Disclosure: Top10VPN is editorially independent. We may earn commissions if you buy a VPN through links on our site.

VPN.ac Review

 100% 
(3 User reviews)
VPN.ac screenshot
Headshot of Top10VPN.com Site Editor Callum Tennent

Callum oversees how we test and review VPN services. He's a member of the IAPP, and his advice about VPNs has featured in Forbes and the Internet Society. Read full bio

Ask Callum about VPN.ac

Our Verdict

VPN.ac is fast, private and it even works in China. It has a good privacy policy and a secure server network that works well for torrenting and streaming Netflix. VPN.ac isn't perfect, but it is a safe and affordable VPN that we recommend for beginners.

Overall Rating: 8.4/10

Operating since 2012, VPN.ac VPN is rarely spoken of when it comes to the big players in the VPN market. But, has it been overlooked?

That’s what we’re here to find out. In this VPN.ac review you’ll learn all you need to know about VPN.ac, including:

  • Is it any good?
  • How many devices can you use with VPN.ac?
  • Is VPN.ac better than ExpressVPN?
  • Does VPN.ac work with BBC iPlayer?
  • Does it beat censorship in China?

Before we delve into this review, let’s go over VPN.ac VPN’s main pros and cons:

VPN.ac Pros & Cons

Pros

  1. Excellent privacy & security features
  2. Unblocks China with obfuscation tools
  3. Quality, secure servers
  4. Sensible privacy policy
  5. Fast speeds
  6. Good for streaming & torrenting
Cons
  1. Romania jurisdiction has links to EU
  2. Only 20 countries on server list
  3. Support needs improvement

VPN.ac Key Data

Data CapUnlimited
Speed84Mbps
Logging PolicyNo Logs
Data LeaksNo
JurisdictionRomania
Servers117
IP Addresses117+
Countries21
US NetflixYes
TorrentingUnlimited
Works in ChinaYes
SupportEmail support via online ticket
Cheapest Price$3.75 over 24 months
Official WebsiteVpn.ac

VPN.ac Category Ratings

We test and review every VPN in eight key areas. Here’s how VPN.ac performs in each category:

  • Privacy & Logging Policy: 9.0/10
  • Encryption & Security: 8.5/10
  • Speed & Reliability: 8.3/10
  • Streaming & Torrenting: 9.2/10
  • Bypassing Censorship: 9.8/10
  • Ease of Use: 9.1/10
  • Customer Support: 7.7/10
  • Price & Value for Money: 7.0/10

To learn more about our methodology, read our full VPN testing process.

Who is VPN.ac?

About & Logging

Privacy & Logging Policy Rating: 9.0/10

VPN.ac is owned and operated by Netsec Interactive Solutions, a company established in Romania in 2009.

According to the company’s website, VPN.ac is made up of “talented, forward thinking professionals.” These talented professionals are based at 76 Calea Dumbravii Street, 550399, Sibiu, Romania.

Being based in Romania may not seem great as it’s potentially subject to EU data-sharing agreements. However, data retention is considered illegal by Romanian courts.

When the Romanian government introduced the EU’s 2006 Data Retention Directive, in 2009 the Constitutional Court of Romania (CCR) stated these laws were an unconstitutional violation of Romanian citizens’ rights to privacy.

As a result, Romania is the only EU country to have successfully thrown out the EU’s data retention laws.

This makes it a good place to base a VPN service, but we can’t be certain that Romania’s membership of the EU won’t eventually result in some negative anti-privacy legislation.

Logging Policy

VPN.ac logs some connection data, but it is erased daily and permanently. This data includes:

  • Originating IP address
  • Start and end time of VPN connections
  • Amount of data transferred

Its privacy policy reads:

“We do… keep some connection logs (to our VPN service) for security and support purposes. These are kept on a separate, encrypted server (located in an undisclosed location) and are automatically erased on a daily basis. We don’t keep any logs on servers, not even common Linux daemon logs.”

While our instinct is to flinch when a VPN collects your original IP, we actually like this approach; it is honest, clear, and poses no privacy threat when deleted daily.

VPN.ac keeps these temporary logs to combat attacks against the service, including brute force and MitM attacks. It’s more specific and legitimate than a VPN simply stating it keeps logs to ‘maintain the service’, which is often the case.

All in all, there’s nothing to fear when using VPN.ac. Your connection information will be deleted daily, which means you can trust it to protect your privacy.

Impressive long-distance speeds

Speed & Reliability

Speed & Reliability Rating: 8.3/10

VPN.ac is much faster than most lesser-known VPN services. We recorded a speed loss of just 6% when connected to a nearby server, which means you won’t experience any significant drops in performance on local connections. Long-distance speeds were equally impressive, which means VPN.ac is also fast enough to stream content from international Netflix libraries.

