Disclosure: Top10VPN is editorially independent. We may earn commissions if you buy a VPN through links on our site.

Kaspersky VPN Secure Connection Review

 0% 
No user reviews
Screenshots of the Kaspersky Secure Connection app
Headshot of Top10VPN.com Site Editor Callum Tennent

Callum Tennent oversees how we test and review VPN services. He's a member of the IAPP, and his VPN advice has featured in Forbes and the Internet Society. Read full bio

Ask Callum About Kaspersky VPN Secure Connection

Our Verdict

5.95.9/10
How is this calculated?

Our overall rating is reached by combining several subcategories. The subcategories are weighted as follows:

  • Logging & Jurisdiction: 30%
  • Speed & Reliability: 25%
  • Security & Features: 20%
  • Streaming: 10%
  • Torrenting: 5%
  • Ease of Use: 5%
  • Support: 5%

See our full methodology in how we review VPNs.

Kaspersky VPN Secure Connection delivers impressive speeds and intuitive mobile and desktop apps. But, we can't recommend it because of its close relationship with Russian authorities, intrusive activity logging, limited server locations, and poor streaming capabilities. Overall, Kaspersky VPN is not a good VPN.

Ranked #45 out of 70 VPNs

Kaspersky VPN Secure Connection Category Ratings

  • 5.35.3/10
  • 6.66.6/10
  • 44.0/10
  • 9.49.4/10
  • 6.56.5/10
  • 3.83.8/10
  • 4.54.5/10
  • 77.0/10
  • 6.36.3/10
  • 6.56.5/10

Kaspersky VPN Secure Connection Pros & Cons

Pros

  • Excellent local and global speeds
  • Unblocks BBC iPlayer, Disney+ & HBO Max
  • AES-128 encryption
  • Easy to use applications
  • Working VPN kill switch
  • No IP or DNS leaks

Cons

  • Excessive logging
  • Based in privacy unfriendly Russia
  • Very few security settings
  • Poor customer service
  • No Firestick application & no Smart DNS
  • No router support

Why Trust Our Review?

We’ve spent thousands of hours testing and reviewing 70 VPN services using our impartial review process to recommend you the best VPN software.

Here are some of our key VPN testing statistics:

Total Hours of Testing30,000+
Weekly Speed Tests3,000+
VPN Services Reviewed70
Streaming Platforms Tested Daily12
IP & DNS Leak Tests Performed9,500+
How Much We've Spent On Testing$25,000+

Kaspersky is a big name in global cybersecurity. The Russian company operates a wide suite of security products, including antivirus and parental control software.

However, does Kaspersky VPN Secure Connection satisfy the specific needs of VPN users? How does it compare against VPNs from specialist VPN service providers?

We examined all aspects of the service’s free and premium applications, including its privacy and security settings, its speed performance, and its unblocking capabilities.

While the VPN’s speeds are exceptional, both over short and long distances, the VPN performed poorly in many of our test categories.

In particular, Kaspersky VPN logs too much data, lacks advanced security settings, and doesn’t unblock some of the most popular streaming platforms.

Overall, our latest tests confirm that Kaspersky VPN Secure Connection is still not a particularly good VPN, despite its very fast connection speeds.

EXPERT ADVICE: Our top-rated VPN, ExpressVPN, is more secure and unblocks more websites and applications than Kaspersky VPN. Try ExpressVPN risk-free for 30 days.

Kaspersky VPN Secure Connection Key Data

Data CapSpeedLogging PolicyData LeaksJurisdictionServersIP AddressesCountriesUS NetflixTorrentingSimultaneous ConnectionsWorks In ChinaSupportCheapest PriceMoney-Back GuaranteeOfficial Website
Premium
Free
Unlimited200MB per day
96Mbps96Mbps
Some User LogsSome User Logs
NoNo
Russia (Censored Internet)Russia (Censored Internet)
2,0002,000
2,000+2,000+
3030
NoNo
UnlimitedUnlimited
5Unlimited
NoNo
Telephone, Email & Online ResourcesTelephone, Email & Online Resources
$1.25/mo over 12 monthsFree
30-day Money-Back Guarantee-
Kaspersky.com

Kaspersky VPN is not private

Logging & Jurisdiction

44.0/10
How is this calculated?

We dissect the logging and privacy policies of every VPN. A VPN should never log:

  • Your real IP address
  • Connection timestamps
  • DNS requests

A base of operations outside of 14-Eyes or EU jurisdiction is preferable.

