Disclosure: Top10VPN is editorially independent. We may earn commissions if you buy a VPN through links on our site.

VPN Proxy Master Review

 20% 
(1 User reviews)
VPN Proxy Master screenshot
Simon Migliano Head of Research at Top10VPN

Simon is a recognized world expert in VPNs. He's tested hundreds of VPN services and his research has featured on the BBC, The New York Times, CNet and more. Read full bio

Ask Simon about VPN Proxy Master

Our Verdict

VPN Proxy Master is a popular free VPN for MacOS, iOS, and Android. The logging policy isn't awful, but the VPN is slow with bad customer support. It also lacks security features, and we even detected dangerous functions and malware within the app. In short, VPN Proxy Master is not a safe VPN.

Overall Rating: 1.9/10

VPN Proxy Master counts an eye-watering 10 million installs from the Google Play Store. It’s clearly a very popular VPN, so it must be doing something well, right? Sadly, popularity doesn’t necessarily mean quality, especially when it comes to free Android VPNs.

There are many unanswered questions that people have about VPN Proxy Master, such as:

  • Is VPN Proxy Master safe to use?
  • Does VPN Proxy Master keep logs?
  • Does it work in China?
  • Who owns VPN Proxy Master?

This VPN Proxy Master review will answer all of the questions above in depth.

Discover our recommended private and safe free VPNs

Why not use a safe and cheap VPN like Private Internet Access? It’s fast and unblocks many streaming platforms.

Try PIA VPN free for 30 days thanks to its money-back guarantee.

VPN Proxy Master Pros & Cons

Pros

  1. No bandwidth restrictions
  2. Uses OpenVPN protocol
  3. Improved logging policy
Cons
  1. Collects too much data
  2. Strong links to China
  3. No security features whatsoever
  4. Malware detected
  5. Not enough servers (one for iOS)

VPN Proxy Master Key Data

Data CapUnlimited
Speed47Mbps
Logging PolicyIntrusive Logging
Data LeaksNo
JurisdictionSingapore (SIGINT Member)
ServersNot disclosed
IP AddressesNot disclosed
Countries7
US NetflixNo
TorrentingNo
Works in ChinaNo
SupportEmail
Official WebsiteWww.VPNproxymaster.com

VPN Proxy Master Category Ratings

We test and review every VPN in eight key areas. Here’s how VPN Proxy Master performs in each category:

  • Privacy & Logging Policy: 1.3/10
  • Encryption & Security: 0.8/10
  • Speed & Reliability: 4.5/10
  • Streaming & Torrenting: 2.0/10
  • Bypassing Censorship: 1.0/10
  • Ease of Use: 1.0/10
  • Customer Support: 1.0/10

To learn more about our methodology, read our full VPN testing process.

Logs too much web data

About & Logging

Privacy & Logging Policy Rating: 1.3/10

VPN Proxy Master has a complex corporate structure behind it.

The company now in charge is Lemon Clove Pte. Limited, but it used to be Innovative Connecting PTE. Limited. For all intents and purposes, these are the same company. They even have identical websites.

Research by Security Affairs showed the same email address registered both websites, as well as the websites for Turbo VPN, VPN Robot, VPN Monster, and VPN Snap.

Snap Master VPN is also the same app as VPN Proxy Master, just with a different name.

There’s not a lot of information offered on these websites, but Lemon Clove is based at 8 Marina View, #42-099, Asia Square Tower 1, Singapore.

The director of Lemon Clove/Innovative Connecting is Danian Chen, a Chinese national described by Fortune China as “one of the most influential young leaders in China.”

Chen is the Founder and CEO of Linksure, which launched the very successful WiFi Master Key app. He is one of the richest men in China.

Danian Chen, Director of Innovative Connecting

Danian Chen, Director of Innovative Connecting

This looks very suspicious. To be a successful business or businessman in China you have to fully co-operate with the Chinese Communist Party (CCP) and the Chinese military.

All Connected Co. is also listed as the developer of VPN Proxy Master. It is a subsidiary of Innovative Connecting.

All Connected Co. is also based in Singapore, but our VPN investigations revealed that, like Innovative Connecting, it has links to mainland China.

Singapore is a partner in an intelligence coalition called SIGINT Seniors Pacific. This also includes India, South Korea, and Thailand. It is led by the United States’ National Security Agency (NSA), making it an extension of the US surveillance apparatus.

Remember: we recommend using a VPN service headquartered in a country that has no legal claim on your personal information, and doesn’t engage in extensive state snooping.

Logging Policy

Ever since VPN Proxy Master came under ownership of Lemon Clove, there’s been improvements to its logging policy.

