We review VPNs independently, but we may earn commissions if you buy a VPN via our links.

AVG Secure VPN Review

 Rated 0 out of 5 
No user reviews
Graphic showing AVG Secure VPN on a laptop computer
Simon Migliano

Simon Migliano is a recognized world expert in VPNs. He's tested hundreds of VPN services and his research has featured on the BBC, The New York Times and more.

Additional Testing by Luke Williams

Our Verdict

6.256.3/10
How is this calculated?

We calculate the VPN service’s Overall Rating by combining the ratings of several testing categories. Each category is weighted as follows:

  • Privacy & Logging Policy: 20%
  • Speed: 20%
  • Security & Technical Features: 15%
  • Streaming: 15%
  • Ease of Use: 10%
  • Torrenting: 5%
  • Server Locations: 5%
  • Bypassing Web Censorship: 5%
  • Customer Support: 5%

Learn more by reading our VPN testing and review methodology.

Overall, we don’t recommend AVG Secure VPN and score it only 6.2. It has a small server network and logs connection data. It’s also expensive and doesn’t include advanced features, such as split tunneling. That said, AVG VPN has fast download speeds and works well with US Netflix. In short, unless you already use AVG's antivirus software, you should avoid AVG Secure VPN.

Ranked #33 out of 55 VPNs

AVG Secure VPN Category Ratings

  • 6.96.9/10
  • 5.75.7/10
  • 33.0/10
  • 9.39.3/10
  • 7.67.6/10
  • 2.52.5/10
  • 6.56.5/10
  • 7.77.7/10
  • 8.68.6/10
  • 6.56.5/10

AVG Secure VPN Pros & Cons

  • Fast VPN connection speeds
  • Works with US Netflix & BBC iPlayer
  • Working VPN kill switch
  • No IP, DNS, or WebRTC leaks
  • User-friendly VPN apps for popular platforms

  • Collects connection logs, including timestamps
  • Small server network (36 countries)
  • Mimic protocol is unproven
  • No OpenVPN on Mac or iOS
  • Doesn’t work in China
  • Customer support agents aren't always helpful

Why Trust Top10VPN.com?

We’re completely independent and focused on VPN software. We’ve spent 7 years and thousands of hours testing and reviewing VPNs using our unbiased VPN review process.

Here are some of our key VPN testing statistics:

VPN Services Tested65
Total Hours of Testing30,000+
Weekly Speed Tests3,000+
Streaming Platforms Tested97
VPN Security Tests Conducted9,500+
Money Spent on VPN Subscriptions$25,000+

AVG is one of the biggest internet security brands in the world. AVG is owned by Avast, which operates two other VPN products, Avast Secureline and HMA.

Sadly, we found that AVG Secure VPN is not very good. It does little to protect your security and privacy, due to the VPN’s invasive logging policy.

In terms of unblocking, AVG VPN unblocks US Netflix and BBC iPlayer. Also, its generous device policy lets you use the VPN on up to 10 devices at once.

However, torrenting users need to stay away since the VPN retains connection timestamps.

There’s a seven-day genuine free trial available that doesn’t require submitting any payment details.

After the trial is over, the shortest subscription length is one year, though. You’ll therefore have to pay at least $59.88 to continue using the VPN.

Ultimately, unless you’re an existing AVG antivirus customer, you shouldn’t use AVG Secure VPN. There are far better VPNs available with faster speeds, better customer support, and larger server networks.

EXPERT ADVICE: Private Internet Access (PIA) is faster, safer, and is better at unblocking than AVG Secure VPN. It costs the same upfront but for two years of use, instead of AVG’s one. Try PIA VPN risk-free for 30 days.

AVG Secure VPN Key Data

Data CapUnlimited
Download Speed93Mbps
Logging PolicySome User Logs
Data LeaksNo
JurisdictionCzech Republic (EU Member)
ServersNot disclosed
IP AddressesNot disclosed
Countries With Servers36
US NetflixYes
TorrentingPartially
Simultaneous Connections10
Works In ChinaNo
SupportEmail & Online Resources Only
Cheapest Price$3.99/mo over 24 Months
Free Trial7 Days (No Payment Info Required)
Money-Back Guarantee30-day Money-Back Guarantee
Official WebsiteAvg.com

Privacy & Logging Policy

Collects Too Much User Internet Data

33.0/10
How is this calculated?

We analyze and dissect the VPN service’s logging and privacy policy. A VPN should never log and store:

  • Your real IP address
  • Connection timestamps
  • DNS requests

Headquarters outside of 14 Eyes or EU jurisdictions are also preferable.

AVG VPN’s logging policy is much improved, but it has a long way to go. The VPN service no longer collects any part of your IP address. However, it still logs more data than is necessary, such as connection timestamps and the amount of data transmitted during your session. AVG Secure VPN's logging policy is not private enough for privacy-focused users.