Kaspersky's intrusive logging policy and Russian jurisdiction make this VPN a bad choice for privacy. The service has also directly co-operated with the Russian government, which is a huge red flag.

Kaspersky VPN Secure Connection is owned by Kaspersky Lab, which was founded in 1997 and is still being run by Eugene Kaspersky.

In recent years Eugene Kaspersky has come under fire for alleged connections to the Russian government.

These allegations are concerning, because the Russian government doesn’t allow for a free and open internet.

What is certain is that Kaspersky was the only major VPN service not to pull its servers out of Russia following Russia’s new laws against VPNs.

The contents of Kaspersky VPN’s privacy policy is therefore critical. Anything data the software keeps may be subject to surveillance from the Russian government.

Logging Policy

Kaspersky’s focus extends well beyond its Secure Connection VPN, and in the company’s 5,000 word privacy policy, the VPN product is mentioned exactly once.

The relevant document for Kaspersky Secure Connection’s privacy policy – its End User License Agreement (EULA) – is also extremely hard to find.

You can find the relevant EULA here, by selecting your operating system under the “Kaspersky Secure Connection” header.

The key takeaways of Kaspersky VPN’s logging and privacy policy are that the VPN:

  • Logs information about the software, including a unique ID for your copy and an ID linking it to your “My Kaspersky” account
  • Logs information about your license to use the software, including another unique ID and and the amount of time until it expires
  • Logs information about your computer, such as the model, make, type of processor, version of the operating system installed, and geographic location, along with yet another unique ID
  • Keeps information about whether the user has opted into the excessive additional marketing and technical data agreements or not – we do not recommend opting into any of these
    The amount of traffic used over a given time period is monitored
  • Collects a large amount of information about nearby WiFi networks, including the network name (SSID), the type of encryption being used, timestamps of connection and disconnection from the WiFi network, and available wireless networks
  • Logs an anonymized SHA256 hash of your local IP address and the IP addresses of any DNS servers being used

Some of this data can help with the running of the VPN network, and to provide users with statistics on their VPN usage.

For instance, you can view your data usage by day, the locations you have connected to, and the timestamps of when you connected and disconnected.

Additionally, the WiFi information the app collects is used for a feature that automatically starts up the VPN in insecure networks.

However, most of the data Kaspersky VPN collects ultimately erodes your internet privacy. The reality is many VPNs operate more effectively and without requiring all this data.

What’s even more concerning is that there is no mention of how long Kaspersky retains this data.

If you are based in the EU, in line with GDPR legislation, Kaspersky will delete all your data but only when you delete your account.

Fast and consistent global speeds

Speed & Reliability

9.49.4/10
How is this calculated?

Speed ratings are calculated using upload speeds, download speeds, and ping (latency).

We test average speeds regularly using a dedicated 100Mbps connection in London, UK. Local download speed is considered the most important factor.

Kaspersky VPN outperformed our expectations for connection speed. Our tests reveal it's an extremely fast VPN, with minimal slowdown on short and longer distances.

Kaspersky VPN Secure Connection performed keeps performing extremely well in our speed tests.

Since we last reviewed Kaspersky VPN Secure Connection, the VPN’s speed performance has further improved.

We experienced only 1% speed reduction on connecting to nearby servers. To put that into perspective, that’s faster than NordVPN’s short-distance speeds.

Local Speed Test results before using Kaspersky VPN Secure Connection:

  • Download Speed: 97.24Mbps
  • Upload Speed: 98.73Mbps
  • Ping: 4ms

Local Speed Test results with Kaspersky VPN Secure Connection:

  • Download Speed: 96.19Mbps
  • Upload Speed: 74.26Mbps
  • Ping: 10ms

Download speed loss when Kaspersky VPN Secure Connection is running: 1%

Connections were also very stable, and never dropped out during out tests.

Connecting to servers is very fast, too, with changes between servers occurring in just seconds.

Global speeds were also exceptional, with remarkably small drops in download speed to far away countries.

Here are the latest Kaspersky VPN long-distance speed test results:

  • USA:
    • Download: 95.23Mbps (2% slower)
    • Upload: 61.17Mbps (40% slower)
  • Germany:
    • Download: 94.44Mbps (3% slower)
    • Upload: 79.98Mbps (19% slower)
  • Russia:
    • Download: 90.06Mbps (7% slower)
    • Upload: 81.54Mbps (17% slower)
  • Singapore:
    • Download: 91.23Mbps (6% slower)
    • Upload: 3.83Mbps (96% slower)

The international speeds above are exceptional. Not even top VPNs like ExpressVPN and Private Internet Access can match these results.

