We review VPNs independently, but may earn commissions if you buy a VPN via our links.

SuperVPN Free VPN Client Review

 Rated 0 out of 5 
No user reviews
SuperVPN app on iPhone
Callum Tennent's profile image

Callum Tennent oversees how we test and review VPN services. He's a member of the IAPP, and his VPN advice has featured in Forbes and the Internet Society.

Fact-checked by Simon MiglianoAdditional Testing by Harry Ferrigno

Our Verdict

2.112.1/10
How is this calculated?

We calculate the VPN service’s Overall Rating by combining the ratings of several testing categories. Each category is weighted as follows:

  • Privacy & Logging Policy: 20%
  • Speed: 20%
  • Security & Technical Features: 15%
  • Streaming: 15%
  • Ease of Use: 10%
  • Torrenting: 5%
  • Server Locations: 5%
  • Bypassing Web Censorship: 5%
  • Customer Support: 5%

Learn more by reading our VPN testing and review methodology.

SuperVPN is one of the most dangerous and untrustworthy free VPNs we’ve reviewed. It has an invasive logging policy, weak security features, worrying links to China, and it can’t unblock any web content. We strongly discourage using this VPN. If you already have it installed on your Android smartphone, we advise uninstalling it immediately.

Ranked #47 out of 55 VPNs

SuperVPN Free VPN Client Category Ratings

  • 3.13.1/10
  • 3.23.2/10
  • 0.10.1/10
  • 2.82.8/10
  • 4.54.5/10
  • 1.51.5/10
  • 11.0/10
  • 44.0/10
  • 11.0/10

SuperVPN Free VPN Client Pros & Cons

  • None - this VPN is unsafe

  • Logs your real IP address
  • Multiple data breaches
  • Slow connection speeds
  • Persistent, annoying adverts
  • Shady developer behavior
  • No AES-256 encryption or VPN kill switch

Why Trust Our Review?

We’ve spent thousands of hours testing and reviewing 55 VPN services using our impartial review process to recommend you the best VPN software.

Here are some of our key VPN testing statistics:

Total Hours of Testing30,000+
Weekly Speed Tests3,000+
VPN Services Reviewed55
Streaming Platforms Tested Daily12
IP & DNS Leak Tests Performed9,500+
How Much We've Spent On Testing$25,000+

Launched in 2014, SuperVPN is a popular Android-only VPN with over 100 million downloads. Following its removal from the Google Play Store in April 2020, SuperVPN is now available to install again.

SuperVPN is an unsafe VPN with a troubling history and ambiguous company structure. We strongly recommend you avoid SuperVPN and choose one of the top-rated free VPNs instead.

To review SuperVPN, we put it through our stringent VPN testing methodology. You can read an overview of its key features in the table below, or compare it against alternative VPNs further on in this review.

Why You Shouldn’t Use SuperVPN

SuperVPN Fast VPN Client is one of the worst VPNs we’ve reviewed due to its history of adware, weak security, intrusive logging policy, and recent data leak.

Below, we’ve summarized SuperVPN’s safety risks for various VPN use cases:

Avoid SuperVPN if:

  • You want to be anonymous online. SuperVPN leaks DNS requests, logs your IP address, and regularly exposes users’ IP addresses in data breaches.
  • You want to avoid adware. SuperVPN openly uses adware and shares your browsing activity with Google.
  • You want to use a VPN in China. With no obfuscation technology, and documented ties to China, we cannot recommend using SuperVPN to bypass Chinese web censorship.
  • You need a VPN for streaming. SuperVPN cannot unblock any streaming platform, apart from BBC iPlayer and YouTube.

EXPERT ADVICE:

If you’re considering using a VPN, we strongly recommend avoiding SuperVPN and using a fast, safe, and secure VPN service instead.

Our top-rated recommendation is ExpressVPN, which doesn’t log your browsing activity, unblocks 10 Netflix libraries, and fully encrypts your data. You can try ExpressVPN risk-free for 30 days.

SuperVPN Free VPN Client Key Data

Data CapUnlimited
Download Speed48Mbps
Logging PolicyIntrusive Logging
Data LeaksYes
JurisdictionNot Disclosed
ServersNot disclosed
IP AddressesNot disclosed
Countries With Servers8
US NetflixNo
TorrentingUnlimited
Simultaneous ConnectionsUnlimited
Works In ChinaNo
SupportNone
Official WebsiteSuperVPN

Privacy & Logging Policy

Intrusive Logging Policy & Worrying Links to China

0.10.1/10
How is this calculated?

