We review VPNs independently, but we may earn commissions if you buy a VPN via our links.

Kaspersky VPN Secure Connection Review

Screenshots of the Kaspersky Secure Connection app

Callum Tennent oversees how we test and review VPN services. He's a member of the IAPP, and his VPN advice has featured in Forbes and the Internet Society.

Fact-checked by Simon MiglianoAdditional Testing by David Hughes

Our Verdict

5.5/10
How is this calculated?

We calculate the VPN service’s Overall Rating by combining the ratings of several testing categories. Each category is weighted as follows:

  • Privacy & Logging Policy: 20%
  • Speed: 20%
  • Security & Technical Features: 15%
  • Streaming: 15%
  • Ease of Use: 10%
  • Torrenting: 5%
  • Server Locations: 5%
  • Bypassing Web Censorship: 5%
  • Customer Support: 5%

Learn more by reading our VPN testing and review methodology.

Kaspersky VPN Secure Connection delivers impressive speeds and intuitive mobile and desktop apps. However, we can't recommend it due to its close relationship with Russian authorities, intrusive activity logging, and poor streaming capabilities. Overall, Kaspersky VPN is not a good VPN.

Ranked #35 out of 65 VPNs

Kaspersky VPN Secure Connection Category Ratings

  • 5.3/10
  • 6.3/10
  • 1.8/10
  • 9.3/10
  • 6.5/10
  • 3.8/10
  • 4.5/10
  • 7.0/10
  • 6.3/10
  • 6.5/10

Kaspersky VPN Secure Connection Pros & Cons

  • Excellent local and global speeds
  • Unblocks BBC iPlayer, Disney+ & HBO Max
  • AES-128 encryption
  • Easy to use applications
  • Working VPN kill switch
  • No IP or DNS leaks

  • Excessive logging
  • Based in privacy unfriendly Russia
  • Very few security settings
  • Poor customer service
  • No Firestick application & no Smart DNS
  • No router support

Why Trust Us?

We’re fully independent and have been reviewing VPNs since 2016. Our ratings are based on our own testing results and are unaffected by financial incentives. Learn who we are and how we test VPNs.

Kaspersky is a big name in global cybersecurity. The Russian company operates a wide suite of security products, including antivirus and parental control software.

However, does Kaspersky VPN Secure Connection satisfy the specific needs of VPN users? How does it compare against VPNs from specialist VPN service providers?

We examined all aspects of the service’s free and premium applications, including its privacy and security settings, its speed performance, and its unblocking capabilities.

While the VPN’s speeds are exceptional, both over short and long distances, the VPN performed poorly in many of our test categories.

Kaspersky VPN logs too much data, lacks advanced security settings, and doesn’t unblock some of the most popular streaming platforms.

Overall, our latest tests confirm that Kaspersky VPN Secure Connection is still a subpar VPN service, despite its very fast connection speeds.

EXPERT ADVICE: Our top-rated VPN, ExpressVPN, is more secure and unblocks more websites and applications than Kaspersky VPN. Try ExpressVPN risk-free for 30 days.

Kaspersky VPN Secure Connection Key Data

 Paid
Free
Data CapUnlimited200MB per day
Download Speed92Mbps96Mbps
Logging PolicySome User LogsSome User Logs
Data LeaksNoNo
JurisdictionRussia (Privacy-Hostile)Russia (Privacy-Hostile)
Servers2,000+2,000+
IP Addresses2,000+2,000+
Countries with Servers831
US NetflixNoNo
TorrentingUnlimitedUnlimited
Simultaneous Connections5Unlimited
Works In ChinaNoNo
SupportTelephone, Email & Online ResourcesTelephone, Email & Online Resources
Cheapest Price$1.25/mo over 12 monthsFree
Money-Back Guarantee30-day Money-Back Guarantee-
Official WebsiteKaspersky.com

Privacy & Logging Policy

Kaspersky VPN is not private

1.8/10
How is this calculated?

We analyze and dissect the VPN service’s logging and privacy policy. A VPN should never log and store:

  • Your real IP address
  • Connection timestamps
  • DNS requests

Headquarters outside of 14 Eyes or EU jurisdictions are also preferable.

Kaspersky's intrusive logging policy and Russian jurisdiction make this VPN a bad choice for privacy. The service has also directly co-operated with the Russian government, which is a huge red flag.

