Disclosure: Top10VPN is editorially independent. We may earn commissions if you buy a VPN through links on our site.

Turbo VPN Review

 0% 
No user reviews
Turbo VPN screenshot
Simon Migliano Head of Research at Top10VPN

Simon is a recognized world expert in VPNs. He's tested hundreds of VPN services and his research has featured on the BBC, The New York Times, CNet and more. Read full bio

Ask Simon about Turbo VPN

Our Verdict

2.12.1/10
How is this calculated?

Our overall rating is reached by combining several subcategories. The subcategories are weighted as follows:

  • Logging & Jurisdiction: 30%
  • Speed & Reliability: 25%
  • Security & Features: 20%
  • Streaming: 10%
  • Torrenting: 5%
  • Ease of Use: 5%
  • Support: 5%

See our full methodology in how we review VPNs.

TurboVPN is an unsafe free VPN. It's riddled with invasive third-party advertising and it logs connection data. We also detected DNS leaks, unsafe permissions, and malware. Using TurboVPN poses a serious risk to your privacy and security.

Ranked #62 out of 68

Turbo VPN Category Ratings

  • 11.0/10
  • 00.0/10
  • 0.20.2/10
  • 6.66.6/10
  • 4.54.5/10
  • 11.0/10
  • 22.0/10
  • 3.73.7/10
  • 8.68.6/10

Turbo VPN Pros & Cons

Pros

  1. Uses OpenVPN – our preferred protocol
  2. Easy setup on all devices

Cons

  1. Intrusive logging policy & annoying pop-up ads
  2. Shares user data with China
  3. No extra privacy features
  4. Customer support is non-existent
  5. Inconsistent performance

Turbo VPN has been downloaded by a staggering 300 million users around the world. But can its quality possibly match its popularity?

The answer is no. Turbo VPN is one of the worst VPNs we’ve tested, and it poses many risks to its users.

In this Turbo VPN review we will bring to your attention all the concerning issues we’ve identified. We’ll also answer other product-related questions such as:

  • What logs does Turbo VPN collect?
  • How unsafe is Turbo VPN?
  • Is it ok to use it with Netflix?
  • Who really owns Turbo VPN?

Keep reading our Turbo VPN review to understand exactly why we strongly recommend you don’t use this VPN under no circumstances.

Discover our top-rated free VPNs for privacy

For safer and unlimited VPN use, we suggest an inexpensive VPN like Surfshark. With fast speeds, strong security, and a 30-day refund guarantee, we highly recommend it over Turbo VPN.

Before delving into our Turbo VPN review, below is a quick overview of the Turbo VPN’s advantages and disadvantages.

Turbo VPN Key Data

Data CapFair Usage Policy
Speed45Mbps
Logging PolicyIntrusive Logging
Data LeaksNo
JurisdictionSingapore
ServersNot disclosed
IP AddressesNot disclosed
CountriesVariable
US NetflixNo
TorrentingNo
Works in ChinaNo
Support24/7 Live Chat
Official WebsiteTurboVPN.com

Bad Privacy Policy & Dubious Links to China

Logging Policy & Jurisdiction

0.20.2/10
How is this calculated?

We dissect the logging and privacy policies of every VPN. A VPN should never log:

  • Your real IP address
  • Connection timestamps
  • DNS requests

A base of operations outside of 14-Eyes or EU jurisdiction is preferable.

Turbo VPN's logging policy is confusing and poorly-written. It logs far too much data - enough that we believe you could be identified if anyone gained access to it. While registered in Singapore, it's owned by a Chinese national and has strong, worrying links to the Chinese government.

The fact that it then calls itself a “no-logs” VPN goes to show the extent to which the term is so freely and wrongly used.

Turbo VPN uses this justification:

The minimal information allows us to provide efficient technical support to you.

But we know you can run a great VPN with far less information collected.

It’s obvious this VPN company doesn’t want you to read its privacy policy. It’s hard to read (the default font size is extremely small), and the information within is awful.

More than that, your data appears to be readily available for the Chinese Communist Party, plus whatever private interests and third-parties it’s also sharing it with.

Luckily, we are here to call it out and clearly warn you: avoid Turbo VPN.

Worrying links to China

Turbo VPN is developed by a firm called Innovative Connecting. It has released a number of other basic, free VPNs, including VPN Proxy Master, Snap Master VPN, Solo VPN Pro, and VPN Proxy Master Lite.

It’s incorporated at 38 Beach Road #29-11 South Beach Tower, Singapore. Singapore is a nation of intrusive surveillance, government snooping, and has links with the Five Eyes — a US-led intelligence sharing network.

