Disclosure: Top10VPN is editorially independent. We may earn commissions if you buy a VPN through links on our site.

VPNhub Free Review

 20% 
(1 User reviews)
VPNhub Free screenshot
Simon Migliano Head of Research at Top10VPN

Simon is a recognized world expert in VPNs. He's tested hundreds of VPN services and his research has featured on the BBC, The New York Times, CNet and more. Read full bio

Ask Simon about VPNhub Free

Our Verdict

5.35.3/10
How is this calculated?

Our overall rating is reached by combining several subcategories. The subcategories are weighted as follows:

  • Logging & Jurisdiction: 30%
  • Speed & Reliability: 25%
  • Security & Features: 20%
  • Streaming: 10%
  • Torrenting: 5%
  • Ease of Use: 5%
  • Support: 5%

See our full methodology in how we review VPNs.

VPNhub offers a free mobile version that requires no registration or payment details. There’s no data cap, which means you can use it for as long as you want. The app couldn’t be simpler and security is industry-standard. As free VPNs go, VPNhub on mobile may be limited but it’s safe, useful, and best of all: it unblocks US Netflix.

Ranked #45 out of 68

VPNhub Free Category Ratings

  • 4.94.9/10
  • 3.73.7/10
  • 7.97.9/10
  • 44.0/10
  • 11.0/10
  • 11.0/10
  • 66.0/10
  • 99.0/10
  • 1.51.5/10

VPNhub Free Pros & Cons

Pros

  1. Completely free with no details required
  2. Unlimited data allowance
  3. Unblocks US Netflix
  4. Strong security suite
  5. Incredibly simple app

Cons

  1. Only one available country
  2. No Disney+, HBO Max, or Hulu
  3. Logs aggregate data
  4. Can’t work against censorship
  5. Based in privacy-unfriendly US
  6. Poor customer support

VPNhub’s free version on mobile is extremely easy to download and use. No payment information or personal details are required to install it.

For a free service, it gets a lot right: its privacy policy is safe enough to warrant a recommendation, there’s no risk of getting an accidental bill, and there’s no data cap whatsoever.

But there are limitations. The US is the only country users can connect to and it no longer works with Netflix, Disney Plus, or services like HBO Max. It’s also not the quickest, and it’s useless as an anti-censorship VPN.

We’d also like to see a better customer support system in place. On top of that, being based in the US is bad news for privacy-conscious users.

But for a quick and easy fix for encrypted browsing, VPNhub on mobile is a viable VPN. For anything more advanced, you should consider another service.

We also suggest that you avoid the premium version (and its desktop apps), which is too expensive.

October 2021 Update: As a result of Netflix’s new VPN ban, VPNhub is currently not working with US Netflix. We are monitoring the situation and will update this notification accordingly. Currently no free VPNs are working with Netflix. As such, we recommend you try ExpressVPN, the best VPN that still works with US Netflix.

VPNhub Free Key Data

Data CapUnlimited
Speed52Mbps
Logging PolicyAnonymous Server Usage Data
Data LeaksNo
JurisdictionUS
ServersNot disclosed
IP AddressesNot disclosed
Countries1
US NetflixYes
TorrentingUnlimited
Works in ChinaNo
SupportEmail & Online Resources
Official WebsiteVpnhub.com

Unblocks US Netflix

Streaming

4.94.9/10
How is this calculated?

Streaming is rated by the number of different services unlocked, how many regional libraries are viewable, and how consistently the VPN can access them.

Netflix, BBC iPlayer, HBO Max, DAZN, and Amazon Prime Video are all tested on a weekly basis.

VPNhub is a rare free service that unblocks US Netflix. It used to unblock Disney+, too, but our most recent tests show that it no longer does. It also can't get around blocks from Hulu, HBO Max, or DAZN. A lack of international servers means that British and European TV is off limits.

VPNhub is a good option if you like watching Netflix on your mobile phone.

Our tests show that VPNhub’s US server unblocks US Netflix.

But it won’t work for Amazon Prime Video. When testing VPNhub on Prime Video, VPNhub was detected and video content remained inaccessible.

 

Amazon Prime Video detects VPNhub.

Amazon Prime Video detects VPNhub.

We weren’t able to go undetected on US-exclusive services HBO Max or Hulu, either.

For the simple reason that it has no UK servers, you won’t be able to watch BBC iPlayer, or any other content from across the globe.

Overall, VPNhub is a good free option for people who watch US Netflix and Disney+ on mobile phones.

