Disclosure: Top10VPN is editorially independent. We may earn commissions if you buy a VPN through links on our site.

VPNBook Review

 0% 
No user reviews
Two screenshots of VPNBook side by side
Simon Migliano

Simon Migliano is a recognized world expert in VPNs. He's tested hundreds of VPN services and his research has featured on the BBC, The New York Times and more. Read full bio

Ask Simon About VPNBook

Our Verdict

2.52.5/10
How is this calculated?

Our overall rating is reached by combining several subcategories. The subcategories are weighted as follows:

  • Logging & Jurisdiction: 30%
  • Speed & Reliability: 25%
  • Security & Features: 20%
  • Streaming: 10%
  • Torrenting: 5%
  • Ease of Use: 5%
  • Support: 5%

See our full methodology in how we review VPNs.

VPNBook is one of the worst free VPNs, and you must avoid it under all circumstances. Although the VPN encrypts traffic using AES-256, the VPN logs IP addresses and timestamps making it pointless for privacy and security. Also, VPNBook is incapable of bypassing strict VPN blocks.

Ranked #61 out of 70 VPNs

VPNBook Category Ratings

  • 0.80.8/10
  • 00.0/10
  • 3.53.5/10
  • 0.80.8/10
  • 3.53.5/10
  • 2.52.5/10
  • 3.53.5/10
  • 33.0/10
  • 2.52.5/10

VPNBook Pros & Cons

Pros

  • Uses OpenVPN & AES-256 encryption
  • Compatible with most platforms & devices

Cons

  • Logs IP addresses & connection timestamps
  • Requires manual configuration
  • Very slow speeds
  • DNS leaks & no kill switch
  • Doesn’t unblock streaming platforms
  • Only five server locations

Why Trust Our Review?

We’ve spent thousands of hours testing and reviewing 70 VPN services using our impartial review process to recommend you the best VPN software.

Here are some of our key VPN testing statistics:

Total Hours of Testing30,000+
Weekly Speed Tests3,000+
VPN Services Reviewed70
Streaming Platforms Tested Daily12
IP & DNS Leak Tests Performed9,500+
How Much We've Spent On Testing$25,000+

VPNBook claims to unblock websites and to allow its users to surf the Web anonymously. Neither statement is true, sadly.

We’ve been testing VPNBook for several years and not much has changed since our initial (and alarming) findings.

This free VPN has one of the most invasive logging policies we’ve seen. In fact, VPNBook logs your IP address and stores all connection timestamps.

The service’s privacy and security failings don’t stop there, unfortunately. We discovered DNS leaks, and the lack of security features like a kill switch.

Moreover, VPNBook’s speeds are so slow you can barely browse the Web with it. Forget about streaming or torrenting with this VPN.

In our tests, the VPN was also unable to bypass internet geo-restrictions, whether in a high-censorship country, or to stream geo-blocked videos.

In other words, VPNBook doesn’t work in China, and it can’t unblock Netflix, BBC iPlayer, HBO Max and all other popular streaming platforms.

Overall, VPNBook is an insecure, slow and privacy-unfriendly free VPN. Stay away from it, and use a highly-rated free VPN, instead.

EXPERT ADVICE: NordVPN is a very fast and secure VPN service. It also works with most streaming services, including Netflix USA. Try NordVPN risk-free for 30 days.

VPNBook Key Data

Data CapUnlimited
Speed15Mbps
Logging PolicyIntrusive Logging
Data LeaksYes
JurisdictionSwitzerland (Privacy Haven)
ServersNot Disclosed
IP AddressesNot disclosed
Countries5
US NetflixNo
TorrentingRestricted
Simultaneous ConnectionsUnlimited
Works In ChinaNo
SupportEmail & Online Resources
Official WebsiteVPNBook.com

Logs your personal IP address

Logging & Jurisdiction

3.53.5/10
How is this calculated?

We dissect the logging and privacy policies of every VPN. A VPN should never log:

  • Your real IP address
  • Connection timestamps
  • DNS requests

A base of operations outside of 14-Eyes or EU jurisdiction is preferable.

VPNBook has a horrible logging policy. It stores your real IP address and keeps track of when you connect to a VPN server. It's incredibly rare for a VPN to log your IP address, even the very bad ones - but that's just what VPNBook does. This alone is reason enough to not use VPNBook.

Unfortunately, there isn’t much information about VPNBook’s company information online. There are no records of who founded it or when.

