Disclosure: Top10VPN is editorially independent. We may earn commissions if you buy a VPN through links on our site.

Yoga VPN Review

 0% 
No user reviews
Yoga VPN screenshot
Headshot of Top10VPN.com Site Editor Callum Tennent

Callum oversees how we test and review VPN services. He's a member of the IAPP, and his advice about VPNs has featured in Forbes and the Internet Society. Read full bio

Ask Callum about Yoga VPN

Our Verdict

1.11.1/10
How is this calculated?

Our overall rating is reached by combining several subcategories. The subcategories are weighted as follows:

  • Logging & Jurisdiction: 30%
  • Speed & Reliability: 25%
  • Security & Features: 20%
  • Streaming: 10%
  • Torrenting: 5%
  • Ease of Use: 5%
  • Support: 5%

See our full methodology in how we review VPNs.

Yoga VPN is a free, mobile-only VPN that isn't safe to use. It has weak encryption, invasive advertising, and a vague privacy policy. There are no security features, it doesn’t support P2P, and it leaks DNS data. In short, Yoga VPN is slow and dangerous.

Ranked #67 out of 68

Yoga VPN Category Ratings

  • 11.0/10
  • 11.0/10
  • 11.0/10
  • 11.0/10
  • 11.0/10
  • 1.51.5/10
  • 5.55.5/10
  • 11.0/10

Yoga VPN Pros & Cons

Pros

  1. Average server network

Cons

  1. Flawed security
  2. Intrusive logging
  3. Chinese-linked ownership
  4. The slowest VPN
  5. Confusing server system
  6. Bad app with no support

Yoga VPN has no website, but its Google Play Store listing makes some bold claims, including: “unlimited speeds,” “anonymous,” “no logs,” and more.

Claims like these are made by VPNs no matter how good or bad the service is, so it’s important to look beyond the marketing and find out if these statements are true.

We have produced this full Yoga VPN review to answer all the questions you may have about this mysterious VPN service, including:

  • Who owns Yoga VPN?
  • Is Yoga VPN safe?
  • Which platforms does the VPN support?
  • Can it be hacked?
  • What’s the best alternative to Yoga VPN?

We recommend Windscribe to protect your online privacy and security for free

Yoga VPN Key Data

Data CapUnlimited
Speed8Mbps
Logging PolicyIntrusive Logging
Data LeaksYes
JurisdictionHong Kong
ServersNot disclosed
IP AddressesNot disclosed
Countries5
US NetflixNo
TorrentingNo
Works in ChinaNo
SupportOnline Resources
Official WebsiteYogaVPN.com

Untrustworthy VPN that logs everything

Logging & Jurisdiction

11.0/10
How is this calculated?

We dissect the logging and privacy policies of every VPN. A VPN should never log:

  • Your real IP address
  • Connection timestamps
  • DNS requests

A base of operations outside of 14-Eyes or EU jurisdiction is preferable.

Yoga VPN's privacy policy is a great example of everything you don't want a VPN provider's logging policy to be. It's short on detail but tells you that it collects logs. The app has links with Hong Kong and the Chinese state, too. This VPN cannot be trusted.

Yoga VPN was developed by LANPIPER PTE LTD and is owned by Yolo Net Technology.

The company is incorporated in Hong Kong and has another address in China – the least privacy-friendly country in the world.

Yolo Net Technology describes itself as “focusing on developing small and beautiful mobile applications,” but there’s no mention of Yoga VPN on its website.

Screenshot from LANPIPER Website

Screenshot from the LANPIPER Website

The company secretary is named Brilliant Corporate Services Limited (智尚秘書服務有限公司).

It is incorporated at this address: Unit C, 4/F, China Insurance Building, No.48 Cameron Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong.

It also has a Chinese address in Guangzhou (redacted but available on public record). Chinese national Hang Dong (董航) is the director and sole shareholder.

In short, this is a Hong Kong-registered VPN with an extremely opaque company structure and links to mainland China. We do not recommend trusting this company with your browsing data or personal information.

Logging Policy

Yoga VPN’s privacy policy is 371 words long. It’s extremely vague and contains almost no specific information about the user data that is collected when you use its VPN service.

These specifics are super important when it comes to choosing a safe and private VPN.

The privacy policy used to be linked via text dump-hosting site Pastebin, a site popular with hackers for sharing stolen data as there is no requirement for registration. 

Hosting a privacy policy on Pastebin does very little to inspire trust in the provider.

Excerpt of the Yoga VPN privacy policy from Pastebin.

