Disclosure: Top10VPN is editorially independent. We may earn commissions if you buy a VPN through links on our site.

PrivadoVPN Review

 0% 
No user reviews
Simon Migliano

Simon Migliano is a recognized world expert in VPNs. He's tested hundreds of VPN services and his research has featured on the BBC, The New York Times and more. Read full bio

Ask Simon About PrivadoVPN

Our Verdict

88.0/10
How is this calculated?

Our overall rating is reached by combining several subcategories. The subcategories are weighted as follows:

  • Logging & Jurisdiction: 30%
  • Speed & Reliability: 25%
  • Security & Features: 20%
  • Streaming: 10%
  • Torrenting: 5%
  • Ease of Use: 5%
  • Support: 5%

See our full methodology in how we review VPNs.

PrivadoVPN has an impressive free version, but its premium VPN is overpriced. The VPN comes with fast speeds, a privacy-friendly logging policy, and it can even unblock US streaming platforms. However, it’s simply not advanced enough, with very few extra features and a small list of servers.

Ranked #21 out of 70 VPNs

PrivadoVPN Category Ratings

  • 8.88.8/10
  • 7.47.4/10
  • 99.0/10
  • 9.39.3/10
  • 8.68.6/10
  • 88.0/10
  • 6.96.9/10
  • 7.77.7/10
  • 66.0/10
  • 55.0/10

PrivadoVPN Pros & Cons

Pros

  • Excellent free version
  • Safe Swiss jurisdiction
  • Privacy-focused logging policy
  • Unblocks US Netflix, HBO Max & Hulu
  • P2P support & SOCKS5 proxy
  • Works in China

Cons

  • Small server network
  • Average value for your money
  • Fire TV Stick app not working
  • Lacks advanced features
  • Limited payment methods

Why Trust Our Review?

We’ve spent thousands of hours testing and reviewing 70 VPN services using our impartial review process to recommend you the best VPN software.

Here are some of our key VPN testing statistics:

Total Hours of Testing30,000+
Weekly Speed Tests3,000+
VPN Services Reviewed70
Streaming Platforms Tested Daily12
IP & DNS Leak Tests Performed9,500+
How Much We've Spent On Testing$25,000+

PrivadoVPN takes privacy seriously. Based in Switzerland, it employs a safe privacy policy and high security standards, including AES-256 encryption, OpenVPN, and the WireGuard protocol.

The VPN service is geared towards torrenting and file-sharing, with P2P friendly servers across its network, fast download speeds, and a working kill switch.

PrivadVPN comes in both a premium and free version, both of which unblock popular US streaming platforms.

The free version of PrivadoVPN is good to easily browse the web privately without spending a dime. In fact, it’s one of the best free VPNs you can get.

If you upgrade to the VPN’s premium version, for $4.99 per month, you can access a larger server network, among other benefits.

However, we prefer the free version, relatively speaking. The premium version of PrivadoVPN is overpriced, lacking advanced features like split tunneling and double VPN, which top VPNs offer.

In this PrivadoVPN review you’ll learn that the VPN is a fine option for private web browsing and torrenting. Beyond that, look elsewhere.

PrivadoVPN Key Data

Data CapSpeedLogging PolicyData LeaksJurisdictionServersIP AddressesCountriesUS NetflixTorrentingSimultaneous ConnectionsWorks In ChinaSupportCheapest PriceMoney-Back GuaranteeOfficial Website
Premium
Free
Unlimited10GB
87Mbps91Mbps
Anonymous Server Usage DataAnonymous Server Usage Data
NoNo
Switzerland (Privacy Haven)Switzerland (Privacy Haven)
32213
Not disclosedNot disclosed
449
YesYes
UnlimitedUnlimited
101
YesYes
Live ChatLive Chat
$4.99/mo over 12 MonthsFree
30-day Money-Back Guarantee-
PrivadoVPN.com

PrivadoVPN is Safe & Based in a Privacy Haven

Logging & Jurisdiction

99.0/10
How is this calculated?

We dissect the logging and privacy policies of every VPN. A VPN should never log:

  • Your real IP address
  • Connection timestamps
  • DNS requests

A base of operations outside of 14-Eyes or EU jurisdiction is preferable.