We analyze and dissect the VPN service’s logging and privacy policy. A VPN should never log and store:

  • Your real IP address
  • Connection timestamps
  • DNS requests

Headquarters outside of 14 Eyes or EU jurisdictions are also preferable.

SuperVPN has a basic, poorly-written logging policy that does not protect your privacy. Even taken at its word, the VPN service logs IP addresses and stores them in the privacy-unfriendly US. This is an unsafe service that should be avoided at all costs.

Ranked #45 out of 55 VPNs for Privacy & Logging Policy

Below is a summary of all the data that SuperVPN logs:

Data TypeLogged by SuperVPN Free VPN Client
Browsing ActivityNo
Device InformationYes
DNS QueriesNo
Individual Bandwidth UsageNo
Individual Connection TimestampsNo
ISPNo
Number of Simultaneous ConnectionsNo
Originating IP AddressYes
Account InformationYes
VPN Server IPNo
VPN Server LocationNo
Date of Last ConnectionNo

As the table above shows, SuperVPN logs your real IP address. This is an unacceptable breach of privacy and automatically caps SuperVPN’s privacy and logging policy rating at 0.1/10.

SuperVPN logs even more user data than is stated in its privacy policy, but collecting your IP address is already enough to de-anonymize you.

Previously, its privacy policy was hosted on an HTTP server and referenced outdated data privacy legislation. SuperVPN has since moved to an HTTPS server and reduced its privacy policy to a few poorly-written paragraphs.

SuperVPN's privacy policy

SuperVPN admits to logging IP addresses in its privacy policy.

Confusingly, its policy states that it will log your email address — despite SuperVPN not needing an account or login details to be used.

This discrepancy is deeply suspicious. A proper privacy policy – like this one from Private Internet Access – would help resolve it.

Successive Data Leaks of User Information

SuperVPN has leaked user data in two notable data breaches. Some of its users’ personal details, including full names and passwords, were part of the May 2022 data breach which targeted several popular VPN services.

Its May 2023 data leak was even worse, exposing over 133GB of user data. This includes original IP addresses, user email addresses, device data, and geolocation data.

This proves SuperVPN logs a lot more than advertised in its privacy policy. It’s also troubling and amateurish that SuperVPN chose to store user data in an unprotected database.

Confusing Ownership with Ties to China

SuperVPN’s listing on the Google Play Store claims that it is developed by SuperSoftTech and based in Singapore, but we couldn’t find any information to verify this. It doesn’t have a website, either.

Its privacy policy is actually hosted on a server in California, not Singapore. This and the Google Play Store listing are the extent of SuperSoftTech’s online presence.

A Google search for the support email, goanalyticsapp@gmail.com, reveals the actual developer to be a man named Jinrong Zheng, who is also responsible for (the now removed) LinkVPN on iOS.

LinkVPN features the exact same privacy policy, this time hosted in Germany.

We also found multiple addresses for Zheng, including one in Beijing, China. This is corroborated by our investigation into Free VPN app ownership, which revealed SuperVPN’s ties to China.

Coupled with its data breaches, SuperVPN is too risky to install and represents a risk to your online privacy.

We’d like SuperVPN to remove any ambiguity by implementing a proper privacy policy and carrying out a third-party audit of its logging practices. We’d also appreciate SuperVPN providing a working email to clear up any confusion over its jurisdiction and ownership.

Speed

Poor Speeds Across Its Server Network

2.82.8/10
How is this calculated?

We calculate the VPN’s speed rating using our download speeds, upload speeds, and ping (latency) measurements.

We regularly test the VPN’s local and international speeds using a dedicated 100Mbps internet connection in New York, USA.

SuperVPN Free is consistently slow regardless of the distance of the connection. On our 100Mbps baseline connection, we recorded an average download speed of 48Mbps when connected to a same-city server and 32Mbps when connected to a far-away UK server. These are disappointing speeds and reflective of the poor overall quality of SuperVPN's service.

Ranked #46 out of 55 VPNs for Speed

To calculate SuperVPN’s speed score, we conducted weekly speed tests while connected to five SuperVPN servers around the globe. Our standard testing process usually includes nine server locations but we were restricted by SuperVPN’s limited server network.