Excerpt of the Yoga VPN privacy policy from Pastebin.

The company has since bought a more professional URL with the sole purpose of hosting the same privacy policy.

You don’t have to read for long before coming across this:

We collect your non-personal information when you visit our website, including your device information (device ID excluded), operation system, logs.

There is no information whatsoever about how user privacy is protected on the VPN app, and the entire policy appears to be generic text that could apply to any website.

That alone rules out Yoga VPN as a viable service in our eyes.

It means that you are trusting it with all your web searches and data, making it available to anyone Yoga VPN feels compelled to share it with, which it will:

We will access, use or disclose your information with other organizations or entities for reasons that required [sic] by any applicable law.

We recommend consumers absolutely avoid using a VPN with such an obvious disregard for user privacy and such limited transparency about its practices.

A dangerous VPN with weak security

Security & Features

1.51.5/10
How is this calculated?

Top-rated VPNs offer OpenVPN or WireGuard protocols, AES-256 encryption, and a functional kill switch. We also consider additional security features and the global spread of VPN servers.

We don't know how Yoga VPN encrypts your data (if it does) because it has refused to respond to our information requests. There is zero information available on its "website" or app. There's no kill switch, which is an essential security tool, and we discovered DNS and WebRTC leaks. This is not a safe VPN.

Protocols
  1. OpenVPN (TCP/UDP)
  2. Undisclosed
Encryption
  1. Undisclosed
Security
  1. None
Advanced features
  1. None

Yoga VPN is extremely opaque when it comes to details about its encryption and security offering.

We asked the company to tell us exactly how it encrypts and protects its users. We received no response.

It makes hardly any reference to any of the important details about protocols and hardware in any of its marketing materials – there isn’t even a vague promise of security.

It does mention in its play store listing that all traffic is encrypted with UDP/TCP, which are two types of OpenVPN protocol. This is a solid foundation if true, but it’s not nearly enough information to inspire faith in the VPN.

It doesn’t have basic security features such as a VPN kill switch, and there are no additional security tools or configuration options whatsoever.

Our original tests detected DNS and WebRTC leaks which would reveal users’ real identity if examined.

We notified Yoga VPN of these leaks, which they claimed to have fixed, but our most recent testing found that the service still leaks DNS requests.

Our research update into free VPNs also classifies Yoga VPN as ‘risky’ – it has links to mainland China, executes unsafe functions, and demands intrusive permissions to users’ last known location, IMEI number, and phone number.

Overall, Yoga VPN is a dangerous application that should be avoided at all costs. It leaks user data, requests access to sensitive personal information, and fails to protect your browsing activity with weak encryption.

The slowest VPN we’ve tested

Speed & Reliability

11.0/10
How is this calculated?

Speed ratings are calculated using upload speeds, download speeds, and ping (latency).

We test average speeds regularly using a dedicated 100Mbps connection in London, UK. Local download speed is considered the most important factor.

When it comes to connection speed, Yoga VPN is the worst VPN we've come across. On local connections, we experienced a shocking 97% speed loss compared to our normal internet. This makes basic online browsing difficult.

Yoga VPN is the slowest VPN services we’ve ever tested.

We measured a staggering speed loss when connecting to nearby servers and download speed losses of over 90% when connecting to global server locations.

Check out the results in full here:

Local Speed Test results before using Yoga VPN:

  • Download Speed: 80Mbps
  • Upload Speed: 93Mbps
  • Ping: 5ms

Local Speed Test results with Yoga VPN:

  • Download Speed: 2.77Mbps
  • Upload Speed: 2.57Mbps
  • Ping: 11ms

Download speed loss when Yoga VPN is running: 97%

This is an extremely slow VPN that performs consistently poorly.

With speeds as low as 2.77Mbps you will not be able to stream content or browse the internet without significant buffering and loading times.

Ping times were not quite as diabolical, but still underperforming at 11ms on same-country connections.

Long-Distance Connections

These are the average speeds you can expect when connecting out from the UK to these locations:

  • USA:
    • Download: 2.9Mbps
    • Upload: 0.57Mbps
  • Germany:
    • Download: 8.33Mbps
    • Upload: 2.57Mbps
  • Singapore:
    • Download: 3.98Mbps
    • Upload: 2.23Mbps

As you can see, these results are pretty shocking. YogaVPN is not just a shady VPN; it’s a shady and slow VPN.

30 proxy server locations

Server Locations

How is server locations rating rated?

