Disclosure: Top10VPN is editorially independent. We may earn commissions if you buy a VPN through links on our site.

SkyVPN Review

 40% 
(3 User reviews)
SkyVPN screenshot
Simon Migliano Head of Research at Top10VPN

Simon is a recognized world expert in VPNs. He's tested hundreds of VPN services and his research has featured on the BBC, The New York Times, CNet and more. Read full bio

Ask Simon about SkyVPN

Our Verdict

1.41.4/10
How is this calculated?

Our overall rating is reached by combining several subcategories. The subcategories are weighted as follows:

  • Logging & Jurisdiction: 30%
  • Speed & Reliability: 25%
  • Security & Features: 20%
  • Streaming: 10%
  • Torrenting: 5%
  • Ease of Use: 5%
  • Support: 5%

See our full methodology in how we review VPNs.

SkyVPN is one of the worst VPNs we've tested. It should be avoided at all costs. It's an untrustworthy VPN that logs your IP address and other personally-identifiable data. It also fails to access Netflix and it's not safe for torrenting.

Ranked #66 out of 68

SkyVPN Category Ratings

  • 0.80.8/10
  • 1.61.6/10
  • 1.21.2/10
  • 1.51.5/10
  • 6.56.5/10
  • 11.0/10
  • 1.51.5/10
  • 22.0/10
  • 1.21.2/10

SkyVPN Pros & Cons

Pros

  1. Many server locations on desktop

Cons

  1. Invasive logging policy
  2. Chinese ownership
  3. Very slow speeds
  4. Poor user experience
  5. Doesn't bypass censorship
  6. Poor customer support

In this SkyVPN review, you’ll find honest answers to the questions surrounding this VPN service, like:

  • Is SkyVPN safe & trustworthy?
  • Does SkyVPN work with Netflix?
  • Is SkyVPN free?
  • How do you use SkyVPN?
  • Can you torrent with SkyVPN?

Although you can subscribe to a premium version of SkyVPN, we will be reviewing the more popular free version.

See our list of the best free VPN apps

SkyVPN Key Data

Data CapUnlimited
Speed9Mbps
Logging PolicyIntrusive Logging
Data LeaksNo
JurisdictionHong Kong
ServersNot disclosed
IP AddressesNot disclosed
Countries18
US NetflixNo
TorrentingNo
Works in ChinaNo
SupportOnline Resources
Official WebsiteHttps://www.skyVPN.net/

Who is SkyVPN?

Logging Policy & Jurisdiction

1.21.2/10
How is this calculated?

We dissect the logging and privacy policies of every VPN. A VPN should never log:

  • Your real IP address
  • Connection timestamps
  • DNS requests

A base of operations outside of 14-Eyes or EU jurisdiction is preferable.

SkyVPN will not keep your internet activity private. The VPN logs personally identifiable information, like your IP address and location information. The VPN also has links to China, and the company has confirmed it will hand over user data if it's ever requested.

SkyVPN, Inc. is based in Hong Kong with obscure, hidden links to Chinese ownership.

Our free VPN ownership research revealed that SkyVPN Inc. is owned by Tengzhan Hongkong Limited (騰展香港有限公司), which refers to itself as SkyVPN Inc, Secure Sentry Communications, and Dingtone, depending on where you look.

Its corporate address is registered at Rm 2103 Futura Plaza 111 How Ming St, Kwun Tong, Hong Kong.

The Tengzhan Group acquired Dingtone in 2015, according to this Chinese language disclosure document as there is no other reference in English language media. 

Tengzhen Hong Kong Ltd incorporated in December of that year with You Xiumie (游秀妹) as director and sole shareholder.

None of this is easily available to find. There is nothing on SkyVPN’s website that alludes to its ownership or corporate history anywhere. 

You can’t trust this VPN service. The Chinese government could potentially demand logs and information on any of its users whenever it pleased, and SkyVPN would have to cooperate.

Logging Policy

SkyVPN has a huge list of logged data.

Its privacy policy states that it keeps a lot of information.

Screenshot of SkyVPN Privacy Policy

Excerpt from SkyVPN’s Privacy Policy.

SkyVPN collects all this data:

  • Aggregate bandwidth usage
  • Temporary usage data
  • Real-time analysis of internet and data traffic, including originating IP and destination IP
  • Cookies, tracking pixels, and related technologies for targeted ads
  • Email address and contact details
  • Information on support requests
  • “Certain information” from your device
  • Device make and model
  • Mobile web browser type and version
  • IP address
  • Mac address
  • Operating system
  • Location information
  • Mobile Country Code information
  • List of applications installed on your device
  • “Other technical data” from your device

Despite all that SkyVPN claims that unlike many VPNs that track you, “SkyVPN never does like that.” [sic]

SkyVPN is also quite open about how:

 

“Ads appearing on SkyVPN Software or any of our websites may be delivered to users by advertising partners, who may set cookies.” 

 

We always raise an eyebrow when we read an unspecific statement like “other technical data” and “certain information” which can include anything – a lack of specifics is never good. 

One thing SkyVPN is specific about is how it will hand over your data to whichever court asks for it.