PrivadoVPN has a robust privacy policy, and is based in Switzerland, which has good privacy laws. The VPN only records the number of active users and the total bandwidth used in a given period of time. It doesn't collect any sensitive or identifying information.

PrivadoVPN has a safe privacy policy

We’ve studied the PrivadoVPN privacy policy and here is everything PrivadoVPN logs:

  • Account information (username and email address)
  • Payment information
  • Support messages
  • Anonymous, aggregate statistics (number of active users over a period of time)
  • Mobile identifiers (these can switched off)
  • Total amount of bandwidth used

PrivadoVPN only collects a small amount of information, and all of it is unidentifiable.

The service doesn’t log anything sensitive, such as your IP address or the websites you visit. The only information the Swiss authorities could possibly obtain is your email address and username.

Nevertheless, PrivadoVPN should commission a third-party audit to verify its claims. This has become standard practice in the VPN industry, and provides an added layer of trust.

PrivadoVPN is based in Switzerland

PrivadoVPN is based in Zug, Switzerland, registered as Privado Networks AG.

Switzerland is a good choice of country to establish a VPN company, because of its robust privacy laws that respect consumer privacy. It’s not a member of the European Union, so it doesn’t abide by the Data Retention Directive.

Moreover, Switzerland has no role in the intrusive 14 Eyes alliance, or any other anti-privacy intelligence sharing agreements.

In other words, PrivadoVPN is in fact under no legal obligation to store the data of its subscribers.

While Switzerland has local surveillance laws in place, these only apply to ISPs (Internet Service Providers), and not VPN services.

Who owns PrivadoVPN?

PrivadoVPN offers little to no public information about its corporate structure or ownership.

Some users may respect a privacy company wanting privacy of its own, others may want more transparency before trusting the company with their data.

For this reason, we’d like to see greater transparency and disclosure from the company that operates PrivadoVPN.

Very Fast Local & International Download Speeds

Speed & Reliability

9.39.3/10
How is this calculated?

Speed ratings are calculated using upload speeds, download speeds, and ping (latency).

We test average speeds regularly using a dedicated 100Mbps connection in London, UK. Local download speed is considered the most important factor.

PrivadoVPN is very fast. We recorded excellent local and long-distance download speeds. We experienced a small 8% speed loss on same-country connections, and only 15% connecting to the US from the UK. Despite the very good speeds, PrivadoVPN doesn’t quite match the very fastest VPNs, and sometimes connecting times are slow.

Using PrivadoVPN’s automatic protocol selection, our speeds dropped just 8% when connected to nearby VPN servers.

This is a small speed loss, although PrivadoVPN is simply not as fast as competitors like NordVPN, which only records a 1% speed loss.

Having said that, on local connections PrivadoVPN is more than fast enough for you to stream in 4K and download files quickly.

Local Speed Test results before using PrivadoVPN:

  • Download Speed: 91Mbps
  • Upload Speed: 99Mbps
  • Ping: 6ms

Local Speed Test results with PrivadoVPN:

  • Download Speed: 84Mbps
  • Upload Speed: 86Mbps
  • Ping: 15ms

Download speed loss when PrivadoVPN is running: 8%

We tested a wide range of PrivadoVPN servers, including long-distance ones, and these were the speed results:

International Speed Test Results

PrivadoVPN’s worldwide speeds are just as impressive as its local ones. While there will always be greater speed reduction connecting to countries further away, PrivadoVPN’s international speed loss was minimal.

Connecting from the UK to the US, we only experienced a 15% speed loss. That’s one of the smallest speed drops we’ve seen for London to New York connections.

Likewise, connecting to an Australia server only reduced our internet speed by 37%. Considering the huge distance, this is remarkable.

PrivadoVPN Free Speed Test Results

We also tested the speeds of PrivadoVPN’s free servers, both locally and globally.

Here’s how PrivadoVPN Free performed in our speed tests:

  • UK:
    • Download: 91Mbps
    • Upload: 61Mbps
    • Ping: 14Mms
  • Germany:
    • Download: 91Mbps
    • Upload: 73Mbps
    • Ping: 19ms
  • US:
    • Download: 68Mbps
    • Upload: 15Mbps
    • Ping: 130ms

PrivadoVPN Free performed just as highly as the paid version in our speed tests. It’s clear that PrivadoVPN doesn’t speed throttle its free servers, with little-to-no server congestion.

