Disclosure: Top10VPN is editorially independent. We may earn commissions if you buy a VPN through links on our site.

StrongVPN Review

 98.82400000000001% 
(34 User reviews)
StrongVPN screenshot
Simon Migliano Head of Research at Top10VPN

Simon is a recognized world expert in VPNs. He's tested hundreds of VPN services and his research has featured on the BBC, The New York Times, CNet and more. Read full bio

Ask Simon about StrongVPN

Our Verdict

8.18.1/10
How is this calculated?

Our overall rating is reached by combining several subcategories. The subcategories are weighted as follows:

  • Logging & Jurisdiction: 30%
  • Speed & Reliability: 25%
  • Security & Features: 20%
  • Streaming: 10%
  • Torrenting: 5%
  • Ease of Use: 5%
  • Support: 5%

See our full methodology in how we review VPNs.

StrongVPN is a safe VPN with fast speeds and a strict no-logs policy. It’s a good choice for P2P torrenting and unblocking US Netflix. It also has a generous limit of 12 simultaneous connections, which you can use on iOS, Android, PC, Mac and more.

Ranked #18 out of 68

StrongVPN Category Ratings

  • 8.88.8/10
  • 8.78.7/10
  • 9.99.9/10
  • 8.58.5/10
  • 7.97.9/10
  • 77.0/10
  • 8.88.8/10
  • 8.48.4/10
  • 88.0/10
  • 7.57.5/10

StrongVPN Pros & Cons

Pros

  1. Fast & reliable speeds
  2. Works with Netflix & BBC iPlayer
  3. Torrenting & P2P allowed on all servers
  4. No-logs & no IP, DNS, or WebRTC leaks
  5. Apps for iOS, Android, MacOS, Windows
  6. Up to 12 simultaneous connections

Cons

  1. Small server network
  2. No VPN browser extensions
  3. Based in privacy-unfriendly USA

StrongVPN is one of the oldest popular VPNs. It started in 1995 selling dedicated servers and in 2005 launched its first VPN service.

We tested StrongVPN extensively to answer common questions like:

  • How good is StrongVPN?
  • What happened to ibVPN?
  • Is StrongVPN very fast?
  • Does it work with Netflix?
  • Is torrenting/P2P allowed?
  • Does StrongVPN have a kill switch?

After reading our StrongVPN review, you’ll know whether this VPN is the right one for you. It’s not our favorite VPN, though. Read our October ExpressVPN review to see why it’s our top VPN of 2021.

UPDATE:

J2 Global, the parent company of StrongVPN, has acquired ibVPN. All ibVPN accounts have migrated to StrongVPN, and ibVPN’s services have been shut down. Currently, the SaferVPN service is also being integrated into StrongVPN.

StrongVPN Key Data

Data CapUnlimited
Speed84Mbps
Logging PolicyNo Logs
Data LeaksNo
JurisdictionUS (Five-Eyes Member)
Servers950
IP Addresses60,000
Countries39
US NetflixYes
TorrentingUnlimited
Works in ChinaYes
Support24/7 Live Chat
Cheapest Price$2.33/mo over 12 Months
Official WebsiteStrongVPN.com

StrongVPN is a truly no-logs service

Logging & Jurisdiction

9.99.9/10
How is this calculated?

We dissect the logging and privacy policies of every VPN. A VPN should never log:

  • Your real IP address
  • Connection timestamps
  • DNS requests

A base of operations outside of 14-Eyes or EU jurisdiction is preferable.

StrongVPN is owned by J2 Global, who also own other VPNs including IP Vanish and a number of tech publications. The VPN is operated from the US, which we don't like, but it does operate a totally zero logs policy.

The StrongVPN VPN service was launched in 2005 by Strong Technology, LLC. StrongVPN has changed hands a number of times over the years, most recently in 2019 when it was acquired by the public company J2 Global.

StrongVPN Technology and J2 Global operate under the jurisdiction of the USA, which is one of the least privacy-friendly locations in the world.

In August 2020, Strong Technology also acquired ibVPN, a competing VPN company.

The VPN service states that it will comply with valid subpoena requests, but it can’t provide information that it does not have.

That’s because StrongVPN doesn’t collect any customer activity logs so there’s no way of tying down any web activity to an individual user.

Logging Policy

StrongVPN has a very strict zero-logs policy in place.

The VPN doesn’t collect or log any traffic or use of its VPN service. This includes even basic connection metadata such as timestamps, chosen server or bandwidth consumed.

Because it collects absolutely no customer data, there is no way any of your web browsing activity can be traced back to you as an individual, which is great news.