It used to log your IP address, ISP, connection timestamps, and much more. Now it logs:

  • Registered account information (email)
  • Data on VPN Proxy Master version
  • Success of VPN connections
  • VPN location connected to
  • Your originating country
  • Internet Service Provider (ISP)
  • Aggregate sum of data transferred
  • Anonymised data for network diagnostics

VPN Proxy Master wants this “abstracted data” in order to maintain its service. This is the usual explanation for any amount of data retention from a VPN provider. Sometimes the amount of data collected is fine. Other times that excuse simply doesn’t hold up.

We think VPN Proxy Master still logs too much data. Bigger and better VPNs maintain their service without requiring so much as aggregate bandwidth usage. However, it is an improvement on the previous logging policy.

The only real plus with VPN Proxy Master is that it claims to only log non-identifiable data. It does not know what websites or services you access when using the VPN, nor which user was connected to the VPN at any specific time.

VPN Proxy Master says “the extent of any disclosure of your data is limited” due to the limited logs. But it is quite open to sharing what information it collects from you to third-party vendors, business and advertising partners, the Singapore government, and more.

Some of its advertising partners include:

  • Facebook
  • AdMob
  • UnityAD
  • Vungle
  • Smaato

All of these may “set and access their own cookies, pixel tags, and similar technologies on our services.”

The harsh reality is that a great number of VPNs that are free to download end up making their money back by selling on your data and giving advertisers permission to track you.

We don’t think that’s a price worth paying. While some users may not care regardless, it’s our job to try our best to persuade you that you shouldn’t do it.

No security features & malware detected

Encryption & Security

Protocols
  1. OpenVPN (TCP/UDP)
  2. Undisclosed
Encryption
  1. AES-256
  2. Undisclosed
Security
    Advanced features

      Encryption & Security Rating: 0.8/10

      We didn’t detect any DNS or IP leaks while testing VPN Proxy Master, which is encouraging.

      The details of its encryption and security protocols are hard to find, but VPN Proxy Master references OpenVPN within its website FAQs. This is good news, as OpenVPN is the security standard we like to see.

      We contacted VPN Proxy Master to find out more. It replied by confirming it uses OpenVPN and AES-256 encryption. This is the industry-standard level of security you should expect from any good VPN.

      Email exchange with VPN Proxy Master Support

      Email exchange with VPN Proxy Master support

      However, that’s all the good we have to say about it, because VPN Proxy Master has absolutely no additional security features. Its app offers no options or details at all regarding customizable features or encryption settings.

      There is no kill switch, which we consider an essential feature for any safe VPN service. Without it, you risk exposing your true IP address if your internet connection drops.

      Our free VPN investigations update also detected invasive functions and malware within VPN Proxy Master. Make no mistake: this is an unsafe and dangerous VPN that you should avoid.

      If you want to use VPN Proxy Master to protect your device, beware that you may well end up putting yourself at greater risk.

      Slow VPN connection speeds

      Speed & Reliability

      Speed & Reliability Rating: 4.5/10

      VPN Proxy Master delivers speeds far below average. Our latest tests recorded download speeds of 23Mbps when connected to a nearby server, which works out to an average speed loss of around 50%. We’ve seen much worse speeds from free VPNs, but this performance is mediocre at best.

      If you’re connecting to an international VPN server in a distant location, expect your speeds to be even slower.

      Local Speed Test Results

      Before using VPN Proxy Master:

      1. Download46.86Mbps
      2. Upload48.03Mbps
      3. Ping4ms

      When connected to VPN Proxy Master:

      1. Download23.2Mbps
      2. Upload33.5Mbps
      3. Ping12ms

      Download speed without VPN Proxy Master: 46.86 Mbps

      Download speed with VPN Proxy Master: 23.20 Mbps

      Our download speed when VPN Proxy Master is running: 50%

      We put every VPN we test through a fair and scientific speed testing process. Based on this we’ve worked out the average speeds you can expect to get when connecting to various parts of the globe (we test from London, UK):

      • Germany: 13.33 Mbps (download) & 19.60 Mbps (upload)
      • USA: 23.20 Mbps (download) & 33.50 Mbps (upload)
      • Singapore: 2.02 Mbps (upload) & 42.03 Mbps (upload)

      Does not work with US Netflix

      Streaming & Torrenting

      Streaming & Torrenting Rating: 2.0/10

      VPN Proxy Master advertises itself as a VPN for streaming. However, our most recent tests found the VPN did not work to unblock or stream Netflix on either of its two US servers.

      While the Android app did work to stream BBC iPlayer, the free iOS version fails to work with streaming altogether. Its single server option means you can’t access any popular streaming services on iOS.

      VPN Proxy Master Streaming Graphic

      If you’re an Android user who wants to stream BBC iPlayer, you could consider using VPN Proxy Master. However, its slow speeds and unreliable customer support mean it’s still not a very good VPN for streaming. If you’re an iOS user or you’re looking to watch Netflix with a VPN, we recommend avoiding VPN Proxy Master entirely.

      Torrenting

      Torrenting isn’t permitted on any of VPN Proxy Master’s free servers. 

