Disclosure: Top10VPN is editorially independent. We may earn commissions if you buy a VPN through links on our site.

Trust.Zone Review

 0% 
No user reviews
Trust.Zone screenshot
Simon Migliano Head of Research at Top10VPN

Simon is a recognized world expert in VPNs. He's tested hundreds of VPN services and his research has featured on the BBC, The New York Times, CNet and more. Read full bio

Ask Simon about Trust.Zone

Our Verdict

77.0/10
How is this calculated?

Our overall rating is reached by combining several subcategories. The subcategories are weighted as follows:

  • Logging & Jurisdiction: 30%
  • Speed & Reliability: 25%
  • Security & Features: 20%
  • Streaming: 10%
  • Torrenting: 5%
  • Ease of Use: 5%
  • Support: 5%

See our full methodology in how we review VPNs.

Trust.Zone has an excellent logging policy and top-notch security. But that's all the VPN gets 100% right. Speeds are good, but the server list is small, and it doesn't work for streaming. There's no live chat support, and there's only a native Windows app.

Ranked #32 out of 68

Trust.Zone Category Ratings

  • 44.0/10
  • 8.18.1/10
  • 9.79.7/10
  • 7.77.7/10
  • 7.57.5/10
  • 4.54.5/10
  • 6.76.7/10
  • 6.26.2/10
  • 6.46.4/10
  • 77.0/10

Trust.Zone Pros & Cons

Pros

  1. Fairly quick VPN speeds
  2. Privacy-friendly logging policy & jurisdiction
  3. Supports P2P traffic on all VPN servers
  4. VPN kill switch for Windows app

Cons

  1. Very small VPN server network
  2. Custom apps limited to Windows & Android
  3. Android app lacks VPN kill switch
  4. Some server connection failures
  5. No live chat support

While torrenting is allowed on all servers without restriction, our testing found Trust.Zone to be ineffective for unblocking Netflix and other streaming platforms.

Its speeds are good, but fraught with connection issues and sluggishness over long distances. It also only has {{server_count-trustzone}} VPN servers spread throughout {{number_countries-trustzone}}.

It’s difficult to use on platforms that aren’t Windows, and you might have trouble getting help as Trust.Zone doesn’t have live chat support.

We love the daily-updated warrant canary and its no-logs policy (albeit a very brief one), plus the Seychelles is an excellent choice of jurisdiction.

Trust.Zone is cheap, even on a one-month subscription plan, but, ultimately, there are many more better-featured, faster, and more reliable VPNs out there. Trust.Zone needs a few refinements before it can really challenge its big-name rivals.

Trust.Zone Key Data

Data CapUnlimited
Speed87Mbps
Logging PolicyAnonymous Server Usage Data
Data LeaksYes
JurisdictionSeychelles
Servers187
IP AddressesNot disclosed
Countries40
US NetflixYes
TorrentingUnlimited
Works in ChinaUnreliable
SupportEmail Support & Online Resources
Cheapest Price$2.33/mo over 24 months
Official WebsiteTrust.zone

No logs VPN service

Logging & Jurisdiction

9.79.7/10
How is this calculated?

We dissect the logging and privacy policies of every VPN. A VPN should never log:

  • Your real IP address
  • Connection timestamps
  • DNS requests

A base of operations outside of 14-Eyes or EU jurisdiction is preferable.

Trust.Zone's privacy policy is too short and lacking any detail, but it does promise no logging of data. It claims to not be storing any data whatsoever on its server network, meaning that you remain anonymous, but it does know how much data is transferred. But we need an independent audit to confirm this.

Trust.Zone was first released in 2014, but its background is a bit of a mystery.

Some VPN review websites suggest that Trusted Solutions Ltd. owns Trust.Zone, while others name the parent company as Extra Solutions Ltd.

After some digging we actually found that Internet Privacy Ltd is Trust.Zone’s parent company – this information was buried in the affiliate program terms and conditions.

Trust.Zone is incorporated under the Seychelles jurisdiction. The good news is that the Seychelles falls outside international intelligence-sharing agreements.

Confusingly, the address given on Trust.Zone’s website – Unit 117, Orion Mall, Palm Street, P.O. Box 828, Victoria, Mahe, Seychelles – is also the registered address of three other seemingly unrelated businesses. This information was even featured in the Panama Papers.

Trust.Zone also names Tersys Group OÜ as its ‘distributor.’ The Estonian company is named as the app’s developer on the Google Play Store.

