Disclosure: Top10VPN is editorially independent. We may earn commissions if you buy a VPN through links on our site.

VPNBook Review

 0% 
No user reviews
VPNBook screenshot
Simon Migliano Head of Research at Top10VPN

Simon is a recognized world expert in VPNs. He's tested hundreds of VPN services and his research has featured on the BBC, The New York Times, CNet and more. Read full bio

Ask Simon about VPNBook

Our Verdict

2.52.5/10
How is this calculated?

Our overall rating is reached by combining several subcategories. The subcategories are weighted as follows:

  • Logging & Jurisdiction: 30%
  • Speed & Reliability: 25%
  • Security & Features: 20%
  • Streaming: 10%
  • Torrenting: 5%
  • Ease of Use: 5%
  • Support: 5%

See our full methodology in how we review VPNs.

VPNBook is a free VPN service that's available on most platforms. Although it encrypts traffic using AES-256, the VPN logs IP addresses and timestamps making it pointless for privacy and security. VPNBook is one of the worst VPNs and you should avoid it under all circumstances.

Ranked #57 out of 68

VPNBook Category Ratings

  • 0.80.8/10
  • 00.0/10
  • 3.53.5/10
  • 0.80.8/10
  • 3.53.5/10
  • 2.52.5/10
  • 3.53.5/10
  • 33.0/10
  • 2.52.5/10

VPNBook Pros & Cons

Pros

  1. Uses OpenVPN & AES-256 encryption
  2. Compatible with most platforms & devices

Cons

  1. Logs IP addresses & connection timestamps
  2. Requires manual configuration
  3. Very slow speeds
  4. DNS leaks & no kill switch
  5. Doesn’t work with Netflix or iPlayer
  6. Only five server locations

VPNBook is a “100% free” VPN service claims to use the latest technologies and most advanced cryptographic techniques to keep you safe online.

We wanted to test out VPNBook to find out if there is any truth in these statements, so we set out to answer questions like:

  • Is VPNBook secure?
  • How do you use it?
  • Is VPNBook good for torrenting?
  • How fast is it?
  • Does VPNBook work with Netflix?

We suggest using Hide.me VPN instead of VPNBook

VPNBook Key Data

Data CapUnlimited
Speed15Mbps
Logging PolicyIntrusive Logging
Data LeaksYes
JurisdictionSwitzerland (Privacy Haven)
ServersNot disclosed
IP AddressesNot disclosed
Countries5
US NetflixNo
TorrentingRestricted
Works in ChinaNo
SupportEmail & Online Resources
Official WebsiteVPNBook.com

Logs your personal IP address

Logging & Jurisdiction

3.53.5/10
How is this calculated?

We dissect the logging and privacy policies of every VPN. A VPN should never log:

  • Your real IP address
  • Connection timestamps
  • DNS requests

A base of operations outside of 14-Eyes or EU jurisdiction is preferable.

VPNBook has a horrible logging policy. It stores your real IP address and keeps track of when you connect to a VPN server. It's incredibly rare for a VPN to log your IP address, even the very bad ones - but that's just what VPNBook does. This alone is reason enough to not use VPNBook.

Unfortunately, there isn’t much information about VPNBook online. There are no records of who founded it or when. The official VPNBook Twitter account was created in August 2012, which roughly lines up with the first appearance of vpnbook.com on the Wayback Machine.

All that VPNBook really discloses is that it’s based in Switzerland.

VPNBook is transparent about its business model, at least. According to its website, it makes money through advertisements (on the site) and donations.

There is a premium service, too, that provides users with a dedicated VPN server and bandwidth. It costs $7.95 a month and comes with a 30-day money-back guarantee.

Switzerland is a great place for a VPN company to be based – it’s not part of the Five-Eyes intelligence-sharing alliance, nor is it a member of the EU, another organization known for data sharing among its members.

However, while it’s based in a privacy-friendly jurisdiction there’s no guarantee that VPNBook itself is private.

Logging Policy

Like the vast majority of VPN services, VPNBook doesn’t log user internet traffic, but its privacy policy is quite misleading (and short).