You can use the table below to see SuperVPN’s speed test results, in full:

As the data above demonstrates, SuperVPN Free slowed our download speeds by 52% on a nearby server. This is a substantial reduction in speed with similar results seen across its network, including a 50% speed loss when connecting to Canada.

Depending on the speed of your internet connection, you may not be able to carry out data-intensive tasks while using SuperVPN Free. This includes HD Streaming, large file-sharing, and online gaming.

If any of the above is a priority for you, we’d recommend installing Windscribe Free. It’s completely free to use, has an average download speed of 90Mbps, and won’t log your real IP address.

Server Locations

Limited Server Coverage & Unknown Infrastructure

4.54.5/10
How is this calculated?

The key factor for calculating this rating is the global spread and coverage of the VPN’s server network.

We also consider the total number of servers, the number of city-level servers, and the number of IP addresses available.

SuperVPN has an undisclosed number of servers located in 8 countries. Although this is a standard number of server locations for a free VPN, it doesn’t compete with premium services. Plus, the lack of transparency surrounding the quantity of servers and their ownership is concerning.

Ranked #46 out of 55 VPNs for Server Locations

Globe with a blue flag
8 Countries
Image of a city landscape
8 Cities
Image of a pink marker
Undisclosed IP Addresses

Using SuperVPN, you can connect to servers in the following regions:

Continent Number of Countries
Europe 4
Asia 2
South America 0
North America 2
Africa 0
Oceania 0

As the table above shows, SuperVPN only has servers in a handful of locations. Europe is best accommodated with servers in the UK, Germany, Netherlands, and France.

Although SuperVPN has an American server location, it doesn’t have any US city-level options. As a result, your speeds may fluctuate depending on your location in the US.

If you need to get a US IP address, we advise you to use one of these free VPNs for connecting to the US. They’re safer, faster and have specific US city-level servers.

SuperVPN's server list

SuperVPN doesn’t display any city-level choices within its server list.

The VPN doesn’t have any servers in Africa, the Middle East, South America, Oceania, or Eastern Europe. This is unlikely to change as SuperVPN has had the same server network since 2020.

Undisclosed Server Infrastructure

There isn’t any information available on SuperVPN’s server network beyond its 8 advertised locations.

It isn’t clear how many servers SuperVPN has in total, who owns and maintains the servers, and if the servers are physical or virtual.

We reward VPNs that own their server network to avoid your personal data from being accessible to third-parties. We’d like to see SuperVPN clarify its server ownership in the future to remove this uncertainty.

EXPERT ADVICE: For a trusted VPN service with an entirely self-owned network, we recommend using Private Internet Access. You can try PIA VPN risk-free with its 30-day money-back guarantee.

Streaming

Only Works to Unblock BBC iPlayer

3.13.1/10
How is this calculated?

This rating is calculated by how many different streaming services and regional content libraries the VPN can unblock, and how consistently it can access them.

We test access to Netflix, Disney+, Max, Amazon Prime Video, BBC iPlayer, and many more platforms on a weekly basis.

SuperVPN unblocks BBC iPlayer on its UK server but fails to work with every other streaming service. Despite the HD quality, we also experienced slow load times and buffering throughout testing. Overall, SuperVPN is a poor choice for streaming.

Ranked #36 out of 55 VPNs for Streaming

Here’s a list of popular streaming services that SuperVPN Fast VPN client currently works with:

Streaming PlatformWorks with SuperVPN Free VPN Client
Channel 4No
Amazon Prime VideoNo
BBC iPlayerYes
Disney+No
HBO MaxNo
Hotstar IndiaNo
HuluNo
ITVXNo
Netflix USNo
YouTubeNo

If you want to know if SuperVPN works with a streaming service that’s not listed above, ask us at hello@top10vpn.com and we’ll test it for you.

Consistently Unblocks BBC iPlayer, but No Other UK Service

Our most recent tests confirm that SuperVPN still works with BBC iPlayer. This has been the case for over three years of testing and works for both on-demand and live content.

Unblocking BBC iPlayer with SuperVPN

SuperVPN has unblocked BBC iPlayer in every streaming test since 2020.

Despite a 68% loss in download speed while connected to its UK server, we were able to stream BBC iPlayer in HD quality.

