We review VPNs independently, but we may earn commissions if you buy a VPN via our links.

Turbo VPN Review

 Rated 0 out of 5 
No user reviews
TurboVPN header
Simon Migliano

Simon Migliano is a recognized world expert in VPNs. He's tested hundreds of VPN services and his research has featured on the BBC, The New York Times and more.

Fact-checked by Callum TennentAdditional Testing by Harry Ferrigno

Our Verdict

2.222.2/10
How is this calculated?

We calculate the VPN service’s Overall Rating by combining the ratings of several testing categories. Each category is weighted as follows:

  • Privacy & Logging Policy: 20%
  • Speed: 20%
  • Security & Technical Features: 15%
  • Streaming: 15%
  • Ease of Use: 10%
  • Torrenting: 5%
  • Server Locations: 5%
  • Bypassing Web Censorship: 5%
  • Customer Support: 5%

Learn more by reading our VPN testing and review methodology.

TurboVPN is an unsafe free VPN. It's riddled with invasive third-party advertising and has dubious links to China. We also detected DNS leaks, unsafe permissions, and malware. Using TurboVPN poses a serious risk to your privacy and security.

Ranked #46 out of 65 VPNs

Turbo VPN Category Ratings

  • 0.50.5/10
  • 00.0/10
  • 3.43.4/10
  • 0.80.8/10
  • 33.0/10
  • 11.0/10
  • 22.0/10
  • 3.73.7/10
  • 8.68.6/10

Turbo VPN Pros & Cons

  • Uses OpenVPN – our preferred protocol
  • Easy setup on all devices

  • Shares user data with China
  • No extra privacy features
  • Paywalls its kill switch
  • Throttled internet speeds
  • Ownership has ties with China

Why Trust Top10VPN.com?

We’re completely independent and have spent 8 years reviewing VPNs using our unbiased testing process.

Our ratings are based on our own data, and are unaffected by financial incentives.

VPN Services Tested65
Total Hours of Testing30,000+
Weekly Speed Tests3,000+
Streaming Platforms Tested97
VPN Security Tests Conducted9,500+
Money Spent on VPN Subscriptions$25,000+

Turbo VPN is a popular, freemium VPN service incorporated in Singapore.

Previously, Turbo VPN was one of the worst VPNs we had reviewed with our tests uncovering evidence of DNS leaks, malware, and third-party intrusions.

Recently, we have seen minor improvements from the provider with a far less intrusive logging policy.

Having said that, we’re still not comfortable recommending Turbo VPN, and its lack of a kill switch remains a major concern. Try out our top-rated free VPNs for a faster, safer, and more secure service.

Aside from its privacy and security issues, Turbo VPN similarly falls short in all other categories. It cannot unblock any streaming services, apart from HBO Max sporadically, and it outright bans any torrenting or P2P connections on its servers.

We would also like to see a greater spread of server locations, especially on its iOS and macOS apps which are limited to just the nearest server.

Turbo VPN also offers a premium version of its service – this review focuses on its free VPN software.

EXPERT ADVICE: Turbo VPN isn’t safe to use, so why not try a premium VPN for free for 30 days?

In our Surfshark tests, the VPN recorded fast speeds, safeguarded our internet privacy, and even unblocked US Netflix. Try Surfshark for free by using its 100% refund guarantee.

Turbo VPN Key Data

Data CapFair Usage Policy
Download Speed7Mbps
Logging PolicyNo Identifying Data
Data LeaksNo
JurisdictionSingapore (SIGINT Member)
ServersNot disclosed
IP AddressesNot disclosed
Countries with ServersVariable
US NetflixNo
TorrentingNo
Simultaneous Connections5
Works In ChinaNo
Support24/7 Live Chat
Official WebsiteTurboVPN.com

Privacy & Logging Policy

Improved Logging Policy but Dubious Links to China

3.43.4/10
How is this calculated?

We analyze and dissect the VPN service’s logging and privacy policy. A VPN should never log and store:

  • Your real IP address
  • Connection timestamps
  • DNS requests

Headquarters outside of 14 Eyes or EU jurisdictions are also preferable.

Turbo VPN collects minimal data about your VPN connection including whether the connection was successful and where you're connecting to. We believe that this isn't enough to identify you. While registered in Singapore, it's owned by a Chinese national and has strong, worrying links to the Chinese government.

