Disclosure: We review VPNs independently, however we may earn commissions if you buy a VPN via links on our site.

VPN Proxy Master Review

 Rated 1 out of 5 
1 user reviews
VPN Proxy Master app on iPhone

Simon Migliano is a recognized world expert in VPNs. He's tested hundreds of VPN services and his research has featured on the BBC, The New York Times and more.

Ask Simon About VPN Proxy Master

Our Verdict

1.91.9/10
How is this calculated?

Our overall rating is reached by combining several subcategories. The subcategories are weighted as follows:

  • Logging & Jurisdiction: 30%
  • Speed & Reliability: 25%
  • Security & Features: 20%
  • Streaming: 10%
  • Torrenting: 5%
  • Ease of Use: 5%
  • Support: 5%

See our full methodology in how we review VPNs.

VPN Proxy Master is not a safe VPN. The software logs too much user internet data, it's slow, and the company has bad customer support. The VPN also lacks important security features, and we even detected dangerous functions and malware within the Android app. In short, we discourage anyone from using VPN Proxy Master.

Ranked #53 out of 56 VPNs

VPN Proxy Master Category Ratings

  • 1.91.9/10
  • 11.0/10
  • 1.31.3/10
  • 4.54.5/10
  • 4.54.5/10
  • 11.0/10
  • 11.0/10
  • 11.0/10
  • 11.0/10

VPN Proxy Master Pros & Cons

  • No bandwidth restrictions
  • Uses OpenVPN protocol
  • Improved logging policy

  • Collects too much data
  • Strong links to China
  • No security features whatsoever
  • Malware detected
  • Not enough servers (one for iOS)
  • Cannot access any streaming sites

Why Trust Our Review?

We’ve spent thousands of hours testing and reviewing 56 VPN services using our impartial review process to recommend you the best VPN software.

Here are some of our key VPN testing statistics:

Total Hours of Testing30,000+
Weekly Speed Tests3,000+
VPN Services Reviewed56
Streaming Platforms Tested Daily12
IP & DNS Leak Tests Performed9,500+
How Much We've Spent On Testing$25,000+

VPN Proxy Master counts more than 50 million installs from the Google Play Store. While it’s a very popular free VPN, it’s actually not a safe VPN to use.

In our in-depth security tests, we detected malicious malware, which immediately raised a red flag. We also detected invasive functions in its Android application.

Furthermore, the VPN doesn’t offer a kill switch. If your VPN connection drops, your IP address and internet activity will be immediately visible.

The VPN is no good at unblocking streaming websites and applications, either. Our tests reveal the VPN couldn’t unblock Netflix, HBO Max, or any other popular platform.

In this updated VPN Proxy Master review, we’ll cover every aspect of the VPN including what the VPN does well, but most importantly expose the product’s serious failings.

Ultimately, there are much safer free VPNs available than VPN Proxy Master.

EXPERT ADVICE: Private Internet Access (PIA) is much faster and safer than VPN Proxy Master. It also unblocks many popular websites and applications. Try PIA VPN risk-free for 30 days.

VPN Proxy Master Key Data

Data CapUnlimited
Speed47Mbps
Logging PolicyIntrusive Logging
Data LeaksNo
JurisdictionSingapore (SIGINT Member)
ServersNot Disclosed
IP AddressesNot disclosed
Countries5
US NetflixNo
TorrentingNo
Simultaneous Connections5
Works In ChinaNo
SupportEmail
Official WebsiteVpnproxymaster.com

Privacy & Logging Policy

Logs too much internet data

1.31.3/10
How is this calculated?

We dissect the logging and privacy policies of every VPN. A VPN should never log:

  • Your real IP address
  • Connection timestamps
  • DNS requests

A base of operations outside of 14-Eyes or EU jurisdiction is preferable.

VPN Proxy Master is owned by a company with ties to the ruling Chinese Communist Party and it logs too much of your information. This VPN will sell your data to advertising partners. It's not trustworthy or private.

Ranked #51 out of 56 VPNs for Privacy & Logging Policy

VPN Proxy Master has a complex corporate structure behind it.

