Disclosure: Top10VPN is editorially independent. We may earn commissions if you buy a VPN through links on our site.

VPN 360 Review

 30% 
(2 User reviews)
VPN 360 screenshot
Headshot of Top10VPN.com Site Editor Callum Tennent

Callum oversees how we test and review VPN services. He's a member of the IAPP, and his advice about VPNs has featured in Forbes and the Internet Society. Read full bio

Ask Callum about VPN 360

Our Verdict

2.92.9/10
How is this calculated?

Our overall rating is reached by combining several subcategories. The subcategories are weighted as follows:

  • Logging & Jurisdiction: 30%
  • Speed & Reliability: 25%
  • Security & Features: 20%
  • Streaming: 10%
  • Torrenting: 5%
  • Ease of Use: 5%
  • Support: 5%

See our full methodology in how we review VPNs.

VPN 360 is a free, mobile-only VPN for iOS and Android. We don't recommend using it though: its security and privacy is weak, its speeds are unreliable, and it doesn't work with Netflix. There are much safer and more transparent VPN services available.

Ranked #54 out of 68

VPN 360 Category Ratings

  • 0.30.3/10
  • 00.0/10
  • 3.23.2/10
  • 4.84.8/10
  • 0.90.9/10
  • 4.14.1/10
  • 1.31.3/10
  • 55.0/10
  • 2.72.7/10

VPN 360 Pros & Cons

Pros

  1. iOS app is fast, even over long distances
  2. Custom apps are very simple to use

Cons

  1. Android app very slow
  2. Only one VPN server location (US)
  3. No VPN kill switch
  4. Doesn’t work with Netflix
  5. Intrusive pop-up ads
  6. Multiple (questionable) privacy policies

VPN 360 claims to be one of the best and easiest ways to access all your favorite content for free.

But is the above statement true? To cut a long story short: no.

In our tests we discovered a conflicting logging policy and a lack of transparency surrounding security protocols and encryption.

Additionally, VPN 360 doesn’t unblock Netflix, and it’s not secure enough for safe torrenting.

Read our Windscribe review, our top-rated free VPN

PrivateVPN isn’t free, but it’s very cheap, streams Netflix and is much safer than VPN 360. Try it risk-free for 30 days.

Keep reading our VPN 360 review to see precisely why we discourage using this mobile VPN.

VPN 360 Key Data

Data CapUnlimited
Speed56Mbps
Logging PolicySome User Logs
Data LeaksNo
JurisdictionUS (Five-Eyes Member)
ServersNot disclosed
IP AddressesNot disclosed
Countries1
US NetflixNo
TorrentingUnlimited
Works in ChinaNo
SupportEmail Support
Official WebsiteGoogle Play Store

VPN 360 logs personal web data

Logging & Jurisdiction

3.23.2/10
How is this calculated?

We dissect the logging and privacy policies of every VPN. A VPN should never log:

  • Your real IP address
  • Connection timestamps
  • DNS requests

A base of operations outside of 14-Eyes or EU jurisdiction is preferable.

While VPN 360 doesn't have its own logging policy. The parent company, Aura, admits its VPNs log huge amounts of information including IP addresses, connection records and even anonymized usage data.

VPN 360’s privacy policy states that the VPN service doesn’t store logs of users’ browsing activities.

However, Aura (VPN 360’s holding company) admits to logging URLs visited through its VPN servers – but not in combination with anything that identifies an individual. It does pass on your approximate location to advertisers, though.

Aura’s policy also states that the VPN collects connection timestamps and the bandwidth consumed per session, as well as device hashes. It doesn’t store user IP addresses beyond your session.

VPN 360’s Android privacy policy states that it also logs user bandwidth, but in aggregated form.

However, VPN 360 says that it “may become necessary to temporarily maintain usage data to assist in debugging a problem with the service.”

This usage data may include the date and time of your login and the IP addresses you visited. VPN 360 claims this information is deleted once the issue has been resolved.