Ranked #40 out of 65 VPNs for Privacy & Logging Policy

Below is a summary of the data that Turbo VPN logs:

Data TypeLogged by Turbo VPN
Account InformationNo
Browsing ActivityNo
Date of Last ConnectionNo
Device InformationNo
DNS QueriesNo
Individual Bandwidth UsageYes
Individual Connection TimestampsYes
ISPNo
Number of Simultaneous ConnectionsNo
Originating IP AddressNo
VPN Server IPNo
VPN Server LocationNo

Turbo’s privacy policy isn’t the most accessible (the default font size is extremely small) but its logging policy has certainly improved from past iterations.

This is not the worst logging policy we’ve reviewed and you can’t be identified from this. However, Turbo claims that it doesn’t store timestamps of VPN connections, but it must log some if it knows when a connection is successful.

Turbo VPN also logs the aggregate amount of data transferred – this is fine and can’t be used to identify you.

The privacy policy states that Turbo VPN “may be compelled to disclose your data where [it is] served with a valid court order.” This is particularly troubling when coupled with Turbo’s suspect past and its ties with China.

It’s also worth noting that Turbo previously had one of the worst logging policies we’ve seen. While its current policy is a step in the right direction, we have no way of verifying if Turbo VPN follows it in practice.

Until Turbo VPN can provide real-world evidence of its logging practices, such as a third-party audit, we can’t call it a private or safe VPN service.

Worrying links to China

Turbo VPN is developed by a firm called Innovative Connecting. It has released a number of other basic, free VPNs, including VPN Proxy Master, Snap Master VPN, Solo VPN Pro, and VPN Proxy Master Lite.

It’s incorporated at 38 Beach Road #29-11 South Beach Tower, Singapore. Singapore is a nation of intrusive surveillance, government snooping, and has links with the Five Eyes — a US-led intelligence sharing network.

Additionally, our independent research shows Turbo VPN’s strong links with Mainland China.

The director of Innovative Connecting is a Chinese national and entrepreneur by the name of Danian Chen, who is also the CEO of LinkSure — the company behind ‘WiFi Master Key.’

Once described by Forbes as “one of the most influential young leaders in China,” Danian Chen is listed only in corporate filings and has no public association with the company.

The fact that Turbo VPN is owned by a Chinese national, and the service’s privacy policy states it will hand over your personal information to legal authorities ‘if ordered by a court of competent jurisdiction’ is highly problematic.

Speed

Throttled Connection Speeds

0.80.8/10
How is this calculated?

We calculate the VPN’s speed rating using our download speeds, upload speeds, and ping (latency) measurements.

We regularly test the VPN’s local and international speeds using a dedicated 100Mbps internet connection in New York, USA.

Turbo VPN throttled our internet connection, with our download speed dropping by 93% when we connected to a same-city server. As a result, Turbo VPN is only fast enough for everyday web browsing. We recommend avoiding this VPN if you need to torrent, play online video games, or stream geo-restricted content.

Ranked #58 out of 65 VPNs for Speed

To calculate Turbo VPN’s speed rating, we tested the speed of the connection between our location and Turbo VPN servers around the world.

Here’s a table showing Turbo VPN’s speed test results, in full:

Throughout the testing process, Turbo VPN repeatedly throttled our connection speeds. While connected to Turbo VPN’s Germany server, our speeds reduced by 92%.

This is an unacceptable result and only fast enough for general web browsing.

Turbo VPN claims to not put any caps on bandwidth or data usage, but it does operate a ‘fair usage’ policy.

Based on our experience with the service, running a few speed tests seems to surpass what it considers to be fair. Expect frequent and server throttling when using Turbo VPN.

Server Locations

Very Small Server Network

33.0/10
How is this calculated?

The key factor for calculating this rating is the global spread and coverage of the VPN’s server network.

We also consider the total number of servers, the number of city-level servers, and the number of IP addresses available.

Frustratingly, Turbo VPN’s available servers vary depending on what platform you use it on. If you are on iOS or macOS then you can only connect to a nearby server. If you are on Windows you get a choice of US, India, or Singapore. On Android, your options depend on the protocol you use with OpenVPN, the most secure choice, allowing access to four locations.

