Disclosure: Top10VPN is editorially independent. We may earn commissions if you buy a VPN through links on our site.

Hide.me Review

 100% 
(1 User reviews)
Hide.me screenshot
Simon Migliano Head of Research at Top10VPN

Simon is a recognized world expert in VPNs. He's tested hundreds of VPN services and his research has featured on the BBC, The New York Times, CNet and more. Read full bio

Ask Simon about Hide.me

Our Verdict

Hide.me is a safe, fast, and P2P-friendly free and paid VPN. It's almost zero-logs and has good customer support. The paid VPN also unblocks US Netflix and sometimes bypasses strict censorship. But, we experienced issues with the kill switch and unexpected app crashes.

Overall Rating: 8.2/10

Hide.me counts over 10 million users across its free proxy extensions and Windows, Mac, Android, iOS and Fire TV apps.

The VPN is available as both a free and paid service. For this Hide.me review, we put both versions through our expert testing process.

Our tests revealed both versions of Hide.me are reasonably fast, offer strong security and reliable customer support.

The paid subscription plan comes with a network of 1,900 in 46 locations. Some of these servers are optimized specifically for streaming services in the US.

However, the free version of the VPN offers just five VPN servers, and limits date usage to 10GB per month. This equates to about 10 hours of streaming.

While it’s not a leading VPN for P2P file-sharing or overseas streaming, Hide.me is still an above-average VPN. It provides all of the security features necessary to hide your IP address and protect your data on public networks.

Despite being highly configurable, Hide.me’s apps suffer a number of issues that affect user experience. We recorded problems such as slow connection times, application crashes, and an unreliable kill switch.

In short, in this Hide.me review you’ll learn that Hide.me’s free and paid VPN apps aren’t perfect, but they’re good and safe to use.

Hide.me Pros & Cons

Pros

  1. Almost zero logs
  2. Streams four Netflix libraries including US
  3. Strong security features
  4. Privacy-friendly jurisdiction
  5. Supports IPv6 traffic
Cons
  1. Random app crashes
  2. Unreliable in China
  3. Faulty kill switch
  4. Can be slow to establish connections

Hide.me Key Data

Data CapSpeedLogging PolicyData LeaksJurisdictionServersIP AddressesCountriesUS NetflixTorrentingWorks in ChinaSupportCheapest PriceOfficial Website
PremiumFree
None10GB
93Mbps72Mbps
Anonymous Server Usage DataAnonymous Server Usage Data
NoNo
Malaysia (Privacy Haven)Malaysia (Privacy Haven)
1,900Not disclosed
7,600+Not disclosed
464
YesYes
PermittedPermitted
UnreliableUnreliable
Live ChatLive Chat
$2.75/mo over 36 monthsFree
Hide.me

Hide.me Category Ratings

We test and review every VPN in eight key areas. Here’s how Hide.me performs in each category:

  • Privacy & Logging Policy: 9.8/10
  • Encryption & Security: 8.5/10
  • Speed & Reliability: 8.5/10
  • Streaming & Torrenting: 8.0/10
  • Bypassing Censorship: 8.8/10
  • Ease of Use: 7.5/10
  • Customer Support: 8.3/10
  • Price & Value for Money: 7.0/10

To better understand our methodology, read our comprehensive VPN testing process.

Very close to being no-logs

Logging Policy & Jurisdiction

Privacy & Logging Policy Rating: 9.8/10

Hide.me keeps a temporary record of connection data for troubleshooting purposes. This includes a randomly generated username and internally-assigned IP address.

Hide.me logs the following user data (taken from its privacy policy):

  • Email address (stored in encrypted form on secure servers)
  • Randomly generated username
  • Internally assigned (non-public) IP address
  • Amount of data used during VPN session

The connection data above is erased every few hours. Your location, originating IP address, and browsing behavior is not monitored or stored, which means your activity can’t be linked back to you.

In other words, Hide.me is as close to zero-logs as most VPN services get.

You only need an email address to sign up to Hide.me, which is typical for most privacy-friendly VPN companies. Some do ask for more personal details, so it’s good to see Hide.me keeping it to the minimum.

The company encrypts and stores your email address and may use it to contact you, but you can opt out of these communications if you prefer. You can also delete your email address permanently after you’ve subscribed.

Hide.me does state that, if requested, it will hand over any information it has on a user being investigated by authorities. However, the VPN service keeps so few connection logs, your online privacy shouldn’t be affected by this.