More worryingly, VPN 360 is willing to disclose “personal information, including your usage data, to governmental authorities or agencies . . . if there is a good faith belief that such collection or disclosure is required by law.”

This suggests that VPN 360 will enable logging if requested to do so.

A Google search showing multiple duplicate logging policies

We can’t trust VPN 360 fully until it irons out the confusions over its multiple privacy policies and copy-and-pasted Terms of Service.

Even then, Aura’s logging policy is far from perfect. On the basis of this alone, we don’t think you should use this VPN.

VPN 360 Ownership

When we looked into VPN 360’s background a few different names arose.

VPN 360 doesn’t have a website, so the Apple App Store and Google Play Store are the only available sources of information.

The Google Play Store and Apple App Store both list VPN 360 as being owned by the same company that developed Touch VPN (which we’ve reviewed here), TouchVPN Inc.

However, the support email brings up another company, Infinity Software, which claims to be “a small company based in Hong Kong focused on user experience (UX), great design and development of web and mobile applications.”

The iOS privacy policy redirects to Aura, the US company that owns Hotspot Shield (read our review) and Betternet (read our review).

Turns out that in 2015, Touch VPN was bought by AnchorFree, which later rebranded to Pango, and then Aura.

But where does Infinity Software come into the equation?

A member of VPN 360’s customer support team told us Infinity Software developed and maintains the VPN service.

It’s definitely not the most clear cut and transparent VPN service we’ve reviewed.

Our independent investigation into free apps actually confirmed a link between VPN 360 and mainland China.

Ultimately, VPN 360 operates under US jurisdiction and therefore is subject to the nation’s strict data and surveillance laws.

Quick iOS app but painfully slow Android app

Speed & Reliability

4.84.8/10
How is this calculated?

Speed ratings are calculated using upload speeds, download speeds, and ping (latency).

We test average speeds regularly using a dedicated 100Mbps connection in London, UK. Local download speed is considered the most important factor.

Unusually for a VPN, VPN 360s speeds vary significantly between devices. It's fairly fast on iOS, but sluggishly slow on Android.

VPN 360’s Android app and iOS are wildly different when it comes to speed.

Let’s start with the good news – the iOS app is surprisingly fast, even if there is only one server location available for free users.

Connecting from the UK to the free US server we experienced quick speeds, so if you live in North America it should be even quicker.

Local Speed Test results before using VPN 360:

  • Download Speed: 89.4Mbps
  • Upload Speed: 81.2Mbps
  • Ping: 5ms

Local Speed Test results with VPN 360:

  • Download Speed: 56.17Mbps
  • Upload Speed: 43.33Mbps
  • Ping: 93ms

Download speed loss when VPN 360 is running: 37%

These kinds of speeds are good enough for a range of online activities including browsing, streaming, and torrenting.

Now for the bad news.

The Android app is incredibly slow. We recorded VPN speeds under 2Mbps on a 100Mbps line. Such slowness will affect everything you do online.

It’s unclear why there’s such a discrepancy between the iOS and Android apps. It seems the VPN 360 support team doesn’t know either – it failed to reply to our query about it.

Free users get acces to a US server

Server Locations

0.90.9/10
How is this calculated?

The global spread and coverage of the VPN server network is the most important factor here.

We also consider the number of city-level servers, plus how many IP addresses are maintained.

This rating does not directly contribute to the Overall Rating, but instead makes up a portion of the Security & Features rating.

For free users there's only one server option on VPN 360: the US. Users based in Europe, Asia, Africa or South America will probably want to look elsewhere.

Globe with a blue flag
1Countries
Image of a city landscape
1Cities
Image of a pink marker
Undisclosed number ofIP Addresses

VPN 360’s only server location available to free users is the US.

This is far from ideal for optimizing speeds and accessing geo-restricted content.

Confusingly, the apps do come with the full server locations list, but if you click on any of the locations the VPN will prompt you to upgrade to a premium subscription.

VPN360 server locations

While most free VPN services don’t offer huge server networks, most come with several options to choose from.

For example, reviewing TunnelBear we discovered the service offers free VPN servers in 41 countries.