Additionally, our independent research shows Turbo VPN’s strong links with Mainland China.

The director of Innovative Connecting is a Chinese national and entrepreneur by the name of Danian Chen, who is also the CEO of LinkSure — the company behind ‘WiFi Master Key.’

Once described by Forbes as “one of the most influential young leaders in China,” Danian Chen is listed only in corporate filings and has no public association with the company.

The fact that Turbo VPN is owned by a Chinese national, and the service’s privacy policy states it will hand over your personal information to legal authorities ‘if ordered by a court of competent jurisdiction’ is highly problematic.

Unless you want to risk your data being sent to China, we advise you do not use Turbo VPN.

Mediocre & Very Inconsistent VPN Speeds

Speed & Reliability

6.66.6/10
How is this calculated?

Speed ratings are calculated using upload speeds, download speeds, and ping (latency).

We test average speeds regularly using a dedicated 100Mbps connection in London, UK. Local download speed is considered the most important factor.

Turbo VPN may be just fast enough for everyday use when you connect to a nearby server. But if you don't live in one of the seven countries it has a server in, then it's too slow to stream in HD and torrenting files will take way too long.

Turbo VPN recorded mediocre results in our speed tests. Download speeds were below-par connecting to a nearby server, but dropped massively connecting to international server locations.

Overall, Turbo VPN’s speeds may be acceptable for casual use, but they are far too inconsistent for more regular use of the service.

Below are the results of our speed tests:

Local Speed Test results before using Turbo VPN:

  • Download Speed: 47Mbps
  • Upload Speed: 45Mbps
  • Ping: 2ms

Local Speed Test results with Turbo VPN:

  • Download Speed: 30Mbps
  • Upload Speed: 45Mbps
  • Ping: 13ms

Download speed loss when Turbo VPN is running: 36%

These speeds are poor, even for a free VPN. If you are fortunate enough to live near one of Turbo VPN’s free servers, though, it should still be fast enough that you can do some light browsing without noticing too much slowdown.

Turbo VPN fared much worse connecting to further-away server locations. Below are the results of our long-distance speed tests:

  • USA: 16Mpbs (download) & 31Mbps (upload)
  • Germany: 28Mbps (download) & 40Mbps (upload)
  • Singapore: 0.49Mpbs (download) & 33Mbps (upload)

The VPN recorded some outright dreadful speeds, particularly when connecting as far as Singapore. We recorded a 97% speed loss, which is one of the worst we’ve ever seen.

It’s also the case that Turbo VPN is, unfortunately, wildly inconsistent. This is an issue backed up by many user reviews.

Turbo VPN claims to not put any caps on bandwidth or data usage, but it does operate a ‘fair usage’ policy.

If our experience is anything to go by, running a few speed tests seems to surpass what it considers to be fair, resulting in major throttling of our speeds.

Very Small Server Network

Server Locations

4.54.5/10
How is this calculated?

The global spread and coverage of the VPN server network is the most important factor here.

We also consider the number of city-level servers, plus how many IP addresses are maintained.

This rating does not directly contribute to the Overall Rating, but instead makes up a portion of the Security & Features rating.

Frustratingly, Turbo VPN's available servers vary depending on what platform you use it on. If you are on iOS or MacOS then you can only connect to a nearby server. If you are on Windows you get a choice of UK or US servers. If you are on Android you can connect to five different countries across North America, Europe, and Asia.

Globe with a blue flag
VariableCountries
Image of a city landscape
VariesCities
Image of a pink marker
Undisclosed number ofIP Addresses

Turbo VPN takes an approach to servers that we’ve never seen before. The list of available VPN servers changes depending on what platform or device you are using, as well as what protocol you’re using. Here’s how it breaks down:

Android
  • OpenVPN
    • Canada (Toronto)
    • India (Doddaballapura)
    • Netherlands (Amsterdam)
    • Singapore
    • UK (London)
    • US (San Francisco)
  • UK (London, Manchester, Bexley)
  • US (New York, Chicago, Portland, Dallas, Phoenix, Los Angeles, Las Vegas, Hialeah, Nashville, Miami, Commerce, Denver, San Jose)
iOS
  • Fastest nearby server only
Windows
  • Germany
  • India
  • US
  • Singapore
MacOS
  • Fastest nearby server only

This is a needlessly confusing way of doing things, and we can’t see any reason for doing so. Your options are clearly better if you’re an Android user, although the selection for Windows has its potential uses.

A Bad Choice for Streaming

Streaming

11.0/10
How is this calculated?

Streaming is rated by the number of different services unlocked, how many regional libraries are viewable, and how consistently the VPN can access them.