Having said that, it took several minutes to load a live video and our stream buffered on multiple occasions.

Aside from BBC iPlayer, SuperVPN’s UK server failed to unblock UK Netflix, ITVX, or All 4. If UK streaming services are a priority for you, we recommend using Windscribe Free. It’s free to use and can reliably unblock all of the above without any buffering or drops in video quality.

SuperVPN Doesn’t Work with Any Netflix Libraries

In our testing, we couldn’t stream Netflix on any of SuperVPN’s servers. We were able to open the Netflix app each time, but our content library was limited to Netflix exclusives.

SuperVPN failing to unblock Netflix

We couldn’t load Netflix while connected to SuperVPN’s Germany server.

In other instances, the Netflix app refused to load its content or displayed titles from a different region entirely.

If you need a free VPN to access geo-restricted libraries, try using one of the top free Netflix VPNs. All of the VPNs are optimized for Netflix streaming and work on mobile.

Fails to Unblock Hulu, HBO Max, Disney+ & More

SuperVPN performed badly in our latest streaming tests. We were unable to unblock the vast majority of streaming services, including Hulu, Amazon Prime Video, HBO Max, and Hotstar.

SuperVPN blocked by Hulu

We couldn’t get past Hulu’s login page while using SuperVPN.

Even if SuperVPN did work with more streaming services, we can’t recommend it for streaming due to its slow download speeds and frequent lapses in VPN connection. Plus, its logging practices are a privacy-risk.

Torrenting

SuperVPN Is Not Suitable for Anonymous Torrenting

3.23.2/10
How is this calculated?

This rating is determined by the VPN’s torrenting speeds, the percentage of servers that allow P2P file sharing, the service’s privacy and trustworthiness, and useful settings like port forwarding.

For speed specifically, we calculate the VPN’s average download bitrate using our bespoke torrenting setup.

SuperVPN recorded a fast average bitrate, but it’s too unsafe and poorly managed for anonymous torrenting. Its troubling logging policy, weak encryption, and lack of kill switch in particular make it a poor choice for torrenting.

Ranked #42 out of 55 VPNs for Torrenting

Here is a summary of how SuperVPN Fast VPN client performed in our torrenting tests:

Torrenting Attribute Result
Average Download Bitrate 9.7MiB/s
No. of P2P Servers Undisclosed
Logging Policy Intrusive Logging
Kill Switch No
Port Forwarding No

We tested SuperVPN by connecting to a nearby server and downloading a 1GB torrent test file via the BitTorrent Android app. This process was then repeated multiple times to calculate an average result.

SuperVPN torrenting test

We were able to download our torrent test file without interruption.

SuperVPN should not be used for torrenting under any circumstances due to its dangerous logging policy and inadequate security features.

All of your torrenting activity is logged by the VPN and can be passed over to law enforcement agencies. Moreover, the absence of a kill switch leaves your real IP address exposed to the torrent swarm in the event of a VPN disconnection.

We strongly recommend you use a trusted free VPN for torrenting, instead. All of our shortlisted VPNs are fast, secure, and won’t log your torrenting activity.

It’s a shame SuperVPN cannot be trusted with sensitive activities like torrenting, as on our 10MiB/s connection, SuperVPN averaged an exceptional bitrate of 9.7MiB/s. As a result, SuperVPN is the joint-fourth fastest VPN for torrenting that we’ve tested.

Unclear Torrenting Policy & Ambiguous Jurisdiction

SuperVPN’s Google Store listing and privacy policy do not mention torrenting anywhere. There’s also no customer support available to clarify the VPN’s stance on torrenting and DMCA requests.

The iOS VPN app from SuperVPN’s developer, LinkVPN, has a strict no torrenting rule, so we expected SuperVPN to block P2P traffic. However, this was not the case in our testing.

Previously, SuperVPN’s privacy policy made reference to storing data on servers in the US and UK – two members of the Five Eyes data-sharing alliance.

Although any mention of this is now gone, the privacy policy continues to be hosted from a server in America which suggests your data may be stored in the same place.

If that’s the case, then your torrenting activity falls within the jurisdiction of US law enforcement.

Bypassing Web Censorship

No Obfuscation Tools for Highly-Censored Countries

1.51.5/10
How is this calculated?

We routinely test if the VPN can bypass strict internet restrictions in China using our remote-access server in Shanghai.