Ranked #58 out of 65 VPNs for Server Locations

Globe with a blue flag
Variable Countries
Image of a city landscape
Varies Cities
Image of a pink marker
Undisclosed number of IP Addresses

Turbo VPN takes an approach to servers that we’ve never seen before. The list of available VPN servers changes depending on what platform or device you are using, as well as what protocol you’re using. Here’s how it breaks down:

This is a needlessly confusing way of doing things, and we can’t see any reason for doing so. Your options are clearly better if you’re an Android user, although the selection for Windows has its potential uses.

TurboVPN's server list on macOS

Turbo VPN’s macOS app places its entire server network behind a paywall.

The server spread across all devices is poor, with Asia only being represented by single servers in India and Singapore as well as a total absence of coverage in Africa and South America.

We would also have liked some city-level options in larger locations like the US where a server being located in the East or West Coast could affect your connection speeds.

Streaming

Turbo VPN Is a Bad Choice for Streaming

0.50.5/10
How is this calculated?

This rating is calculated by how many different streaming services and regional content libraries the VPN can unblock, and how consistently it can access them.

We test access to Netflix, Disney+, Max, Amazon Prime Video, BBC iPlayer, and many more platforms on a weekly basis.

It works with HBO Max, but that’s it. Turbo VPN’s limited servers mean that you can only attempt to watch a handful of regional services and libraries. It failed with all of them, including Netflix, Amazon Prime, Disney+, and BBC iPlayer.

Ranked #60 out of 65 VPNs for Streaming

Turbo VPN is a bad VPN for streaming across all devices. Here’s a list of the popular streaming platforms it unblocks:

Streaming PlatformWorks with Turbo VPN
Amazon Prime VideoNo
BBC iPlayerNo
Channel 4No
Disney+No
Hotstar IndiaNo
HuluNo
ITVXNo
MaxYes
Netflix USNo

Its Windows app was able to unlock HBO Max with ease but its quality was subpar. The Android app could also stream HBO Max on its single US server but it took multiple attempts with awful video quality.

Using Turbo VPN to stream HBO Max

We were able to access HBO Max on Turbo VPN’s single US server.

All Turbo VPN applications failed to access Netflix in any region. The VPN also doesn’t work with Prime Video, Disney+, or BBC iPlayer.

Some users have claimed to be able to access Netflix, but only through premium VIP servers which are inaccessible to free users.

There are far better streaming VPNs availabledo not use Turbo VPN for streaming.

Torrenting

Turbo VPN Can't Be Used to Torrent

00.0/10
How is this calculated?

This rating is determined by the VPN’s torrenting speeds, the percentage of servers that allow P2P file sharing, the service’s privacy and trustworthiness, and useful settings like port forwarding.

For speed specifically, we calculate the VPN’s average download bitrate using our bespoke torrenting setup.

Turbo VPN does not allow torrenting or P2P connections. If you attempt to bypass this, your account may be banned.

Ranked #57 out of 65 VPNs for Torrenting

Here’s a quick summary of showing how Turbo VPN performed in our torrenting tests:

Torrenting Attribute Result
Average Download Bitrate 0.0MiB/s
No. of P2P Servers Not Disclosed
Logging Policy No Identifying Data
Kill Switch Paid Version Only
Port Forwarding No

Previously, Turbo VPN blocked P2P traffic on its servers and its privacy policy warned that your account could be suspended if you attempted to torrent while using it too often.

In our most recent tests, we were able to successfully torrent on Turbo’s US server and any reference to account suspension has been removed from the privacy policy.

However, we contacted the Turbo VPN support team and they confirmed that both torrenting and P2P connections are still banned on the VPN’s servers.

Turbo VPN's customer support states torrenting is banned

Turbo VPN does not allow torrenting on any of its servers.

Regardless, even if Turbo VPN did work with torrenting, we would still not advise to use it. Historically, its logging policy has not been good enough to entrust the service with your identifiable data.

The absence of a kill switch on the free version is another major drawback for torrenters. A kill switch is a security essential for file-sharing.

Bypassing Web Censorship

TurboVPN Is Useless Against Censorship

11.0/10
How is this calculated?

We routinely test if the VPN can bypass strict internet restrictions in China using our remote-access server in Shanghai.

Other important factors we consider include obfuscation technologies and the availability of servers in neighboring countries (for faster connections).

This VPN will not work in China. It doesn't have the resources or technology available to bypass the toughest censor on the planet. It may work in slightly more relaxed countries (like Iran or UAE), but reviews are mixed.