Hide.me is safe and private

Hide.me’s approach to privacy is a good one. In fact, it was one of the first VPN services to undergo an objective third-party assessment to verify its trustworthiness.

In 2015, Hide.me was audited by analyst Leon Juranic of security-testing firm DefenseCode LTD, which verified its safe logging practices.

Hide.me Audit Certificate Awarded by DefenseCode Ltd

Audit certificate awarded to Hide.me from DefenseCode LTD.

We don’t agree with the audit’s conclusion that Hide.me is “absolutely zero logs,” since the VPN service still keeps some temporary connection logs. However, we do agree that Hide.me is a private VPN that is completely safe to use.

Malaysian jurisdiction

The VPN is owned by eVenture Ltd, an IT security company incorporated in Labuan, Malaysia in 2011. Sebastian Schaub, its founder, launched Hide.me VPN in 2012.

Being incorporated in Malaysia is good for the company’s privacy credentials, because Malaysian law does not require VPN companies to keep logs of customer connections or network activity.

Hide.me is clear about this, stating: “We purposefully set up our headquarters in a jurisdiction that cannot, by law, request for us to record your data.”

Malaysia sits outside the surveillance agreements found in most European countries, North America, and China. The Five-Eyes/14-Eyes are “blind” in Malaysia, making it an ideal privacy haven for VPN users.

The company also releases regular transparency reports, which list any legal requests for:

  • Illegal activities (DDoS attacks, scams, spam, botnets)
  • Digital Millennium Copyright Act (DMCA) violations
  • Law enforcement and police requests

In 2019, Hide.me received 105 requests relating to illegal activities on its network, over 27,000 DMCA complaints, and two law enforcement requests. The company’s official statement on these requests is as follows:

“We do reply and act on every request, but as we cannot store any information, we do not have any data to present when requested.”

Overall, we view Hide.me as a very private VPN. It’s almost no-logs and has worked hard to prove its status as a VPN you can trust. Also, there has never been a security breach in the company’s history.

Fast speeds both short and long-distance

VPN Speed Analysis

Speed & Reliability Rating: 8.5/10

Hide.me delivers fast short-distance speeds, but long-distance speeds are a different story, though.

While Hide.me is not among the fastest VPNs on the market, at least the free version doesn’t enforce speed caps within the 10GB monthly data limit.

This means free users will experience similar speeds to paying customers, which makes Hide.me one of fastest free VPNs we’ve tested. However, once you pass the 10GB monthly data cap, speeds are limited to 3Mbps.

Local Speed Test Results

We tested Hide.me’s short-distance speeds by connecting to a server close to our physical location in London, UK.

The VPN reduced our connection speeds by just 7%, which is faster than top services like ExpressVPN and Surfshark.

Here are our full speed test results:

Download speed without Hide.me: 100 Mbps

Download speed with Hide.me: 93 Mbps

Our download speed loss when Hide.me is running 7%

Any speed loss less than 10% is great for a VPN. It’s not the 2% speed loss we recorded for Private Internet Access (read our PIA VPN review), but it’s excellent nonetheless.

Local speed test results

Before using Hide.me:

  1. Download100Mbps
  2. Upload99Mbps
  3. Ping1ms

When connected to Hide.me:

  1. Download93Mbps
  2. Upload54Mbps
  3. Ping23ms

Long distance speed test results

We also tested Hide.me’s speeds on long-distance connections. We connected to servers in Germany, US, Australia, and Singapore.

We found that Hide.me performed around average on long-distance connections:

  • USA: 58Mpbs (download) & 46Mbps (upload) – 42% speed loss
  • Germany: 91Mbps (download) & 91Mbps (upload) – 10% speed loss
  • Australia: 30 Mbps (download) & 19Mbps (upload) – 70% speed loss
  • Singapore: 41Mbps (download) & 43Mbps (upload) – 59% speed loss

A 42% speed loss connecting from the UK to the US is a very good result compared to many other VPNs. In our CyberGhost speed tests, for example, we recorded a 74% speed loss.

However, 42% is nowhere near as fast as the fastest VPNs we’ve reviewed. When reviewing NordVPN, we measured a speed loss of just 21% from the UK to the US.

Hide.me’s speeds compared to top VPNs

We also record speeds using our in-house automated VPN speed test tool.

The graph below compares Hide.me to four other VPNs running on our New York server. Tests run automatically four times a day, and connection speeds are capped at 100Mbps to recreate a typical home internet connection.