In the UK and Germany, the free VPN’s speeds were even higher than the premium version. Long-distance speeds into the USA were impressive, too.

Small Server Network of Only 322 Global Servers

Server Locations

8.68.6/10
How is this calculated?

The global spread and coverage of the VPN server network is the most important factor here.

We also consider the number of city-level servers, plus how many IP addresses are maintained.

This rating does not directly contribute to the Overall Rating, but instead makes up a portion of the Security & Features rating.

PrivadoVPN’s server network is spread across 44 countries, with several city-level server options. This is good, but top VPNs cover at least 59 countries. Also, the small number of servers could become an issue as the VPN's subscriber base grows.

Globe with a blue flag
44 Countries
Image of a city landscape
100 Cities
Image of a pink marker
UndisclosedIP Address

PrivadoVPN has 322 servers in 44 countries. For context, top VPN services offer servers in over 59 countries.

The absolute best VPN, ExpressVPN runs servers in over 94 countries.

Nevertheless, PrivadoVPN’s server location offering is better than the majority of VPNs we’ve reviewed.

A variety of city-specific server locations are available in the USA (9), UK (2), Germany (2), and Canada (3). Unfortunately for Australians, only Sydney is covered.

322 is a small number of physical servers, though. We have a concern that has the VPN service grows, its servers may become overloaded or congested.

 

PrivadoVPN Sever List

PrivadoVPN’s server list.

Secure, physical servers only

PrivadoVPN claims to run physical servers only. These are more costly to set up and run, but they’re usually safer.

PrivadoVPN is focusing on quality over quantity, which is the right approach. One drawback, though, is that it’s not a very extensive VPN network.

The result is that currently there are no servers located in the Middle East, and only one in Africa (South Africa).

PrivadoVPN Works with US Netflix, BBC iPlayer and Hulu

Streaming

8.88.8/10
How is this calculated?

Streaming is rated by the number of different services unlocked, how many regional libraries are viewable, and how consistently the VPN can access them.

Netflix, BBC iPlayer, HBO Max, DAZN, and Amazon Prime Video are all tested on a weekly basis.

PrivadoVPN is a good VPN for streaming. It unblocks many popular streaming sites, including US and UK Netflix, HBO Max, Hulu, and British TV services like BBC iPlayer and All 4. It doesn't unblock DAZN, though.

We tested PrivadoVPN with major streaming platforms to see if it works to access geo-restricted content. Here are our results:

PrivadoVPN unblocks US and UK Netflix

PrivadoVPN is a good solution to bypass Netflix geo-blocks. In our streaming tests, the VPN streamed video content from the US and UK library.

However, the VPN fails to unblock other important Netflix regions, like Germany, Japan, and Canada.

The best Netflix VPNs can unblock over 30 international libraries. PrivadoVPN is a long way from this.

BBC iPlayer access is inconsistent

PrivadoVPN didn’t unblock BBC iPlayer on its Manchester server, but it did work on its London server – for a while. Coming back to test it again shortly afterward, our real location was detected by the BBC’s blocking technology.

PrivadoVPN BBC iPlayer Test

BBC iPlayer detected our PrivadoVPN connection.

PrivadoVPN is inconsistent when it comes to BBC iPlayer. Sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn’t. As such, use a more effective BBC iPlayer VPN, instead.

We also unblocked All 4 using PrivadoVPN, but not ITV Player. Again, fans of British TV should try more reliable VPNs that give you a UK IP address.

Works with HBO Max, Disney+, and Hulu

On the plus side, PrivadoVPN can unblock other popular streaming services, like HBO Max, Disney+, Hulu, and the American Amazon Prime Video catalog.

This is impressive compared to the majority of free VPN services. Our ZPN review, for example, found the service couldn’t unblock any streaming services at all.

PrivadoVPN Hulu Streaming Test

PrivadoVPN accesses Hulu from outside the US.

Sadly, you won’t be able to watch sports on DAZN, though.

