Disclosure: Top10VPN is editorially independent. We may earn commissions if you buy a VPN through links on our site.

Touch VPN Review

 0% 
No user reviews
Touch VPN screenshot
Simon Migliano Head of Research at Top10VPN

Simon is a recognized world expert in VPNs. He's tested hundreds of VPN services and his research has featured on the BBC, The New York Times, CNet and more. Read full bio

Ask Simon about Touch VPN

Our Verdict

2.12.1/10
How is this calculated?

Our overall rating is reached by combining several subcategories. The subcategories are weighted as follows:

  • Logging & Jurisdiction: 30%
  • Speed & Reliability: 25%
  • Security & Features: 20%
  • Streaming: 10%
  • Torrenting: 5%
  • Ease of Use: 5%
  • Support: 5%

See our full methodology in how we review VPNs.

Touch VPN is a below-average free VPN. It's slow, has an intrusive logging policy, and barely any customer support. It fails to unblock any streaming services and it uses outdated encryption protocols like PPTP. Touch VPN is not a secure VPN and we strongly recommend you avoid it.

Ranked #61 out of 68

Touch VPN Category Ratings

  • 11.0/10
  • 2.62.6/10
  • 11.0/10
  • 5.65.6/10
  • 6.56.5/10
  • 11.0/10
  • 2.52.5/10
  • 3.93.9/10
  • 1.91.9/10

Touch VPN Pros & Cons

Pros

  1. User-friendly mobile app
  2. No personal or payment details required on signup

Cons

  1. Uses the least secure VPN protocol (PPTP)
  2. Very intrusive logging policy
  3. Doesn't unblock streaming services
  4. Torrenting not permitted on any servers
  5. No security features or kill switch
  6. Barely any customer support

Touch VPN describes itself as “The VPN service that keeps your phone, tablet & desktop secure & private.”

As of writing, the VPN service has over 10 million installs on Android alone, but do these big numbers make for a quality VPN? As it turns out, 10 million people can in fact be wrong.

We carefully analyzed Touch VPN’s mobile apps and can confirm the service is: slow, insecure, no good for unblocking websites or safe torrenting.

In this Touch VPN review we’ll detail every aspect of the VPN, and answer questions smart internet users want to know. For example:

  • Is Touch VPN safe & trustworthy to use?
  • Is TouchVPN a good free VPN?
  • How does Touch VPN work?
  • Is Touch VPN better than Hotspot Shield?

See our list of top-rated and safe free VPNs

Instead of running risks using Touch VPN, use an affordable VPN like IPVanish. It’s a very safe and private VPN.

Try IPVanish VPN or read our updated IPVanish review.

Touch VPN Key Data

Data CapUnlimited
Speed40Mbps
Logging PolicyIntrusive Logging
Data LeaksNo
JurisdictionUS (Five-Eyes Member)
ServersNot disclosed
IP AddressesNot disclosed
Countries19
US NetflixNo
TorrentingNo
Works in ChinaNo
SupportEmail and Online Resources Only
Official WebsiteTouchVPN.net

Touch VPN's logging policy is a concern

Logging & Jurisdiction

11.0/10
How is this calculated?

We dissect the logging and privacy policies of every VPN. A VPN should never log:

  • Your real IP address
  • Connection timestamps
  • DNS requests

A base of operations outside of 14-Eyes or EU jurisdiction is preferable.

Touch VPN logs way too much of your data. It knows when you use the VPN, how long you use it for, how much data you use, what your original IP address is, and even your approximate geographical location. This is far from being a private service, and it's based in the US – one of the worst places to base a VPN.

Touch VPN claims that it “only collect[s] a limited amount of information.” We went through its privacy policy with a fine-toothed comb and can say that is not the case.

Here’s a list of everything Touch VPN logs:

  • Original IP address (encrypted and deleted after each session)
  • Duration of VPN session
  • Bandwidth consumed during VPN session
  • Domains accessed by users (anonymized so as not to be identifiable to a specific user)
  • Device hash
  • Information about approximate geographical location
  • Internet Service Provider
  • Timestamps
  • Referring URLs
  • “Information about the nature of the requests that you make to our servers”

After all this, Touch VPN declares:

Our VPN products do not log any information that associates your identity with your VPN browsing activity.

The fact that Touch VPN needs to know your “approximate location” based on your IP address goes to show how far it is from being a privacy friendly VPN.

The service justifies the above by claiming that knowing your location helps “to provide you with [a] better service.” How this is supposed to work exactly, we’re not quite sure.