The chart below displays the average speed loss percentage of each VPN compared. The lower the speed loss percentage, the better.

VPN Speed Performance Comparison Chart

Compare Hide.me’s speeds using our speed test tool
As you can see above, during an eight week period, Hide.me’s speed was rather consistent, and therefore dependable. This is what we expect from high-performing VPNs.

While Hide.me isn’t as fast ExpressVPN, NordVPN or PIA VPN, its New York speeds were still very encouraging.

Slightly high latency

While Hide.me’s download speeds are very good, the same can’t be said of ping times. Latency was in fact rather high in our tests, even connecting to nearby VPN servers.

The VPN’s UK average ping time came in at 23ms, which is poor compared to top-rated services. Our ExpressVPN review and Surfshark analysis show how a top VPN should have a ping time of 10ms or less.

Ping time or latency refers to the delay in your internet connection when attempting to connect to another server. Gamers using a VPN need one with low latency to avoid lag. We recommend these VPNs for lag-less gaming.

Hide.me is secure but its kill switch is unreliable

Security Test Results

Protocols
  1. IKEv2/IPSec
  2. OpenVPN (TCP/UDP)
  3. SoftEther
  4. SSTP
  5. WireGuard
Encryption
  1. AES-256
Security
  1. DNS Leak Blocking
  2. First-party DNS
  3. IPV6 Leak Blocking
  4. Supports TCP Port 443
  5. VPN Kill Switch
Advanced features
  1. SOCKS
  2. Split Tunneling

Encryption & Security Rating: 8.5/10

Hide.me uses industry-standard AES 256-bit encryption to hide your IP address and keep your connection secure on WiFi networks.

The VPN service uses a wide range of connection protocols including WireGuard, OpenVPN (UDP/TCP), IKEv2, SoftEther, and SSTP.

Protocols in Hide.me’s MacOS app settings

Both the desktop and mobile apps allow users to choose between all of these protocols. It’s good to see consistency across Hide.me’s apps.

Other security features include built-in leak protection, custom DNS functionality, IPv6 support and Stealth Guard. There’s also a kill switch to protect your IP address in the event of an unexpected connection drop.

Our VPN leak tests prove that Hide.me doesn’t leak any DNS, IPv4/IPv6 and WebRTC address credentials.

Zero trackers in Hide.me’s Android app

We ran Hide.me’s Android app through the εxodus tool, which generates a report on the trackers and permissions present in the application.

We can confirm that Hide.me’s Android app contains zero trackers and 11 permissions, including two that are considered ‘dangerous’ or ‘special’ according to to Google’s protection levels.

While the VPN app isn’t as permission-free as Astrill VPN’s, which has no permissions at all, there’s nothing that threatening about the permissions we detected.

Hide.me contains 11 permissions

Hide.me is virus-free

Hide.me is completely free of viruses. We scanned the Hide.me installation software through VirusTotal.com, and no viruses or malware were detected.

Users of Hide.me Free also benefit from exactly the same level of security as its paid subscribers, making it one of the most secure free VPNs available.

Wide range of security features

The VPN comes with a Stealth Guard feature, which lets you choose applications or services that won’t operate unless you’re connected to a VPN server.

Stealth Guard helps make sure you don’t accidentally use an app or service that would compromise your privacy without the security of a VPN.

You can also set up custom DNS functionality and choose to use a random port for every connection, which is sometimes called Dynamic Port or Ephemeral Port. This makes it harder for ISPs to track and block your VPN use.

The VPN service even comes with a password generator and a DNS leak test tool.

Unreliable kill switch

Hide.me’s security is strong, but it’s not without weaknesses.

While testing the VPN we received multiple warnings that the kill switch could not be enabled, suggesting that we contact the support team.

A fully-functional VPN kill switch is essential for any premium VPN service. It’s disappointing that Hide.me is still experiencing bugs with such an important feature.

A good choice for streaming and torrenting

Streaming & Torrenting

Streaming & Torrenting Rating: 8.0/10

We tested both versions of Hide.me to understand how well it works with streaming services like Netflix, BBC iPlayer, and Disney+.