The policy claims that VPNBook doesn’t log “any personal information” or “any user’s internet data” but proceeds to say that it stores users’ true IP addresses and VPN connection timestamps.

IP addresses can be used to identify you and match you to your online activities – it’s one of the absolute worst things a VPN can log.

VPNBook says it retains IP addresses to prevent users from abusing the service. The privacy policy strongly requests that users don’t use the VPN for “doing evil.” P2P doesn’t count (we’re not entirely sure what does), but if you go against this rule your IP address will be blocked.

This data is automatically deleted every week. Regardless, this is a terrible logging policy.

Painfully slow speeds

Speed & Reliability

0.80.8/10
How is this calculated?

Speed ratings are calculated using upload speeds, download speeds, and ping (latency).

We test average speeds regularly using a dedicated 100Mbps connection in London, UK. Local download speed is considered the most important factor.

VPNBook is so slow that we had trouble even running speed tests with it connected. Web pages took up to a minute to fully load, and when we eventually could run the tests the results were unsurprising.

The fastest speeds we experienced were 15Mbps down and 12Mbps up on the France server (we test from the UK), with a ping time of 62ms.

The slowest speeds?

We couldn’t tell you because the page refused to load at all when we connected to a US server.

Local Speed Test results before using VPNBook:

  • Download Speed: 95.65Mbps
  • Upload Speed: 98.03Mbps
  • Ping: 7ms

Local Speed Test results with VPNBook:

  • Download Speed: 15.33Mbps
  • Upload Speed: 11.67Mbps
  • Ping: 62ms

Download speed loss when VPNBook is running: 84%

Speeds dropped to under 5Mbps on both Germany and Canada servers.

VPNBook is barely fast enough for browsing, let alone streaming, gaming, and torrenting.

If you’re still looking for a free VPN we suggest Hide.me, which provides fairly quick speeds across the board.

If you’re prepared to pay, take a look at the fastest VPNs available according to our in-house testing.

Not good for streaming or torrenting

Streaming

0.80.8/10
How is this calculated?

Streaming is rated by the number of different services unlocked, how many regional libraries are viewable, and how consistently the VPN can access them.

Netflix, BBC iPlayer, HBO Max, DAZN, and Amazon Prime Video are all tested on a weekly basis.

Despite claiming to work with Netflix on its website, VPNBook didn’t unlock any streaming services during our tests. We tried to watch Netflix on the two US servers available and both times we received a proxy error message.

There’s no way to watch BBC iPlayer either due to the lack of UK servers.

As for other video platforms?

There’s no point in trying. VPNBook is so slow that we could barely load the Netflix home page. Prepare for a lot of buffering and frustration if you attempt to watch a whole video.

VPNBook is a bad choice for torrenting

Torrenting

00.0/10
How is this calculated?

We calculate the average download bitrate of every VPN using a bespoke torrenting setup.

Testing also factors in the percentage of servers which permit P2P, plus useful features like port forwarding.

VPNBook actually allows P2P traffic on a couple of its servers, which is unusual for a free VPN. However, speeds are so bad and the logging policy is so invasive that torrenting with it is a bad idea all-round.

While P2P traffic is permitted on two servers – Germany and Poland – we recommend you don’t use VPNBook for torrenting.

There are a few reasons why.

  1. VPNBook’s speeds are extremely slow.
  2. VPNBook logs personal information (your IP address), which could match you to your P2P activities.
  3. There’s no VPN kill switch and the VPN leaks DNS requests, both of which put your privacy at risk.

If you’re using the VPNBook android app rather than the OpenVPN app then you can only torrent on the Germany server.

We’ve put together two lists to help you find the best VPN for torrenting: one for free VPNs and one for paid VPNs.

DNS leaks & sub-par security

Security & Features

3.53.5/10
How is this calculated?

Top-rated VPNs offer OpenVPN or WireGuard protocols, AES-256 encryption, and a functional kill switch. We also consider additional security features and the global spread of VPN servers.

VPNBook doesn’t come with any security extras, but at the very least it does provide VPN connections through OpenVPN with strong AES encryption. However we experienced DNS leaks in our testing, leaving the sites you visit exposed.