Despite unblocking many content platforms, the lack of identifiable streaming servers is problematic. You’re left to guess which servers work with each streaming platform through time-consuming trial and error.

And once you find a server that works with your chosen streaming app, the PrivadoVPN app doesn’t let you favorite that server for future use.

All in all, PrivadoVPN is good at unblocking geo-restricted video content, but there are much better streaming VPNs available.

Select ‘Stream Content’ When Signing Up

EXPERT ADVICE: To unblock geo-restricted content with PrivadoVPN, you must select ‘Stream Content’ when signing up and asked to choose your configuration.

When you install PrivadoVPN, you will be presented with options to ‘Find The Best Server Configuration’. If you do not select ‘Stream Content,’ you will not be connected to server-optimized servers and will struggle to access streaming sites.

Select ‘Stream Content’ when signing up for PrivadoVPN.

If you’ve already signed up to PrivadoVPN and are experiencing streaming issues, contact PrivadoVPN’s support team and ask to have a streaming-optimized account activated.

PrivadoVPN Free unblocks most streaming platforms

PrivadoVPN’s free version is the best free VPN for American Netflix. Using its 10GB of free data, we unblocked the UK and US Netflix libraries.

We also unblocked HBO Max, Hulu, and BBC iPlayer.

PrivadoVPN Free HBO Max Test

The free version of PrivadoVPN Free unblocks HBO Max.

Like with the premium version, PrivadoVPN Free couldn’t get around DAZN or ITV Player blocks. And with only 10GB of data per month, streaming time is limited.

PrivadoVPN Supports Torrenting Including SOCKS5 Availability

Torrenting

7.47.4/10
How is this calculated?

We calculate the average download bitrate of every VPN using a bespoke torrenting setup.

Testing also factors in the percentage of servers which permit P2P, plus useful features like port forwarding.

PrivadoVPN claims to be a VPN for torrenting, and with good reason. Every one of its servers supports P2P, and the SOCKS5 proxy is included as a special feature for premium subscribers. Alongside its fast speeds, safe privacy policy, and functioning kill switch, PrivadoVPN is a strong choice for torrenters.

PrivadoVPN is quite open and supportive of its users engaging in P2P (peer-to-peer) file sharing. It has built a network that supports P2P and SOCKS5 proxy on every server.

The SOCKS5 proxy is a favorite of torrenters as it can allow for faster speeds and greater anonymity. This feature is limited to paying subscribers only, though. You can access your SOCKS5 proxy credentials via your PrivadoVPN account page.

PrivadoVPN SOCKS5 Proxy

You can set up a SOCKS5 proxy via credentials on your PrivadoVPN account page.

PrivadoVPN has a working kill switch and a private logging policy – if you’re a torrenter you can rest assured that your file sharing is anonymous.

Secure Encryption but No Advanced Protection

Security & Features

6.96.9/10
How is this calculated?

Top-rated VPNs offer OpenVPN or WireGuard protocols, AES-256 encryption, and a functional kill switch. We also consider additional security features and the global spread of VPN servers.

PrivadoVPN does the basics of VPN security well. It uses industry-standard encryption AES-256 and offers all the recommended protocols including WireGuard (unless you’re using it on macOS). We recorded no IP leaks, either. Compared to leading VPNs that are offering double VPN, onion over VPN, diskless RAM servers, and more, PrivadoVPN is lagging behind.

Protocols
  1. IKEv2/IPSec
  2. OpenVPN (TCP/UDP)
  3. WireGuard
Encryption
  1. AES-256
Security
  1. VPN Kill Switch
Advanced Features
  1. SOCKS

Industry-standard security

PrivadoVPN offers a good package of VPN security. It uses the industry-standard AES-256 encryption, and we expect nothing less from a quality VPN.

You can choose between OpenVPN, WireGuard, and IKEv2 on the Windows, Android, and iOS apps but not macOS – which we would like to see in the future.

Using our leak test tool, we recorded no accidental exposure of any kind, including webRTC, IP, or DNS leaks. This means that PrivadoVPN is doing a good job encrypting and protecting your connection.

PrivadoVPN’s kill switch works

PrivadoVPN has a very good kill switch. Just turning it on without connecting to a VPN server will stop your entire internet connection. This is very useful should your VPN connection drop, ensuring no sensitive data is ever exposed.