Other important factors we consider include obfuscation technologies and the availability of servers in neighboring countries (for faster connections).

SuperVPN does not work in censored countries and it makes no attempts to fix this. The VPN does not come with any obfuscation tools and its links to China make it a poor choice for bypassing the Great Firewall.

Ranked #45 out of 55 VPNs for Bypassing Web Censorship

We were unable to apply our full China VPN testing process to SuperVPN as it doesn’t have a desktop app.

Despite some reviews on the Google Play Store claiming otherwise, we find it unlikely that SuperVPN works in China due to its lack of VPN obfuscation technology.

The VPN only supports the outdated IKEv2/IPSec protocol and an undisclosed encryption method, which is unlikely to bypass China’s sophisticated censorship.

Furthermore, our investigation into free VPN ownership revealed that SuperVPN has ties with China. As such, using SuperVPN in China represents a real risk to your safety and anonymity.

For a safer and more reliable anti-censorship VPN, we suggest reading our PrivateVPN review. It has no links to China, uses the Shadowsocks Proxy to bypass censorship, and maintains a 82% success rate in China.

Security & Technical Features

Untrustworthy Practices & Weak Security

11.0/10
How is this calculated?

A secure VPN must offer OpenVPN or WireGuard protocols, AES-256 encryption, and a working kill switch.

To calculate this rating, we also factor in additional security settings and features.

SuperVPN is not a safe VPN. It lacks most of the basic security features expected from a VPN, including AES-256 encryption, a kill switch, and leak protection. The SuperVPN app is optimized for adware, and requires an excessive amount of device permissions to function. SuperVPN also leaked DNS requests in our testing. Alongside its invasive logging policy, SuperVPN’s weak security means it should be avoided at all costs.

Ranked #53 out of 55 VPNs for Security & Technical Features

You can find a full list of the VPN protocols, encryption ciphers, and extra technical features SuperVPN has in the table below:

ProtocolsAvailable in SuperVPN Free VPN Client
IKEv2/IPSecYes
OpenVPN (TCP/UDP)No
WireGuardNo
EncryptionAvailable in SuperVPN Free VPN Client
AES-128No
AES-192No
AES-256No
BlowfishNo
ChaCha20No
UndisclosedYes
SecurityAvailable in SuperVPN Free VPN Client
DNS Leak BlockingNo
First-party DNSNo
IPv6 Leak BlockingNo
Supports TCP Port 443No
VPN Kill SwitchNo
WebRTC Leak BlockingNo
Advanced FeaturesAvailable in SuperVPN Free VPN Client
Ad BlockerNo
Dedicated IPNo
Double VPNNo
Smart DNSNo
Static IPNo
SOCKSNo
Split TunnelingYes
Tor over VPN ServerNo
Tracker BlockerNo

Outdated Protocols & Unknown Encryption Cipher

No information about SuperVPN’s protocol or encryption method is available within its app or Google Play Store listing. This erodes our trust in the service and is another indicator of SuperVPN’s poor overall quality.

As a bare minimum, we expect VPNs to disclose their encryption cipher, with top-rated VPNs like PIA going a step further and open-sourcing their apps.

After thorough investigation, we can confirm that SuperVPN uses a version of the strongSwan VPN client and the IKEv2 protocol.

Although strongSwan is open-sourced, it has enabled SuperVPN to embed adware into its apps through APKs. This undermines your online privacy by allowing Google insight into your browsing activity.

We’re also concerned by SuperVPN’s reliance on the outdated and closed-source IKEv2 protocol. Moving forward, we’d welcome the inclusion of the OpenVPN and WireGuard protocols as safer and more modern alternatives.

Leaks DNS Requests

We tested SuperVPN for IP, WebRTC, and DNS leaks using our in-house VPN leak test tool.

Below you can see an image displaying the results of our tests:

SuperVPN's leak test results

SuperVPN’s strongSwan VPN client prevented our IP address from leaking.

Our IP address remained hidden but SuperVPN leaked our DNS requests. This allows third-parties to view your browsing activity, undermining your online privacy.

We want to see SuperVPN address this issue in the future by adding DNS leak blocking to its VPN software. To go a step further, we’d like SuperVPN to follow ExpressVPN’s example of using entirely first-party DNS servers.

Inadequate Security & Missing Features

SuperVPN’s suite of security features is subpar compared to top services like PIA and NordVPN. Most notably, SuperVPN doesn’t have a kill switch.