The company now in charge is Lemon Clove Pte. Limited, but it used to be Innovative Connecting PTE. Limited.

For all intents and purposes, these are the same company. They even have identical websites.

Research by Security Affairs showed the same email address registered both websites, as well as the websites for Turbo VPN, VPN Robot, VPN Monster, and VPN Snap.

Snap Master VPN is also the same app as VPN Proxy Master, just with a different name.

There’s not a lot of information offered on these websites, but Lemon Clove is based at 8 Marina View, #42-099, Asia Square Tower 1, Singapore.

The director of Lemon Clove/Innovative Connecting is Danian Chen, a Chinese national described by Fortune China as “one of the most influential young leaders in China.”

Chen is the Founder and CEO of Linksure, which launched the very successful WiFi Master Key app. He is one of the richest men in China.

This looks very suspicious. To be a successful business or businessman in China you typically have to fully co-operate with the Chinese Communist Party (CCP) and the Chinese military.

All Connected Co. is also listed as the developer of VPN Proxy Master. It is a subsidiary of Innovative Connecting.

All Connected Co. is also based in Singapore, but our VPN investigations revealed that, like Innovative Connecting, it has links to mainland China.

Singapore is a partner in an intelligence coalition called SIGINT Seniors Pacific. This also includes India, South Korea, and Thailand. It is led by the United States’ National Security Agency (NSA), making it an extension of the US surveillance apparatus.

Remember: we recommend using a VPN service headquartered in a country that has no legal claim on your personal information, and doesn’t engage in extensive state snooping.

Logging Policy

Ever since VPN Proxy Master came under ownership of Lemon Clove, there’s been improvements to its logging policy.

It used to log your IP address, ISP, connection timestamps, and much more. Now it logs:

  • Registered account information (email)
  • Data on VPN Proxy Master version
  • Success of VPN connections
  • VPN location connected to
  • Your originating country
  • Internet Service Provider (ISP)
  • Aggregate sum of data transferred
  • Anonymised data for network diagnostics

VPN Proxy Master wants this “abstracted data” in order to maintain its service. This is the usual explanation for any amount of data retention from a VPN provider.

Sometimes the amount of data collected is fine. Other times that excuse simply doesn’t hold up.

We think VPN Proxy Master still logs too much data. Bigger and better VPNs maintain their service without requiring so much as aggregate bandwidth usage. However, it is an improvement on the previous logging policy.

The only real plus with VPN Proxy Master is that it claims to only log non-identifiable data. It does not know what websites or services you access when using the VPN, nor which user was connected to the VPN at any specific time.

VPN Proxy Master says “the extent of any disclosure of your data is limited” due to the limited logs. But it is quite open to sharing what information it collects from you to third-party vendors, business and advertising partners, the Singapore government, and more.

Some of its advertising partners include:

  • Facebook
  • AdMob
  • UnityAD
  • Vungle
  • Smaato

All of these may “set and access their own cookies, pixel tags, and similar technologies on our services.”

The harsh reality is that a great number of VPNs that are free to download end up making their money back by selling on your data and giving advertisers permission to track you.

We don’t think that’s a price worth paying. While some users may not care regardless, it’s our job to try our best to persuade you that you shouldn’t do it.

Security & Extra Features

No security features & malware detected

11.0/10
How is this calculated?

Top-rated VPNs offer OpenVPN or WireGuard protocols, AES-256 encryption, and a functional kill switch. We also consider additional security features and the global spread of VPN servers.

VPN Proxy Master uses OpenVPN protocol and AES-256 encryption. This is good stuff. The problem is that this is all it has. There is no kill switch, which is essential for any VPN. We also detected some malicious malware when investigating the app. You should avoid this VPN.