Hide.me has streaming-optimized servers for:

  • Netflix France
  • DAZN Germany
  • Netflix Germany
  • DAZN Italy
  • Disney+ Italy
  • Netflix Italy
  • RAI Italy
  • BBC iPlayer
  • Disney+ UK
  • Netflix UK
  • Netflix US
  • Disney+ US
  • Hulu
  • Amazon Prime Video
  • ESPN
  • HBO Now

We tested Hide.me’s Netflix-optimized servers to see how many regions it unblocks. This is what we recorded:

Hide.me’s Netflix servers streamed four of the five libraries: US, UK, and German and Italian Netflix. But, it didn’t work with Netflix France.

Unblocking four Netflix regions is a good feat, but the highest-rated Netflix VPNs can stream up to 42 libraries.

Hide.me streams BBC iPlayer and Disney+

Hide.me works very well and reliably with BBC iPlayer through its optimized server.

The VPN has three UK streaming servers for BBC iPlayer, Disney+, and UK Netflix and all work effectively.

Hide.me Free sometimes streams US Netflix

The free version of Hide.me also works with US Netflix and BBC iPlayer, but very intermittently. Combined with the 10GB data cap, this means we don’t recommend Hide.me Free if you’re looking to stream video content regularly.

Hide.me supports P2P and Torrenting

Hide.me’s consistent speeds, strong security, and safe privacy policy make it a good choice for torrenting.

However, though the VPN allows P2P activity on all its servers, we did encounter issues with the VPN kill switch that need fixing.

Free VPN allows P2P traffic

The free version of Hide.me also allows P2P activity on three of the five available servers.

There are no speed restrictions on torrenting traffic, and the 10GB data limit is more generous than the majority of competing safe free VPNs.

The service recommends using its Stealth Guard feature for safe torrenting. This option provides additional security by limiting your VPN connection to specific apps and services. This way, you can avoid connecting to your torrenting client without VPN protection.

SOCKS proxy available

Hide.me also offers a specialized SOCKS (shadowsocks) proxy that can be used for faster P2P connections.

The shadowsocks proxy is unencrypted, but you can use it with the VPN for added protection.

EXPERT TIP

To torrent safely with Hide.me:

  1. Activate the “Stealth Guard” feature
  2. Ensure the VPN Kill Switch is enabled
  3. Bind your torrenting client to the VPN via the SOCKS proxy
  4. Connect to a P2P-friendly Hide.me server
  5. Verify there are no leaks using our torrent IP leak test tool

Overall, Hide.me is a secure and P2P-friendly VPN. However, its limited server network and unreliable kill switch means there are better torrent VPNs available.

1,900 VPN servers in 75 locations

Server Locations

Globe with a blue flag
46Countries
Image of a city landscape
75Cities
Image of a pink marker
7,600+IP Addresses

Hide.me has less server locations than the top-rated VPN services.

The paid subscription plan offers 1,900 servers in 75 locations, and between four and eight IP addresses per server.

While Hide.me’s server network isn’t small, it doesn’t compare to the server coverage of rival VPNs like HideMyAss (read our HMA VPN review).

Hide.me server locations

Server choice on the paid subscription plan is particularly limited for non-Western countries.

Asia is represented by only four cities: Hong Kong, Seoul, Singapore, and Tokyo.

Similarly, Africa only features servers in Morocco. There’s one server location in India, one in UAE, and one in Brazil.

The number of server locations in western countries is much higher. But it still can’t compete with the best VPN services.

There are two city-specific servers in the UK (Manchester, London), two in Spain (Madrid, Barcelona), and two in Australia (Sydney, Melbourne – both on the eastern coast).

The US comes out best with nine city-specific server locations:

  • Las Vegas
  • Los Angeles
  • Miami
  • New York City
  • Phoenix
  • Salt Lake City
  • San Francisco
  • Secaucus
  • Washington DC

Highly secure servers

Though relatively few in number, Hide.me’s servers are very secure. The company claims the entire network is “hand-picked, security-hardened and self-maintained.”

Hide.me does not use any virtual servers – instead, it rents an all-physical server network from several third-party hosts.

A Hide.me representative told us:

“We do not own physical hardware, we choose all third party hosting providers very carefully, so we can assure that there are certain security standards in place (ISO 27001) and no unauthorized person could access our servers.”

Choosing to rent VPN servers from third parties doesn’t pose inherent security risks as long as the third party and the hardware are vetted properly.

Automatic server location

With Hide.me VPN you have the option to automatically connect to the best server location for optimal speeds.

Five server locations available on Hide.me Free

Hide.me free is limited to five server locations including Canada, Netherlands, Singapore, USA East, and USA West.