We verified this by testing SuperVPN with our kill switch tool. The tool works by monitoring for any IP leaks while switching VPN servers or during an unexpected VPN disconnection.
Without a kill switch, your real IP address and personal data is exposed every time your VPN unexpectedly disconnects. This is particularly troubling considering SuperVPN’s connection problems.

SuperVPN lacks any basic or advanced technical features, aside from a rudimentary split tunneling feature labeled ‘Smart Proxy’. We’ve listed the most important ones we’d like to see SuperVPN add in a table below:

  • AES-256 encryption to protect your personal data and conceal it from third-parties.
  • WireGuard and OpenVPN support to securely tunnel your network traffic.
  • VPN Kill Switch to block all traffic, even following a sudden disconnection.
  • Desktop and iOS apps to improve device compatibility and accommodate more users.

Device & OS Compatibility

SuperVPN Only Works on Android Devices

How is this rated?

A high-quality VPN should maintain functional, fully-featured applications and browser extensions for as many platforms and devices as possible.

Our ‘Device & OS Compatibility’ assessment contributes to the Ease of Use rating.

SuperVPN is only compatible with Android. It can’t be installed on any other device, including Windows, macOS, iOS, or Linux. SuperVPN doesn’t have browser extensions or apps for Amazon Fire TV and Android TV, either.

Apps

SuperVPN is only available on the following platform:

  1. Android

Aside from Android, SuperVPN is incompatible with every major operating system. This has been the case since its launch, with no indication of future expansion onto different platforms.

If you need a free VPN for multiple platforms, we suggest reading our AtlasVPN Free review. It works on desktop and mobile devices and allows unlimited simultaneous connections.

Games Consoles & Streaming Devices

Without Smart DNS or a router app, SuperVPN cannot be used on any games consoles or streaming devices.

Leading VPN services like ExpressVPN and Surfshark overcome this issue by providing Smart DNS tools in their base subscription.

SuperVPN also doesn’t provide dedicated apps for Amazon Fire TV or Android TV, and there isn’t an .APK file for sideloading.

Browser Extensions

SuperVPN doesn’t support a VPN extension or web proxy for any mainstream browser.

Browser extensions are an inessential feature of a VPN service but offer a lightweight solution for encrypting web traffic.

If you need a VPN extension for your browser, we recommend installing ExpressVPN. It’s not only our highest rated VPN overall, but also the best VPN Extension for Chrome and the top-rated VPN for Firefox.

Ease of Use

Intrusive Ads & Limited User Interface

44.0/10
How is this calculated?

This rating mainly consists of the user-friendliness and intuitiveness of setting up and regularly using the VPN.

We also factor in customization settings, as well as device and OS compatibility (see section above).

SuperVPN is frustrating to use due to constant unskippable ads as well as continual VPN connection drops. The app itself is adequately designed and easy to understand, but that’s mostly because it lacks features.

Ranked #49 out of 55 VPNs for Ease of Use

To set up SuperVPN, simply go to its Google Play Store listing and click Install. Once the VPN has downloaded, you’ll be asked to accept its connection request and to disable battery optimization. We found that tapping Allow for the latter didn’t actually change any of our battery settings.

This is much improved from SuperVPN’s previous set-up process which requested access to our GPS, USB storage, WiFi, and more. Despite this improvement, we still don’t recommend installing SuperVPN.

We’ve outlined our experience of using SuperVPN’s Android app in detail below:

Android

We found SuperVPN easy to use and understand, primarily due to the absence of any features. It uses a simple white background with a large central connect button and a drop down menu for the server list. This is standard for mobile VPNs and accessible for all users.

SuperVPN's Android app

SuperVPN lacks any advanced features or settings.

The ring around the connect button changes from gray to green when connecting, and blue once connected. We found this system helpful for indicating our connection status, especially once we began to experience connectivity problems in our testing.

SuperVPN’s app redesign removed the confusing “VPN is ready: Continue” screen upon launch, as well as the large orange button encouraging the purchase of the VIP version. These small changes have made it much easier to use SuperVPN and reduced the number of misclicks.

You can access the server list through the drop down menu on the home screen or by tapping the flag icon in the top-right corner. Frustratingly, you have to manually disconnect each time before changing server locations.