The official VPNBook Twitter account was created in August 2012, which roughly lines up with the first appearance of vpnbook.com on the Wayback Machine.

All that VPNBook discloses is that it’s based in Switzerland.

VPNBook is transparent about its business model, at least. According to its website, it makes money through advertisements (on the website) and donations.

There is a premium service, too, that provides users with a dedicated VPN server and bandwidth. It costs $7.95 a month and comes with a 30-day money-back guarantee.

Switzerland is a great place for a VPN company to be based – it’s not part of the Five-Eyes intelligence-sharing alliance, nor is it a member of the EU, another organization known for data sharing among its members.

However, VPNBook is not a private VPN so its Swiss jurisdiction counts for very little.

Logging Policy

Like the vast majority of VPN services, VPNBook doesn’t log user internet traffic, but its privacy policy is quite misleading (and short).

The policy claims that VPNBook doesn’t log “any personal information” or “any user’s internet data” but proceeds to say that it stores users’ true IP addresses and VPN connection timestamps.

IP addresses can be used to identify you and match you to your online activities – it’s one of the absolute worst things a VPN can log.

VPNBook says it retains IP addresses to prevent users from abusing the service. The privacy policy strongly requests that users don’t use the VPN for “doing evil.” P2P doesn’t count (we’re not entirely sure what does), but if you go against this rule your IP address will be blocked.

This data is automatically deleted every week. Regardless, this is a terrible logging policy.

Painfully slow speeds

Speed & Reliability

0.80.8/10
How is this calculated?

Speed ratings are calculated using upload speeds, download speeds, and ping (latency).

We test average speeds regularly using a dedicated 100Mbps connection in London, UK. Local download speed is considered the most important factor.

VPNBook is so slow that we had trouble even running speed tests with it connected. Web pages took up to a minute to fully load, and when we eventually could run the tests the results were unsurprising.

The fastest speeds we experienced were 15Mbps down and 12Mbps up on the France server (we test from the UK), with a high ping time of 62ms.

The slowest speeds? The VPN was slow the test page failed to load at all when we connected to a US server.

Local Speed Test results before using VPNBook:

  • Download Speed: 95.65Mbps
  • Upload Speed: 98.03Mbps
  • Ping: 7ms

Local Speed Test results with VPNBook:

  • Download Speed: 15.33Mbps
  • Upload Speed: 11.67Mbps
  • Ping: 62ms

Download speed loss when VPNBook is running: 84%

Speeds dropped to under 5Mbps on both Germany and Canada servers.

VPNBook is barely fast enough for browsing, let alone streaming, gaming, and torrenting.

A top free VPN like ProtonVPN recorded an average local speed of 95Mbps. That’s a mere 5% speed loss, compared to VPNBook’s 84% reduction.

If you’re prepared to pay for a VPN subscription, we recommend you consider one of the fastest VPNs available, based on our in-house testing.

Not good for streaming

Streaming

0.80.8/10
How is this calculated?

Streaming is rated by the number of different services unlocked, how many regional libraries are viewable, and how consistently the VPN can access them.

Netflix, BBC iPlayer, HBO Max, DAZN, and Amazon Prime Video are all tested on a weekly basis.

Despite claiming to work with Netflix on its website, VPNBook didn’t unblock any streaming service during our tests. We tried to watch Netflix on the two US servers available and both times we received a proxy error message.

Throughout our streaming tests, VPNBook didn’t work with a single streaming platform.

We tested VPNBook with 12 different platforms, including Netflix, HBO Max, DAZN, Disney+, and Hulu. The VPN failed to stream all of them.

Netflix proxy error screen

VPNBook failed to unblock Netflix.

Moreover, there’s no way to watch BBC iPlayer from abroad either, since there are no UK servers to choose from.

EXPERT ADVICE: NordVPN is a very good streaming VPN, unblocking Netflix USA, HBO Max, Disney+, and more. Try NordVPN risk-free for 30 days.

VPNBook is a bad choice for torrenting

Torrenting

00.0/10
How is this calculated?

We calculate the average download bitrate of every VPN using a bespoke torrenting setup.

Testing also factors in the percentage of servers which permit P2P, plus useful features like port forwarding.

VPNBook actually allows P2P traffic on a couple of its servers, which is unusual for a free VPN. However, speeds are so bad and the logging policy is so invasive that torrenting with it is a bad idea all-round.