Ranked #52 out of 65 VPNs for Privacy & Logging Policy

Here’s a table summarizing the information that Kaspersky VPN Secure Connection logs:

Data TypeLogged by Kaspersky VPN Secure Connection
Account InformationNo
Browsing ActivityNo
Date of Last ConnectionNo
Device InformationYes
DNS QueriesYes
Individual Bandwidth UsageYes
Individual Connection TimestampsYes
ISPNo
Number of Simultaneous ConnectionsNo
Originating IP AddressYes
VPN Server IPNo
VPN Server LocationNo

You can read Kaspersky VPN’s full privacy policy on its website under Kaspersky VPN Secure Connection.

Some of the data Kaspersky VPN logs can help with the running of the VPN network, and to provide users with statistics on their VPN usage.

For instance, you can view your data usage by day, the locations you have connected to, and the timestamps of when you connected and disconnected.

However, most of the data Kaspersky VPN collects ultimately erodes your internet privacy. The reality is many VPNs operate more effectively and without requiring all this data.

What’s even more concerning is that there is no mention of how long Kaspersky retains this data.

If you are based in the EU, in line with GDPR legislation, Kaspersky will delete all your data but only when you delete your account.

Concerning Ownership & Privacy-Unfriendly Jurisdiction

Kaspersky VPN Secure Connection is owned by Kaspersky Lab, which was founded in 1997 and is still being run by Eugene Kaspersky.

In recent years Eugene Kaspersky has come under fire for alleged connections to the Russian government.

These allegations are concerning, because the Russian government doesn’t allow for a free and open internet.

What is certain is that Kaspersky was the only major VPN service not to pull its servers out of Russia following Russia’s new laws against VPNs.

The contents of Kaspersky VPN’s privacy policy is therefore critical. Anything data the software keeps may be subject to surveillance from the Russian government.

Speed

Fast and consistent global speeds

9.3/10
How is this calculated?

We calculate the VPN’s speed rating using our download speeds, upload speeds, and ping (latency) measurements.

We regularly test the VPN’s local and international speeds using a dedicated 100Mbps internet connection in New York, USA.

Kaspersky VPN outperformed our expectations for connection speed. Our tests reveal it's an extremely fast VPN, with minimal slowdown on short and longer distances.

Ranked #17 out of 65 VPNs for Speed

Kaspersky VPN Secure Connection performed keeps performing extremely well in our speed tests.

Since we last reviewed Kaspersky VPN Secure Connection, the VPN’s speed performance has further improved.

Here’s a table showing Kaspersky’s speed test results:

We experienced a 8% speed reduction when connecting to nearby servers. Although this isn’t as fast as the leading VPNs, it’s still an impressive result.

Kaspersky’s speeds are more than fast enough for data-intensive tasks, including: online gaming, torrenting, and 4K streaming.

Connections were also very stable, and never dropped out during out tests.

The international speeds above are exceptional. Not even top VPNs like ExpressVPN and Private Internet Access can match these results.

To demonstrate this more clearly, we’ve compared Kaspersky’s international speeds to the very best VPNs in the chart below:

Comparison bar chart showing Kaspersky's average international speed performance against top VPN services.

The VPN service uses Hotspot Shield’s very fast Hydra protocol, which in part explains the impressive speeds above.

However, Kaspersky VPN’s latency (ping) suffered over longer distances, though. This means online gamers should avoid using this service, unless they’re connecting to a nearby VPN server.

Server Locations

VPN servers in 83 countries

6.5/10
How is this calculated?

The key factor for calculating this rating is the global spread and coverage of the VPN’s server network.

We also consider the total number of servers, the number of city-level servers, and the number of IP addresses available.

Kaspersky VPN runs 2,000+ servers across 83 countries. Overall, its server coverage is great across Europe, Asia, and North America. However, there are only a few servers in Africa. Server congestion is also possible with Kaspersky VPN. Other VPNs like NordVPN and PIA have more than double the amount of servers than Kaspersky VPN.

Ranked #44 out of 65 VPNs for Server Locations

Globe with a blue flag
83 Countries
Image of a city landscape
83 Cities
Image of a pink marker
2,000+ IP Addresses

Kaspersky VPN Secure Connection has servers in these regions:

Continent Number of Countries
Europe 44
Asia 22
South America 6
North America 6
Africa 3
Oceania 2

Kaspersky operates 2,000++ servers in 83 countries, which is decent for a mid-tier VPN.

Its server network across Europe and North America is actually rather extensive. In fact, a majority of countries in Europe have Kaspersky servers, including UK, France, Germany, Poland, Norway, Russia and more.

There are also plenty of Asian server locations to choose from, including Hong Kong, Japan, India, and South Korea.

However, if want to connect to servers outside these regions, you may be disappointed. Africa is extremely lacking is server options. There’s only three: Algeria, Egypt, and South Africa. There’s also only six server locations in South America.