The global spread and coverage of the VPN server network is the most important factor here.

We also consider the number of city-level servers, plus how many IP addresses are maintained.

This rating does not directly contribute to the Overall Rating, but instead makes up a portion of the Security & Features rating.

Yoga VPN's server network is bizarre and confusing. Countries are split into 'levels' and the higher levels are accessed with in-app 'points.' At the highest level you can get access to 30 server locations, which is good for a free service. But in reality, you're mainly stuck with five countries.

Globe with a blue flag
5Countries
Image of a city landscape
43Cities
Image of a pink marker
Undisclosed number ofIP Addresses

Yoga VPN offers approximately 30 server locations split into three ‘levels’. Each level provides an increased number of servers in different international locations, paid for by an in-app currency called ‘points,’ which are distributed randomly.

This system is unconventional and makes using the VPN service unnecessarily confusing – and a bit of a nightmare.

Yoga VPN Server List

Yoga VPN server list is split into levels.

Breaking it down, Level 1 ‘Basic’ servers only offers you five servers in five countries:

  • Canada
  • France
  • Germany
  • United Kingdom
  • United States

Level 2 offers 15 total servers, with some regional options made available, including:

  • Germany Stable
  • Germany For Mid Asia
  • Germany Fast
  • United States West – Fast
  • United States West – Stable
  • United States East – Fast
  • United States East – Stable

What exactly Yoga VPN means by ‘Stable’ is anyone’s guess, presumably it means the performance is consistent, which really any good VPN should be. 

This is unnecessarily confusing

Level 3, described as ‘Worldwide and Stablest’, has a fairly impressive 27 distinct servers, with some city-specific locations, including:

  • Frankfurt
  • London
  • Paris
  • Silicon Valley

Level 3 offers some more international options too, including:

  • Australia
  • Estonia
  • India
  • Japan
  • Russia

This approach is unconventional and unique if we’re being kind, but it’s mostly just annoying and off-putting.

Even stranger, there is a ‘cost’ to accessing each server, and the price increases as you ascend the tiers. This is paid for via an in-app currency called ‘points.’ 

There’s no way to exchange real currency for these ‘points,’ which is a relief, but the downside is that you get given a random allocation every day in the form of a gift. 

This means you likely won’t be able to afford a Level 3 server all day, every day. 

In short, server availability with Yoga VPN is completely dependent on the random allocation of an imaginary in-app currency. This means it’s very difficult to navigate the app and even harder to ensure you can connect to a server location of your choice.

This is a difficult and confusing system that complicates an already poor VPN service.

Unable to access any service

Streaming

11.0/10
How is this calculated?

Streaming is rated by the number of different services unlocked, how many regional libraries are viewable, and how consistently the VPN can access them.

Netflix, BBC iPlayer, HBO Max, DAZN, and Amazon Prime Video are all tested on a weekly basis.

Don't download Yoga VPN if you want a quick streaming fix. It doesn't work on any streaming service. Forget about Netflix, BBC iPlayer, or HBO Max. At best, this might work to get around YouTube blocks, but almost all VPNs do anyway.

Yoga VPN doesn’t unblock any streaming service.

At one time it did unblock BBC iPlayer, and maybe it will again. But we’re not putting any money on it.

If you’re looking to stream content with a VPN for free, we recommend checking out our list of the best free VPNs for Netflix.

Might make torrenting less safe

Torrenting

11.0/10
How is this calculated?

We calculate the average download bitrate of every VPN using a bespoke torrenting setup.

Testing also factors in the percentage of servers which permit P2P, plus useful features like port forwarding.

Nothing Yoga VPN has will make torrenting safer or easier. This VPN will slow your speeds down, log all of your data, and there's no kill switch to prevent exposures. It bans P2P activity anyway.

Yoga VPN makes it clear that “P2P or BitTorrent is not allowed.”

It reiterates twice: “Please don’t use BitTorrent with VPN and it will get account blocked” [sic].

Even if torrenting were permitted, we would not recommend using Yoga VPN for torrenting or P2P activity.

The speeds are slow, privacy is poor, and there is no VPN kill switch to protect your IP address if your internet connection drops.

Won't bypass any internet blocks

Bypassing Censorship

11.0/10
How is this calculated?

Our remote-access server in Shanghai, China routinely tests if a VPN can beat restrictions and access a free, open internet. Obfuscation technologies and nearby servers are also a contributing factor.

This rating does not directly contribute to the Overall Rating, but instead makes up a portion of the Security & Features rating.