VPNBook allows P2P traffic on two servers: Germany and Poland. If you’re using the VPNBook Android application, rather than the OpenVPN app, then you can only torrent on the Germany server.

In any case, we advise you don’t use VPNBook for torrenting. The three main reasons for not using VPNBook for torrenting are the following:

  1. VPNBook’s speeds are extremely slow.
  2. VPNBook logs your IP address, which could reveal your file-sharing activities.
  3. There’s no VPN kill switch, which heightens the risk of your IP address being exposed.

Based on the above, you’re putting yourself at risk if you still decide to torrent with VPNBook. To torrent safely, use a secure VPN for torrenting.

DNS leaks & sub-par security

Security & Features

3.53.5/10
How is this calculated?

Top-rated VPNs offer OpenVPN or WireGuard protocols, AES-256 encryption, and a functional kill switch. We also consider additional security features and the global spread of VPN servers.

VPNBook doesn’t come with any security extras, but at the very least it does provide VPN connections through OpenVPN with strong AES encryption. However we experienced DNS leaks in our testing, leaving the sites you visit exposed.

Protocols
  1. OpenVPN (TCP/UDP)
  2. PPTP
Encryption
  1. AES-256
Security
  1. Supports TCP Port 443
Advanced Features
  1. None

VPNBook supports OpenVPN. It’s our preferred VPN protocol – it’s open-source, secure, and pretty fast, too. Coupled with AES-128 or AES-256 ciphers it’s really safe.

But that’s where the positives end for VPNBook.

Alongside OpenVPN, VPNBook provides PPTP configuration files. While PPTP is easier to install on popular devices it’s not safe to use.

In fact, PPTP can be hacked in minutes.

You shouldn’t use it at all.

Even if you stick with OpenVPN VPNBook doesn’t come with a VPN kill switch, which may put your personal details at risk.

Should the VPN disconnect suddenly, your IP address would be exposed to your ISP and any other snooping third parties.

What’s worse, even when the VPN was properly connected we experienced DNS leaks:

Screenshot of VPNBook leak test results

We test from the UK and you can see our DNS server in the leak test results, which indicates a DNS leak.

This means that our ISP can still see all of the websites we visited while using the VPN.

VPNBook isn’t a very safe VPN to use and unlike other VPNs that lack security extras, VPNBook doesn’t have the advantage of being super easy to use and beginner-friendly to make up for it.

Doesn’t work in China

Bypassing Censorship

2.52.5/10
How is this calculated?

Our remote-access server in Shanghai, China routinely tests if a VPN can beat restrictions and access a free, open internet. Obfuscation technologies and nearby servers are also a contributing factor.

This rating does not directly contribute to the Overall Rating, but instead makes up a portion of the Security & Features rating.

VPNBook will not work in China. There is a slim chance of success at connecting to the internet in slightly less strictly-censored countries using its PPTP protocol setup, but that's far less secure.

Don’t use VPNBook to access blocked websites in China.

Most importantly, VPNBook doesn’t come with any obfuscation tools to bypass the Great Firewall.

Unsurprisingly, we couldn’t unblock any website testing the VPN service on our test server located in Shanghai.

Chinese censors are clearly detecting the service’s OpenVPN traffic and blocking it.

There are also no nearby VPN servers, so you’d have to connect over long distances. Given VPNBook’s poor speed performance, speeds would reduce to a crawl, even if it did somehow work.

Only five free server locations

Server Locations

3.53.5/10
How is this calculated?

The global spread and coverage of the VPN server network is the most important factor here.

We also consider the number of city-level servers, plus how many IP addresses are maintained.

This rating does not directly contribute to the Overall Rating, but instead makes up a portion of the Security & Features rating.

Like many other free VPN services, VPNBook’s server network is very limited.There are five countries to choose from, but only when using OpenVPN configuration files. If you download the native Android app you can only choose between the US or Germany.

Globe with a blue flag
5 Countries
Image of a city landscape
5 Cities
Image of a pink marker
Not DisclosedIP Address

VPNBook’s five free server locations to choose from are:

  • Canada
  • France
  • Germany
  • Poland
  • US

There are no server locations in Africa, Asia-Pacific, or South America. There’s not even a server in the UK, which is uncommon.

There are only eight servers available in total with eight different IP addresses. This results in congestion at peak times, which explains why VPNBook’s speeds are so poor.

There is no information available on whether these servers are owned or rented by VPNBook, or if they are physical or virtual servers.

No native applications but compatible via configuration files

Platforms & Devices

How is this rated?