Netflix, BBC iPlayer, HBO Max, DAZN, and Amazon Prime Video are all tested on a weekly basis.

It works with BBC iPlayer, but that's it. Turbo VPN's limited servers mean that you can only attempt to watch a handful of regional services and libraries. It failed with all of them, including Netflix, Amazon Prime, and HBO Max.

Turbo VPN is a bad VPN for streaming.

On both of its US servers we failed to access Netflix.

Some users have claimed to be able to access the site, but only through premium VIP servers, leaving free users high and dry.

To our surprise, it did unblock BBC iPlayer.

How long this will last, we can’t say, but it’s a positive for now.

The BBC has cracked down on VPN providers, so it’s likely that Turbo VPN’s only UK server will fall victim to this soon.

Torrenting

We really couldn’t recommend Turbo VPN for torrenting or P2P activity due to its serious lack of privacy features and intrusive logging policy. 

Turbo VPN also states clearly in its FAQs that users should not access BitTorrent while connected or their account may be blocked.

Cannot Be Used to Torrent

Torrenting

00.0/10
How is this calculated?

We calculate the average download bitrate of every VPN using a bespoke torrenting setup.

Testing also factors in the percentage of servers which permit P2P, plus useful features like port forwarding.

Turbo VPN cannot be used for torrenting. In our tests it was incapable of downloading a file while connected. Turbo VPN will also ban your account if you attempt to bypass this.

For Turbo VPN and torrenting, it’s really that simple.

Our testing found that it blocks P2P traffic, meaning that torrenting does not work while the VPN is connected.

In addition to that, its privacy policy dictates that your account may be suspended if you attempt this too often.

Finally, even if Turbo VPN did work with torrenting, we would still suggest that you do not use it. The logging policy is simply not good enough to entrust the service with your private download details.

Useless Against Censorship

Bypassing Censorship

11.0/10
How is this calculated?

Our remote-access server in Shanghai, China routinely tests if a VPN can beat restrictions and access a free, open internet. Obfuscation technologies and nearby servers are also a contributing factor.

This rating does not directly contribute to the Overall Rating, but instead makes up a portion of the Security & Features rating.

This VPN will not work in China. It doesn't have the resources or technology available to bypass the toughest censor on the planet. It may work in slightly more relaxed countries (like Iran or UAE), but reviews are mixed.

Turbo VPN makes it quite clear that the app can’t be used in China. It claims that this is for ‘policy’ reasons.

TurboVPN Censorship Text

Even if it were willing to let you use the app in China, it lacks the technologies to effectively beat the Great Firewall.

You might have some luck trying Turbo VPN in other censored countries with less effective web blocks. But really, you shouldn’t even bother. This a bad and unreliable VPN, and you shouldn’t put yourself at risk by using it in countries which frown upon VPNs.

Mobile VPN Only

Platforms & Devices

How is device compatibility rated?

A quality VPN should maintain functional, fully-featured applications and extensions for as many platforms and devices as possible.

This does not directly contribute to the Overall Rating, but instead makes up a portion of the Ease of Use rating.

The basic, free version of Turbo VPN has apps available for Android, iOS, Windows, and MacOS. They all vary slightly in terms of servers and features on offer, but they all look very similar. They’re extremely simple, with a severe lack of important features.

Apps

  1. iOS Logo
    iOS
  2. Android Logo
    Android

Previously a mobile-only VPN, Turbo VPN is now available on Windows and MacOS, in addition to Android and iOS.

Turbo VPN does something which we’ve never seen from a VPN before: it offers a totally different list of servers depending on what platform you’re using.

This is likely down to its huge popularity on Android (which offers the most) but the choice is still confusing. Android also gets access to split tunneling – the only operating system with it.

On iOS, MacOS, and Windows there are no extra features or settings whatsoever. On iOS and MacOS You cannot choose a server, either, instead being stuck with a ‘fastest’ option (Germany, in our case, which is odd given that we are located in the UK).

All the apps are very simple, and look almost identical from platform to platform.

Unsafe VPN with weak encryption, DNS leaks, and malware

Security & Features

22.0/10
How is this calculated?

Top-rated VPNs offer OpenVPN or WireGuard protocols, AES-256 encryption, and a functional kill switch. We also consider additional security features and the global spread of VPN servers.

Turbo VPN is of the most unsafe and insecure VPNs we've ever reviewed. It leaks DNS requests and has potential malware embedded within its install files. We strongly, strongly advise you choose a different VPN.