While Estonia isn’t as good for privacy as the Seychelles, a Trust.Zone representative told us that Tersys Group OÜ only deals with accepting payments, so its jurisdiction isn’t too important.

Logging Policy

Trust.Zone’s privacy policy is short. Really short.

The logging section simply states: “All our VPN servers around the world are not storing any log files to keep your privacy safe. All the usage data is anonymous and not connected to your real, public IP address.”

Two solitary sentences isn’t enough to satisfy us, though, so we contacted Trust.Zone’s customer support team. Its reply was equally short: “No logs.”

However, upon reading the FAQs we did find that Trust.Zone does log some data (all grammatical errors are Trust.Zone’s):

Trust.Zone VPN doesn’t track your online activity except amount of data transferred by user. We do not track what exact data is transferred, but only how much data is transferred. We need this info in order to determine which server gives user best connection speed.

While it’s not personally identifiable data, it still prevents Trust.Zone from being no-logs. You don’t need to worry about it, though.

It would be great to see Trust.Zone commission an independent audit to confirm its privacy policy.

Trust.Zone also publishes a daily warrant canary to let users know that it has not “been subject to any searches, seizures of data or requirements to log any actions of our customers.”

Quick on nearby VPN servers

Speed & Reliability

7.77.7/10
How is this calculated?

Speed ratings are calculated using upload speeds, download speeds, and ping (latency).

We test average speeds regularly using a dedicated 100Mbps connection in London, UK. Local download speed is considered the most important factor.

Trust.Zone delivers respectable VPN speeds on long-distance connections but it's particularly good on local ones. We only recorded a loss of 10% when connecting to nearby France servers, which is on the top end of the VPN speed scale.

So, Trust.Zone is pretty private, but is it fast?

We tested it on local France servers and here are our results in full:

Local Speed Test results before using Trust.Zone:

  • Download Speed: 97.2Mbps
  • Upload Speed: 98.39Mbps
  • Ping: 6ms

Local Speed Test results with Trust.Zone:

  • Download Speed: 87.05Mbps
  • Upload Speed: 94.03Mbps
  • Ping: 22ms

Download speed loss when Trust.Zone is running: 10%

As you can see, Trust.Zone performed quite well on nearby servers – our download speeds only dropped by 10%.

This is more than quick enough for Full HD (or even 4K) streaming, and as fast as some of the biggest VPNs on the planet.

Long-Distance Connections

We also tested Trust.Zone on a number of different global servers.

Here’s how Trust.Zone performed on other international VPN servers::

  • USA:
    • Download: 73Mbps
    • Upload: 50Mbps
  • Germany:
    • Download: 77Mbps
    • Upload: 88Mbps
  • Singapore:
    • Download: 55Mbps
    • Upload: 18Mbps
  • Australia:
    • Download: 11Mbps
    • Upload: 13Mbps

Speeds suffer a bit more when it comes to connections over a greater distance, but Trust.Zone is still a pretty speedy VPN.

Small server network covering 40 countries

Server Locations

7.57.5/10
How is this calculated?

The global spread and coverage of the VPN server network is the most important factor here.

We also consider the number of city-level servers, plus how many IP addresses are maintained.

This rating does not directly contribute to the Overall Rating, but instead makes up a portion of the Security & Features rating.

The Trust.Zone server network isn't as global as we like to see. There are 40 countries available, which is nowhere near the number of the top VPNs. However, there are 97 cities across these countries, which provides specific location options that will benefit overall performance.

Globe with a blue flag
40Countries
Image of a city landscape
97Cities
Image of a pink marker
Undisclosed number ofIP Addresses

Trust.Zone has {{server_count-trustzone}} VPN servers in {{number_countries-trustzone}} countries. They are a mixture of physical and virtual servers – this means that Trust.Zone owns some and rents others off of third parties.

The server network is pretty small, but it does cover the most popular locations.

As is usually the case, most of Trust.Zone’s VPN servers are situated in Europe and North America, but there are a handful in Asia-Pacific too.

For those in Africa and South America, you have just one option each: South Africa and Brazil.

Screenshot of Trust.Zone server locations list

Trust.Zone server list

It is possible to choose between specific regions in some countries, including 11 states in the US, three provinces in Canada, and four regions in Australia.

There’s also city-level choice in France, the Netherlands, and the UK.

This lets you to access regional content and should improve speeds if you’re located in any of those regions.

Netflix US only

Streaming

44.0/10
How is this calculated?

