Disclosure: Top10VPN is editorially independent. We may earn commissions if you buy a VPN through links on our site.

SkyVPN Review

 40% 
(3 User reviews)
SkyVPN screenshot
Simon Migliano Head of Research at Top10VPN

Simon is a recognized world expert in VPNs. He's tested hundreds of VPN services and his research has featured on the BBC, The New York Times, CNet and more. Read full bio

Ask Simon about SkyVPN

Our Verdict

SkyVPN is one of the worst VPNs we''ve tested. It should be avoided at all costs. It's an untrustworthy VPN that logs your IP address and other personally-identifiable data. It also fails to access Netflix and it's not safe for torrenting.

Overall Rating: 1.4/10

In this SkyVPN review, you’ll find honest answers to the questions surrounding this VPN service, like:

  • Is SkyVPN safe & trustworthy?
  • Does SkyVPN work with Netflix?
  • Is SkyVPN free?
  • How do you use SkyVPN?
  • Can you torrent with SkyVPN?

While you can subscribe to a premium version of SkyVPN, we will be reviewing the far more popular free version. Read on for an overview of the most important bits.

See our list of the best free VPN apps

SkyVPN Pros & Cons

Pros

  1. Decent server list on desktop
Cons
  1. Invasive logging policy
  2. Chinese ownership
  3. Very slow speeds
  4. Poor user experience
  5. Doesn't bypass censorship
  6. Poor customer support

SkyVPN Key Data

Data CapUnlimited
Speed9Mbps
Logging PolicyIntrusive Logging
Data LeaksNo
JurisdictionHong Kong
ServersNot disclosed
IP AddressesNot disclosed
Countries18
US NetflixNo
TorrentingNo
Works in ChinaNo
SupportOnline Resources
Official WebsiteHttps://www.skyVPN.net/

SkyVPN Category Ratings

We test and review every VPN in eight key areas. Here’s how SkyVPN performs in each category:

  • Privacy & Logging Policy: 1.2/10
  • Encryption & Security: 1.5/10
  • Speed & Reliability: 1.5/10
  • Streaming & Torrenting: 2.5/10
  • Bypassing Censorship: 1.0/10
  • Ease of Use: 2.0/10
  • Customer Support: 1.2/10

To learn more about our methodology, read our full VPN testing process.

Who is SkyVPN?

About & Logging

Privacy & Logging Policy Rating: 1.2/10

SkyVPN, Inc. is based in Hong Kong with obscure, hidden links to Chinese ownership.

Our free VPN ownership research revealed that SkyVPN Inc. is owned by Tengzhan Hongkong Limited (騰展香港有限公司), which refers to itself as SkyVPN Inc, Secure Sentry Communications, and Dingtone, depending on where you look.

Its corporate address is registered at Rm 2103 Futura Plaza 111 How Ming St, Kwun Tong, Hong Kong.

The Tengzhan Group acquired Dingtone in 2015, according to this Chinese language disclosure document as there is no other reference in English language media. 

Tengzhen Hong Kong Ltd incorporated in December of that year with You Xiumie (游秀妹) as director and sole shareholder.

None of this is easily available to find. There is nothing on SkyVPN’s website that alludes to its ownership or corporate history anywhere. 

You can’t trust this VPN service. The Chinese government could potentially demand logs and information on any of its users whenever it pleased, and SkyVPN would have to cooperate.

Logging Policy

SkyVPN has a huge list of logged data.

Its privacy policy states that it keeps a lot of information.

Screenshot of SkyVPN Privacy Policy

Excerpt from SkyVPN’s Privacy Policy.

SkyVPN collects all this data:

  • Aggregate bandwidth usage
  • Temporary usage data
  • Real-time analysis of internet and data traffic, including originating IP and destination IP
  • Cookies, tracking pixels, and related technologies for targeted ads
  • Email address and contact details
  • Information on support requests
  • “Certain information” from your device
  • Device make and model
  • Mobile web browser type and version
  • IP address
  • Mac address
  • Operating system
  • Location information
  • Mobile Country Code information
  • List of applications installed on your device
  • “Other technical data” from your device

Despite all that SkyVPN claims that unlike many VPNs that track you, “SkyVPN never does like that.” [sic]

SkyVPN is also quite open about how:

 

“Ads appearing on SkyVPN Software or any of our websites may be delivered to users by advertising partners, who may set cookies.” 