It doesn’t have a free desktop app or European servers, and many other streaming sites remain blocked. But for no cost it’s a viable free streaming VPN.

To find out more, read our dedicated guide on using VPNhub for Netflix.

Single server isn't optimized

Torrenting

3.73.7/10
How is this calculated?

We calculate the average download bitrate of every VPN using a bespoke torrenting setup.

Testing also factors in the percentage of servers which permit P2P, plus useful features like port forwarding.

You can torrent on VPNhub's free server but we don't think you should. It's not P2P-friendly and subsequently picks up a very slow average bitrate of 1.5MiB. There's a kill switch but the privacy policy isn't ideal.

While you can torrent on VPNhub’s US server, its imperfect privacy policy means we caution against using it.

It does have a kill switch but its server is not P2P-optimized, and the speeds aren’t the fastest for file sharing.

We recorded an average bitrate of 1.5MiB/s, which is very bad.

Not zero logs, but safe enough

Logging & Jurisdiction

7.97.9/10
How is this calculated?

We dissect the logging and privacy policies of every VPN. A VPN should never log:

  • Your real IP address
  • Connection timestamps
  • DNS requests

A base of operations outside of 14-Eyes or EU jurisdiction is preferable.

VPNhub has a simply-written and transparent privacy policy. It collects your original IP address every time you use the service, but this is anonymized, encrypted, and then permanently deleted when you cease your VPN connection. It also collects anonymous usage data. It's far from no logs, but it is safe.

VPNhub Free doesn’t require any account information to register, but it still collects some activity and device information. This includes:

  • Unique mobile ID
  • Operating system and platform
  • Browser type and version
  • Network information

Most worryingly, VPNhub collects your IP address. However, this is pseudonymized, encrypted, and lasts only for the duration of your VPN session.

We’d rather your IP address is never collected, but VPNhub’s security methods are risk-free, so we’re not too concerned about it.

They also log aggregated activity data. But none of this is associated with the websites you visit and you cannot be identified.

While this isn’t a zero logs VPN service and you may be put off by the amount of aggregated data it collects, VPNhub anonymizes and deletes this data appropriately and safely.

Most concerning, VPNhub is able and willing to sell your data to third-party advertisers. Its privacy policy reads:

“We may also collect, use and share your data to produce and share aggregated data that do not identify you and therefore not considered as Personal Information.”

It’s also worth knowing that if you visit the VPNhub website, it records other websites that you visit before and after.

None of this comes close to being a no logs VPN service. But it’s mostly private and far from the worst free VPN privacy policy that we’ve seen.

Operates from privacy-unfriendly countries

VPNhub is owned by Pornhub, a Cyprus-based private company that provides online pornography. It’s headquarters are in the Cypriot city of Limassol, meaning the Cypriot government has legal jurisdiction to demand information from the company.

Pornhub was established in 2007 and is a subsidiary of MindGeek, which is owned by Feras Antoon and David Marmorstein Tassillo. MindGeek is headquartered at 32 Boulevard Royal, 2449 Luxembourg. Luxembourg is an original member of the European Union, making it subject to intrusive European surveillance.

To build VPNhub, Pornhub had to partner with a company called AppAtomic. AppAtomic Limited is based in Nicosia, Cyprus, but its servers are in the US.

The US is where VPNhub user data will be processed, which is bad news: the US is one of the worst countries on earth when it comes to online snooping.

Whichever way you look at it, these are bad jurisdictions for privacy-conscious VPN users.

Industry-standard protection

Security & Features

66.0/10
How is this calculated?

Top-rated VPNs offer OpenVPN or WireGuard protocols, AES-256 encryption, and a functional kill switch. We also consider additional security features and the global spread of VPN servers.

VPNhub doesn't have any customization options or manual tools but it does encrypt your data with the best available cipher (AES-256). It uses IKEv2 and OpenVPN protocols on its free mobile app, which are safe, and there's a kill switch to prevent IP exposures. It's a no frills security suite.

Protocols
  1. IKEv2/IPSec
  2. L2TP/IPSec
  3. OpenVPN (TCP/UDP)
  4. PPTP
  5. SSTP
Encryption
  1. AES-256
Security
  1. VPN Kill Switch
Advanced features
  1. None

VPNhub claims to support a number of security protocols, including:

  • IKEv2
  • OpenVPN (TCP and UDP)
  • L2TP
  • IPsec
  • SSTP
  • PPTP

That’s a lot of protocols. But you can’t manually select which one you want, and you can’t find out which is protecting your data through the free app.