Ranked #37 out of 55 VPNs for Privacy & Logging Policy

AVG Secure VPN logs the following information:

Data TypeLogged by AVG Secure VPN
Browsing ActivityNo
Device InformationNo
DNS QueriesNo
Individual Bandwidth UsageYes
Individual Connection TimestampsYes
ISPNo
Number of Simultaneous ConnectionsNo
Originating IP AddressNo
Account InformationYes
VPN Server IPNo
VPN Server LocationNo
Date of Last ConnectionNo

Note: This data is held by AVG for 35 days.

The VPN previously logged the subnet of your originating IP address and the IP address of the individual VPN server used. We’re glad that the VPN provider has improved its privacy policy, but we’d like it to go further.

AVG Secure VPN shares the same privacy policy as Avast SecureLine. However, HideMyAss, another VPN owned by Avast, has a much more private logging policy.

AVG Secure VPN logs the exact time of connection, while HideMyAss only logs the day of connection. AVG VPN collects the exact amount of data transmitted, while HideMyAss only collects the rounded total of data transmitted.

These extra steps help anonymize the traffic, making it harder to work out who you are based on your web activity. As a result, we’d like Avast to have all of its VPNs use a singular private logging policy.

As it stands, AVG VPN logs more user data than is necessary. It should put off anyone who wants a high level of online privacy.

AVG Ownership Overview

AVG (including AVG Secure VPN) was acquired by Avast in July 2016. Avast is a well-known cybersecurity company.

Avast operates its own VPN, Avast SecureLine, and it also owns HMA VPN (see our updated review).

Avast has a poor track record for protecting user privacy and data. You can read more about this in our Avast SecureLine review.

Based in the EU

Avast is headquartered in the Czech Republic. As a result, the company is subject to intrusive EU data retention laws and intelligence-sharing agreements with other countries.

In line with Czech law, AVG would have to provide the data it retains to law enforcement if requested. As the VPN logs some data, such as connection timestamps, your identity could be worked out.

How Private Is AVG Secure VPN Compared to Other VPNs?

To compare how private AVG VPN is, we’ve collected data about it and four other VPNs in the table below. You’ll see each VPN’s key metrics, such as its overall privacy rating, logging policy, and jurisdiction.

Speed

Fast Speeds Across Every Server Location

9.39.3/10
How is this calculated?

We calculate the VPN’s speed rating using our download speeds, upload speeds, and ping (latency) measurements.

We regularly test the VPN’s local and international speeds using a dedicated 100Mbps internet connection in New York, USA.

AVG Secure VPN performed well in our speed tests. Using the Mimic VPN protocol, our download speeds dropped from 100Mbps to 93Mbps on a nearby server. We also recorded speeds of above 86Mbps when connecting to far-away locations, like Japan. AVG is quick enough for all web activities.

Ranked #15 out of 55 VPNs for Speed

Here are our full local speed test results when we tested AVG Secure VPN using the Mimic protocol:

Since the last time we tested it, AVG VPN’s download speeds have improved by 42% and by 65% for its upload speeds. We’re glad AVG has improved and we hope it can continue to boost speed performance in further product iterations.

AVG Secure VPN’s download speeds also remain fast on servers around the world. We were particularly impressed with the results from the South Africa and Germany, with our speeds remaining above 94Mbps in both locations.

That said, the VPN’s upload speeds are comparatively slow in some locations. AVG VPN is not an ideal choice if you regularly upload files.

Server Locations

Small VPN Server Network Covering 36 Countries

7.67.6/10
How is this calculated?

The key factor for calculating this rating is the global spread and coverage of the VPN’s server network.

We also consider the total number of servers, the number of city-level servers, and the number of IP addresses available.

AVG Secure VPN’s server network isn’t very big, covering just 36 countries. There's a lack of server choice, with no dedicated IP or obfuscated options. The VPN provider also will not disclose how many of its servers are rented and virtually located.

Ranked #28 out of 55 VPNs for Server Locations

Globe with a blue flag
36 Countries
Image of a city landscape
55 Cities
Image of a pink marker
Undisclosed number of IP Addresses

AVG Secure VPN’s server network isn’t very big, covering just 36 countries.

Sadly, AVG’s website doesn’t list its server network, making it difficult to check whether or not the country you need is available before you purchase.

Thankfully, AVG Secure VPN’s servers cover the most popular locations such as the US, UK, Canada, Australia, and many countries in Western Europe.

There are also eight countries available in Asia Pacific, three in South and Central America, two in the Middle East, and one in Africa (South Africa).

AVG Secure VPN app's server locations list

AVG Secure VPN only has servers in the most popular countries.