Streaming is rated by the number of different services unlocked, how many regional libraries are viewable, and how consistently the VPN can access them.

Netflix, BBC iPlayer, HBO Max, DAZN, and Amazon Prime Video are all tested on a weekly basis.

Trust.Zone has a number of servers optimized for streaming, but they don't always work. Currently, you can access the US version of Netflix but nothing else. That means no Hulu, DAZN, or HBO Max.

Trust.Zone comes with VPN servers marked specifically for unlocking certain streaming channels and platforms.

As good as that sounds, they don’t always work.

There’s one labeled ‘BBC’, for example, that failed to unlock BBC iPlayer when we tried.

The Netflix server did allow us to watch US shows, but our testing has found it to be unreliable in the past.

Customer support told us that users who want guaranteed access should get a dedicated IP address, but this comes at a cost – ranging from $1.84 to $10.50 per month based on which country you choose.

Until Trust.Zone irons out these issues and offers more stable streaming support without users having to pay extra, it’s best to stick with our top VPN recommendations for streaming.

P2P servers and safe privacy policy

Torrenting

8.18.1/10
How is this calculated?

We calculate the average download bitrate of every VPN using a bespoke torrenting setup.

Testing also factors in the percentage of servers which permit P2P, plus useful features like port forwarding.

You can torrent on all of Trust.Zone's servers and it delivers fast speeds for smooth downloads. Its privacy policy is safe for anonymous file sharing, too. We only recommend using it on Windows, though, for which there is a kill switch.

Trust.Zone puts no restrictions on P2P traffic and it picks up a fast average bitrate of 9.1MiB/s.

That means that you can torrent on any of its VPN servers worldwide and experience fast downloads.

A privacy-friendly logging policy, safe jurisdiction, and VPN kill switch (for Windows only) make Trust.Zone a decent choice for torrenters.

However, as capable as Trust.Zone is it still isn’t the best torrenting VPN around – for the smoothest P2P experience try one of these VPNs instead.

Unreliable for China

Bypassing Censorship

4.54.5/10
How is this calculated?

Our remote-access server in Shanghai, China routinely tests if a VPN can beat restrictions and access a free, open internet. Obfuscation technologies and nearby servers are also a contributing factor.

This rating does not directly contribute to the Overall Rating, but instead makes up a portion of the Security & Features rating.

Trust.Zone's only advice to get the VPN working in China is to try UDP connections, but that won't cut it. This VPN doesn't get around Chinese censorship but it's more effective in countries with less robust online restrictions, like Turkey, or UAE.

Trust.Zone is an unreliable choice for China and other countries that block VPN connections.

Customer support informed us that Trust.Zone VPN works in some parts of China but not others.

Trust.Zone doesn’t come with any obfuscation tools to mask VPN traffic, which is one of the only ways VPN services can get past the aggressive blocks.

Your safest bet is to stick with a VPN provider that goes above and beyond to provide access to restricted sites – here are the best VPNs for the job if you’re in China.

No MacOS app

Platforms & Devices

How is device compatibility rated?

A quality VPN should maintain functional, fully-featured applications and extensions for as many platforms and devices as possible.

This does not directly contribute to the Overall Rating, but instead makes up a portion of the Ease of Use rating.

Trust.Zone still doesn’t have a custom app for MacOS, which is a huge loss for many VPN users. It’s still available on Windows and iOS, and has recently developed a custom iOS app. There are lots of workaround options, too.

Apps

Thanks to custom setup, you can use Trust.Zone on these devices:

  1. Windows Logo
    Windows
  2. Mac Logo
    Mac
  3. iOS Logo
    iOS
  4. Android Logo
    Android
  5. Linux Logo
    Linux
  6. Router Logo
    Router

Trust.Zone used to provide custom VPN apps for Windows and Android devices only. It has since made an iOS app but Mac users are still lacking a client.

If you want to use the VPN service on MacOS, iOS, or any other device you’ll have to manually configure it.

That can be a real nightmare if you’re not comfortable with getting technical. It can be quite tricky and isn’t as user-friendly as using the dedicated apps.

If you’re a MacOS or iOS user check out the following guides we’ve put together for VPNs that come with simple downloadable apps:

You can use Trust.Zone on up to three devices at once, or five if you commit to two-year plan.