For all you know VPNhub could be encrypting your data with PPTP, which VPNhub should retire as it’s very outdated at this point.

We asked VPNhub and it told us that IKEv2 is used for iOS and OpenVPN for Android. Both are strong protocols, but OpenVPN is the best of the bunch.

We were also told that the app uses AES-256 encryption. This is a great cipher, virtually unbreakable, which is great news for security.

There’s also the all-important kill switch. This is an essential feature that protects against your real IP address being exposed should the VPN disconnect for whatever reason.

We didn’t experience any DNS or IPv6 leaks and, while VPNhub doesn’t own its servers, it uses those owned by StackPath, the cloud giant used by the popular no-logs VPN, IPVanish.

All in all, this is a pretty good free VPN when it comes to security. We’d like to see more transparency and customization, but as a free security package, VPNhub hits the mark.

No servers in censoring countries

Bypassing Censorship

11.0/10
How is this calculated?

Our remote-access server in Shanghai, China routinely tests if a VPN can beat restrictions and access a free, open internet. Obfuscation technologies and nearby servers are also a contributing factor.

This rating does not directly contribute to the Overall Rating, but instead makes up a portion of the Security & Features rating.

No servers anywhere but the US and no obfuscation tools makes VPNhub Free a non-starter for getting around state and corporate censorship.

VPNhub Free has no servers in countries where censorship is occurring. This includes China, Russia, Turkey, and UAE.

Besides, even if there were servers in these countries, VPNhub’s free service has no obfuscation tools to get around internet blocks or blackouts.

VPNhub Free is useless as an anti-censorship VPN.

One US server location only

Server Locations

11.0/10
How is this calculated?

The global spread and coverage of the VPN server network is the most important factor here.

We also consider the number of city-level servers, plus how many IP addresses are maintained.

This rating does not directly contribute to the Overall Rating, but instead makes up a portion of the Security & Features rating.

VPNhub's free version on mobile only has one server in the US. This is obviously very limiting, even for users in the US, which is a big county. Every now and again it changes the city you are automatically connected to, but the inability to decide for yourself is a huge drawback.

Globe with a blue flag
1Countries
Image of a city landscape
1Cities
Image of a pink marker
Undisclosed number ofIP Addresses

VPNhub Free only has one country available on its free server network: the US.

This is referred to as its ‘Free Optimal Server,’ but the city changes with each new connection.

VPNhub claims to have over 500 US city-locations available to its free users.

We can’t be sure how true that is, but during our testing we did connect to many different cities including Atlanta, New Orleans, New York, Seattle, and more.

 

VPNhub Free Server List

VPNhub Free has a Free Optimal Server.

If that number is correct it represents a very generous city-level server network and avoids user congestion.

But you can’t choose which of these cities you connect to. VPNhub connects you to whichever city it feels like.

Decent speeds for US connection

Speed & Reliability

44.0/10
How is this calculated?

Speed ratings are calculated using upload speeds, download speeds, and ping (latency).

We test average speeds regularly using a dedicated 100Mbps connection in London, UK. Local download speed is considered the most important factor.

We were pleasantly surprised by VPNhub's speeds. We can only test its single US server from our office in London but we only recorded a speed loss of 27%. For such a long-distance connection this is a good result. As a result, we predict that users in the US will get even better speeds.

As VPNhub only allows you to connect to one server location, we could only test its long-distance speeds when connecting to a randomly assigned city in the US (we test from London, UK).

But these results were not bad, featuring minimal speed loss for such a long distance connection – 27% loss of download speeds, and 12% loss in upload speeds.

Before using VPNhub we recorded a 70Mbps download and 18Mbps upload connection.


Here were our average speed test results when connected to VPNhub
:

  • USA:
    • Download: 52Mbps
    • Upload: 16Mbps
    • Ping: 146ms

Download speeds of 52Mbps and upload speeds of 16Mbps is quite good, enough for torrenting or browsing with ease. For a free service, VPNhub’s speeds are impressive.

Super simple sign up and app

Ease of Use

99.0/10
How is this calculated?

This rating mainly consists of the intuitiveness of setup and everyday use.

Device or platform compatibility and customization options are also a factor.

VPNhub couldn't be simpler to install and use. It doesn't ask for details on sign-up, or payment methods. And while the apps are extremely sparse and limited, that makes them even simpler for casual users.

How to Install & Set Up VPNhub Free

To VPNhub’s credit, it couldn’t be easier to download, sign up for, or use.