Hide.me VPN can work in China

Beating Censorship

Bypassing Censorship Rating: 8.8/10

Hide.me VPN includes a number of features aimed at use in highly-censored countries like China.

In our most recent China VPN tests, Hide.me worked 14% of the time across 12 months of testing.

Effective obfuscation tool

Hide.me’s partial success is most likely down to its proprietary TLS-Crypt obfuscation tool. Described as a “security hardened OpenVPN,” this feature disguises VPN traffic and makes it much harder for web censors to identify and block it.

According to Hide.me, TLS-Crypt:

“Adds a round of encryption and decryption operations on each OpenVPN packet by using a pre-configured static key. This means that each OpenVPN packet gets encrypted twice, once with the static key and once with a TLS symmetric key.”

TLS-Crypt is downloadable from the Hide.me members area once you’ve purchased a subscription.

Hide.me also manages its own encrypted DNS servers that protect your website requests and prevent malicious third parties from monitoring your activity. This is an essential feature of any VPN service looking to bypass censorship.

Nearby server locations include Hong Kong, South Korea, India, and Japan. Servers close to China will typically deliver higher VPN speeds.

SoftEther support

Hide.me also supports UDP and TCP SoftEther connections.

SoftEther is a multi-protocol solution designed to penetrate firewalls by using HTTPS to mask your VPN traffic. This is another tool that can help circumvent heavy censorship in countries like China.

The Hide.me website provides instructions on how to set up the VPN with SoftEther, so you shouldn’t have any trouble using it, even if you’re a beginner.

The Chinese government has blocked Hide.me’s website and listings on the iOS App Store and Google Play Store. As such, make sure you download the VPN software before you travel.

One of the most widely compatible VPNs

Platforms & Devices

Apps

  1. Windows Logo
    Windows
  2. Mac Logo
    Mac
  3. iOS Logo
    iOS
  4. Android Logo
    Android
  5. Linux Logo
    Linux
  6. Router Logo
    Router

Hide.me is available on Mac, Windows, iOS, Android, and Amazon’s Fire TV Stick. It has a generous simultaneous device limit of 10 connections, which is higher than most VPN services.

You can also use Hide.me on Linux, which is available as an open-source project on Github, and uses the WireGuard protocol.

Wide device and router support

You can also install the VPN on a number of other devices, with detailed installation setup guides available on the Hide.me website.

The VPN service is compatible with the additional platforms below:

  • Blackberry
  • Fedora 24+
  • LibreELEC “Kodi”
  • OpenELEC “Kodi”
  • pfSense
  • QNAP
  • QNAP Legacy
  • Synology DSM

It’s rare for a VPN service to function on this many additional platforms, making Hide.me one of the most widely available VPNs we’ve come across.

The VPN is also compatible with many routers too, including the below models:

  • Asus-WRT
  • Asus-WRT Merlin
  • DD-WRT
  • DD-WRT Legacy
  • Mikrotik RouterOS
  • OpenWRT
  • OpenWRT Legacy
  • Tomato

Installing Hide.me on your router will protect all of the devices on your home network with one VPN connection.

Diagram explaining how a VPN router works.

A VPN router encrypts the traffic of every device on your WiFi network.

Games Consoles & Streaming Devices

  1. AppleTV Logo
    AppleTV
  2. Amazon Fire TV Logo
    Amazon Fire TV
  3. Android TV Logo
    Android TV
  4. Chromecast Logo
    Chromecast
  5. Nintendo Logo
    Nintendo
  6. PlayStation Logo
    PlayStation
  7. Roku Logo
    Roku
  8. Smart TV Logo
    Smart TV
  9. Xbox Logo
    Xbox

In terms of TV streaming devices, Hide.me has a native app for the popular Amazon Fire TV Stick.

Sadly, there is no Smart DNS tool. To use Hide.me with a games console, Apple TV or Roku, you’ll need to set the VPN up on your router.

Or, connect your streaming/gaming device to your computer or smartphone’s hotspot while the VPN is running.

Browser Extensions

  1. Chrome Logo
    Chrome
  2. Firefox Logo
    Firefox

Hide.me provides proxy browser extensions for Chrome and Firefox (as well as a free web proxy called Hide.me Proxy).

You can add these proxy extensions to your browser with a simple click from inside the VPN application, or from the Hide.me website. They require no registration of any kind.

The free browser extensions allow you to connect to servers in Canada, Germany, and Netherlands. This means the extensions can’t stream US Netflix or BBC iPlayer.