Protocols
  1. OpenVPN (TCP/UDP)
  2. PPTP
Encryption
  1. AES-256
Security
  1. Supports TCP Port 443
Advanced features
  1. None

VPNBook supports OpenVPN. It’s our preferred VPN protocol – it’s open-source, secure, and pretty fast, too. Coupled with AES-128 or AES-256 ciphers it’s really safe.

But that’s where the positives end for VPNBook.

Alongside OpenVPN, VPNBook provides PPTP configuration files. While PPTP is easier to install on popular devices it’s not safe to use.

In fact, PPTP can be hacked in minutes.

You shouldn’t use it at all.

Even if you stick with OpenVPN VPNBook doesn’t come with a VPN kill switch, which may put your personal details at risk.

Should the VPN disconnect suddenly, your IP address would be exposed to your ISP and any other snooping third parties.

What’s worse, even when the VPN was properly connected we experienced DNS leaks:

Screenshot of VPNBook leak test results

We test from the UK and you can see our DNS server in the leak test results, which indicates a DNS leak.

This means that our ISP can still see all of the websites we visited while using the VPN.

VPNBook isn’t a very safe VPN to use and unlike other VPNs that lack security extras, VPNBook doesn’t have the advantage of being super easy to use and beginner-friendly to make up for it.

Doesn’t work in China

Bypassing Censorship

2.52.5/10
How is this calculated?

Our remote-access server in Shanghai, China routinely tests if a VPN can beat restrictions and access a free, open internet. Obfuscation technologies and nearby servers are also a contributing factor.

This rating does not directly contribute to the Overall Rating, but instead makes up a portion of the Security & Features rating.

VPNBook will not work in China. There is a slim chance of success at connecting to the internet in slightly less strictly-censored countries using its PPTP protocol setup, but that's far less secure.

If you’re planning a visit to China don’t use VPNBook.

Firstly, there are no nearby VPN servers, so you’d have to connect over long distances which would bring speeds to a crawl (if not a complete halt).

Secondly, and most importantly, VPNBook doesn’t come with any obfuscation tools to bypass the Great Firewall.

Chinese censors can detect OpenVPN traffic and block it, which would leave you without VPN protection and all the websites you want to access.

While VPNBook does come with PPTP setup too – which is more effective at bypassing censorship – it’s not worth the risk.

PPTP is very insecure, which we’ll cover in more detail in the Encryption section.

Just five server locations to choose from

Server Locations

3.53.5/10
How is this calculated?

The global spread and coverage of the VPN server network is the most important factor here.

We also consider the number of city-level servers, plus how many IP addresses are maintained.

This rating does not directly contribute to the Overall Rating, but instead makes up a portion of the Security & Features rating.

Like many other free VPN services, VPNBook’s server network is very limited.There are five countries to choose from, but only when using OpenVPN configuration files. If you download the native Android app you can only choose between the US or Germany.

Globe with a blue flag
5Countries
Image of a city landscape
5Cities
Image of a pink marker
Undisclosed number ofIP Addresses

The five VPNBook server locations to choose from:

  • Canada
  • France
  • Germany
  • Poland
  • US

There are no options in Africa, Asia-Pacific, or South America. There’s not even a server in the UK, which is uncommon.

There are only eight servers available in total with eight different IP addresses. This will lead to congestion at peak times, which explains why VPNBook’s speeds are so poor.

There is no information available on whether these servers are owned or rented by VPNBook, or if they are physical or virtual servers.

Native Android app, but compatible with a range of devices

Platforms & Devices

How is platform & devices rating rated?

A quality VPN should maintain functional, fully-featured applications and extensions for as many platforms and devices as possible.

This does not directly contribute to the Overall Rating, but instead makes up a portion of the Ease of Use rating.

VPNBook only has one proper app, available on Android. It is not a good app, but it does exist in its own right. Lots of other platforms are compatible with VPNBook via the OpenVPN app using VPNBook configuration files.