A quality VPN should maintain functional, fully-featured applications and extensions for as many platforms and devices as possible.

This does not directly contribute to the Overall Rating, but instead makes up a portion of the Ease of Use rating.

VPNBook doesn’t have any native applications. There used to be a custom Android application, but that’s no longer the case. However, VPNBook is compatible with many devices, using VPNBook’s configuration files and the OpenVPN app.

Apps

  1. Windows
  2. Mac
  3. iOS
  4. Android
  5. Linux
  6. Router

VPNBook no longer has a custom application for Android, therefore it doesn’t currently maintain any VPN applications.

To use the VPN on a device, you have to manually configure VPNBook using its configuration files and the OpenVPN application. The process isn’t straightforward, but it works.

You can also set up VPNBook on your home router, letting you connect all internet-connected devices, including game consoles, to the VPN.

As there are no individual accounts, you can use VPNBook on as many devices you want.

However, if you’re a beginner user looking for an easy-to-use VPN, stay clear of VPNBook. Instead, opt for a VPN with native applications for all major platforms and operating systems.

Manual and tricky setup

Ease of Use

33.0/10
How is this calculated?

This rating mainly consists of the intuitiveness of setup and everyday use.

Device or platform compatibility and customization options are also a factor.

VPNBook's setup involves manual configuration on your device, often using the OpenVPN application. While this gives you access to a large number of platforms and devices, it's definitely inconvenient for most users.

How to Install & Set Up VPNBook

Setup for VPNBook is not too difficult, but it’s definitely more complex than a standard VPN, and does require some technical know-how.

The easiest method is to install VPNBook using PPTP as this doesn’t require any third-party software. However, as we explained in the Encryption section it’s not safe to use.

That leaves you with OpenVPN setup, which is a little trickier. You’ll have to install the free OpenVPN GUI from OpenVPN’s website and download VPNBook’s configuration files one-by-one.

Thankfully, VPNBook’s website provides step-by-step instructions for this, so it shouldn’t be too hard.

Once installed, OpenVPN’s software is a little clunky and it’s not at all pretty, but It’s simple enough to use.

VPNBook publishes passwords for the servers on its website, which you’ll need to connect to the service, and these change every one to two weeks.

We did have issues connecting to certain servers through different ports, though, which is yet another annoyance.

Very basic online resources, no reply to emails

Customer Support

2.52.5/10
How is this calculated?

This rating is based on our assessment of each VPN’s:

  • Email support
  • Live chat support
  • Online resources

Not every VPN offers all of these, and they often vary in quality and response time.

There’s no live chat feature, and the online resources are limited to setup guides for major platforms. There is a support email address and a contact form for specific queries, but we didn't receive a response when we used them.

EmailYes

As is to be expected from such a low quality VPN service, VPNBook’s customer support isn’t very impressive.

There are a few simple setup guides for popular platforms with helpful screenshots, but that’s it aside from three very basic FAQs.

The website looks dated and is filled with incorrect information about the available servers and streaming compatibility.

The support email inbox sends out automated responses saying “due to the large number of emails we receive every day, we are unable to respond to every email individually.” We’ve never received a response to our inquiries.

VPNBook is bad in almost every way

The Bottom Line

We strongly advise you not to use VPNBook. It is slow, insecure and not user-friendly at all.

It’s intrusive logging policy is a major concern, as well as the lack of key security features.

The VPN is useless for most purposes including fast and private web browsing, unblocking websites, and anonymous file-sharing.

In summary, there is no reason to use VPNBook, especially as there are much better free VPNs available, such as the two we recommend below.

Alternatives to VPNBook

Windscribe

Windscribe

8.68.6/10

The best free VPN around, Windscribe is safe, secure, fast, and user-friendly. It comes with simple custom VPN apps for a range of popular devices, including Amazon Fire TV. Read Windscribe review

Proton VPN logo

Proton VPN Free

7.67.6/10

Proton VPN comes with unlimited free data and is one of the most privacy-friendly free VPNs on the market. It also comes with a VPN kill switch and other security extras. Read Proton VPN Free review

About the Author


  • Simon Migliano

    Simon Migliano

    Simon Migliano is a recognized world expert in VPNs. He's tested hundreds of VPN services and his research has featured on the BBC, The New York Times and more. Read full bio


User Feedback for VPNBook

  • 0 user reviews
  • 0 questions answered

Questions & User Reviews are shown in the original language of submission.