Protocols
  1. IKEv2/IPSec
  2. L2TP/IPSec
  3. OpenVPN (TCP/UDP)
  4. Proprietary
Encryption
  1. AES-128
Security
  1. None
Advanced features
  1. Split Tunneling

It’s not likely that you’ll find a VPN quite as unsafe as Turbo VPN.

As part of our free VPN investigation we detected unsafe functions, DNS leaks, and virus/malware on the app.

Turbo VPN also uses third-party advertising platforms to obtain sensitive information “for personalized advertising purpose [sic].”

This goes against everything a VPN is supposed to do and what it represents.

Your personal data is not secure, with Turbo VPN not even maintaining its own DNS servers, which means that your web traffic is routed through third-party servers even when you’re connected to the VPN.

There are multiple VPN protocols listed within the app (although they vary depending on what device you’re using). OpenVPN seems to be the default across all operating systems.

Of the protocols on offer, there are three we’ve never heard of before: SSR, ISSR, and Trojan. Given how Turbo VPN performs in every other regard, we would not trust a bespoke protocol to properly encrypt your data.

The ability to choose protocols is reserved for the premium version on Windows and MacOS.

In another undesirable first for Turbo VPN, we have never before seen a VPN which paywalls its kill switch.

We consider a kill switch to be the most basic, fundamental privacy feature for a VPN. It tells you everything you need to know about Turbo VPN’s priorities that it withholds the kills switch for paying users.

Simple, but Very Limited Apps

Ease of Use

3.73.7/10
How is this calculated?

This rating mainly consists of the intuitiveness of setup and everyday use.

Device or platform compatibility and customization options are also a factor.

Turbo VPN has so few features that it ends up being incredibly easy to use as a result. All of its apps look identical. That's good for consistency, but it means that the desktop versions are poorly optimized. Beginners will be happy, but even intermediate users will be left wanting more.

How to Install & Set Up Turbo VPN

All four of Turbo VPN’s apps (Windows, MacOS, iOS, and Android) are simple to use.

This is largely due to the near-total lack of advanced features. You can choose a server, you can connect, and that’s about it.

Turbo VPN started life as a mobile-only VPN, and that much is obvious in the design of its desktop apps. They look identical to the mobile versions, which is lazy and unintuitive to use with a mouse and keyboard.

The main issue with Turbo VPN’s apps, though, are the constant advertising popups.

They’re disruptive enough on mobile, but on desktop they’re a huge nuisance – opening a new browser window full of ads every time you connect or change servers.

Surprisingly Robust Customer Service

Customer Support

8.68.6/10
How is this calculated?

This rating is based on our assessment of each VPN’s:

  • Email support
  • Live chat support
  • Online resources

Not every VPN offers all of these, and they often vary in quality and response time.

Customer support was surprisingly responsive and helpful. While Turbo VPN's online resources are extremely basic, the round-the-clock live support impressed us with quick and polite responses.

EmailYes
Online ResourcesYes

Turbo VPN has recently performed a complete overhaul of its customer support. Where it was once almost non-existent, it’s now actually on a level equal to some of the most popular VPNs.

The biggest contributor to this is its 24/7 live chat. This is accessed from a chat window on the support page. It first runs your query by a chatbot that attempts to find an answer from its minimal FAQs section. However, if you don’t get what you need there you can be instantly forwarded to a live support agent.

The agent responded extremely quickly, and was actually helpful in addressing the issue we had, too.

Email support has been improved, too. You now fill out a simple online form and will be emailed a response in the coming hours.

Avoid Using Turbo VPN

The Bottom Line

We do not recommend Turbo VPN under any circumstances. It’s unreliable, insecure, and dangerous.

Though you may be able to stream BBC iPlayer, this is simply not worth the trade-off in terms of privacy, security, and performance.

We recommend another VPN (almost any other VPN, in fact), but especially these:

Additional research by David Hughes

Alternatives to Turbo VPN

Windscribe

Windscribe

8.68.6/10

Windscribe is our top-rated free VPN. Unlike Turbo VPN, it has reliable download speeds, a good selection of servers and, most importantly, a strong privacy policy. Read Windscribe review

Surfshark VPN logo

Surfshark

99.0/10

Surfshark is a premium VPN but it comes at a budget price of $2.49 a month. It's a good streaming VPN with fast speeds and several configurable settings TurboVPN can only dream of. Read Surfshark review

About the Author


  • Simon Migliano Head of Research at Top10VPN

    Simon Migliano

    Simon is a recognized world expert in VPNs. He's tested hundreds of VPN services and his research has featured on the BBC, The New York Times, CNet and more. Read full bio


User Feedback for Turbo VPN

  • 0 user reviews
  • 0 questions answered