Touch VPN talks about how it uses “tracking technologies,” such as cookies and page tags. It’s basically tracking all of your clicks and activities.

You even have to allow the app to track your phone in your settings in order to use it.

The VPN service is also prepared to “allow our business partners to place certain tracking technologies in our services.” These “business partners” include 1Password and Identity Guard.

In summary, Touch VPN’s privacy policy is a mess.

US-based Ownership

Touch VPN is owned by Touch VPN Inc., which has been active since 2014. The company is also the developer behind the service VPN 360.

In 2015, Touch VPN was bought by AnchorFree, the company originally behind Hotspot Shield and Betternet.

In 2019, Anchorfree rebranded to Pango, which later merged with Aura, all based in the United States. In other words, Touch VPN is a US company.

Being American-owned is far from ideal, as the United States has extremely intrusive privacy laws and is a founding member of the Five-Eyes intelligence-sharing alliance.

Since Touch VPN logs users’ web activities, the fact the VPN company is based in the United States is of great concern.

Average connection speeds

Speed & Reliability

5.65.6/10
How is this calculated?

Speed ratings are calculated using upload speeds, download speeds, and ping (latency).

We test average speeds regularly using a dedicated 100Mbps connection in London, UK. Local download speed is considered the most important factor.

Touch VPN's local connections aren't terrible (20% speed loss on average) but it's long-distance ones are. We picked up only 3Mbps connecting to Germany.

In the absence of fully fledged apps for desktop, we ran Touch VPN through our speed tests as a mobile VPN.

We found the speeds to fluctuate wildly. But this was the average result:

Local Speed Test results before using Touch VPN:

  • Download Speed: 50Mbps
  • Upload Speed: 50Mbps
  • Ping: 3ms

Local Speed Test results with Touch VPN:

  • Download Speed: 40Mbps
  • Upload Speed: 49Mbps
  • Ping: 12ms

Download speed loss when Touch VPN is running: 20%

As you can see, TouchVPN isn’t terrible, as far as same-country connections are concerned.

How about other locations?

We put all the VPN apps through our rigorous speed testing process to determine the average speeds for multiple locations across the globe.

These are the average international speeds you can expect:

  • USA:
    • Download: 30Mbps
    • Upload: 28Mbps
  • Germany:
    • Download: 3Mbps
    • Upload: 3Mbps

While we picked up shockingly bad speeds when connecting to Germany, we got some tolerable results when connecting all the way to the US.

Just what sort of performance you’ll get from Touch VPN is hard to predict.

Small server network concentrated in Europe

Server Locations

6.56.5/10
How is this calculated?

The global spread and coverage of the VPN server network is the most important factor here.

We also consider the number of city-level servers, plus how many IP addresses are maintained.

This rating does not directly contribute to the Overall Rating, but instead makes up a portion of the Security & Features rating.

Touch VPN says it has 5,900 servers in 90 countries on its website. It doesn't. There are actually only 19 server locations available, and all of these are in Europe or North America. There are only six more countries that are restricted for paid users – hardly the 90 it promises. And there's no transparency about what type of servers these are.

Globe with a blue flag
19Countries
Image of a city landscape
19Cities
Image of a pink marker
Undisclosed number ofIP Addresses

Touch VPN’s free mobile app for Android includes 19 server options, including:

  • Bulgaria
  • Canada
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • France
  • Germany
  • Republic of Ireland
  • Italy
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Romania/li>
  • Russia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Turkey
  • Ukraine
  • UK
  • US

This isn’t a large or particularly diverse selection of servers.

North America is poorly served with only two server locations marked as Canada and the US.

The VPN network is overwhelmingly focused on Europe. There are no servers in Australia, in Asia, or in South America.

We recommend HideMyAss! for a much wider selection of servers. You can read our review of HMA VPN here.

The iOS version is be limited to a single ‘Optimal Server’ option, which is extremely limiting.

We also discovered that didn’t always connect to the location we selected. Connecting to the Russian server, our IP was registered in Ireland.

This is an unreliable VPN service.

Works with zero streaming services

Streaming

11.0/10
How is this calculated?

Streaming is rated by the number of different services unlocked, how many regional libraries are viewable, and how consistently the VPN can access them.

Netflix, BBC iPlayer, HBO Max, DAZN, and Amazon Prime Video are all tested on a weekly basis.

People often turn to free VPNs for a quick solution to streaming blocks. Don't bother with Touch VPN, which is completely unable to unblock a single streaming service. That means no extra Netflix or BBC iPlayer, or anything else.