PrivadoVPN Kill Switch

PrivadoVPN has an effective kill switch.

However, as long as the PrivadoVPN kill switch is on you cannot use your internet at all, whether you’re connected to a PrivadoVPN server or not.

Most other VPN kill switches kill your internet only if it detects a VPN connection drop. This makes PrivadoVPN extra safe, and encourages you to always be connected to a secure server. Windscribe also has this type of kill switch.

EXPERT TIP: PrivadoVPN’s kill switch toggle disappears when you select the OpenVPN protocol. To use the kill switch with the OpenVPN protocol running, go to Preferences > General and tap the Kill Switch option.

Lacking advanced security tools

PrivadoVPN is safe, but it doesn’t have many extra security features. This is good if you’re looking for a ‘click and protect’ service, but some of the most popular VPNs, like NordVPN and Surfshark, come with ad blockers, split tunneling, diskless RAM servers, and much more.

Works in China with Taiwan and Japan Servers

Bypassing Censorship

88.0/10
How is this calculated?

Our remote-access server in Shanghai, China routinely tests if a VPN can beat restrictions and access a free, open internet. Obfuscation technologies and nearby servers are also a contributing factor.

This rating does not directly contribute to the Overall Rating, but instead makes up a portion of the Security & Features rating.

Tests from our server in Shanghai show that PrivadoVPN currently works to bypass the Great Firewall of China. Without obfuscation technology though, it’s unclear how long this access will last.

We didn’t expect PrivadoVPN to work as an anti-censorship VPN. There are no extra tools or options within the app that are usually required to beat Chinese censorship, like traffic obfuscation or a stealth VPN protocol.

To our surprise, PrivadoVPN worked to get around the Great Firewall of China when connected to its Taiwan and Japan server. We tested this from our very own server in Shanghai, so we can confirm that PrivadoVPN currently works in China.

However, connections took a long time to establish. As you can see in the video below, while we managed to unblock YouTube on the Taiwan server, it took over four minutes to get around the Firewall (we have shortened the video). We experienced identical connection waits with the Tokyo server too.

It’s not clear how long PrivadoVPN’s success in China will last. It doesn’t have any special obfuscation technology like Astrill VPN – which has bypassed China’s website blocks 100% of the time for more than a year now.

As PrivadoVPN gets more popular, it’s more likely the Chinese authorities will identify and block it.

Not Enough Bang for Your Buck

Price & Free VPN

55.0/10
How is this calculated?

Price & Value for Money receives a rating, but is not factored into our Overall Rating. We believe the reader should decide what is or isn’t a reasonable price.

A good rating here isn’t just based on how cheap the VPN is, but for the value it offers overall.

PrivadoVPN is a serviceable VPN but you don’t get much for your money and there’s no free trial. At $4.99 per month on its best deal, it’s quite an expensive VPN. For this price we’d like to see investment in streaming-optimized servers and other privacy tools.

PrivadoVPN has a free version and a premium version available in two payment plans. Here they are:

  1. Monthly

    US$7.99/mo

    Billed $7.99 every 1 month
  2. 12 Month(s)

    US$4.99/mo

    Billed $59.88 every 12 months
    Save 38%

PrivadoVPN is available in two pricing plans: a one-month subscription and a one-year subscription.

You save 38% each month if you sign up to the one-year subscription, which amounts to $4.99 per month.

This is nowhere near some of the cheapest VPNs, which also include some of the absolute best VPNs.

For example, you can get PrivateVPN for just $2.00 per month.

Payment & Refund Options

You can only pay for PrivadoVPN through credit card or PayPal. These are the compatible payment methods:

  1. American Express
  2. Bitcoin
  3. Mastercard
  4. PayPal
  5. Visa

As you can see, you can pay for PrivadoVPN via a number of payment methods. It’s recently enabled payment via PayPal and cryptocurrency.

After you buy PrivadoVPN, you are entitled to a no-questions-asked 30-day money-back guarantee. This essentially means that you can get a month free if you decide to get your money back.

This is standard practice with most VPN providers, although CyberGhost has a 45-day refund guarantee.