Ranked #54 out of 56 VPNs for Security & Extra Features

ProtocolsAvailable in VPN Proxy Master
IKEv2/IPSecNo
L2TP/IPSecNo
OpenVPN (TCP/UDP)Yes
ProprietaryNo
PPTPNo
SoftEtherNo
SSL VPNNo
SSTPNo
TLS VPNNo
WireGuardNo
UndisclosedYes
EncryptionAvailable in VPN Proxy Master
AES-128No
AES-192No
AES-256Yes
BlowfishNo
ChaCha20No
UndisclosedYes
SecurityAvailable in VPN Proxy Master
DNS Leak BlockingNo
First-party DNSNo
IPv6 Leak BlockingNo
Supports TCP Port 443No
VPN Kill SwitchNo
WebRTC Leak BlockingNo
Advanced FeaturesAvailable in VPN Proxy Master
Ad BlockerNo
Dedicated IPNo
Double VPNNo
Smart DNSNo
SOCKSNo
Split TunnelingNo
Tor over VPN ServerNo
Tracker BlockerNo

We didn’t detect any DNS or IP leaks while testing VPN Proxy Master, which is encouraging.

The details of its encryption and security protocols are hard to find, but VPN Proxy Master references OpenVPN within its website FAQs.

This is good news, as OpenVPN is the security standard we like to see.

We contacted VPN Proxy Master to find out more. It replied by confirming it uses OpenVPN and AES-256 encryption. This is the industry-standard level of security you should expect from any good VPN.

Email exchange with VPN Proxy Master Support

Email exchange with VPN Proxy Master support

However, that’s all the good we have to say about it, because VPN Proxy Master has absolutely no additional security features. Its app offers no options or details at all regarding customizable features or encryption settings.

There is no kill switch, which we consider an essential feature for any safe VPN service. Without it, you risk exposing your true IP address if your internet connection drops.

Our free VPN investigations update also detected invasive functions and malware within VPN Proxy Master. Make no mistake: this is an unsafe and dangerous VPN that you should avoid.

If you want to use VPN Proxy Master to protect your device, beware that you may well end up putting yourself at greater risk.

Speed & Reliability

Slow VPN connection speeds

4.54.5/10
How is this calculated?

Speed ratings are calculated using upload speeds, download speeds, and ping (latency).

We test average speeds regularly using a dedicated 100Mbps connection in London, UK. Local download speed is considered the most important factor.

Connecting to VPN Proxy Master will cut your usual internet speed in half. While every VPN will slow down your normal internet connection to some extent, this is far too much. Connecting to the US from our London base wasn't awful (light browsing should be fine), but the restrictive speeds prevents any serious online activity.

Ranked #46 out of 56 VPNs for Speed & Reliability

VPN Proxy Master delivers speeds far below average. Check out the results here:

Local Speed Test results before using VPN Proxy Master:

  • Download Speed: 46.86Mbps
  • Upload Speed: 48.03Mbps
  • Ping: 4ms

Local Speed Test results with VPN Proxy Master:

  • Download Speed: 23.2Mbps
  • Upload Speed: 33.5Mbps
  • Ping: 12ms

Download speed loss when VPN Proxy Master is running: 50%

Our latest tests recorded download speeds of 23Mbps when connected to a nearby server, which works out to an average speed loss of around 50%. We’ve seen worse speeds from free VPNs, but this performance is mediocre at best.

Long-Distance Speed Results

If you’re connecting to an international VPN server in a distant location, expect your speeds to be even slower.

We put every VPN we test through a fair and scientific speed testing process.

Based on this we’ve worked out the average speeds you can expect to get when connecting to various parts of the globe (we test from London, UK):

  • USA:
    • Download: 23.20Mbps
    • Upload: 33.50Mbps
  • Germany:
    • Download: 13.33Mbps
    • Upload: 19.60Mbps
  • Singapore:
    • Download: 2.02Mbps
    • Upload: 42.03Mbps

Again, we’ve seen worse from free providers (the US result is strong), but it’s still way below our standards and you’ll definitely experience slow loading times.

Streaming

Does not work with US Netflix

1.91.9/10
How is this calculated?

Streaming is rated by the number of different services unlocked, how many regional libraries are viewable, and how consistently the VPN can access them.

Netflix, BBC iPlayer, HBO Max, DAZN, and Amazon Prime Video are all tested on a weekly basis.

VPN Proxy Master could unblock BBC iPlayer but the service has since removed its UK server, meaning that users abroad can't access British TV any longer. Its US servers don't work to unblock Netflix or HBO Max, either. As it stands, VPN Proxy Master is unable to stream anything except for YouTube.