Very impressive same-country speeds

Speed & Reliability

8.58.5/10
How is this calculated?

Speed ratings are calculated using upload speeds, download speeds, and ping (latency).

We test average speeds regularly using a dedicated 100Mbps connection in London, UK. Local download speed is considered the most important factor.

StrongVPN’s speeds are more than fast enough for HD streaming, both for same-country connections and longer distance ones. You can expect very quick speeds connecting out to the US from Europe, too.

On local connections, StrongVPN isn’t the fastest VPN we’ve tested, causing a 10% reduction in download speed. This should be fast enough for HD streaming, but 4K fans might want to look to a faster alternative.

Local Speed Test results before using StrongVPN:

  • Download Speed: 93.98Mbps
  • Upload Speed: 96.28Mbps
  • Ping: 3ms

Local Speed Test results with StrongVPN:

  • Download Speed: 84.24Mbps
  • Upload Speed: 74.6Mbps
  • Ping: 16ms

Download speed loss when StrongVPN is running: 10%

We have also tested StrongVPN’s average speeds connecting from the UK out to a range of locations around the world:

  • USA: 58Mbps (down) & 33Mbps (up)
  • Germany: 83Mbps (down) & 76Mbps (up)
  • Singapore: 19Mbps (down) & 1Mbps (up)
  • Australia: 28Mbps (down) & 7Mbps (up)

Find out more about our VPN speed testing.

59 locations across 39 countries

Server Locations

7.97.9/10
How is this calculated?

The global spread and coverage of the VPN server network is the most important factor here.

We also consider the number of city-level servers, plus how many IP addresses are maintained.

This rating does not directly contribute to the Overall Rating, but instead makes up a portion of the Security & Features rating.

StrongVPN operates 950 servers over 39 countries, including 20 additional city level locations. This isn't the biggest server network we've seen, but it's made up entirely of in-house, bare metal servers.

Globe with a blue flag
39Countries
Image of a city landscape
59Cities
Image of a pink marker
60,000IP Addresses

StrongVPN’s server network is on the small side, with around 950 servers spread across over 39 countries. We’d like to see StrongVPN serve more countries – ideally 50 or more – with better coverage of Africa and specific countries like New Zealand.

Here are some of the countries you can connect to with StrongVPN:

  • Argentina
  • Australia
  • Brazil
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Estonia
  • France
  • Germany
  • Hong Kong
  • India
  • Ireland
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Latvia
  • Luxembourg
  • Malaysia
  • Mexico
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Philippines
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Singapore
  • South Korea
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Taiwan
  • Turkey
  • UK
  • US

StrongVPN also operates own its own servers just like its ‘sister’ VPN IPVanish.

StrongVPN US city level servers

Multi-city servers can be found in:

  • US (15 cities)
  • UK (6)
  • Canada (3)
  • Australia (2, no Perth)
  • Germany (2)
  • Brazil (2)

There is good server coverage in Asia with servers located in Hong Kong, Japan, Malaysia, Singapore, South Korea and Taiwan. South America counts servers in Argentina, Brazil, Chile and Colombia. However, the only servers in Africa are located in South Africa.

You can see the complete list of StrongVPN’s servers via the button below, including the VPN protocol available on each server.

On the plus-side, StrongVPN does make a very high number of IP addresses available to its customers – almost 60,000 – which is great to maintain good speeds.

Access to Netflix and no torrenting restrictions

Streaming

8.88.8/10
How is this calculated?

Streaming is rated by the number of different services unlocked, how many regional libraries are viewable, and how consistently the VPN can access them.

Netflix, BBC iPlayer, HBO Max, DAZN, and Amazon Prime Video are all tested on a weekly basis.

StrongVPN doesn't have dedicated streaming servers, but is generally an ok choice for streaming. We've been able to unlock both Netflix US and BBC iPlayer with the service, although not all the time.

StrongVPN recently started working again with US Netflix on several of its US servers, after weeks of being completely blocked.

There are no dedicated streaming servers, which makes the task more difficult, but you shouldn’t find it too hard to find a server that works.

Streaming BBC iPlayer is a different story. StrongVPN unblocks iPlayer inconsistently, working on some days but not others.

It did work with BBC iPlayer in our most recent tests, though. These VPN services will on the other hand work more reliably with BBC iPlayer.

Torrenting allowed on all servers

Torrenting

8.78.7/10
How is this calculated?

We calculate the average download bitrate of every VPN using a bespoke torrenting setup.

Testing also factors in the percentage of servers which permit P2P, plus useful features like port forwarding.

StrongVPN is a safe VPN for torrenting. P2P is allowed on all servers and we've seen good speed in our P2P tests.