Sadly, PrivadoVPN doesn’t offer true VPN free trial, particularly one with no payment details required upfront.

PrivadoVPN Free: One of the best free VPNs

PrivadoVPN’s free service is one of the best free VPNs you can get. Unlike so many other free VPNs, it’s safe and comes from a reputable company.

It’s also more generous than most complimentary services from established VPN brands. PrivadoVPN Free allows you to use 10GB of data per month, equal to the #1 free VPN, Windscribe.

PrivadoVPN Free offers a relatively large server network, too. It’s restricted when compared to the premium version, but 13 global servers in nine countries is substantial when compared to many other free services that only offer one or a few.

PrivadoVPN Free offers VPN servers in:

  • Argentina – Buenos Aires
  • Brazil – Sao Paulo
  • Canada – Montreal
  • France – Paris
  • Mexico – Mexico City
  • Netherlands – Amsterdam
  • Switzerland – Zurich
  • United Kingdom – London
  • United States – Chicago, Los Angeles, Miami, New York, Washington DC

This is a diverse server network for a free VPN, with multiple city options in the US.

PrivadoVPN Free is one of the only free VPNs that is able to access US Netflix from abroad. It is also one of the only free VPN services that work with Disney+ and HBO Max.

The free service is mostly identical to the paid version. It includes many of the additional features, including leak protection. The only thing missing is SOCKS5 proxy, which is reserved for paying customers, and simultaneous connections are limited to one device only.

PrivadoVPN Free is also really simple to get: you just need to provide an email address. No payment details or extensive sign up is required at all. However, you need to manually refresh your free data every month via your PrivadoVPN account page.

PrivadoVPN Free Summary: 10GB of free data, 12 servers, and 10 devices – all for free – makes PrivadoVPN Free one of the better options if you don’t want to pay for privacy.

Apps for All Popular Platforms, but No Browser Extensions

Platforms & Devices

How is this rated?

A quality VPN should maintain functional, fully-featured applications and extensions for as many platforms and devices as possible.

This does not directly contribute to the Overall Rating, but instead makes up a portion of the Ease of Use rating.

PrivadoVPN is compatible with a wide range of devices and platforms, including the most popular desktop and mobile operating systems like macOS, Windows, Android, and iOS. It also has custom apps for Fire TV Stick and Android TV. Router support is available, but browser extensions are not.

PrivadoVPN Apps

PrivadoVPN has applications available for macOS, Windows, Android, and iOS. There are apps for Fire TV Stick and Android TV, too.

  1. Windows
  2. Mac
  3. iOS
  4. Android
  5. Linux
  6. Router

There are manual setup guides on PrivadoVPN’s website if you want to set up the VPN on your home router or Linux.

PrivadoVPN has no browser extensions for Firefox or Chrome, but you can use the VPN on up to 10 devices at one time. This is a very generous amount. The industry standard is usually five devices.

PrivadoVPN’s Fire TV Stick doesn’t work

You can install PrivadoVPN onto your Fire TV Stick, but it’s pointless as the app is buggy and cannot establish a VPN connection.

As you can see in the video below, we tried two different US servers, but each time the PrivadoVPN firestick app automatically closes with no explanation given.

Simple Apps Identical Across All Devices

Ease of Use

7.77.7/10
How is this calculated?

This rating mainly consists of the intuitiveness of setup and everyday use.

Device or platform compatibility and customization options are also a factor.

PrivadoVPN offers a basic, streamlined service which makes it friendly for beginners but too simple for advanced VPN users. There is nothing complex about the app or its features, either on macOS, Windows, iOS, or Android.

The PrivadoVPN apps are identical across all devices in both appearance and features – a home screen with a large connect button, a server list in a separate window, and a burger menu for preferences. We would like to see more VPNs imitate this consistency across apps.

PrivadoVPN desktop apps

It’s not uncommon for a VPN’s macOS client to have completely different features to its Windows equivalent. The only difference with PrivadoVPN is that the macOS version doesn’t include support for WireGuard.

PrivadoVPN macOS Preferences Menu

WireGuard is not available on PrivadoVPN’s macOS client.