Like most free VPNs, we suspect Touch VPN appeals to a lot of people for streaming alone.

We tested the Touch VPN Chrome extension to find out if it unblocks BBC iPlayer or Netflix on a desktop computer.

We found that TouchVPN consistently fails to unblock US Netflix and other streaming services on both desktop and mobile devices.

We were hoping Touch VPN would at least work for your entertainment needs, even if it throws your privacy out the window. The truth is TouchVPN is absolutely useless.

The solution is to use one of these free VPNs to bypass geo-restrictions and stream video content from abroad.

No P2P support, logs data, slow speeds

Torrenting

2.62.6/10
How is this calculated?

We calculate the average download bitrate of every VPN using a bespoke torrenting setup.

Testing also factors in the percentage of servers which permit P2P, plus useful features like port forwarding.

Touch VPN is a terrible VPN if you want to torrent. It logs your data, there are no security features, and it's incredibly slow. There's absolutely no reason to use this VPN for P2P activity.

Touch VPN is not recommended for torrenting, either.

It doesn’t support P2P activity on any of its servers, it’s got an invasive privacy policy, no advanced security features, and its jurisdiction is in the privacy-unfriendly US — bad news for torrenters.

If you’re looking to protect your P2P activity, we recommend looking at our recommended free VPNs for torrenting, instead.

No obfuscation to beat censors

Bypassing Censorship

11.0/10
How is this calculated?

Our remote-access server in Shanghai, China routinely tests if a VPN can beat restrictions and access a free, open internet. Obfuscation technologies and nearby servers are also a contributing factor.

This rating does not directly contribute to the Overall Rating, but instead makes up a portion of the Security & Features rating.

Touch VPN is unable to get around censorship. Even if it could we would still suggest not using it. The company isn't trustworthy, and there are no servers near strict censorship countries, meaning your internet connection will be very poor.

Touch VPN is no good if you need to connect outside of China or any other highly-censored country.

There are no obfuscation tools to hide the fact that you’re using a VPN, so your government or ISP can detect and block your traffic with little effort if they wanted to.

Even if by chance you’re able to bypass China’s Great Firewall, or other blocks in censoring countries, Touch VPN doesn’t have the necessary security features to maintain your privacy.

Let’s not forget its ridiculously intrusive logging policy that means all of your online activity is monitored and stored, meaning it’s barely an improvement on not even using a VPN

Browser extension only for desktop

Platforms & Devices

How is device compatibility rated?

A quality VPN should maintain functional, fully-featured applications and extensions for as many platforms and devices as possible.

This does not directly contribute to the Overall Rating, but instead makes up a portion of the Ease of Use rating.

Touch VPN is available on mobile only. There are no functioning desktop apps or manual workarounds. There is a Chrome and Firefox extension, but these are less safe than full VPNs and we caution against installing them.

Apps

If you recall that Touch VPN claims to keep “your phone, tablet & desktop secure & private,” we can 100% confirm that this is not true, for the simple fact that it isn’t even available on desktop.

Touch VPN is only available on:

  1. iOS Logo
    iOS
  2. Android Logo
    Android

Touch VPN says that it is available for Windows and MacOS, but that hasn’t been the case for as long as we’ve been testing the service, which is over a year now.

The app exists in both the Windows and Apple store but isn’t available to download. Asking about this, we received a generic, corporate response:

Touch VPN Email Response

There are no manual workarounds for other devices so you can’t install Touch VPN at router level, nor can you use it with any games consoles or streaming devices.

Browser Extensions

  1. Chrome Logo
    Chrome
  2. Firefox Logo
    Firefox

Despite the lack of desktop apps, you can still download Touch VPN as a Chrome and Firefox browser extension—it’s free and very easy to use. 

It comes with the option to connect to seven countries, including:

  • Canada
  • France
  • Germany
  • Netherlands
  • Russia
  • UK
  • US

Touch VPN is misleading when it says its service is available on MacOS and Windows, as a browser extension is not, strictly speaking, a VPN service – it’s simply an unencrypted proxy that will spoof your location.

Outdated encryption protocol & no kill switch

Security & Features

2.52.5/10
How is this calculated?

Top-rated VPNs offer OpenVPN or WireGuard protocols, AES-256 encryption, and a functional kill switch. We also consider additional security features and the global spread of VPN servers.

Touch VPN still uses PPTP security protocol. This is so out of date that it's dangerous to your online safety. There's no kill switch, either, which is an essential feature of any VPN. Using Touch VPN is a risky business. A split tunneling feature has been introduced, thoug.