      There’s no explanation as to why this is, but users that attempt any sort of P2P activity while connected to the VPN risk having their account deactivated.

      Want a free VPN that actually lets you torrent? We’ve listed the very best free VPNs for torrenting here.

      Minimal server options, only one location for iOS

      Server Locations

      Globe with a blue flag
      7Countries
      Image of a city landscape
      8Cities
      Image of a pink marker
      Undisclosed number ofIP Addresses

      VPN Proxy Master’s website claims to have over 40 locations and over 6,000 secure servers across the globe. 

      Well, not for the (far more popular) free version. When using the iOS app you have only one option: to connect to the ‘Fastest Server’, which is in Germany. 

      When using Android, it’s slightly better: seven countries, eight cities and eight IP addresses. For this reason, it’s better to use VPN Proxy Master on Android if you have the choice. 

      The available countries are:

      • Canada
      • Germany
      • India
      • Netherlands
      • Singapore
      • United Kingdom
      • United States

      It has two city-level options in the US, one in New York and the other in San Francisco, which is a decent budget solution to covering such a large country. 

      There is no coverage for South America or Africa, though. This is a big miss, and means anyone in these parts of the world should really think twice before using VPN Proxy Master.  

      Does not work in China

      Censorship

      Bypassing Censorship Rating: 1.0/10

      Without any obfuscation tools, it’s highly likely that VPN Proxy Master won’t work in China.

      It’s pretty open about this, informing users in its website FAQ that:

      “We’re sorry to inform you that our product is currently not available in China due to some policy reasons.”

      It’s safe to assume that this will be the case with VPN Proxy Master in any other country with censored internet. If you’re traveling to or live in one, we’ve listed the top choices for:

      Available on most platforms

      Platforms & Devices

      Apps

      1. Windows Logo
        Windows
      2. Mac Logo
        Mac
      3. iOS Logo
        iOS
      4. Android Logo
        Android

      You can connect up to five devices when using VPN Proxy Master. This is a generous amount.

      It’s available for Windows, MacOS, iOS, and Android devices. There’s also a free Fire TV app.

      There are, however, no workarounds for games consoles or routers. 

      VPN Proxy Master also has a browser extension available as an add-on to Google Chrome. 

      With the logging policy as it is, we recommend against installing it, though. 

      Basic applications with aggressive advertising

      Ease of Use

      How to Install & Set Up VPN Proxy Master

      Ease of Use Rating: 1.0/10

      The iOS app for VPN Proxy Master is so simple that it’s barren. 

      All you can really do is press the big Earth button to connect to the single available server or to disconnect. There is nothing else.

      Except for pop-up ads. There are lots of those. It’s often to be expected when using a free VPN service, but they are particularly annoying in this case, bombarded multiple times with the exits made hard to find.

      There are no settings or obvious support options. You can offer ‘Feedback’ and through this contact VPN Proxy Master by offering your email.

      The Android app is slightly different in design but equally useless. It is made as easy as can be to subscribe to premium but nothing else is available. 

      VPN Proxy Master offers a seven-day free trial if you subscribe to the Premium service. If you do, VPN Proxy Master will automatically renew and charge you if you don’t cancel within that time. 

      Slow and unreliable customer support

      Customer Support

      EmailYes

      Customer Support Rating: 1.0/10

      To contact support you have one option: head to ‘Feedback’ in the app. 

      You can then send an email to the address vpnproxymaster-support@lemonclove.net. 

      We sent an email and got a response two-days later from ‘Master VPN Customer Service Department’. 

      Support answered our query with minimal fuss, to its credit. But it was just too slow to be useful. 

      There are no troubleshooting tips or in-depth FAQs. It does appear to have ‘Live chat’ option on its website, but nothing happens when you select it.

      VPN Proxy Master’s support is lacking. 

      Do We Recommend VPN Proxy Master?

      The Bottom Line

      We do not recommend VPN Proxy Master. It is not trustworthy enough. Or robust enough.

      Unless you’re prepared to put your device safety and your personal privacy at risk just so you can watch some BBC iPlayer, we suggest you seek another, safer option.

       

      Additional research by David Hughes

      Alternatives to VPN Proxy Master

      VPNhub Logo in our VPNhub review

      VPNhub Free

      VPNhub is a free VPN that gets a lot right. It’s far from perfect, but it’s much safer than VPN Proxy Master, has unlimited data and also works with Netflix. Read VPNhub Free review

      Surfshark VPN logo

      Surfshark

      It’s not free but Surfshark is one of the most affordable premium VPN services that you can find. For such a small cost the protections and benefits are great value. Read Surfshark review

      About the Author


      • Simon Migliano Head of Research at Top10VPN

        Simon Migliano

        Simon is a recognized world expert in VPNs. He's tested hundreds of VPN services and his research has featured on the BBC, The New York Times, CNet and more. Read full bio


      User Feedback for VPN Proxy Master