Simply download the app from the Google Play Store or App Store and install it onto your device. Once you skip some tutorial slides and refuse the premium account, you’ll be directed to the home screen.

As there’s only one server available, VPNhub is idiot-proof. You really only need the connect/disconnect button. It also doesn’t feature annoying pop-up ads like most free VPNs do.

 

VPNhub Home Screen

VPNhub Free couldn’t be simpler.

There’s no advanced features, either, which are completely removed from the free version (even aesthetic customization is off limits).

This is obviously bad for personalization and security, but it does streamline the app even further, which is great for newbies.

Free on iOS & Android only

Platforms & Devices

How is device compatibility rated?

A quality VPN should maintain functional, fully-featured applications and extensions for as many platforms and devices as possible.

This does not directly contribute to the Overall Rating, but instead makes up a portion of the Ease of Use rating.

You can use VPNhub on a desktop and mobile devices if you pay for the overpriced premium version. Its free version is only available on Android and iOS. There are no workarounds for manual installation. This is very limiting.

Apps

  1. iOS Logo
    iOS
  2. Android Logo
    Android

VPNhub is only available for free on mobile apps. You can find and install it from the Google Play Store and App Store.

There are no workarounds if you were looking to use it on games consoles or on your home router.

This is obviously extremely restrictive.

There is a premium version of VPNhub that is available across more devices, including desktop and Fire TV Stick.

But if you’re going to pay for a VPN, there are many better ones available.

Basic, slow, and unhelpful support

Customer Support

1.51.5/10
How is this calculated?

This rating is based on our assessment of each VPN’s:

  • Email support
  • Live chat support
  • Online resources

Not every VPN offers all of these, and they often vary in quality and response time.

VPNhub's support is close to non-existent. There's a basic FAQ on its app and website, or you can fill in an online form and get a slow and unhelpful response. We'd like to see troubleshooting tips, in-depth guides, and a live chat system.

Email support via an online formYes
Online ResourcesYes

VPNhub’s customer support is lacking. It’s not entirely surprising given that it’s a wholly free VPN service, but we would like to see something more than an FAQ.

There is no live chat, guides, or troubleshooting tops.

There’s zero information about any of the technical specifications of the app, or any means to ask a simple question.

The FAQ in the app is much better than the website one, but both are still lacking in detail or assistance.

Under ‘Support’ you can report technical issues through an online form, with the option to add screenshots. But we found the response time to be slow.

 

VPNhub support form

VPNhub Free uses a contact form for support.

We waited three days for a short, impersonal response that lacked depth and detail.

This isn’t good enough.

A safe, free VPN for US Netflix

The Bottom Line

There are many better VPNs out there, paid and free, but VPNhub is a good VPN for US Netflix access and safe browsing.

One of VPNhub’s strongest qualities is just how easy it is to download, install, and use. You don’t need to insert any credit card information at all. You don’t even need to create an account. This ease of access will tempt people looking for a quick fix to browse and stream safely.

It’s far from a zero logs VPN, but it’s anonymization and protection methods are sound. There’s very little risk of your VPN activity being associated with you, even though its US legal jurisdiction is one of the worst places you can base a VPN.

For a free VPN there are an unsurprising amount of limitations. The US-only server network is very restrictive, and while you connect to many different US cities, you can’t choose any of them.

More worrying is the complete absence of security options. You can’t change protocols and there’s certainly no advanced features of any kind. There’s a kill switch, but you wouldn’t know unless you ask VPNhub (like we did).

We recommend VPNhub for light browsing and easy, free access to US Netflix only. Torrenting is too risky, and there’s many more streaming sites and devices VPNhub just won’t work with.

As free VPNs go, it’s certainly not the worst. But there are better ones out there, too.

 

Additional research by David Hughes

Alternatives to VPNhub Free

Windscribe

Windscribe

8.68.6/10

Windscribe has the best free app. It comes with many more free server locations and is the best free VPN for streaming. Read Windscribe review

VyprVPN logo

VyprVPN

8.48.4/10

VyprVPN is very cheap ($1.66 per month) but it ranks highly. There’s a lot more you can do with this app and it's much safer. We’d recommend paying a slight amount and reaping the rewards. Read VyprVPN review

About the Author


  • Simon Migliano Head of Research at Top10VPN

    Simon Migliano

    Simon is a recognized world expert in VPNs. He's tested hundreds of VPN services and his research has featured on the BBC, The New York Times, CNet and more. Read full bio


User Feedback for VPNhub Free