Ranked #43 out of 56 VPNs for Streaming

VPN Proxy Master advertises itself as a VPN for streaming. However, our most recent tests found the VPN did not work to unblock or stream Netflix on either of its five US servers.

Its single server option on iOS means you can’t access any popular streaming services outside of your home country.

Since the Android version of VPN Proxy Master removed its UK server users can no longer access BBC iPlayer, either. This is a great shame as it has worked with British TV for some time.

However, its slow speeds and unreliable customer support mean it’s still not a very good VPN for streaming.

Torrenting

Torrenting is banned

11.0/10
How is this calculated?

We calculate the average download bitrate of every VPN using a bespoke torrenting setup.

Testing also factors in the percentage of servers which permit P2P, plus useful features like port forwarding.

P2P activity on VPN Proxy Master servers is banned, meaning you can't torrent or file share using this free VPN. It's not a safe choice anyway: it logs too much data and there's no kill switch to prevent accidental IP exposures. It's also too slow for smooth downloads.

Ranked #47 out of 56 VPNs for Torrenting

Torrenting isn’t permitted on any of VPN Proxy Master’s free servers.

There’s no explanation as to why this is, but users that attempt any sort of P2P activity while connected to the VPN risk having their account deactivated.

Want a free VPN that actually lets you torrent? We’ve listed the very best free VPNs for torrenting here.

Server Locations

Minimal server options, only one location for iOS

4.54.5/10
How is this calculated?

The global spread and coverage of the VPN server network is the most important factor here.

We also consider the number of city-level servers, plus how many IP addresses are maintained.

This rating does not directly contribute to the Overall Rating, but instead makes up a portion of the Security & Features rating.

VPN Proxy Master has servers in five countries as well as five city options spread across the US. It's not a terrible selection considering that India is included to provide some international spread. However, the UK and Singapore servers have been removed, cutting the options down.

Ranked #48 out of 56 VPNs for Server Locations

Globe with a blue flag
5 Countries
Image of a city landscape
9 Cities
Image of a pink marker
Not DisclosedIP Address

VPN Proxy Master’s website claims to have over 40 locations and over 6,000 secure servers across the globe.

Well, not for the (far more popular) free version. When using the iOS app you have only one option: to connect to the ‘Fastest Server’, which is in Germany.

When using Android, it’s slightly better: five countries, nine cities, and nine IP addresses. For this reason, it’s better to use VPN Proxy Master on Android if you have the choice.

The available countries are:

  • Canada (Toronto)
  • Germany (Frankfurt)
  • India (Doddaballapura)
  • Netherlands (Amsterdam)
  • United States (Las Vegas, Los Angeles,  Miami, Phoenix, Portland)

This is a decent free solution to covering the US – such a large country.

There is no coverage for South America or Africa, though. This is a big miss, and means anyone in these parts of the world should really think twice before using VPN Proxy Master.

Bypassing Web Censorship

Does not work in China

11.0/10
How is this calculated?

Our remote-access server in Shanghai, China routinely tests if a VPN can beat restrictions and access a free, open internet. Obfuscation technologies and nearby servers are also a contributing factor.

This rating does not directly contribute to the Overall Rating, but instead makes up a portion of the Security & Features rating.

VPN Proxy Master won't work in China or less strict censoring countries like Turkey or the UAE. There hasn't been any investment into obfuscation tools and considering the company's links to China we aren't surprised that it's not genuinely interested in getting around government internet blocks.

Ranked #55 out of 56 VPNs for Bypassing Web Censorship

Without any obfuscation tools, it’s highly likely that VPN Proxy Master won’t work in China.

It’s pretty open about this, informing users in its website FAQ that:

“We’re sorry to inform you that our product is currently not available in China due to some policy reasons.”

It’s safe to assume that this will be the case with VPN Proxy Master in any other country with censored internet.

If you’re traveling to, or live in one of these countries, we’ve listed VPNs that work reliably in Turkey and the best VPNs for China.

Device & OS Compatibility

Available on most platforms

How is this rated?

A quality VPN should maintain functional, fully-featured applications and extensions for as many platforms and devices as possible.