 

We always raise an eyebrow when we read an unspecific statement like “other technical data” and “certain information” which can include anything – a lack of specifics is never good. 

One thing SkyVPN is specific about is how it will hand over your data to whichever court asks for it.

Painfully slow speeds

Speed & Reliability

Speed & Reliability Rating: 1.5/10

We consistently lost over 90% of our download speed using SkyVPN, wherever we connected to.

SkyVPN is terrible, whether you’re connecting locally or to distant locations. 

Local Speed Test Results

Before using SkyVPN:

  1. Download94.16Mbps
  2. Upload98.36Mbps
  3. Ping3ms

When connected to SkyVPN:

  1. Download9.01Mbps
  2. Upload8.65Mbps
  3. Ping8ms
  • Download speeds without SkyVPN: 94.16 Mbps
  • Download speeds with SkyVPN: 9.01 Mbps
  • Our download speed loss when connected to SkyVPN: 90%

We put all of our VPNs through the same scientific speed testing, and work out the average speed results that you can expect from different parts of the globe. These are the speeds you can expect to get from these locations:

  • USA: 9 Mbps (download) & 9 Mbps (upload)
  • Germany: 9 Mbps (download) & 9 Mbps (upload)
  • Singapore: 8 Mbps (download) & 7 Mbps (upload)
  • Australia: 8 Mbps (download) & 3 Mbps (upload)

SkyVPN can’t manage more than 10 Mbps in download speeds – it’s one of the worst sets of speeds we’ve ever seen.

Surprisingly decent desktop server list

Server Locations

Globe with a blue flag
18Countries
Image of a city landscape
18Cities
Image of a pink marker
Undisclosed number ofIP Addresses

SkyVPN has one US server to connect to when using the ‘Basic’ version on Mobile, including both iOS and Android. You have to pay for more.

Its desktop app, however, is much better, with a surprisingly decent 18 servers available.

These nations include: 

  • Australia
  • Brazil
  • Canada
  • France
  • Germany
  • Hong Kong
  • India
  • Israel
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Russia
  • Singapore
  • South Korea
  • Spain
  • Turkey
  • United Kingdom
  • United States

For a free VPN, this is a surprisingly diverse and encompassing server list, with representatives from South America, Asia, North America, the Middle East, and Europe. 

Without city-level server choice, you’re stuck with one server to cover large land masses like Canada, Australia and the US, though, and it doesn’t tell you where exactly the servers are based. 

We checked and Canada’s server is in Toronto, New Jersey represents the US, and Brisbane is Australia’s. If you’re not near these places and want to use a SkyVPN local connection, your speeds are going to be even worse than the ones we recorded.

Doesn’t work for streaming

Streaming & Torrenting

Streaming & Torrenting Rating: 2.5/10

We tested on the single UK server for BBC iPlayer and found it doesn’t unblock the streaming service.

SkyVPN also fails to unblock any of Netflix’s global libraries.  

Fans of Netflix or BBC iPlayer shouldn’t waste their time with SkyVPN.

That’s especially the case with SkyVPN’s one-server mobile app. It has no UK server and the single US one doesn’t unblock Netflix.

Torrenting

You can torrent over SkyVPN, which may be its saving grace. 

However, it struggles to do even that competently, as the extremely poor speeds make it a massive drag, if not impossible. 

It also explicitly states in SkyVPN’s Terms of Service that P2P activity is not permitted on some servers, including:

  • Canada
  • France
  • UK
  • US

Therefore you shouldn’t attempt it as you’ll be violating the Usage Policy and could be suspended from using the service.

Torrenting is yet another activity we simply can’t recommend SkyVPN for.

Won’t beat censorship

Censorship

Bypassing Censorship Rating: 1.0/10

It’s highly unlikely that SkyVPN will work to bypass any censorship, whether in Russia, UAE, Turkey, or anywhere else. 