We like that PrivadoVPN’s kill switch is prominently placed on the main home screen. This highlights the importance of this feature and makes it extremely easy to toggle on and off. However, it should be switched on by default.

PrivadoVPN Kill Switch

PrivadoVPN’s kill switch is placed prominently on the home screen.

Despite its user-friendliness, we have some design concerns. Firstly, some of the windows in the interface are pixelated, even on macOS, which doesn’t inspire confidence. More annoying, you cannot connect to a server by double clicking. Instead, you have to select the server and then the connect button.

PrivadoVPN mobile apps

PridavoVPN’s mobile apps are identical to the desktop version. They have the same central connect button and server list, as well as the same features.

PrivadoVPN Android App

PrivadoVPN’s Android app.

PrivadoVPN’s Android app does not have a kill switch option. Instead, you have to activate it from your Android device settings via Connections > More Connection Settings > VPN > PrivadoVPN > Block connections without VPN. We’d like to see the kill switch embedded in the PrivadoVPN Android app.

Overall, both PrivadoVPN’s desktop and mobile apps couldn’t be simpler to use. But this comes at the cost of customization and advanced features.

How to Use PrivadoVPN

You can see how simple PrivadoVPN is to use in the video below. We show you how to change servers, switch on the kill switch, and use the preferences menu:

Random Live Chat Availability

Customer Support

66.0/10
How is this calculated?

ExpressVPN is one of the most customer-focused VPN services we’ve reviewed. It offers an excellent 24/7 live chat support service, helpful email support, and a large range of detailed guides and tutorials in its online knowledge base.

PrivadoVPN is lacking top-tier customer support. It claims live chat is available 24/7, but our testing proves that’s not actually the case. The website’s resources are limited, too. The best way to get help is to generate a ticket, but expect a couple of hours of waiting before you get a response.

Live chat SupportYes
EmailYes
Email support via an online formYes
Online ResourcesYes

PrivadoVPN has a live chat feature that it says is available 24/7. However, it’s actually available at completely random and unpredictable times. Sometimes we’ve sought help and been answered instantly, and other times it has taken hours.

PrivadoVPN Live Chat

We asked PrivadoVPN live chat support about its servers.

We asked PrivadoVPN why live chat isn’t always available and it told us:

“All of our support runs 24/7 unless our agents are currently unavailable.”

This was frustrating, so we used a ticket system on its website instead. We sent the ticket at 14:27 and got a response at 16:07 – nearly a two hour waiting window. The response was polite and helpful enough, though.

The website has some basic FAQs (mainly used to promote the service) and a few helpful setup guides, as well as some articles on general privacy, but it’s far removed from the sort of comprehensive online help you get from a VPN like Hide.me.

PrivadoVPN Is One of the Best Free VPNs

The Bottom Line

PrivadoVPN is a small and relatively new VPN service that gets the basics of VPN security right, but isn’t pushing any boundaries.

PrivadoVPN, both free and premium, is particularly good when it comes to streaming. It unblocks the major streaming sites like US Netflix, HBO Max, and Hulu. But there’s no smart DNS for easy bypassing of georestrictions from TV devices, and it’s Fire TV Stick app doesn’t work.

We recommend the premium subscription of PrivadoVPN for keen torrenters, who can get use out of PrivadoVPNs P2P servers, fast speeds, kill switch, and safe privacy policy. Beyond this, you can get more advanced VPNs for less cost.

Alternatives to PrivadoVPN

The new ExpressVPN logo

ExpressVPN

9.79.7/10

For a small amount more than PrivadoVPN costs, you can get the very best VPN on the market – ExpressVPN. This is the best in class: great for streaming, torrenting, and speed. Read ExpressVPN review

Windscribe

Windscribe

8.68.6/10

If you're looking for the best free VPN service, look no further than Windscribe. It has 10GB of free data, too, but it's better than PrivadoVPN at unblocking streaming services. Read Windscribe review

About the Author


  • Simon Migliano

    Simon Migliano

    Simon Migliano is a recognized world expert in VPNs. He's tested hundreds of VPN services and his research has featured on the BBC, The New York Times and more. Read full bio


User Feedback for PrivadoVPN

  • 0 user reviews
  • 0 questions answered

Questions & User Reviews are shown in the original language of submission.