In Hide.me proxy’s settings menu, you have options to Enable SOCKS, Disable WebRTC, and change languages. There is no data cap either – you can use the proxy for as long as you want.

Settings menu on the Hide.me proxy Chrome browser extension

These extensions are an incredibly simple and cheap way of using a proxy to spoof your location. They will change your IP address quickly and protect you from WebRTC leaks.

That said, remember that a proxy will not encrypt your traffic like a VPN does. We recommend you download the full free VPN instead.

Advanced but unreliable VPN applications

Ease of Use

How to Install & Set Up Hide.me

Ease of Use Rating: 7.5/10

Hide.me’s VPN applications are simple to use and come with a similarly designed interface to most premium VPNs.

At the same time, the clients are full of advanced features. But, the apps were frustratingly unreliable at times – Hide.me crashed or lost connection several times during our testing.

MacOS Client

Hide.me’s Mac app starting screen opens with a large ‘Enable VPN’ button that will connect you to the nearest server.

Hide.me MacOS client main screen

You can see a full list of country and city-level server locations on a separate menu along with basic information about your VPN IP address and location.

However, the quick connect feature via the menu bar doesn’t list what streaming services the servers are optimized for.

For example, there are six streaming servers for the US, all marked indistinguishably as ‘United States’. To find out which works with US content platforms, you must expand the window and head to the main Hide.me screen, making the quick connect feature pointless.

Hide.me streaming servers listed on the MacOS app

Moreover, there is no usage or server load data displayed per server. It’s therefore difficult to judge which server will deliver the best speed performance.

On the plus side, there’s the ability to customize your DNS servers, MTU settings, and even port choices for OpenVPN.

Hide.me’s MacOS app includes support for Apple Silicon and Big Sur and additional advanced features include split tunneling, IPv6 support, Stealth Guard, and the ability to run custom scripts when your connection drops.

Windows Client

Hide.me’s Windows client is identical to its Mac client in most ways. It comes nicely packaged with custom DNS, split tunneling, Stealth Guard, a kill switch and a diverse selection of security protocols.

Hide.me’s Windows app settings

The Windows version has a toggle option to turn on Fallback Protocol, which the Mac app does not. If your selected protocol stops working for whatever reason, Hide.me will automatically re-establish the connection.

Android & iOS Applications

Hide.me’s mobile apps are very good, equipped with an extensive settings menu that retains the functions of the desktop apps.

The options, buttons and user interface are all well presented and easy to navigate.

There are two small differences between Hide.me’s Android and its iOS client. The iOS app comes with a toggle option to select or deselect ‘No random port on every connection,’ while the Android app does not.

Hide.me’s iOS Settings

On the flip side the Android client has a neat split tunneling option in its settings menu to select apps that you do or don’t want to connect through the VPN.

Split tunneling is useful as some services may not work when using a VPN, such as online banking. Hide.me’s iOS client lacks this feature.

Unreliable functioning

Though easy to use, the Hide.me applications were often unreliable during our tests.

While testing the MacOS VPN client, the app shut down or the connection dropped unexpectedly. It would also often become unresponsive when trying to use a feature or switch servers.

These kind of issues can make for a frustrating user experience if they happen on regular basis.

Hide.me crashed several times during our testing

Random connection drops aren’t completely uncommon, which is why a VPN kill switch is an important feature. However, Hide.me’s kill switch was only effective intermittently: sometimes it worked, sometimes it didn’t.

Hide.me warns you about its kill switch not working, but it means getting in touch with support or rebooting the VPN.

Connections would also take a long time to establish, and sometimes wouldn’t establish at all. This was one of Hide.me’s biggest drawbacks in our experience.

Useful live chat support

Customer Support

Live chat SupportYes
EmailYes
Email support via an online formYes
Tutorial VideosYes
Online ResourcesYes

Customer Support Rating: 8.3/10

Hide.me has an extensive customer support system including helpful setup videos, a comprehensive online knowledgebase, and 24/7 live chat support. Customer support is exactly the same for Hide.me Free users, too.

You can even request a support ticket from within the app, which is extremely convenient and perfect for VPN beginners.

We tested out the live chat feature on the Hide.me website’s main page. Our inquiry was automatically sent as an email rather than commencing a live chat, so it seems the service is not always 24/7.

That said, we found Hide.me’s live chat agents fast and somewhat informed in their responses.