You can especially forget about China: SkyVPN against the most sophisticated censorship apparatus in the world? There’s no chance.

SkyVPN has no obfuscation features to hide the fact that you’re using a VPN, and we don’t even know what security protocol it uses — because it won’t tell us.

If you need a VPN to combat censorship, we have VPN recommendations for these censorious parts of the world:

Available on popular devices

Platforms & Devices

Apps

  1. Windows Logo
    Windows
  2. Mac Logo
    Mac
  3. iOS Logo
    iOS
  4. Android Logo
    Android

SkyVPN is available on Microsoft Windows, MacOS, iOS and Android devices.

It was originally designed just for mobile, but was later adapted for desktop, which becomes very apparent when you compare the two versions of the app.

Screenshot of SkyVPN Available Devices Taken from the SkyVPN Website

On the free plan it’s only possible to use the VPN on one device at a time, so if you’re looking to protect multiple devices simultaneously you’re out of luck.

Reveals nothing about its technology

Encryption & Security

Protocols
  1. Undisclosed
Encryption
  1. AES-256
Security
    Advanced features

      Encryption & Security Rating: 1.5/10

      SkyVPN doesn’t reveal hardly any details about encryption or security anywhere on its website or app.

      Don’t make the same mistake as its millions of users – this is our biggest concern yet.

      SkyVPN talks about “military-grade” encryption and we did find mention of the claim it uses 256-bit AES encryption, which is a positive as this is strong encryption.

      But there’s no information regarding SkyVPN’s chosen VPN protocol, so we have no idea whether it’s OpenVPN, IKEv2, or possibly something far less secure, such as PPTP. 

      We’ve messaged SkyVPN multiple times to ask, but have received no response.

      There’s no VPN kill switch, so if the SkyVPN connection was to drop without you noticing your true IP address would be exposed to anyone who wanted to see it.

      Simple, but cheap & sparse

      Ease of Use

      How to Install & Set Up SkyVPN

      Ease of Use Rating: 2.0/10

      SkyVPN’s app is simple, but it looks cheap. The images and text are low-resolution. 

      SkyVPN even claims to have no pop-up ads, which is blatantly false – the free version is packed with them.

      Testing our speeds, it wasn’t long before we were told that our “data has been used up” and that we had to upgrade to VIP.

      However, if you close that window you can, in fact, reconnect again and continue to use SkyVPN for free.

      Screenshot of Illustration Depicting SkyVPN on a Mobile Phone on the SkyVPN Website

      It’s simple, with a standard ‘Connect’ button in the middle of the screen and the server list just above, but SkyVPN is so basic it’s essentially stripped of anything useful. 

      Barely any help available

      Customer Support

      EmailYes
      Online ResourcesYes

      Customer Support Rating: 1.2/10

      SkyVPN comes with an extremely limited FAQ and an email address for support. 

      That’s it

      And its answers to the questions are bad.

      Screenshot of Sky VPN Customer Support

      Excerpt of SkyVPN’s FAQ

      We contacted SkyVPN’s support email address multiple times to test how quick and helpful it was, but received no response.

      Do We Recommend SkyVPN?

      The Bottom Line

      SkyVPN is one of the worst VPNs we’ve tested. Avoid it, whatever you do.

      Shady ownership, really bad speeds, awful logging policy, no streaming access — there’s nothing it does well at all. 

      Consider one of our VPN recommendations below instead. 

      Alternatives to SkyVPN

      Windscribe

      Windscribe

      Windscribe has a free version of its app that gets at least some things right. If you don't want to pay, turn your attention to this service which is our #1 free VPN recommendation. Read Windscribe review

      Surfshark VPN logo

      Surfshark

      Surfshark is a premium VPN, but not a pricey one. For a budget service, you get a lot of quality, including reliable access to streaming sites. Read Surfshark review

      About the Author


      • Simon Migliano Head of Research at Top10VPN

        Simon Migliano

        Simon is a recognized world expert in VPNs. He's tested hundreds of VPN services and his research has featured on the BBC, The New York Times, CNet and more. Read full bio


      User Feedback for SkyVPN