Protocols
  1. PPTP
Encryption
  1. Undisclosed
Security
  1. WebRTC Leak Blocking
Advanced features
  1. Ad Blocker

Touch VPN is not safe.

It uses the PPTP protocol, which is an insecure, easy-to-crack encryption protocol that is very outdated.

There’s also no kill switch available within the app, which puts your information and privacy at risk should your internet connection fail for any reason.

Its logging policy is incredibly invasive and includes the collection of personal data such as your IP address, location, browsing activity, and device type.

We were surprised to see that Touch VPN has developed its own split tunneling tool called ‘Apps Control’, which allows you to select the apps that are encrypted and which aren’t. The problem is that Touch VPN’s encryption is so poor in the first place.

The Chrome extension does come with additional features including a tracker blocker, cookie blocker, malware blocker, and WebRTC blocker.

You can also alternate between IPSec and Hydra TCP protocols. That said, this does not make up for the lack of security provided by the rest of the VPN service.

Overall, there’s no way we can recommend Touch VPN to anybody who takes their online privacy and security seriously.

Extremely simple applications

Ease of Use

3.93.9/10
How is this calculated?

This rating mainly consists of the intuitiveness of setup and everyday use.

Device or platform compatibility and customization options are also a factor.

We don't recommend Touch VPN at all but we can't call it complicated. The apps are very easy to install and use, as is the extension. It consists of a connect button, some servers, and a sidebar menu with few features. This is naturally very restrictive.

How to Install & Set Up Touch VPN

Installing the app on Android, we were asked to include payment details. But don’t worry, you can select ‘Skip’ to can access the app without giving away any payment details, so don’t be fooled.

Touch VPN couldn’t be easier to add as a Chrome extension. All it requires is a click from the store or website.

The extension is easily used too. A simple drop-down with server options.

You can’t get much simpler really, and that’s one of TouchVPN’s few positives, even if that’s at the expense of a robust service.

Barely any customer support

Customer Support

1.91.9/10
How is this calculated?

This rating is based on our assessment of each VPN’s:

  • Email support
  • Live chat support
  • Online resources

Not every VPN offers all of these, and they often vary in quality and response time.

Touch VPN's customer support is threadbare. There's an email address you can contact for generic, corporate responses and a woeful FAQ on its website. This VPN has a mountain to climb before we can say that it knows its stuff or serves its customers well.

EmailYes
Online ResourcesYes

Touch VPN comes with absolutely no support other than email.

The ‘FAQ’ on the website is a drop down menu, but it doesn’t respond to your clicks. It’s just for show.

But if you go to ‘Support’ you’ll find some actual information.

There are, however, only these solutions: ‘I Can’t Connect’ and ‘Can’t Access Netflix’. There are also instructions on how to ‘Cancel iOS Subscription’.

There needs to be way more information here before we could consider it properly useful.

There is an email option, and responses were quick enough, but they were generic and corporate – we didn’t really feel like we were being listened to.

Touch VPN has got a lot of work to do when it comes to customer support.

Avoid this VPN

The Bottom Line

TouchVPN is a poor quality VPN in almost every aspect.

It provides lacklustre speeds, zero customer support, and will not work to unblock streaming services.

The encryption protocols are outdated and its invasive logging policy puts your privacy at risk.

It even gets its own name wrong on its website, calling itself WVPN, which is perhaps a hold-over from an old name it has since rebranded from.

The website also includes placeholder text where someone has either forgotten to write actual information, or simply not bothered to.

Overall, this is a highly unprofessional and useless VPN that falls far below average for both entertainment and privacy purposes.

We recommend you avoid Touch VPN entirely and consider more established free VPN services.

 

Additional research by David Hughes

Alternatives to Touch VPN

Windscribe

Windscribe

8.68.6/10

Windscribe Free is currently the best free VPN. It’s very secure as free services go and picks up some nifty speeds. It protects without costing a cent. Read Windscribe review

Hotspot Shield Logo

Hotspot Shield

8.38.3/10

Hotspot Shield is owned by the same company as Touch VPN, and it’s a much better choice in general. There is a free version of the app, but we recommend the safety guarantee that comes with a premium subscription. Read Hotspot Shield review

About the Author


  • Simon Migliano Head of Research at Top10VPN

    Simon Migliano

    Simon is a recognized world expert in VPNs. He's tested hundreds of VPN services and his research has featured on the BBC, The New York Times, CNet and more. Read full bio


User Feedback for Touch VPN

  • 0 user reviews
  • 1 question answered