After some investigation, we’ve identified that, although Kaspersky VPN uses Hotspot Shield’s technologies, it has a distinct server network.

Given Kaspersky’s close Russian ties, it’s not surprising there is a server available in Russia. This is a rarity following Russia’s laws surrounding VPNs.

Streaming

Unblocks some streaming platforms but not Netflix

5.3/10
How is this calculated?

This rating is calculated by how many different streaming services and regional content libraries the VPN can unblock, and how consistently it can access them.

We test access to Netflix, Disney+, Max, Amazon Prime Video, BBC iPlayer, and many more platforms on a weekly basis.

Kaspersky Secure Connection works with BBC iPlayer, Disney+, HBO Max, and Amazon Prime Video. However, the service doesn't currently unblock Hulu or Netflix. Netflix USA has occasionally worked in the past, but not recently.

Ranked #28 out of 65 VPNs for Streaming

Here’s a list of popular streaming platforms that Kaspersky VPN currently unblocks:

Streaming PlatformWorks with Kaspersky VPN Secure Connection
Amazon Prime VideoYes
BBC iPlayerYes
Channel 4Yes
Disney+Yes
Hotstar IndiaNo
HuluNo
ITVXYes
MaxYes
Netflix USNo

If you’re looking to stream HD video, Kaspersky VPN Secure Connection certainly has the speeds for it.

The VPN’s streaming capabilities are a mixed bag. The service works with some popular content platforms, but not with others.

In our latest streaming tests, the VPN unblocked popular platforms like Disney+, HBO Max, and Amazon Prime Video.

The VPN also worked with British TV services like BBC iPlayer, All 4 and ITVHub. We were surprised Kaspersky VPN unblocked BBC iPlayer – many VPNs fail to achieve this.

However, we couldn’t stream Hulu or any Netflix region. Kaspersky VPN used to occasionally unblock Netflix USA, however it hasn’t done so in recent tests.

Torrenting

Not private enough for safe torrenting

6.3/10
How is this calculated?

This rating is determined by the VPN’s torrenting speeds, the percentage of servers that allow P2P file sharing, the service’s privacy and trustworthiness, and useful settings like port forwarding.

For speed specifically, we calculate the VPN’s average download bitrate using our bespoke torrenting setup.

Kaspersky VPN logs too much internet data for us to recommend it to torrenters. Despite allowing P2P traffic on all its servers, and having a kill switch, the company's invasive logging practices are a red flag for us.

Ranked #29 out of 65 VPNs for Torrenting

Here’s a quick summary of how Kaspersky VPN performed in our torrenting tests.

Torrenting Attribute Result
Average Download Bitrate 9.9MiB/s
No. of P2P Servers 2,000+
Logging Policy Some User Logs
Kill Switch Yes
Port Forwarding No

Kaspersky VPN allows P2P traffic on all its 2,000+ servers.

When we tested the VPN for torrenting, we recorded very fast torrent speeds, found no IP or DNS leaks, and verified the kill switch works effectively.

Despite the positives we’ve identified above, Kaspersky’s is not a good VPN for torrenting.

The issue we have with the VPN service is its over-the-top logging practices.

Sadly, the VPN logs too much activity and device data, which could reveal a file-sharer’s identity if it landed in the wrong hands.

It would therefore be risky for a torrenter to use Kaspersky VPN to download or upload torrent files.

Bypassing Web Censorship

Doesn't work in China

3.8/10
How is this calculated?

We routinely test if the VPN can bypass strict internet restrictions in China using our remote-access server in Shanghai.

Other important factors we consider include obfuscation technologies and the availability of servers in neighboring countries (for faster connections).

Not only does Kaspesky not work in censored countries like China and Turkey. It does however work in Russia, since we believe it gives the Russian government access to its server keys.

Ranked #42 out of 65 VPNs for Bypassing Web Censorship

Kaspersky VPN has never worked in our China VPN tests, using our test server in Shanghai.

This isn’t surprising at all, since the VPN uses Hotspot Shield’s Hydra protocol, which doesn’t work in China.

Kaspersky even admits its VPN can’t be installed in the following countries due to legal limitations:

  • Belarus
  • China
  • Iran
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • Qatar
  • Saudi Arabia

Kaspersky VPN does work in Russia, though, since it complies with Russia’s new censorship legislation.

The company is Russian, after all, and still operates VPN servers in the country. We therefore assume that it’s allowing Russian authorities to check server logs.

It’s very bad for a VPN to agree to actively facilitate censorship. It’s in fact one of the worst things a VPN could do, which is why we don’t recommend using Kaspersky VPN in Russia.