The VPN service uses Hotspot Shield’s very fast Hydra protocol, which in part explains the impressive speeds above.

However, Kaspersky VPN’s latency (ping) suffered over longer distances, though. This means online gamers should avoid using this service, unless they’re connecting to a nearby VPN server.

VPN servers in only 30 countries

Server Locations

6.56.5/10
How is this calculated?

The global spread and coverage of the VPN server network is the most important factor here.

We also consider the number of city-level servers, plus how many IP addresses are maintained.

This rating does not directly contribute to the Overall Rating, but instead makes up a portion of the Security & Features rating.

Kaspersky VPN runs 2,000 servers, although they only cover a limited range of 30 countries. Server coverage is good in Europe and North America, but not in Asia and Africa.

Globe with a blue flag
30 Countries
Image of a city landscape
30 Cities
Image of a pink marker
2,000+ IP Addresses

Kaspersky operates 2,000 servers in 30 countries.

While the server count is good, the number of available server locations is very limited for a premium VPN service.

Server coverage is acceptable in Europe and in North America. However, if want to connect to servers outside of these regions, you may be disappointed.

In Asia, only Hong Kong, Japan and Singapore are served. There are no servers in South Korea, Vietnam or Malaysia.

South America and Africa are also poorly served. The only servers in South America are located in Argentina and Brazil, while there are zero servers in Africa.

After some investigation we’ve identified that, although Kaspersky VPN uses Hotspot Shield’s technologies, it has a distinct server network.

Given Kaspersky’s close Russian ties, it’s not surprising there is a server available in Russia. This is a rarity following Russia’s laws surrounding VPNs.

Unblocks some streaming platforms but not Netflix

Streaming

5.35.3/10
How is this calculated?

Streaming is rated by the number of different services unlocked, how many regional libraries are viewable, and how consistently the VPN can access them.

Netflix, BBC iPlayer, HBO Max, DAZN, and Amazon Prime Video are all tested on a weekly basis.

Kaspersky Secure Connection works with BBC iPlayer, Disney+, HBO Max, and Amazon Prime Video. However, the service doesn't currently unblock Hulu or Netflix. Netflix USA has occasionally worked in the past, but not recently.

If you’re looking to stream HD video, Kaspersky VPN Secure Connection certainly has the speeds for it.

The VPN’s streaming capabilities are a mixed bag. The service works with some popular content platforms, but not with others.

In our latest streaming tests, the VPN unblocked popular platforms like Disney+, HBO Max, and Amazon Prime Video.

The VPN also worked with British TV services like BBC iPlayer, All 4 and ITVHub. We were surprised Kaspersky VPN unblocked BBC iPlayer – many VPNs fail to achieve this.

However, we couldn’t stream Hulu, DAZN, or any Netflix region. Kaspersky VPN used to occasionally unblock Netflix USA, however it hasn’t done so in recent tests.

Not private enough for safe torrenting

Torrenting

6.66.6/10
How is this calculated?

We calculate the average download bitrate of every VPN using a bespoke torrenting setup.

Testing also factors in the percentage of servers which permit P2P, plus useful features like port forwarding.

Kaspersky VPN logs too much internet data for us to recommend it to torrenters. Despite allowing P2P traffic on all its servers, and having a kill switch, the company's invasive logging practices are a red flag for us.

Kaspersky VPN allows P2P traffic on all its {{server-count_kaspersky-secure-connection}} servers.

When we tested the VPN for torrenting, we recorded very fast torrent speeds, found no IP or DNS leaks, and verified the kill switch works effectively.

Despite the positives we’ve identified above, Kaspersky’s is not a good VPN for torrenting.

The issue we have with the VPN service is its over-the-top logging practices.

Sadly, the VPN logs too much activity and device data, which could reveal a file-sharer’s identity if it landed in the wrong hands.

It would therefore be risky for a torrenter to use Kaspersky VPN to download or upload torrent files.

Doesn't work in China

Bypassing Censorship

3.83.8/10
How is this calculated?

Our remote-access server in Shanghai, China routinely tests if a VPN can beat restrictions and access a free, open internet. Obfuscation technologies and nearby servers are also a contributing factor.

This rating does not directly contribute to the Overall Rating, but instead makes up a portion of the Security & Features rating.

Not only does Kaspesky not work in censored countries like China and Turkey. It does however work in Russia, since we believe it gives the Russian government access to its server keys.