Local Speed Test Results

Before using VPN.ac:

  1. Download89.25Mbps
  2. Upload97.88Mbps
  3. Ping2ms

When connected to VPN.ac:

  1. Download83.9Mbps
  2. Upload78.51Mbps
  3. Ping9ms

Here are the full results from our most recent speed tests:

Download speed without VPN.ac: 89.25Mbps

Download speed with VPN.ac: 83.9Mbps

Our download speed loss when VPN.ac is running: 6%

This local speed loss is minimal, meaning you shouldn’t experience any difference between using a VPN and not using a VPN.

That’s a great result.

Long-Distance Speed Test Results

When it comes to long-distance connections, we put VPN.ac through our scientific speed test to determine the average results that you can expect to get connected to these locations:

  • US: 53.92Mbps (download) & 39.23Mbps (upload)
  • Germany: 65.14Mbps (download) & 63.9Mbps (upload)
  • Australia: 31.25Mbps (download) & 9.90Mbps (upload)

As you can see, VPN.ac’s long-distance speeds are quite impressive. We usually see much lower scores than this for the US and Australia.

Overall, these speeds mean you can do everything with VPN.ac that you could do without it.

A highly secure VPN with AES-256 encryption

Encryption & Security

Protocols
  1. IKEv2/IPSec
  2. L2TP/IPSec
  3. OpenVPN (TCP/UDP)
  4. PPTP
Encryption
  1. AES-256
Security
  1. DNS Leak Blocking
  2. First-party DNS
  3. IPV6 Leak Blocking
  4. VPN Kill Switch
Advanced features
  1. Double VPN

Encryption & Security Rating: 8.5/10

VPN.ac is secure and safe to use. The desktop app defaults to OpenVPN, our preferred protocol for strong security and fast speeds. There’s also the option of using IKEv2, LT2P, PPTP and WireGuard, which not every VPN service has.

OpenVPN is not available on the iOS version of the app, however, which has IPSec and IKEv2 only.

Encryption is provided by the AES-256 cipher. This is the highest level of encryption available to commercial services, used by serious organizations looking to encrypt data, including the US federal government.

Alongside this groundwork are a bunch of additional privacy features, such as ‘Gateway Removal’ – VPN.ac’s kill switch. This protects your true IP address from sudden disconnections.

You’re also protected against DNS and IPv6 leaks, which we tested thoroughly.

What’s really great is that VPN.ac operates its own DNS servers, meaning that your web traffic won’t be routed through less-secure servers owned by third parties.

VPN.ac also offers 22 easily-selected Double Hop servers. This means that your traffic is routed through two different encrypted servers before reaching its destination. This gives you an extra layer of privacy, although there will be a reduction in connection speeds.

Overall, this is a secure VPN service. It offers the highest standard of encryption, a wide selection of connection protocols, a good range of advanced security features and it doesn’t leak your IP address or DNS information.

Reliable access to streaming services like Netflix

Streaming & Torrenting

Streaming & Torrenting Rating: 9.2/10

VPN.ac is a good VPN for unblocking US Netflix, including on its DoubleHop servers. We accessed the streaming service on all of the US servers that we tested and didn’t have a single failure on these servers, although some buffering was required.

VPN.ac doesn’t identify servers optimized for Netflix, BBC iPlayer, or other streaming services, but it remains a good choice for hassle-free access.

We gained access to BBC iPlayer using VPN.ac’s London servers.

VPN.ac doesn’t advertise its streaming reliability much, and its lack of attention towards designated streaming servers for its app shows that, but we can tell you it’s a solid choice for streaming regardless.

Torrenting

Torrenting is allowed on every one of VPN.ac’s servers. 

VPN.ac goes even further to recommend the optimal server choices, informing you that the best servers are:

  • Canada – Toronto
  • Finland
  • France
  • Luxembourg
  • Netherlands
  • Romania
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland

We are told these locations feature “over 28 gigabit servers” and so bandwidth won’t be an issue.

It’s nice to see a provider recommending how you can optimize your P2P activity with its service. Many ban or restrict P2P traffic completely, so be sure to choose carefully.

117 dedicated servers in 21 countries

Server Locations

Globe with a blue flag
21Countries
Image of a city landscape
45+Cities
Image of a pink marker
117+IP Addresses

VPN.ac has VPN 117 servers in 21 countries available to connect to. 

VPN.ac hasn’t increased its server selection over time but has actually decreased it, recently dropping from 25 countries. 