Security & Technical Features

Secure but only has basic features

4.5/10
How is this calculated?

A secure VPN must offer OpenVPN or WireGuard protocols, AES-256 encryption, and a working kill switch.

To calculate this rating, we also factor in additional security settings and features.

Kaspersky VPN's security standards and technical features have significantly improved over time. It offers both WireGuard and Hydra protocols, as well as AES-128 and ChaCha20 encryption. In the last year, Kaspersky has also added double VPN and split tunneling to its VPN clients. However, it is still missing some useful features, like an ad blocker and first-party VPN servers.

Ranked #47 out of 65 VPNs for Security & Technical Features

ProtocolsAvailable in Kaspersky VPN Secure Connection
HydraYes
IKEv2/IPSecNo
OpenVPN (TCP/UDP)No
WireGuardYes
EncryptionAvailable in Kaspersky VPN Secure Connection
AES-128Yes
AES-192No
AES-256No
BlowfishNo
ChaCha20Yes
SecurityAvailable in Kaspersky VPN Secure Connection
Diskless ServersNo
DNS Leak BlockingNo
First-party DNSNo
IPv6 Leak BlockingNo
Supports TCP Port 443No
VPN Kill SwitchYes
WebRTC Leak BlockingNo
Advanced FeaturesAvailable in Kaspersky VPN Secure Connection
Ad BlockerNo
Dedicated IPNo
Double VPNYes
SOCKSNo
Split TunnelingYes
Static IPNo
Tor over VPN ServerNo
Tracker BlockerNo

Safe encryption & security protocols

Kaspersky VPN offers two highly-secure VPN protocols: WireGuard and Hydra (created by Hotspot Shield).

We’re glad to see Kaspersky adopted WireGuard recently in 2023. WireGuard is a trustworthy, open-source protocol that’s widely used by the best VPN in the industry.

Hotspot Shield states that Hydra is based on TLS 1.2, uses 128-bit AES encryption, 2048-bit RSA certificates for server authentication, and includes perfect forward secrecy (PFS). In our speed tests, we found Hydra delivers extremely fast speeds on a daily basis.

No IP or DNS leaks

Kaspersky VPN also passed our IP and DNS leak tests. The screenshot below shows us connecting to a Ukrainian server:

Screenshot of Kaspersky's successful leak test

Kaspersky passed all of our leak tests.

Kaspersky VPN’s kill switch also worked well in our security tests. This tool prevents your IP address from leaking during sudden VPN connection drops.

The desktop application also includes a setting to automatically connect to the VPN when you join an insecure WiFi network.

Device & OS Compatibility

No compatibility beyond standard platforms

How is this rated?

A high-quality VPN should maintain functional, fully-featured applications and browser extensions for as many platforms and devices as possible.

Our ‘Device & OS Compatibility’ assessment contributes to the Ease of Use rating.

Kaspersky VPN’s device compatibility is relatively limited. The company only maintains native VPN apps for iOS, Mac, Android and Windows. There is no Fire TV Stick app, no browser extensions, no Smart DNS tool, and no Linux GUI.

Apps

  1. Windows
  2. Mac
  3. iOS
  4. Android

The VPN service lacks the advanced compatibility top-rated services offer. For instance, there is no Fire TV Stick application, no Smart DNS functionality, and no way to install the VPN software on a router.

As a result, games console users won’t be able to easily use Kaspersky VPN. We recommend Private Internet Access as a good alternative.

Furthermore, there are no VPN browser extensions, and no Linux GUI.

Different device limit policies for free and premium plans

The company allows the use of its VPN on up to five devices with its premium subscription plans.

With the free plan, the device policy is unlimited but the data usage restriction is shared across all devices

Ease of Use

Basic but user-friendly applications

7.0/10
How is this calculated?

This rating mainly consists of the user-friendliness and intuitiveness of setting up and regularly using the VPN.

We also factor in customization settings, as well as device and OS compatibility (see section above).

All Kaspersky VPN's apps are clearly laid out with a conventional VPN design. They are therefore very easy to use, although they lack any advanced settings or features.

Ranked #38 out of 65 VPNs for Ease of Use

The user interface is consistent across all the VPN applications and pretty intuitive to use.

Kaspersky VPN's home screen and server list

Kaspersky VPN’s home screen and server list.

The app’s home screen features a standard On/Off switch, with a straightforward country server list.

All other settings, although there aren’t many, are accessible via the burger menu in the top-left corner of the app.

Basically, there isn’t much to get wrong with such a simple and basic VPN app.