Kaspersky VPN has never worked in our China VPN tests, using our test server in Shanghai.

This isn’t surprising at all, since the VPN uses Hotspot Shield’s Hydra protocol, which doesn’t work in China.

Kaspersky even admits its VPN can’t be installed in the following countries due to legal limitations:

  • Belarus
  • China
  • Iran
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • Qatar
  • Saudi Arabia

Kaspersky VPN does work in Russia, though, since it complies with Russia’s new censorship legislation.

The company is Russian, after all, and still operates VPN servers in the country. We therefore assume that it’s allowing Russian authorities to check server logs.

It’s very bad for a VPN to agree to actively facilitate censorship. It’s in fact one of the worst things a VPN could do, which is why we don’t recommend using Kaspersky VPN in Russia.

Kaspersky VPN lacks advanced security settings

Security & Features

4.54.5/10
How is this calculated?

Top-rated VPNs offer OpenVPN or WireGuard protocols, AES-256 encryption, and a functional kill switch. We also consider additional security features and the global spread of VPN servers.

As Kaspersky's VPN is a white-label of Hotspot Shield, it makes use of the proprietary Hydra protocol. Kaspersky lacks advanced security features, but does at least come with a working kill switch.

Protocols
  1. Proprietary
Encryption
  1. AES-128
Security
  1. VPN Kill Switch
Advanced Features
  1. None

As we’ve mentioned before in this Kaspersky VPN review, the service uses Hotspot Shield’s proprietary Hydra VPN protocol.

Hotspot Shield states that Hydra VPN is based on TLS 1.2, uses 128-bit AES encryption, 2048-bit RSA certificates for server authentication, and includes perfect forward secrecy (PFS).

While we would prefer Kaspersky VPN to use either OpenVPN or WireGuard, Hydra VPN is in our experience a secure-enough choice of protocol.

Kaspersky VPN also passed our IP and DNS leak tests with flying colors. The screenshot below shows us connecting to a Ukrainian server from our office in London, UK:

Kaspersky's didn't leak our IP address in our tests

Unfortunately, the VPN’s applications lack many advanced security features we expect to see. This is disappointing.

Just about the only option available through the Settings menu is toggling off Kaspersky’s additional data collection, which we absolutely recommend doing.

The Kaspersky VPN Secure Connection settings menu

At the very least, there is a VPN kill switch that worked well in our security tests. This tool prevents your IP address from leaking during sudden VPN connection drops.

The desktop application also includes a setting to automatically connect to the VPN when you join an insecure WiFi network.

No compatibility beyond standard platforms

Device Compatibility

How is this rated?

A quality VPN should maintain functional, fully-featured applications and extensions for as many platforms and devices as possible.

This does not directly contribute to the Overall Rating, but instead makes up a portion of the Ease of Use rating.

Kaspersky VPN’s device compatibility is relatively limited. The company only maintains native VPN apps for iOS, Mac, Android and Windows. There is no Fire TV Stick app, no browser extensions, no Smart DNS tool, and no Linux GUI.

Apps

  1. Windows
  2. Mac
  3. iOS
  4. Android

Kaspersky VPN Secure Connection has native applications for all the basic platforms we expect from a VPN service:

  • Microsoft Windows
  • Apple macOS
  • Apple iOS
  • Google Android

However, the VPN service lacks the advanced compatibility top-rated services offer. For instance, there is no Fire TV Stick application, no Smart DNS functionality, and no way to install the VPN software on a router.

As a result, games console users won’t be able to easily use Kaspersky VPN. We recommend Private Internet Access as a good alternative.

Furthermore, there are no VPN browser extensions, and no Linux GUI.

Different device limit policies for free and premium plans

The company allows the use of its VPN on up to five devices with its premium subscription plans.

With the free plan, the device policy is unlimited but the data usage restriction is shared across all devices

Basic but user-friendly applications

Ease of Use

77.0/10
How is this calculated?

This rating mainly consists of the intuitiveness of setup and everyday use.

Device or platform compatibility and customization options are also a factor.

All Kaspersky VPN's apps are clearly laid out with a conventional VPN design. They are therefore very easy to use, although they lack any advanced settings or features.

How to Install & Set Up Kaspersky VPN Secure Connection

Ease of Use Rating: 7.0/10

The user interface is consistent across all the VPN applications and pretty intuitive to use.

Kaspersky VPN's home screen and server list

Kaspersky VPN’s home screen and server list.