Torrenting and P2P activity is allowed on all StrongVPN servers.

Download and upload speeds were good, and a strict no-logs policy means all your online activity remains private.

What’s more, StrongVPN also has a VPN kill switch and we didn’t detect any IP, DNS, or WebRTC leaks in our latest round of testing (more on this below).

A good choice for censored regions

Bypassing Censorship

77.0/10
How is this calculated?

Our remote-access server in Shanghai, China routinely tests if a VPN can beat restrictions and access a free, open internet. Obfuscation technologies and nearby servers are also a contributing factor.

This rating does not directly contribute to the Overall Rating, but instead makes up a portion of the Security & Features rating.

In the past StrongVPN has been able to overcome China's firewall from our Shanghai server, but in recent months it has underperformed. It's obfuscation tools should be enough for other censored regions, though.

StrongVPN is still a fairly good option to bypass aggressive web blocks in highly censored countries like China, Iran, Turkey and the UAE.

The additional obfuscation tools you get with StrongVPN are very useful to evade online censorship. It further scrambles your VPN connection, making it very hard to detect.

Keep in mind that the StrongVPN website is blocked in China, and possibly in other high censorship countries too, so we recommend you download and set up StrongVPN before you travel there.

If you are able to access the website, StrongVPN gives useful advice about connecting in China:

StrongVPN China server advice

Works with all popular devices plus routers

Device Compatibility

How is device compatibility rated?

A quality VPN should maintain functional, fully-featured applications and extensions for as many platforms and devices as possible.

This does not directly contribute to the Overall Rating, but instead makes up a portion of the Ease of Use rating.

Strong VPN has apps for iOS, Android, Mac and Windows, as well as router compatibility and smart DNS for consoles.

Apps

  1. Windows Logo
    Windows
  2. Mac Logo
    Mac
  3. iOS Logo
    iOS
  4. Android Logo
    Android
  5. Linux Logo
    Linux
  6. Router Logo
    Router

StrongVPN provides custom VPN apps for all popular devices:

  • PC
  • Mac
  • iPhone
  • Android smartphones

On its website, you’ll also find manual setup guides for other types of devices, platforms and software like Linux, Amazon Kindle and Kodi.

StrongVPN also provides step-by-step instructions on how to manually set up the VPN on your router to protect all internet traffic in your home.

StrongVPN’s 12 simultaneous connection limit is very generous and one of the highest we’ve seen.

Games Consoles & Streaming Devices

  1. AppleTV Logo
    AppleTV
  2. Amazon Fire TV Logo
    Amazon Fire TV
  3. Chromecast Logo
    Chromecast
  4. Nintendo Logo
    Nintendo
  5. PlayStation Logo
    PlayStation
  6. Roku Logo
    Roku
  7. Xbox Logo
    Xbox

StrongVPN can be used with consoles and streaming devices by either following the manual configuration instructions or installing StrongVPN on your home router.

There is also a native app for the Amazon Fire TV Stick, but it’s just not as good as some of the better Firestick VPN apps available.

Strong encryption and secure DNS servers

Security & Features

8.88.8/10
How is this calculated?

Top-rated VPNs offer OpenVPN or WireGuard protocols, AES-256 encryption, and a functional kill switch. We also consider additional security features and the global spread of VPN servers.

StrongVPN is a secure VPN that offers the trust WireGuard and OpenVPN protocols. It uses AES-256 encryption and we've never detected a DNS or IP leak on the service.

Protocols
  1. IKEv2/IPSec
  2. L2TP/IPSec
  3. OpenVPN (TCP/UDP)
  4. PPTP
  5. SSTP
  6. WireGuard
Encryption
  1. AES-256
Security
  1. DNS Leak Blocking
  2. First-party DNS
  3. IPV6 Leak Blocking
  4. Supports TCP Port 443
  5. VPN Kill Switch
Advanced features
  1. Smart DNS

StrongVPN is a safe VPN service, but it isn’t the most secure VPN provider we’ve reviewed.

On one hand, it has a VPN kill switch which prevents your true IP address from being exposed, it uses AES-256 encryption, and it operates its own DNS servers, meaning none of your web traffic will be routed through third-party servers.

We were also pleased to detect no DNS or IP leaks in our latest tests.

StrongVPN DNS leak test results

So, why is it not the most secure VPN?

Mainly because the very secure and fast OpenVPN protocol isn’t available on all servers – in fact, the vast majority of StrongVPN’s servers use the vastly outdated and insecure PPTP protocol.

StrongVPN also supports Wireguard on all its apps – a alternative to OpenVPN which is looking more and more likely to become the fastest option.