Games Consoles & Streaming Devices

  1. AppleTV Logo
    AppleTV
  2. Amazon Fire TV Logo
    Amazon Fire TV
  3. Chromecast Logo
    Chromecast
  4. Nintendo Logo
    Nintendo
  5. PlayStation Logo
    PlayStation
  6. Roku Logo
    Roku
  7. Xbox Logo
    Xbox

While Trust.Zone doesn’t have any apps for streaming devices like Amazon Fire TV, you can install the VPN software on supported routers in order to protect traffic on those devices.

Once installed on your router, Trust.Zone will encrypt all internet traffic flowing through it – that means you can use the VPN with streaming devices, game consoles, and even smart appliances.

Trust.Zone provides setup instructions for the following router types:

  • DD-WRT
  • Roqos Core VPN router
  • Tomato
  • Asus Merlin

Browser Extensions

  1. Chrome Logo
    Chrome
  2. Firefox Logo
    Firefox

Trust.Zone has released beta versions of its browser extensions for Google Chrome and Mozilla Firefox.

These look pretty much exactly the same as the Windows app and are fairly easy to use.

Before you start using them, it’s essential that you check the box labeled Disable WebRTC in the Connection Settings menu to avoid leaving your IP address exposed through WebRTC leaks.

Unfortunately, this feature isn’t enabled by default, something we’ve suggested Trust.Zone does before its general release.

Strong encryption, basic security features

Security & Features

6.76.7/10
How is this calculated?

Top-rated VPNs offer OpenVPN or WireGuard protocols, AES-256 encryption, and a functional kill switch. We also consider additional security features and the global spread of VPN servers.

Trust.Zone is a leak free VPN equipped with the best protocols (OpenVPN) and encryption (AES-256). However, it's not pushing security boundaries; there are no advanced tools like split tunneling or Tor over VPN. It does run a proprietary protocol but there's not much information about it.

Protocols
  1. IKEv2/IPSec
  2. L2TP/IPSec
  3. OpenVPN (TCP/UDP)
  4. Proprietary
Encryption
  1. AES-256
Security
  1. First-party DNS
  2. Supports TCP Port 443
  3. VPN Kill Switch
Advanced features
  1. None

It’s not initially clear which VPN protocols Trust.Zone uses within its custom apps for Windows and Android. There’s not much information on the website and the apps themselves lack clarity.

We got in touch with Trust.Zone’s customer support who told us that the Windows app connects through OpenVPN and its own proprietary protocol, while the Android app uses OpenVPN and IKEv2/IPSec.

Trust.Zone didn’t give us any technical details about its proprietary protocol, though, so we have no way of knowing how secure it is.

Thankfully, OpenVPN and IKEv2 are really safe, particularly when coupled with AES-256 encryption.

The customer support representative told us that you can use OpenVPN by selecting port 1194 within the app settings, and the proprietary protocol by selecting any other port.

It’s quite a confusing system and would be unclear for anyone without technical knowledge.

Screenshot of Trust.Zone's settings menu

You can also manually configure your devices to work with L2TP/IPsec, but it’s not quite as secure a protocol as OpenVPN or IKEv2.

Trust.Zone has a VPN kill switch for Windows, but there is no kill switch for Android. This essential feature blocks internet traffic in the event of a sudden VPN disconnection, so make sure to enable it if you can.

There’s also a DNS leak protection feature, which we highly recommend you keep enabled, because when we switched it off we did experience DNS leaks.

Thankfully, the VPN apps didn’t leak when we had the feature enabled.

Trust.Zone is a basic VPN service and doesn’t have any other security features – there’s no split tunneling, obfuscation tools, or servers optimized for Tor.

Some confusing settings & connection issues

Ease of Use

6.26.2/10
How is this calculated?

This rating mainly consists of the intuitiveness of setup and everyday use.

Device or platform compatibility and customization options are also a factor.

Trust.Zone has a clunky, outdated app that is very unfriendly to newcomers and has few customization options. We'd like to see a more consumer-friendly application, and a less buggy one.

How to Install & Set Up Trust.Zone

Trust.Zone looks very simple at first glance, but we actually found the finer details of the apps to be quite confusing.

The settings menu gives users various port options, but it doesn’t actually tell you what they do.

While more advanced users will know what these options mean, if you’re a VPN beginner you certainly won’t.

According to customer support, selecting specific ports also changes the VPN protocol, which isn’t specified anywhere on the app or the VPN’s website.

To make matters worse, we also struggled to connect to several of Trust.Zone’s VPN servers.

Our troubles don’t seem to be a one-off, as is reflected in many user reviews on Trust.Zone’s Google Play Store page.