Kaspersky VPN could have added common features we see in many VPN applications – for example displaying your VPN IP address or the protocol being used – but so far it hasn’t.

While some VPNs over-clutter their apps, Kaspersky has gone all the other way to provide very little functionality to its users.

Customer Support

No live chat support

6.3/10
How is this calculated?

This rating is based on our assessment of the VPN’s:

  • Live chat support
  • Email support
  • Online resources

Not every VPN offers all these support options, and they often vary in quality and response times.

Kaspersky lacks the instant, effective user support of smaller, more focused VPN products. It does offer FAQs and a ticket system, but no live chat.

Ranked #40 out of 65 VPNs for Customer Support

Customer SupportAvailable in Kaspersky VPN Secure Connection
24/7 Email SupportNo
24/7 Live Chat SupportNo
ChatbotNo
EmailYes
Email Support via Online FormYes
Live Chat SupportNo
Online ResourcesYes
Tutorial VideosNo

Our experience using Kaspersky VPN’s customer support was disappointing. Sadly, it just isn’t up to scratch with the leading VPN service providers.

The main downside is that there is no live chat support. Instead, you have to rely on online resources, or a slow ticketing system.

The VPN’s online customer support resources are comprehensive, but difficult to find and navigate. In many cases we found them more confusing than helpful.

If you send a query via the ticketing system, it generally takes at least a day to receive a reply. On one occasion we were even told to call an operator instead.

Price & Value

Cheap plans and a 30-day refund policy

6.5/10
How is this calculated?

While we do assign a ‘Price & Value’ rating, it doesn’t contribute to the Overall Rating. We believe the reader should decide what is or isn’t a reasonable price.

A good rating isn’t just based on how cheap the VPN is, but for the overall value it offers.

Kaspersky is a cheap VPN, however it doesn't represent good value because it lacks the privacy and security standards we expect from a VPN service.

Ranked #26 out of 65 VPNs for Price & Value

  1. Monthly

    $4.99/mo

    Billed $4.99 every month
  2. 12 Month(s)

    $1.25/mo

    Billed $15.00 the first 12 months, $30.00 thereafter
    Save 50%

Kaspersky VPN’s premium plans start at $4.99 on a pay-monthly basis, but the real savings come with the early plan, which costs just $1.25 a month.

This makes Kaspersky VPN one of the cheapest VPNs we’ve reviewed, although it’s not good enough to make our best cheap VPN list.

Kaspersky’s free VPN service

Kaspersky also offers a free VPN product, with a daily usage limit of only 200MB.

Although 200MB a day equates to roughly 6GB a month, this allowance is simply too little to allow for meaningful use of the VPN.There is an option to increase the free data allowance to 300MB per day, if you connect the VPN to your My Kaspersky account.

Unlike other free VPNs like Proton VPN Free and PrivadoVPN Free, Kaspersky Free doesn’t actually let you select a server of your choice. Instead, you’re automatically assigned a nearby server. This is extremely frustrating when you want a choice of server locations.

Payment & Refund Options

  1. Mastercard
  2. PayPal
  3. Visa

Kaspersky VPN offers very few payment options: credit/debit card and PayPal.

There is no option for anonymous payment methods like Bitcoin and other cryptocurrencies.

The VPN service also offers a 30-day money-back guarantee, which essentially lets you try the VPN before fully committing.

The Bottom Line

Comes with too much unsafe baggage

Based on our latest testing results, Kaspersky VPN is still not a good VPN.

It’s certainly very fast and it even unblocks some popular video platforms, however the privacy issues affecting the VPN are concerning.

The main issues with the VPN service are its intrusive logging policy, the fact it complies with Russian censorship laws, and it lacks advanced security settings.

There are other VPNs available for a similar price mark that offer more private and secure experience than Kaspersky VPN Secure Connection.

Alternatives to Kaspersky VPN Secure Connection

Hotspot Shield

Hotspot Shield

7.7/10

Kaspersky is built on Hotspot Shield but lacks some of its key features and has a much smaller server network. If you like Kaspersky’s speeds, but are looking for a better all round performer, Hotspot Shield is a great choice. Read Hotspot Shield review

PrivateVPN

PrivateVPN

9.1/10

It’s in the same price bracket as Kaspersky, but PrivateVPN has a lot more to offer. For a start its a no-logs provider. It also has a great server network across 59 countries, and works reliably with both BBC iPlayer and Netflix. Read PrivateVPN review

History of Major Updates to Kaspersky VPN

  • October 2023: Kaspersky VPN adds WireGuard and double VPN to its desktop and mobile apps.