Painfully slow speeds

Speed & Reliability

1.51.5/10
How is this calculated?

Speed ratings are calculated using upload speeds, download speeds, and ping (latency).

We test average speeds regularly using a dedicated 100Mbps connection in London, UK. Local download speed is considered the most important factor.

SkyVPN is one of the slowest VPNs we've ever tested. Whether you're connecting to a nearby or international server, you can expect to see your internet speed drop by around 90%.

Here are the results we recorded when connected to a nearby SkyVPN server:

Local Speed Test results before using SkyVPN:

  • Download Speed: 94Mbps
  • Upload Speed: 98Mbps
  • Ping: 3ms

Local Speed Test results with SkyVPN:

  • Download Speed: 9Mbps
  • Upload Speed: 9Mbps
  • Ping: 8ms

Download speed loss when SkyVPN is running: 90%

Worldwide Speed Tests

Here are the results from when connected to international SkyVPN server locations:

  • USA:
    • Download: 9Mbps
    • Upload: 9Mbps
  • Germany:
    • Download: 9Mbps
    • Upload: 9Mbps
  • Singapore:
    • Download: 8Mbps
    • Upload: 7Mbps
  • Australia:
    • Download: 8Mbps
    • Upload: 3Mbps

SkyVPN can’t manage more than 10 Mbps in download speeds – it’s one of the worst sets of speeds we’ve ever seen.

Surprisingly decent desktop server list

Server Locations

6.56.5/10
How is this calculated?

The global spread and coverage of the VPN server network is the most important factor here.

We also consider the number of city-level servers, plus how many IP addresses are maintained.

This rating does not directly contribute to the Overall Rating, but instead makes up a portion of the Security & Features rating.

SkyVPN's server list depends on what device you're using. On the desktop app, you can connect to 18 server locations. This is impressive for a free VPN. On the mobile app, you can only connect to a US server, which is disappointing.

Globe with a blue flag
18Countries
Image of a city landscape
18Cities
Image of a pink marker
Undisclosed number ofIP Addresses

SkyVPN has one US server to connect to when using the ‘Basic’ version on Mobile, including both iOS and Android. You have to pay for more.

Its desktop app, however, is much better, with a surprisingly decent 18 servers available.

These nations include: 

  • Australia
  • Brazil
  • Canada
  • France
  • Germany
  • Hong Kong
  • India
  • Israel
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Russia
  • Singapore
  • South Korea
  • Spain
  • Turkey
  • United Kingdom
  • United States

For a free VPN, this is a surprisingly diverse and encompassing server list, with representatives from South America, Asia, North America, the Middle East, and Europe. 

Without city-level server choice, you’re stuck with one server to cover large land masses like Canada, Australia and the US, though, and it doesn’t tell you where exactly the servers are based. 

We checked and Canada’s server is in Toronto, New Jersey represents the US, and Brisbane is Australia’s. If you’re not near these places and want to use a SkyVPN local connection, your speeds are going to be even worse than the ones we recorded.

Doesn’t work for streaming

Streaming

0.80.8/10
How is this calculated?

Streaming is rated by the number of different services unlocked, how many regional libraries are viewable, and how consistently the VPN can access them.

Netflix, BBC iPlayer, HBO Max, DAZN, and Amazon Prime Video are all tested on a weekly basis.

SkyVPN doesn't unblock any streaming service. You won't be able to access Netflix, BBC iPlayer, or Amazon Prime Video using SkyVPN.

We tested on the single UK server for BBC iPlayer and found it doesn’t unblock the streaming service.

SkyVPN also fails to unblock any of Netflix’s global libraries.  

Fans of Netflix or BBC iPlayer shouldn’t waste their time with SkyVPN.

That’s especially the case with SkyVPN’s one-server mobile app. It has no UK server and the single US one doesn’t unblock Netflix.

Not recommended for torrenting

Torrenting

1.61.6/10
How is this calculated?

We calculate the average download bitrate of every VPN using a bespoke torrenting setup.

Testing also factors in the percentage of servers which permit P2P, plus useful features like port forwarding.

Though SkyVPN does allow torrenting, we strongly recommend you avoid it. The VPN logs a lot of data, which makes it easy to identify you from your P2P activity. Its speeds are also very slow, so you'll have to wait a while for any files to download.

SkyVPN does allow P2P file-sharing on most of it servers. However, it explicitly states in its Terms of Service that P2P activity is not permitted on some servers, including:

  • Canada
  • France
  • UK
  • US

Therefore you shouldn’t attempt it as you’ll be violating the Usage Policy and could be suspended from using the service.

Torrenting is yet another activity we simply can’t recommend SkyVPN for.

Won’t beat censorship

Bypassing Censorship

11.0/10
How is this calculated?

Our remote-access server in Shanghai, China routinely tests if a VPN can beat restrictions and access a free, open internet. Obfuscation technologies and nearby servers are also a contributing factor.

This rating does not directly contribute to the Overall Rating, but instead makes up a portion of the Security & Features rating.

SkyVPN does not work in China or any other countries that block VPNs. Even if it did, we would still not recommend it for bypassing censorship due to its invasive logging policy.

