About the Author


  • Simon Migliano Head of Research at Top10VPN

    Simon Migliano

    Simon is a recognized world expert in VPNs. He's tested hundreds of VPN services and his research has featured on the BBC, The New York Times, CNet and more. Read full bio


User Feedback for Freedome VPN

  • 0 user reviews
  • 0 questions answered