It’s a small list no matter which way you look at it – the majority of its servers are in Europe, too.

 

VPN.ac Server List

VPN.ac Server List

However, while we would like to see more choice, it’s worth noting that these are bare metal servers, meaning that they are physical and not rented, and come with self-hosted encrypted DNS.

In other words, VPN.ac has gone for quality over quantity. Explaining its practice, VPN.ac states that it “focus[es] on fewer, where security is done properly and the bandwidth capacity is enough to ensure a fast and reliable service.”

There’s still the risk of congestion and reduced speeds, which is what happens when too many people are using the same servers, but you can be reassured in the knowledge that you’re safe and we’ve never had a bad experience using the service. 

If a choice has to be made, then we’d always recommend a potential loss in performance for the guarantee of security. Having no virtual private servers (VPS) and no fake servers is a great step that we wish every VPN would take. 

A good choice for bypassing censorship in China

Censorship

Bypassing Censorship Rating: 9.8/10

VPN.ac is one of the best VPNs for beating censorship.

It comes with ‘China Optimized’ servers and a great array of obfuscation tools to bypass The Great Firewall. Using the OpenVPN XOR protocol alongside TCP-443 port will enable you slip through a crack in the wall and smuggle in a freer internet.

VPN.ac goes to great effort to ensure its service still works in China, offering a ‘China Status’ page and ‘Instructions for China’, detailing the current situation in the country and the best way to connect.

This information is viewable to anyone with an account, making it a solid choice for China – one of only a few

VPN.ac will be a good choice for other censored countries too, including Russia, Turkey, and the UAE.

Available on popular platforms and more

Platforms & Devices

Apps

  1. Windows Logo
    Windows
  2. Mac Logo
    Mac
  3. iOS Logo
    iOS
  4. Android Logo
    Android
  5. Linux Logo
    Linux
  6. Router Logo
    Router

VPN.ac is available on nearly every device you can think of.

The usual custom apps, including Windows, MacOS, Android and iOS, are available with one-click.

You can also follow VPN.ac’s step-by-step setup tutorial guides for the devices lacking native apps, including Linux. 

If you want to protect all of the internet-connected devices in your home, you can always install VPN.ac at router level. It’s compatible with routers:

  • DD-WRT
  • Tomato
  • AsusWRT
  • pfSense

Again, there are detailed tutorials on the website with helpful instructions that will save you having to download the VPN onto multiple devices.

VPN.ac is also generous in its allowance of up to six different devices using the same VPN subscription.

Games Consoles & Streaming Devices

  1. AppleTV Logo
    AppleTV
  2. Amazon Fire TV Logo
    Amazon Fire TV
  3. Chromecast Logo
    Chromecast
  4. Nintendo Logo
    Nintendo
  5. PlayStation Logo
    PlayStation
  6. Roku Logo
    Roku
  7. Xbox Logo
    Xbox

VPN.ac offers a native app for the Amazon Fire TV and Amazon Fire TV Stick, and it also works with loads of other gaming consoles and streaming devices – just connecting them to a VPN.ac-configured router, for which there are step-by-step instructions on the website. This includes Apple TV, Google Chromecast, Nintendo, PlayStation, Xbox and more.

Once up and running, it’ll automatically protect the internet-connected devices in your home. If you’re willing to spend just a little extra time installing the VPN at router level, VPN.ac is a great choice.

Browser Extensions

  1. Chrome Logo
    Chrome
  2. Firefox Logo
    Firefox

VPN.ac offers SecureProxy extensions for Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, and Opera browsers.

VPN.ac is clear and open about the fact that using this makes you more vulnerable to IP leaks, and advises blocking Flash, WebRTC and Java, but it still provides a greater level of privacy for browsing than would normally be the case when browsing.

Good for newbies and pros alike

Ease of Use

How to Install & Set Up VPN.ac

Ease of Use Rating: 9.1/10

VPN.ac will appeal to seasoned VPN users with its huge number of customization options. It comes with the ability to select a number of protocols and ports that pros will want to exploit.

This comes at the cost of intimidating newbies but VPN.ac still makes it as simple as can be with an easy-going app and plenty of information available on its website. There is also a ‘Help’ tab with useful links to common issues users may experience.

You can also switch between ‘Dark’ and ‘Light’ themes, toggle auto-connect options, and much more.

VPN.ac packs a lot into its package.

We do wish that the servers were made more simple to switch between. You have to toggle the ‘On’ and ‘Off’ before making the changes, rather than re-connecting automatically once you select the server.