Screenshot of Trust.Zone user reviews on Google Play Store

Even without those issues, Trust.Zone isn’t easy to use for users who want to protect devices other than Windows and Android.

Manual configuration isn’t rocket science, but it’s definitely not ideal.

No live chat support, email ticket system instead

Customer Support

6.46.4/10
How is this calculated?

This rating is based on our assessment of each VPN’s:

  • Email support
  • Live chat support
  • Online resources

Not every VPN offers all of these, and they often vary in quality and response time.

Trust.Zone isn't the most user-friendly VPN, so support is important. The problem is there's no live chat feature on its website. There's only an online email form to send questions. The response time is slow but always informative.

EmailYes
Online ResourcesYes

Trust.Zone doesn’t have a live chat support feature, which is frustrating for those of us who don’t want to wait around for answers.

There are some useful setup articles – which are necessary considering Trust.Zone lacks custom apps for many devices – and an FAQs page, which provides answers to very basic questions about the service and some troubleshooting tips too.

If you want to get in touch with Trust.Zone you’ll have to have an account, as the email ticket page requires an email and password.

The support ticketing system proved to be quite frustrating – in addition to waiting a few hours for a response, we also had to log in to the website each time we wanted to see the reply.

Trust.Zone makes the whole process feel user-unfriendly and inconvenient but, in fairness, we did get all the answers to our questions eventually.

Cheap prices, poor refund policy

Price & Value for Money

Trust.Zone Coupon

77.0/10
How is this calculated?

Price & Value for Money receives a rating, but is not factored into our Overall Rating. We believe the reader should decide what is or isn’t a reasonable price.

A good rating here isn’t just based on how cheap the VPN is, but for the value it offers overall.

On its best price deal, Trust.Zone is a cheap VPN. However, if you want advanced features you have to be considerably more. For a dedicated IP and port forwarding feature it's another $2.49 – at least. It also comes with a 10-day refund period that isn't guaranteed.

Trust.Zone is quite cheap, particularly on its best price, two-year deal.

You can see all of the Trust.Zone pricing plans below:

  1. Monthly

    US$8.88/mo

    Billed $8.88 every month
  2. 12 months

    US$3.33/mo

    Billed $39.95 every 12 months
    Save 63%
  3. 2 years

    US$2.33/mo

    Billed $55.99 every 2 years
    Save 74%

All plans have 10-day money-back guarantee

The two-year plan also allows you to use the VPN on up to five devices at once rather than the usual three.

Payment & Refund Options

You can pay for Trust.Zone via these methods:

  1. Alipay logo
    Alipay
  2. American Express logo
    American Express
  3. Bank Wire / Direct Transfer logo
    Bank Wire / Direct Transfer
  4. Bitcoin logo
    Bitcoin
  5. iDeal logo
    iDeal
  6. Mastercard logo
    Mastercard
  7. PayPal logo
    PayPal
  8. UnionPay logo
    UnionPay
  9. WebMoney logo
    WebMoney

Trust.Zone has one of the most diverse selections of available payment methods, including cryptocurrencies and international payment methods.

There is a 10-day refund period, but it’s by no means a guarantee.

You’ll only get your money back if you’ve used less than 1GB of data, which you’d easily burn through if you stream just one show.

This is very strict compared to most 30-day “no questions asked” money-back guarantees.

If you do qualify for a refund it can take up to 20 days to receive the money.

There is also a 3-day free trial which is limited to 1GB of data.

Private but underperforming

The Bottom Line

Not particularly. Trust.Zone is a private VPN, but the two custom apps it does have suffer from some usability and connection issues.

The lack of streaming reliability, mediocre speeds, and small server network will be an issue for some, too.

 

Additional research by David Hughes

Alternatives to Trust.Zone

The new ExpressVPN logo

ExpressVPN

9.79.7/10

ExpressVPN is more expensive than Trust.Zone but it provides a far superior service. You can stream, torrent, and browse to your heart’s content on any device with fast speeds and top-notch security. Read ExpressVPN review

Surfshark VPN logo

Surfshark

99.0/10

It may be a more budget-friendly option but Surfshark doesn’t compromise on privacy. It’s great for streaming Netflix and couldn’t be easier to use. Read Surfshark review

About the Author


  • Simon Migliano Head of Research at Top10VPN

    Simon Migliano

    Simon is a recognized world expert in VPNs. He's tested hundreds of VPN services and his research has featured on the BBC, The New York Times, CNet and more. Read full bio


User Feedback for Trust.Zone

  • 0 user reviews
  • 0 questions answered