For more complex queries, we were asked to send a support email. But if you have a simple question, then the live chat team is helpful. The ticketing system is privacy-focused, letting you opt out of sending logs and system diagnostics.

There’s also an in-app messaging system that keeps you up to date on the latest Hide.me developments, including the addition of new servers and extra features.

Competitive pricing plans

Pricing Plans

Price & Value for Money Rating: 7.0/10

Hide.me’s pricing ranges from an expensive $12.95 month-to-month plan to a $2.75 per month over three years. Consider that the three year plan is billed as $99.00 upfront, though.

  1. Monthly

    US$12.95/mo

    Billed $12.95 every month
  2. 12 months

    US$7.49/mo

    Billed $89.95 every 12 months
    Save 42%
  3. 3 years

    US$2.75/mo

    Billed $99.00 every three years
    Save 79%

All plans have 30-day money-back guarantee

Payment & Refund Options

Credit CardYes
PayPalYes
BitcoinYes

You can pay for your Hide.me subscription via a number of usual payment methods, including:

  • American Express
  • VISA
  • MasterCard
  • PayPal
  • SEPA
  • SOFORT

This gives users plenty of options to choose from. If that’s not enough, there are also 80 anonymous payment options available. Some of these include:

  • Bitcoin (BTC)
  • Bitcoin Cash (BCH)
  • Dash (DASH)
  • Dogecoin (DOGE)
  • Ethereum (ETH)
  • Ethereum Classic (ETC)
  • Litecoin (LTC)
  • Monero (XMR)
  • NEO (NEO)
  • Peercoin (PPC)
  • PIVX (PIVX)
  • Verge (XVG)
  • Zcash (ZEC)
  • ZenCash (ZEN)

30-day Money-back Guarantee

Hide.me offers a generous 30-day money-back guarantee on its service.

This policy gives you access to the Hide.me premium service for one month with a guarantee that you’ll get a full refund if you’re not satisfied.

No free trial but a good free (limited) plan

Hide.me doesn’t offer a free trial in the true sense of the term. But, it does offers a completely free VPN that requires no registration, no payment details, and serves no ads.

Free users get full customer support, access to all the connection protocols (except for WireGuard), and the same level of privacy and security as paid users.

However, the free VPN is limited to five server locations: Canada, Netherlands, Singapore, USA (East Coast) and USA (West Coast).

You can only use the free app on one device at a time, unlike the 10 simultaneous devices that come with the premium subscription.

The free version is also limited to 10GB of data usage per month, which equates to about 10 hours of streaming time.

But, the free VPN does not support P2P traffic and lacks the advanced configurations available on the paid plan. It’s also unlikely to stream US Netflix, Disney+, or other popular services.

There are no speed restrictions while within this data limit, making Hide.me Free one of the fastest free VPNs available.

Once the 10GB data cap has been exceeded, you can continue using the service but Hide.me will restrict you to one server only.

Hide.me is a safe and trusted VPN

The Bottom Line

Hide.me’s free and paid VPN apps are above-average, and will effectively hide your IP address, encrypt your web browsing traffic, and protect your data on public WiFi.

Both versions of the VPN deliver fast speeds and a good range of advanced configuration options. The logging policy is privacy-friendly and its customer support system is excellent.

Moreover, Hide.me’s optimized US servers are perfect for streaming American Netflix. The fact Hide.me can stream BBC iPlayer is also impressive.

We recommend the free version of Hide.me for those looking to test a secure free VPN. The paid subscription plans are ideal for users looking to prioritize their online privacy.

While Hide.me is a good streaming and torrenting VPN, there are better VPNs on the market that better fulfill those purposes.

 

Additional research by David Hughes

Alternatives to Hide.me

The new ExpressVPN logo

ExpressVPN

ExpressVPN is more reliable than Hide.me, and it's our top-rated VPN. It’s more expensive than Hide.me, but the upside makes it worth the higher price. Read ExpressVPN review

Surfshark VPN logo

Surfshark

Surfshark is a budget alternative to Hide.me. It’s cheaper than Hide.me and it’s also a better service all-round. It’s faster, and it’s far better for streaming and torrenting. Read Surfshark review

About the Author


  • Simon Migliano Head of Research at Top10VPN

    Simon Migliano

    Simon is a recognized world expert in VPNs. He's tested hundreds of VPN services and his research has featured on the BBC, The New York Times, CNet and more. Read full bio


User Feedback for Hide.me