Apps

  1. Windows Logo
    Windows
  2. Mac Logo
    Mac
  3. iOS Logo
    iOS
  4. Android Logo
    Android
  5. Linux Logo
    Linux
  6. Router Logo
    Router

VPNBook is compatible with pretty much all devices.

The catch?

They don’t all have custom VPN apps.

That means you’ll have to manually configure VPNBook on any device that you want to protect that doesn’t run Android, whether it’s your phone, computer, tablet, or router.

If you do set the VPN up on your router you’ll be able to protect all the internet-connected devices in your home, including game consoles and streaming devices.

As there are no individual accounts, you can use VPNBook on as many devices you want.

However, if you’re a beginner looking for an easy-to-use mobile or desktop VPN we advise you stay clear of VPNBook.

All of our top-rated free VPNs come with user-friendly custom apps for a simpler click-and-connect experience.

Tricky setup & clunky software

Ease of Use

33.0/10
How is this calculated?

This rating mainly consists of the intuitiveness of setup and everyday use.

Device or platform compatibility and customization options are also a factor.

VPNBook's only 'real' app is on Android. That means that setup involves manual configuration on any other platform. While it gives you access to a greater number of platforms than would otherwise be available, it's definitely inconvenient.

How to Install & Set Up VPNBook

Setup for VPNBook is not too difficult, but it’s definitely more complex than a standard VPN, and does require some technical know-how.

The easiest method is to install VPNBook using PPTP as this doesn’t require any third-party software. However, as we explained in the Encryption section it’s not safe to use.

That leaves you with OpenVPN setup, which is a little trickier. You’ll have to install the free OpenVPN GUI from OpenVPN’s website and download VPNBook’s configuration files one-by-one.

Thankfully, VPNBook’s website provides step-by-step instructions for this, so it shouldn’t be too hard.

Once installed, OpenVPN’s software is a little clunky and it’s not at all pretty, but It’s simple enough to use.

VPNBook publishes passwords for the servers on its website, which you’ll need to connect to the service, and these change every one to two weeks.

We did have issues connecting to certain servers through different ports, though, which is yet another annoyance.

Very basic online resources, no reply to emails

Customer Support

2.52.5/10
How is this calculated?

This rating is based on our assessment of each VPN’s:

  • Email support
  • Live chat support
  • Online resources

Not every VPN offers all of these, and they often vary in quality and response time.

There’s no live chat feature, and the online resources are limited to setup guides for major platforms. There is a support email address and a contact form for specific queries, but we didn't receive a response when we used them.

EmailYes

As is to be expected from such a low quality VPN service, VPNBook’s customer support isn’t very impressive.

There are some simple setup guides for popular platforms with screenshots for easy following, but that’s it aside from three very basic FAQs.

The website looks dated and is filled with incorrect information about the available servers and streaming compatibility.

There is a support email address but when we sent over a few questions about the service we received an automated response saying “due to the large number of emails we receive every day, we are unable to respond to every email individually.”

We’re yet to hear back.

VPNBook is bad in almost every way

The Bottom Line

Not at all. VPNBook is neither beginner-friendly nor configurable enough for more experienced users.

It’s lacking in security, servers, speed, and streaming access. Most importantly, the intrusive logging policy puts your privacy at risk.

There is no reason to use VPNBook and, even among the free VPN market, there are much better options.

Alternatives to VPNBook

Windscribe

Windscribe

8.68.6/10

The best free VPN around, Windscribe is safe, secure, fast, and user-friendly. It comes with simple custom VPN apps for a range of popular devices, including Amazon Fire TV. Read Windscribe review

ProtonVPN logo landscape

ProtonVPN Free

6.66.6/10

ProtonVPN comes with unlimited free data and is one of the most privacy-friendly free VPNs on the market. It also comes with a VPN kill switch and other security extras. Read ProtonVPN Free review

About the Author


  • Simon Migliano Head of Research at Top10VPN

    Simon Migliano

    Simon is a recognized world expert in VPNs. He's tested hundreds of VPN services and his research has featured on the BBC, The New York Times, CNet and more. Read full bio


User Feedback for VPNBook

  • 0 user reviews
  • 0 questions answered