Even VPN 360’s premium subscription only comes with 10 locations and costs a steep $11.99 a month.

Doesn’t work with Netflix

Streaming

0.30.3/10
How is this calculated?

Streaming is rated by the number of different services unlocked, how many regional libraries are viewable, and how consistently the VPN can access them.

Netflix, BBC iPlayer, HBO Max, DAZN, and Amazon Prime Video are all tested on a weekly basis.

VPN 360 only has a US server, so regional services from outside of the country (such as BBC iPlayer) don't work. It's also awful for premium US streaming services, though: we weren't able to connect to Netflix or Disney+, for instance.

It’s not surprising that VPN 360 doesn’t work with major streaming services like Netflix and BBC iPlayer.

For a start, it doesn’t have any server choices, so if the only free server fails to grant you access to your favorite shows you’ll be left with no other options.

Secondly, there’s no UK server, so it’s impossible to watch BBC iPlayer.

Unfortunately, most free VPN services don’t work to unlock Netflix and the like – they simply don’t put resources into getting around the streaming services’ VPN crackdowns and blocks.

If you really want to use a VPN to stream the world’s content you’ll have to pay for one – here’s a list of the best VPNs for streaming to help you out.

P2P traffic is blocked on the one available server

Torrenting

00.0/10
How is this calculated?

We calculate the average download bitrate of every VPN using a bespoke torrenting setup.

Testing also factors in the percentage of servers which permit P2P, plus useful features like port forwarding.

VPN 360 blocks P2P traffic on its server, but we wouldn't recommend using it if it did. The service is neither private, nor secure, and lacks a kill switch.

VPN 360 doesn’t claim to block P2P traffic, but we weren’t able to torrent with it in our tests.

Even if it worked, there’s no VPN kill switch, which could leave your private P2P activities exposed to your ISP or other third parties.

The lack of transparency surrounding the VPN protocols used and the confusing logging policies are also reasons to not risk it.

Try out these free VPNs for torrenting instead.

Lacks the tools required to work in China

Bypassing Censorship

4.14.1/10
How is this calculated?

Our remote-access server in Shanghai, China routinely tests if a VPN can beat restrictions and access a free, open internet. Obfuscation technologies and nearby servers are also a contributing factor.

This rating does not directly contribute to the Overall Rating, but instead makes up a portion of the Security & Features rating.

VPN 360 won't work in China, and it's unlikely to work in other censored regions. It doesn't include any obfuscation technology, which makes it super easy to for governments to identify and block.

It’s unlikely that VPN 360 will work reliably in China.

There’s no obfuscation tools to mask VPN traffic, and so it would likely get blocked by the Great Firewall.

If you’re traveling to China you’ll have to get a VPN that’s designed for beating the censors, and the most effective will cost you.

ExpressVPN is one of the most reliable VPNs for China.

We don’t recommend VPN 360 for other high-censorship countries either due to the lack of server location choice and missing VPN kill switch.

Simple VPN apps for mobile devices only

Device Compatibility

How is device compatibility rated?

A quality VPN should maintain functional, fully-featured applications and extensions for as many platforms and devices as possible.

This does not directly contribute to the Overall Rating, but instead makes up a portion of the Ease of Use rating.

You can access VPN 360 on either Android or iOS. It doesn’t have apps for desktop or other platforms.

Apps

  1. iOS Logo
    iOS
  2. Android Logo
    Android

VPN 360 is a mobile-only VPN with custom apps for Android and iOS.

There’s no way to use it on Windows, MacOS, or Linux computers.

And forget about installing the VPN on your router.

Lack of transparency about encryption

Security & Features

1.31.3/10
How is this calculated?

Top-rated VPNs offer OpenVPN or WireGuard protocols, AES-256 encryption, and a functional kill switch. We also consider additional security features and the global spread of VPN servers.

While the iOS app is ok, VPN 360 doesn't publish any information about its encryption and VPN protocols on its Android app. Both apps also lack a necessary kill switch.