The app’s home screen features a standard On/Off switch, with a straightforward country server list.

All other settings, although there aren’t many, are accessible via the burger menu in the top-left corner of the app.

Basically, there isn’t much to get wrong with such a simple and basic VPN app.

Kaspersky VPN could have added common features we see in many VPN applications – for example displaying your VPN IP address or the protocol being used – but so far it hasn’t.

While some VPNs over-clutter their apps, Kaspersky has gone all the other way to provide very little functionality to its users.

No live chat support

Customer Support

6.36.3/10
How is this calculated?

This rating is based on our assessment of each VPN’s:

  • Email support
  • Live chat support
  • Online resources

Not every VPN offers all of these, and they often vary in quality and response time.

Kaspersky lacks the instant, effective user support of smaller, more focused VPN products. It does offer FAQs and a ticket system, but no live chat.

EmailYes
Email support via an online formYes
Online ResourcesYes

Our experience using Kaspersky VPN’s customer support was disappointing. Sadly, it just isn’t up to scratch with the leading VPN service providers.

The main downside is that there is no live chat support. Instead, you have to rely on online resources, or a slow ticketing system.

The VPN’s online customer support resources are comprehensive, but difficult to find and navigate. In many cases we found them more confusing than helpful.

If you send a query via the ticketing system, it generally takes at least a day to receive a reply. On one occasion we were even told to call an operator instead.

Cheap plans and a 30-day refund policy

Price & Value

6.56.5/10
How is this calculated?

Price & Value for Money receives a rating, but is not factored into our Overall Rating. We believe the reader should decide what is or isn’t a reasonable price.

A good rating here isn’t just based on how cheap the VPN is, but for the value it offers overall.

Kaspersky is a cheap VPN, however it doesn't represent good value because it lacks the privacy and security standards we expect from a VPN service.

Kaspersky VPN’s premium plans start at $4.99 on a pay-monthly basis, but the real savings come with the early plan, which costs just $1.25 a month.

This makes Kaspersky VPN one of the cheapest VPNs we’ve reviewed, although it’s not good enough to make our best cheap VPN list.

Kaspersky’s free VPN service

Kaspersky also offers a free VPN product, with a daily usage limit of only 200MB.

Although 200MB a day equates to roughly 6GB a month, this allowance is simply too little to allow for meaningful use of the VPN.

There is an option to increase the free data allowance to 300MB per day, if you connect the VPN to your My Kaspersky account.

  1. Monthly

    US$4.99/mo

    Billed $4.99 every month
  2. 12 Month(s)

    US$1.25/mo

    Billed $15.00 the first 12 months, $30.00 thereafter
    Save 50%

Payment & Refund Options

  1. Mastercard
  2. PayPal
  3. Visa

Kaspersky VPN offers very few payment options: credit/debit card and PayPal.

There is no option for anonymous payment methods like Bitcoin and other cryptocurrencies.

The VPN service also offers a 30-day money-back guarantee, which essentially lets you try the VPN before fully committing.

Comes with too much unsafe baggage

The Bottom Line

Based on our latest testing results, Kaspersky VPN is still not a good VPN.

It’s certainly very fast and it even unblocks some popular video platforms, however the privacy issues affecting the VPN are concerning.

The main issues with the VPN service are its intrusive logging policy, the fact it complies with Russian censorship laws, and it lacks advanced security settings.

There are other VPNs available for a similar price mark that offer more private and secure experience than Kaspersky VPN Secure Connection.

Alternatives to Kaspersky VPN Secure Connection

Hotspot Shield

Hotspot Shield

8.28.2/10

Kaspersky is built on Hotspot Shield but lacks some of its key features and has a much smaller server network. If you like Kaspersky’s speeds, but are looking for a better all round performer, Hotspot Shield is a great choice. Read Hotspot Shield review

PrivateVPN

PrivateVPN

8.98.9/10

It’s in the same price bracket as Kaspersky, but PrivateVPN has a lot more to offer. For a start its a no-logs provider. It also has a great server network across 59 countries, and works reliably with both BBC iPlayer and Netflix. Read PrivateVPN review

About the Author


  • Headshot of Top10VPN.com Site Editor Callum Tennent

    Callum Tennent

    Callum Tennent oversees how we test and review VPN services. He's a member of the IAPP, and his VPN advice has featured in Forbes and the Internet Society. Read full bio


User Feedback for Kaspersky VPN Secure Connection

  • 0 user reviews
  • 0 questions answered

Questions & User Reviews are shown in the original language of submission.