Easy-to-use apps on all devices

Ease of Use

8.48.4/10
How is this calculated?

This rating mainly consists of the intuitiveness of setup and everyday use.

Device or platform compatibility and customization options are also a factor.

StrongVPN has recently updated its set of custom apps to make them far more accessible to inexperienced VPN users.

How to Install & Set Up StrongVPN

StrongVPN’s main screen is very stripped back, displaying only essential connection details.

A limited range of settings can be found behind the cog icon along the top of the app, however these are very basic.

StrongVPN settings

The mobile apps are also very good; simple and effective with a big button in the middle of the screen, but lack some security features, such as a kill switch.

Browser Extensions

Sadly, StrongVPN no longer offers any browser extensions. If you’re looking for a VPN with browser extensions, check out our ExpressVPN review, our top VPN choice for Chrome and Firefox.

24/7 live chat and some basic online help

Customer Support

88.0/10
How is this calculated?

This rating is based on our assessment of each VPN’s:

  • Email support
  • Live chat support
  • Online resources

Not every VPN offers all of these, and they often vary in quality and response time.

StrongVPN offers 24/7 live chat and FAQs on its website, although we havn't always been able to use these to solve bugs or issues.

24/7 Live chat supportYes
Online ResourcesYes

Live chat is available 24/7, but most of the time we just ended up talking to a sales agent who copied and pasted answers from the FAQs section.

This was a little disappointing, but whenever they couldn’t solve our problems they did forward our details on to the tech team, who were always quick to respond.

The official StrongVPN website provides a great range of setup manuals for many different devices, including video tutorials and screenshots.

For basic instructions, the FAQ section should do the job, but for anything beyond simple help you’ll have to contact their customer support team.

65% off with the latest promotion

Price & Value

7.57.5/10
How is this calculated?

Price & Value for Money receives a rating, but is not factored into our Overall Rating. We believe the reader should decide what is or isn’t a reasonable price.

A good rating here isn’t just based on how cheap the VPN is, but for the value it offers overall.

StrongVPN is one of the cheaper top-tier VPN services, although you'll need to commit to a long plan to get the best value.

StrongVPN offers two pricing plans to help you decide on the most suitable option. They have the same features but the longer subscription, the less you pay per month.

The priciest option is the single month plan at $10.00, however this is reduced by 65% to a very affordable $2.33 if you sign up to an annual plan.

  1. Monthly

    US$3.50/mo

    Billed $3.50 the first month, $10.00 thereafter
    Save 65%
  2. 12 months

    US$2.33/mo

    Billed $27.99 the first year, $79.99 thereafter
    Save 65%

All plans have 30-day money-back guarantee

Payment & Refund Options

  1. American Express logo
    American Express
  2. Mastercard logo
    Mastercard
  3. PayPal logo
    PayPal
  4. Visa logo
    Visa

StrongVPN accepts the majority of standard payment options including most major credit and debit cards, PayPal and Alipay.

It’s disappointing to see no option to pay in cryptocurrencies, however.

The VPN service also offers a 30-day money-back guarantee, in place of a true VPN free trial.

This is for customers who are “less than 100% satisfied with the StrongVPN service.” There are no hidden restrictions or data caps during the 30-day refund period.

Strong VPN is a good all-round VPN service

The Bottom Line

StrongVPN is a good VPN that is fast, unblocks many popular streaming platforms, and is great for torrenting. StrongDNS also allows users to use the VPN service with AppleTV and gaming consoles.

We also like that StrongVPN operates a no-logs policy, and it allows up to 12 simultaneous connections, which is very generous. Some of its privacy features need to be improved, and the server network isn’t as extensive as it needs to be to compete with bigger VPN services.

Nevertheless, StrongVPN is still a good VPN that does the basics right, and which we recommend to novice VPN users.

Additional research by Liam Mullally

Alternatives to StrongVPN

NordVPN

NordVPN

9.59.5/10

Worried about StrongVPN's lack of locations? Try NordVPN: it has thousands of servers spread across dozens of countries all over the world. Read NordVPN review

AstrillVPN landscape logo

Astrill

8.58.5/10

Astrill is one of the most secure, safe, and advanced VPNs available today. It's so well-maintained that it even works to bypass censorship in China. Read Astrill review

About the Author


  • Simon Migliano Head of Research at Top10VPN

    Simon Migliano

    Simon is a recognized world expert in VPNs. He's tested hundreds of VPN services and his research has featured on the BBC, The New York Times, CNet and more. Read full bio


User Feedback for StrongVPN

  • 34 user reviews
  • 0 questions answered