Yoga VPN doesn't have the any tools in the kit to get around state blocks. It's an unsafe VPN anyway, so you shouldn't use it even if it did somehow get around censorship. We don't recommend using it in any country that imposes limitations on internet freedom.

Bypassing heavy censorship in countries like China or UAE is incredibly difficult for even the most trustworthy VPN services. As a result, it’s highly unlikely that Yoga VPN will work against censorship.

Its gaping security concerns, leaks, and almost non-existent privacy policy mean Yoga VPN would be a dreadful choice anyway, even if it did.

If you’re looking to find a VPN that works in China, its best to consult our list of the best VPNs for the country

Apps for iOS & Android only

Platforms & Devices

How is device compatibility rated?

A quality VPN should maintain functional, fully-featured applications and extensions for as many platforms and devices as possible.

This does not directly contribute to the Overall Rating, but instead makes up a portion of the Ease of Use rating.

Yoga VPN is a free service only available on iOS and Android. Usually we’d like to see a VPN offer apps across as many devices as possible. Not in this case – the less Yoga VPN apps in the world, the better. There are no browser extensions, either. Thank God.

Apps

A mobile-only VPN, Yoga VPN is available for:

  1. iOS Logo
    iOS
  2. Android Logo
    Android

This does mean that you’ll have to pick up a different VPN if you want to protect the rest of your devices (or your home network at large).

 

Annoying advertising & poor user experience

Ease of Use

5.55.5/10
How is this calculated?

This rating mainly consists of the intuitiveness of setup and everyday use.

Device or platform compatibility and customization options are also a factor.

At the least, most free VPNs are easy to use as they're basic. Not so much with Yoga VPN, which has a strange server and 'points' system. You'll also be flooded with advertisements when trying to use the service. But it's still bare enough not to confuse anyone using it.

How to Install & Set Up Yoga VPN

It’s a good thing that Yoga VPN doesn’t require bank details in order to sign up: it takes more than enough payment in the form of your personal data.

Using the app you’ll quickly get annoyed by the flood of ads with timers that interrupt your use – it’s bad, even for a free service.

There are no extra features or settings either. Yoga VPN might be free but it is incredibly frustrating to use. Pop-up ads frequently interrupt navigation and the server layout is confusing.

No customer support provided

Customer Support

11.0/10
How is this calculated?

This rating is based on our assessment of each VPN’s:

  • Email support
  • Live chat support
  • Online resources

Not every VPN offers all of these, and they often vary in quality and response time.

There is next to no customer support available for Yoga VPN users. We found a personal Gmail address, which we contacted and get no response. There's also an inadequate FAQ within the app.

Yoga VPN uses a personal Gmail address for support rather than a corporate address, which is highly unprofessional but not out of character for a low-quality VPN service like this one.

There’s an in-app FAQ with generic questions like “Is Yoga VPN free and safe?”

It answers by saying: “It would not steal any user’s information.”

There is absolutely no other resource if you want to get customer support – we tried the email but didn’t even receive a response.

In short, Yoga VPN offers absolutely zero customer service or support. If you have any problems using the application you’re on your own.

Fails on every level

The Bottom Line

Yoga VPN is bottom of the barrel stuff.

There is a complete lack of security, no privacy (it logs everything), and it makes for an unpleasant user experience.

It bans torrenting traffic and it won’t work with streaming services like Netflix or BBC iPlayer.

Our local speed loss is close to 100% when using the service. This makes even casual internet browsing difficult.

Its applications are unsafe, ineffective, and the company behind it has links to China.

We do not recommend using Yoga VPN at all.

Don’t let Yoga VPN put you off altogether, though – you still should get a trustworthy VPN.

 

Additional research by David Hughes

Alternatives to Yoga VPN

FastestVPN Logo

FastestVPN

8.38.3/10

FastestVPN is a super-cheap option, coming in at $1.11 per month. It may not be reliable with streaming services, but it's a secure, beginner-friendly VPN. Read FastestVPN review

Windscribe

Windscribe

8.68.6/10

Windscribe Free is an option to consider if you really don’t want to pay a bill. It's our number one recommendation for free services and oftentimes works for streaming. Read Windscribe review

About the Author


  • Headshot of Top10VPN.com Site Editor Callum Tennent

    Callum Tennent

    Callum oversees how we test and review VPN services. He's a member of the IAPP, and his advice about VPNs has featured in Forbes and the Internet Society. Read full bio


User Feedback for Yoga VPN

  • 0 user reviews
  • 0 questions answered