Protocols
  1. IKEv2/IPSec
Encryption
  1. Undisclosed
Security
  1. None
Advanced features
  1. None

VPN 360 doesn’t clearly state which VPN protocols and ciphers it uses to encrypt users’ internet traffic.

While the iOS app does give users an option to connect through IKEv2 – a safe, secure, and fast protocol – there isn’t any information readily available about the Android app.

The iOS app also comes with ‘Auto mode’, ‘Stay connected mode’, and ‘Fast mode’ next to the IKEv2 connection option. There is no contextual information given about these modes and whether they use a different protocol or not.

Screenshot of VPN360 connections modes in iOS app

There’s also no information given about the type of encryption ciphers VPN 360 uses.

On top of the lack of transparency about the technology behind VPN 360 the apps don’t come with a VPN kill switch.

We consider a kill switch to be essential – it protects your private data in the event of a sudden VPN disconnect.

Thankfully we didn’t experience any IP, DNS, or WebRTC leaks during our tests:

Screenshot of VPN360 leak test results

We test from the UK and connected to VPN360’s free US server.

Super easy to use, but has annoying pop-ups

Ease of Use

55.0/10
How is this calculated?

This rating mainly consists of the intuitiveness of setup and everyday use.

Device or platform compatibility and customization options are also a factor.

VPN 360's apps are very limited. This means they are easy to use, but also lack any advanced functionality or customization options. They also include some very annoying pop-up adverts.

How to Install & Set Up VPN 360

It doesn’t take much technical knowhow to install and use VPN 360’s custom VPN apps for Android and iOS.

All you need to do is download them from the relevant app store, tap through a couple of installation prompts, and click the connect button in the center of the app.

There is a server location list within the app but there’s no point looking at it as free users only have access to the United States server.

The iOS app comes with some minimal settings (VPN protocol selection), while the Android app has none at all.

Aside from the lack of security features our biggest frustration with the VPN 360 apps is the constant pop-up ads. They’re intrusive and disruptive.

The ‘Fast mode (beta) connection mode for iOS didn’t work for us either.

No website, fairly quick email replies

Customer Support

2.72.7/10
How is this calculated?

This rating is based on our assessment of each VPN’s:

  • Email support
  • Live chat support
  • Online resources

Not every VPN offers all of these, and they often vary in quality and response time.

While VPN 360 lacks a website, we did get a response when we contacted the support email on the Google App Store. This is the baseline of what we would expect from a VPN, but at least it makes it.

EmailYes

There’s no official website for VPN 360, nor are there any FAQs or troubleshooting tips on the Google Play Store or iOS App Store entries.

It’s a given that VPN 360 doesn’t have live chat support, but there is a support email provided.

While we didn’t have much hope for a response to our questions we were surprised to receive one after just an hour or so.

The VPN 360 email support team answered most of our questions comprehensively, but it’d be better for there to be a dedicated website with a support page to save users the hassle of getting in touch over simple queries.

Do We Recommend VPN 360?

The Bottom Line

No. The huge differences between its two apps, the inadequate security features, and lack of a website mean we cannot recommend VPN 360.

There are far safer and more transparent VPNs available.

Additional research by Liam Mullally

Alternatives to VPN 360

ProtonVPN logo landscape

ProtonVPN Free

6.66.6/10

If you’re after a free VPN you can use for extended periods of time ProtonVPN is a great choice - there’s no VPN data cap. ProtonVPN is really safe and secure, and the speeds aren’t bad either. Read ProtonVPN Free review

TunnelBear Logo

TunnelBear

7.47.4/10

While TunnelBear does limit users to just 500MB per month it comes with 23 free VPN server locations. That’s ideal if you need occasional access to restricted websites. Read TunnelBear review

About the Author


  • Headshot of Top10VPN.com Site Editor Callum Tennent

    Callum Tennent

    Callum oversees how we test and review VPN services. He's a member of the IAPP, and his advice about VPNs has featured in Forbes and the Internet Society. Read full bio


User Feedback for VPN 360