Ranked #54 out of 65 VPNs for Bypassing Web Censorship

Turbo VPN makes it quite clear that the app won’t work in China. It claims this is for ‘policy’ reasons.

TurboVPN Censorship Text

Even if it were willing to let you use the VPN in China, it lacks the technologies to effectively beat the Great Firewall.

You may have some luck using Turbo VPN in other censored countries with less effective internet blocks. We don’t recommend doing so, though. You shouldn’t put yourself at risk by using this bad VPN in countries which frown upon VPN usage.

Security & Technical Features

Unsafe VPN With Weak Encryption, DNS leaks, and Malware

22.0/10
How is this calculated?

A secure VPN must offer OpenVPN or WireGuard protocols, AES-256 encryption, and a working kill switch.

To calculate this rating, we also factor in additional security settings and features.

Turbo VPN is of the most unsafe and insecure VPNs we've ever tested. It leaks DNS requests and has potential malware embedded within its install files. We strongly, strongly advise you choose a different VPN.

Ranked #57 out of 65 VPNs for Security & Technical Features

You can see the full list of connection protocols, encryption ciphers, and advanced features Turbo VPN offers in the table below:

ProtocolsAvailable in Turbo VPN
IKEv2/IPSecYes
L2TP/IPSecYes
OpenVPN (TCP/UDP)Yes
ProprietaryYes
WireGuardNo
EncryptionAvailable in Turbo VPN
AES-128Yes
AES-192No
AES-256No
BlowfishNo
ChaCha20No
SecurityAvailable in Turbo VPN
Diskless ServersNo
DNS Leak BlockingNo
First-party DNSNo
IPv6 Leak BlockingNo
Supports TCP Port 443No
VPN Kill SwitchNo
WebRTC Leak BlockingNo
Advanced FeaturesAvailable in Turbo VPN
Ad BlockerNo
Dedicated IPNo
Double VPNNo
SOCKSNo
Split TunnelingYes
Static IPNo
Tor over VPN ServerNo
Tracker BlockerNo

It’s unlikely that you’ll find a VPN quite as unsafe as Turbo VPN.

As part of our free VPN investigation we detected unsafe functions, DNS leaks, and virus/malware on the app.

Turbo VPN also uses third-party advertising platforms to obtain sensitive information “for personalized advertising purpose [sic].”

This goes against everything a VPN is supposed to do and what it represents.

Your personal data is not secure, with Turbo VPN not even maintaining its own DNS servers, which means that your web traffic is routed through third-party servers even when you’re connected to the VPN.

Turbo VPN DNS leak test results

Turbo VPN relies on third-party DNS servers.

There are multiple VPN protocols listed within the app (although they vary depending on what device you’re using). OpenVPN is the default across all operating systems.

Of the protocols on offer, there are three we’ve never heard of before: SSR, ISSR, and Trojan. Given how Turbo VPN performs in every other regard, we don’t trust a bespoke protocol to properly encrypt your data.

A list of protocols available on Turbo VPN

You can’t be certain which protocol you’re using on the free version of Turbo VPN.

The ability to choose protocols is reserved for the premium version on Windows and macOS.

In another undesirable first for Turbo VPN, we have never before seen a VPN which paywalls its kill switch.

Turbo VPN's kill switch settings

Turbo VPN’s kill switch is exclusively a premium feature across all devices.

We consider a kill switch to be the most basic, fundamental privacy feature for a VPN. It tells you everything you need to know about Turbo VPN’s priorities that it withholds the kill switch for paying users.

Device & OS Compatibility

Free Software for All Major Platforms

How is this rated?

A high-quality VPN should maintain functional, fully-featured applications and browser extensions for as many platforms and devices as possible.

Our ‘Device & OS Compatibility’ assessment contributes to the Ease of Use rating.

The basic, free version of Turbo VPN has apps available for Android, iOS, Windows, and macOS. They all vary slightly in terms of servers and features on offer, but they all look very similar. They’re extremely simple, with a severe lack of important features.

Apps

  1. Windows
  2. Mac
  3. iOS
  4. Android

Previously a mobile-only VPN, Turbo VPN is now available on Windows and macOS, in addition to Android and iOS.

Turbo VPN does something which we’ve never seen from a VPN before: it offers a totally different list of servers depending on what platform you’re using.