Better designed VPNs, such as NordVPN, allow you to seamlessly change server locations without forcing you to disconnect from the VPN.

We were also left frustrated by SuperVPN’s constant unskippable ads. This made using SuperVPN awful and shows the real day-to-day impact of its intrusive adware.

To improve its user experience, SuperVPN needs to create a modern, ad-free VPN app which better integrates into the Android ecosystem. For a well-designed and secure Android app, we recommend installing ProtonVPN Free. Its Android app has the same features as its desktop counterparts as well as the integrated ‘Always-on’ kill switch.

Customer Support

Threadbare & Unhelpful Customer Support

11.0/10
How is this calculated?

This rating is based on our assessment of the VPN’s:

  • Live chat support
  • Email support
  • Online resources

Not every VPN offers all these support options, and they often vary in quality and response times.

SuperVPN has an unmonitored support email it doesn’t answer and poorly-written FAQs covering basic topics. Overall, this is one of the worst VPN customer support experiences we’ve reviewed.

Ranked #52 out of 55 VPNs for Customer Support

You can try to contact SuperVPN’s customer support team in the following ways:

Customer SupportAvailable in SuperVPN Free VPN Client
24/7 Live Chat SupportNo
24/7 Email SupportNo
ChatbotNo
Live Chat SupportNo
EmailYes
Email Support via Online FormNo
Tutorial VideosNo
Online ResourcesNo

As part of our VPN testing process, we check the responsiveness, availability, and accuracy of every VPN’s customer support team. We can confirm that SuperVPN fails in every department.

Our testing team found an email on SuperVPN’s Google Play Store listing, but we received no response when we emailed it. In fact, we’ve never received a reply from SuperVPN in over three years of testing.

At the very least, we expect a VPN service to acknowledge our query with a response, even if it’s unhelpful. Premium VPN services, like Astrill VPN, respond quickly to customer emails with detailed and informed answers.

FAQs in the SuperVPN app

SuperVPN’s FAQs are threadbare and unhelpful.

Aside from its unmanned email, SuperVPN has some FAQs within its app. They provide some basic troubleshooting guidance, but it’s not enough to compensate for the lack of actual customer support.

There’s also a button you can press in the app for troubleshooting poor VPN connectivity. Tapping this button redirects you to a webpage with instructions for disabling battery optimization on different Android devices.

We advise against clicking this button as the webpage is hosted on an insecure HTTP server which is a privacy risk. We’re also unsure as to how disabling battery optimization improves your VPN connection.

To improve its customer support, we’d like SuperVPN to implement at least one channel of support. This could be a manned support email, a live chat feature, or developed FAQs.

The Bottom Line

Is SuperVPN Worth It?

SuperVPN is not a safe VPN and should be avoided at all costs.

By installing SuperVPN, you are risking your online security and privacy by allowing adware onto your device. Furthermore, the lack of fundamental industry-standard features, such as a kill switch or AES-256 encryption, leaves your network traffic and personal data exposed.

Even if SuperVPN was safe to use, it performs too poorly in other testing categories to be worth using. Its speeds are slow in every location, it can’t unblock the vast majority of streaming platforms, and it’s incapable of bypassing web censorship.

SuperVPN does provide fast torrenting speeds but this isn’t enough to mitigate the risks to your online security and anonymity, as well as the poor quality of the VPN service.

There are much safer free Android VPNs available, that won’t sell your data, log your real IP address, or ignore your email.

Alternatives to SuperVPN

As one of the worst VPNs we’ve reviewed, there are a number of alternative VPN services to choose from.

Windscribe Free is one of our top-rated free VPNs and outperforms SuperVPN in almost every metric. Unlike SuperVPN, Windscribe Free can unblock Netflix, including 6 international libraries, HBO Max, and Amazon Prime Video. It’s also much faster, has a private logging policy, and uses secure tunneling and encryption.

For a trustworthy and secure free VPN, Proton VPN Free is an excellent choice. Although it’s not great for streaming or torrenting, Proton VPN Free is free to use without any limits on bandwidth or data. It’s backed by third-party security audits of its open-sourced apps as well as a private Swiss jurisdiction. It’s also got a kill switch on all of its apps, including Android.

You can use the table below to see how SuperVPN compares to its alternatives:


User Reviews for SuperVPN Free VPN Client

User Reviews are shown in the original language of submission.