SkyVPN has no obfuscation features to hide the fact that you’re using a VPN, and we don’t even know what security protocol it uses — because it won’t tell us.

If you need a VPN to combat censorship, we have VPN recommendations for these censorious parts of the world:

Available on popular devices

Platforms & Devices

How is device compatibility rated?

A quality VPN should maintain functional, fully-featured applications and extensions for as many platforms and devices as possible.

This does not directly contribute to the Overall Rating, but instead makes up a portion of the Ease of Use rating.

SkyVPN is available on Windows, MacOS, iOS, and Android. The desktop app is more fully featured than the mobile version, with more server locations and simultaneous connections.

Apps

  1. Windows Logo
    Windows
  2. Mac Logo
    Mac
  3. iOS Logo
    iOS
  4. Android Logo
    Android

It was originally designed just for mobile, but was later adapted for desktop, which becomes very apparent when you compare the two versions of the app.

Screenshot of SkyVPN Available Devices Taken from the SkyVPN Website

On the free plan it’s only possible to use the VPN on one device at a time, so if you’re looking to protect multiple devices simultaneously you’re out of luck.

Unknown security implementation

Security & Features

1.51.5/10
How is this calculated?

Top-rated VPNs offer OpenVPN or WireGuard protocols, AES-256 encryption, and a functional kill switch. We also consider additional security features and the global spread of VPN servers.

SkyVPN is unsafe and lacks transparency. The VPN does not disclose the VPN protocol it uses, so it's impossible to determine how well it's encrypting internet traffic. It also doesn't include a kill switch or any other VPN security features.

Protocols
  1. Undisclosed
Encryption
  1. AES-256
Security
  1. None
Advanced features
  1. None

SkyVPN doesn’t reveal hardly any details about encryption or security anywhere on its website or app.

Don’t make the same mistake as its millions of users – this is our biggest concern yet.

SkyVPN talks about “military-grade” encryption and we did find mention of the claim it uses 256-bit AES encryption, which is a positive as this is strong encryption.

But there’s no information regarding SkyVPN’s chosen VPN protocol, so we have no idea whether it’s OpenVPN, IKEv2, or possibly something far less secure, such as PPTP. 

We’ve messaged SkyVPN multiple times to ask, but have received no response.

There’s no VPN kill switch, so if the SkyVPN connection was to drop without you noticing your true IP address would be exposed to anyone who wanted to see it.

Simple, but cheap & sparse

Ease of Use

22.0/10
How is this calculated?

This rating mainly consists of the intuitiveness of setup and everyday use.

Device or platform compatibility and customization options are also a factor.

SkyVPN’s app looks like it was designed without much consideration for the user. The images and text are low-resolution, and there are a lot of adverts. In all, using SkyVPN is not an intuitive or enjoyable experience.

How to Install & Set Up SkyVPN

SkyVPN even claims to have no pop-up ads, which is blatantly false – the free version is packed with them.

Testing our speeds, it wasn’t long before we were told that our “data has been used up” and that we had to upgrade to VIP.

However, if you close that window you can, in fact, reconnect again and continue to use SkyVPN for free.

Screenshot of Illustration Depicting SkyVPN on a Mobile Phone on the SkyVPN Website

It’s simple, with a standard ‘Connect’ button in the middle of the screen and the server list just above, but SkyVPN is so basic it’s essentially stripped of anything useful. 

Barely any help available

Customer Support

1.21.2/10
How is this calculated?

This rating is based on our assessment of each VPN’s:

  • Email support
  • Live chat support
  • Online resources

Not every VPN offers all of these, and they often vary in quality and response time.

SkyVPN's customer support is poor. There's no option for live chat, and the guides on its website are sparse and not very useful. For most problems, you'll have to use the VPN's slow email support.

EmailYes
Online ResourcesYes

SkyVPN comes with an extremely limited FAQ and an email address for support. 

That’s it

And its answers to the questions are bad.

Screenshot of Sky VPN Customer Support

Excerpt of SkyVPN’s FAQ

We contacted SkyVPN’s support email address multiple times to test how quick and helpful it was, but received no response.

Do We Recommend SkyVPN?

The Bottom Line

SkyVPN is one of the worst VPNs we’ve tested. Avoid it, whatever you do.

Shady ownership, really bad speeds, awful logging policy, no streaming access — there’s nothing it does well at all. 

Consider one of our VPN recommendations below instead. 

Alternatives to SkyVPN

Windscribe

Windscribe

8.68.6/10

Windscribe has a free version of its app that gets at least some things right. If you don't want to pay, turn your attention to this service which is our #1 free VPN recommendation. Read Windscribe review

Surfshark VPN logo

Surfshark

99.0/10

Surfshark is a premium VPN, but not a pricey one. For a budget service, you get a lot of quality, including reliable access to streaming sites. Read Surfshark review

About the Author


  • Simon Migliano Head of Research at Top10VPN

    Simon Migliano

    Simon is a recognized world expert in VPNs. He's tested hundreds of VPN services and his research has featured on the BBC, The New York Times, CNet and more. Read full bio


User Feedback for SkyVPN