The Android application gives you access to the largest server list, plus extra settings like split tunneling (only available on the Android app).

Turbo VPN's server list

Turbo VPN’s server list.

On iOS, macOS, and Windows there are no extra features or settings whatsoever.

On iOS and macOS, you can’t choose a server, either, instead being stuck with a ‘fastest’ option (Germany, in our case, which is odd given we’re located in the UK).

All the apps are very simple, and look almost identical from platform to platform.

The Turbo VPN client for Windows

The Turbo VPN client for Windows.

Ease of Use

Simple, but Very Limited Apps

3.73.7/10
How is this calculated?

This rating mainly consists of the user-friendliness and intuitiveness of setting up and regularly using the VPN.

We also factor in customization settings, as well as device and OS compatibility (see section above).

Turbo VPN has so few features that it ends up being incredibly easy to use as a result. All of its apps look identical. That's good for consistency, but it means that the desktop versions are poorly optimized. Beginners will be happy, but even intermediate users will be left wanting more.

Ranked #58 out of 65 VPNs for Ease of Use

How to Install & Set Up Turbo VPN

All four of Turbo VPN’s apps (Windows, macOS, iOS, and Android) are simple to use.

This is largely due to the near-total lack of advanced features. You can choose a server, you can connect, and that’s about it.

Turbo VPN started life as a mobile-only VPN, and that much is obvious in the design of its desktop apps. They look identical to the mobile versions, which is lazy and unintuitive to use with a mouse and keyboard.

The main issue with Turbo VPN’s apps, though, are the constant advertising popups.

They’re disruptive enough on mobile, but on desktop they’re a huge nuisance – opening a new browser window full of ads every time you connect or change servers.

Customer Support

Surprisingly Robust Customer Service

8.68.6/10
How is this calculated?

This rating is based on our assessment of the VPN’s:

  • Live chat support
  • Email support
  • Online resources

Not every VPN offers all these support options, and they often vary in quality and response times.

Customer support was surprisingly responsive and helpful. While Turbo VPN's online resources are extremely basic, the round-the-clock live support impressed us with quick and polite responses.

Ranked #11 out of 65 VPNs for Customer Support

You can reach Turbo VPN’s customer support in the following ways:

Customer SupportAvailable in Turbo VPN
24/7 Email SupportNo
24/7 Live Chat SupportYes
ChatbotNo
EmailYes
Email Support via Online FormNo
Online ResourcesYes
Tutorial VideosNo

Turbo VPN has recently performed a complete overhaul of its customer support. Where it was once almost non-existent, it’s now actually on a level equal to some of the most popular VPNs.

The biggest contributor to this is its 24/7 live chat. This is accessed from a chat window on the support page. It first runs your query by a chatbot that attempts to find an answer from its minimal FAQs section. However, if you don’t get what you need there you can be instantly forwarded to a live support agent.

The agent responded extremely quickly, and was actually helpful in addressing the issue we had, too.

Email support has been improved, too. You now fill out a simple online form and will be emailed a response in the coming hours.

The Bottom Line

Is Turbo VPN Worth It?

We do not recommend Turbo VPN under any circumstances. It’s unreliable, insecure, and dangerous.

The VPN service doesn’t let you torrent on its free servers, and it doesn’t work with content platforms like Netflix or BBC iPlayer.

Though you may be able to stream HBO Max, it’s not worth the trade-off in terms of privacy, security, and performance. We advise using a secure free VPN, instead.

Even better, we recommend using one of our most highly-rated VPNs, some of which offer VPN free trials.

EXPERT ADVICE: Surfshark is a top VPN that offers a no-questions-asked money-back guarantee.

The VPN allows fast torrenting and streaming across its 3,200 servers. Try Surfshark for free for 30 days.

Alternatives to Turbo VPN

Windscribe

Windscribe

8.959.0/10

Windscribe is our top-rated free VPN. Unlike Turbo VPN, it has reliable download speeds, a good selection of servers and, most importantly, a strong privacy policy. Read Windscribe review

Surfshark VPN logo

Surfshark

9.249.2/10

Surfshark is a premium VPN but it comes at a budget price of $2.21 a month. It's a good streaming VPN with fast speeds and several configurable settings TurboVPN can only dream of. Read Surfshark review


User Reviews for Turbo VPN

User Reviews are shown in the original language of submission.