Customer service needs improvement

Customer Support

Email support via an online formYes
Online ResourcesYes

Customer Support Rating: 7.7/10

VPN.ac has a comprehensive knowledgebase. It offers FAQs, troubleshooting tips, setup guides and all-round useful information about the apps features.

The app says that “almost everything is already covered on site” but, failing that, allows you to contact VPN.ac via ticketing or a message form.

However, VPN.ac did respond only one minute later to our ticket enquiry, as you can see:

VPN.ac Customer Support Exchange

Excerpt of Customer Support Exchange with VPN.ac

Our one complaint with VPN.ac’s support is that we’d like to see a more enthusiastic invitation to ask for help – plus the addition of 24/7 live chat.

The best VPNs are easily contacted and quick to respond over chat. As it stands, we had to wait for 24 hours before we got a response to our support form.

On the bright side, we really like that the company includes its Skype ID as a method of contact, as this is especially useful for users in countries like China where most other communication methods are blocked. It does advise, however, that this is not a secure communication protocol and should really only be used as a last resort.

Cheap but refunds should be clearer

Pricing

VPN.ac Coupon

Price & Value for Money Rating: 7.0/10

VPN.ac offers four different pricing plans that all offer the same features but get cheaper the longer the subscription.

Surely such a comprehensive product comes at an expensive price, right? We thought the same – but we were wrong.

For a service as robust and secure as VPN.ac, its $3.75 a month price tag is a bargain.

This offer is part of its two-year plan, meaning that you have to pay $90 upfront every two-years.

It’s still quite cheap on the one-year plan at 58¢ a year, totalling $4.80 per month.

A single-month subscription, useful if you’re taking a trip to China and want to use a VPN only for that time, costs $9. That’s about standard for a one-month deal.

Whichever plan you are interested in, VPN.ac comes with a seven-day refund offer. We wish it would extend that offer to a whole month, but it offers an unambiguous promise of getting your money back if you’re simply ‘not satisfied’ – seemingly no questions asked.

That is until you read its Terms of Service which contradicts this somewhat by stating:

“We do not refund orders for vague reasons like “it doesn’t work” without providing us details and letting us help.”

We can only assume that being unsatisfied with the service is specific enough for VPN.ac. Just don’t complain that it’s not working. VPN.ac should do a better job of clarifying this.

  1. Monthly

    US$9/mo

    Billed $9.00 every month
  2. 3 months

    US$8/mo

    Billed $24.00 every 6 months
    Save 11%
  3. 12 months

    US$4.80/mo

    Billed $58.00 every 12 months
    Save 46%
  4. 2 years

    US$3.75/mo

    Billed $90.00 every 2 years
    Save 62%

All plans have 7-day money-back guarantee

Payment & Refund Options

Credit CardYes
PayPalYes
BitcoinYes
AliPayYes
UnionPayYes

VPN.ac allows you to pay for its service with your usual payment methods, but also with cryptocurrencies. You can pay via any of these ways:

  • PayPal
  • Bitcoin and various altcoins
  • Credit cards
  • Alipay
  • LiteCoin
  • Monero
  • UnionPay
  • US gift cards
  • WebMoney

There’s plenty of options here, including cryptocurrencies, many of which will satisfy even the most demanding of privacy enthusiasts.

Do We Recommend VPN.ac?

The Bottom Line

We absolutely recommend VPN.ac. It’s surprising to us that this VPN isn’t more popular – our testing has revealed that it has very few downsides.

We really admire its dedication to security and the fact that the company knows what it’s talking about when it comes to the technical aspects of operating a VPN.

It could benefit from better customer support and a bigger server list, but VPN.ac is a good choice for most users looking for fast speeds, secure browsing, and access to restricted streaming services.

This is a quality VPN service that you can trust to keep you safe online.
Additional research by David Hughes

Alternatives to VPN.ac

The new ExpressVPN logo

ExpressVPN

If you’re not fully won over by VPN.ac, we’d recommend ExpressVPN for the simple fact that it has more server choices and it is, after all, our number one recommendation overall. It’s more expensive, but not by much. Read ExpressVPN review

NordVPN

NordVPN

Our second choice is naturally our second overall recommendation – NordVPN. Like ExpressVPN and compared to VPN.ac you have a greater variety of global server selection. You might be tempted due to its much cheaper price tag, too. Read NordVPN review

About the Author


  • Headshot of Top10VPN.com Site Editor Callum Tennent

    Callum Tennent

    Callum oversees how we test and review VPN services. He's a member of the IAPP, and his advice about VPNs has featured in Forbes and the Internet Society. Read full bio


User Feedback for VPN.ac