This does not directly contribute to the Overall Rating, but instead makes up a portion of the Ease of Use rating.

VPN Proxy Master is available on the major devices, including Windows, macOS, Android, and iOS, as well as Fire TV Stick. There’s also a free browser extension. It’s impressive to see a free service spread across so many platforms, but we don’t recommend installing any of them.

Apps

VPN Proxy Master is available on:

  1. Windows
  2. Mac
  3. iOS
  4. Android

You can connect up to five devices when using VPN Proxy Master. For a free service, this is a generous amount.

It’s available for Windows, macOS, iOS, and Android devices. There’s also a free Fire TV app.

There are, however, no workarounds for games consoles or routers.

VPN Proxy Master also has a browser extension available as an add-on to Google Chrome.

With the logging policy as it is, we recommend against installing it, though.

Ease of Use

Basic applications with aggressive advertising

11.0/10
How is this calculated?

This rating mainly consists of the intuitiveness of setup and everyday use.

Device or platform compatibility and customization options are also a factor.

Both Android and iOS apps from VPN Proxy Master are basic, and therefore simple, but too basic. They're unpleasant to use due to the sheer volume of pop-up ads. There are no settings or features to speak of, either. This is as rudimentary as it gets.

Ranked #56 out of 56 VPNs for Ease of Use

How to Install & Set Up VPN Proxy Master

The iOS app for VPN Proxy Master is so simple that it’s barren.

All you can really do is press the big Earth button to connect to the single available server or to disconnect. There is nothing else.

Except for pop-up ads. There are lots of those. It’s often to be expected when using a free VPN service, but they are particularly annoying in this case, bombarded multiple times with the exits made hard to find.

There are no settings or obvious support options. You can offer ‘Feedback’ and through this contact VPN Proxy Master by offering your email.

The Android app is slightly different in design but equally useless. It is made as easy as can be to subscribe to premium but nothing else is available.

VPN Proxy Master offers a seven-day free trial if you subscribe to the Premium service. If you do, VPN Proxy Master will automatically renew and charge you if you don’t cancel within that time.

Customer Support

Slow and unreliable customer support

11.0/10
How is this calculated?

This rating is based on our assessment of each VPN’s:

  • Email support
  • Live chat support
  • Online resources

Not every VPN offers all of these, and they often vary in quality and response time.

VPN Proxy Master only has support through the 'Feedback' option within the app. The response was slow and a little generic, but helpful. We'd like to see proper online resources and FAQs for troubleshooting and information about the VPN.

Ranked #54 out of 56 VPNs for Customer Support

Customer SupportAvailable in VPN Proxy Master
24/7 Live Chat SupportNo
24/7 Email SupportNo
Live Chat SupportNo
EmailYes
Email Support via Online FormNo
No Support AvailableNo
Tutorial VideosNo
Online ResourcesNo

To contact support you have one option: head to ‘Feedback’ in the app.

You can then send an email to the address vpnproxymaster-support@lemonclove.net.

We sent an email and got a response two-days later from ‘Master VPN Customer Service Department.’

Support answered our query with minimal fuss, to its credit. But it was just too slow to be useful.

There are no troubleshooting tips or in-depth FAQs. It does appear to have ‘Live chat’ option on its website, but nothing happens when you select it.

VPN Proxy Master’s support is lacking.

The Bottom Line

No reason to download this VPN

We do not recommend VPN Proxy Master.

It is not trustworthy enough. Or robust enough.

Unless you’re prepared to put your device safety and your personal privacy at risk, we suggest you seek another, safer option.

 

Additional research by David Hughes

Alternatives to VPN Proxy Master

VPNhub Free

VPNhub Free

5.75.7/10

VPNhub is a free VPN that gets a lot right. It’s far from perfect, but it’s much safer than VPN Proxy Master, has unlimited data and also works with Netflix. Read VPNhub Free review

Surfshark VPN logo

Surfshark

9.29.2/10

It’s not free but Surfshark is one of the most affordable premium VPN services that you can find. For such a small cost the protections and benefits are great value. Read Surfshark review


User Feedback for VPN Proxy Master