AVG Secure VPN allows users to connect to city-level servers in six countries:

  • Canada (2)
  • Germany (2)
  • Russia (2)
  • Spain (2)
  • UK (2)
  • US (15)

City-level server choice is great for optimizing speeds and for accessing geo-specific content. AVG Secure VPN’s selection of 15 cities in the US alone is impressive for a server network of this size.

AVG does not disclose how many individual VPN servers (or IP addresses) it provides, nor does it specify whether they are virtual or physical servers.

If you need a wider range of VPN servers, we recommend considering Hotspot Shield, a VPN with servers in over 80 countries.

Streaming

Streams US Netflix & BBC iPlayer

6.96.9/10
How is this calculated?

This rating is calculated by how many different streaming services and regional content libraries the VPN can unblock, and how consistently it can access them.

We test access to Netflix, Disney+, Max, Amazon Prime Video, BBC iPlayer, and many more platforms on a weekly basis.

AVG Secure VPN has dedicated servers for streaming US Netflix and BBC iPlayer. The UK server is very reliable, working each time we tested it. However, we couldn't watch any other streaming services, such as Prime Video or HBO Max.

Ranked #24 out of 55 VPNs for Streaming

Here’s a list showing some of the most popular streaming services that AVG Secure VPN can access:

Streaming PlatformWorks with AVG Secure VPN
Channel 4No
Amazon Prime VideoNo
BBC iPlayerYes
Disney+No
HBO MaxNo
Hotstar IndiaNo
HuluNo
ITVXNo
Netflix USYes
YouTubeNo

Our most recent tests found that AVG VPN is less reliable at streaming US Netflix than it used to be. That said, it still accessed the streaming service more often than not.

AVG Secure VPN accessing US Netflix

AVG Secure VPN unblocks US Netflix.

The VPN is a good choice for streaming BBC iPlayer from outside the UK. Over months of testing, AVG was able to access iPlayer each time. Even the very best VPNs, like ExpressVPN, struggle with this.

To access US Netflix, connect to the ‘Gotham City’ server. To stream BBC iPlayer, connect to the ‘Wonderland’ server.

Disappointingly, AVG VPN doesn’t work with any other streaming service. We were unable to stream Amazon Prime Video, Hulu, HBO Max, or Peacock while connected to the VPN.

Torrenting

Not Recommended for Torrenting

5.75.7/10
How is this calculated?

This rating is determined by the VPN’s torrenting speeds, the percentage of servers that allow P2P file sharing, the service’s privacy and trustworthiness, and useful settings like port forwarding.

For speed specifically, we calculate the VPN’s average download bitrate using our bespoke torrenting setup.

AVG Secure VPN is a poor option for torrenting. In our latest torrenting tests, we recorded a slow bitrate and poor overall performance. The VPN also logs too much information to be trusted with sensitive activity. If you torrent files often, you should use a different VPN.

Ranked #32 out of 55 VPNs for Torrenting

AVG Secure VPN only allows P2P activity on servers in six countries. These can be found in the ‘Torrenting’ section of the server list.

AVG Secure VPN’s torrenting servers are located in the following regions:

  • Czech Republic
  • France
  • Germany
  • Netherlands
  • UK
  • US (Miami, New York & Seattle)
AVG Secure VPN's torrenting server locations

AVG Secure VPN has dedicated servers for torrenting.

You can’t torrent using any other servers.

As well as the limited server selection, we don’t recommend AVG Secure VPN for torrenting due to its logging policy. The VPN stores way too much user connection data.

There are far more private P2P VPNs available. See what we mean by reading our review of NordVPN or our analysis of IPVanish.

Bypassing Web Censorship

AVG VPN Doesn’t Work in China

2.52.5/10
How is this calculated?

We routinely test if the VPN can bypass strict internet restrictions in China using our remote-access server in Shanghai.

Other important factors we consider include obfuscation technologies and the availability of servers in neighboring countries (for faster connections).

AVG Secure VPN does not work in China, UAE, Turkey, or any other high-censorship country. The VPN apps don’t come with any obfuscation tools or stealth protocols, making OpenVPN – the only VPN protocol included – very easy to detect and block.

Ranked #42 out of 55 VPNs for Bypassing Web Censorship

We’ve never been able to use AVG Secure VPN in China. The VPN is detected instantly and we’re unable to even log into the app.

AVG openly admits the VPN won’t work in China “due to Chinese government regulation and policies.”

AVG Secure VPN will still work in highly-censored countries like Russia and Turkey, though, which have less-strict VPN bans than China.

While Chinese web filters block many VPN services, there still are VPNs able to bypass the Great Firewall. See our list of the best VPNs for China to learn more.

Security & Technical Features

Strong Encryption but Basic Security Tools

6.56.5/10
How is this calculated?

A secure VPN must offer OpenVPN or WireGuard protocols, AES-256 encryption, and a working kill switch.

To calculate this rating, we also factor in additional security settings and features.

AVG Secure VPN includes the average amount of encryption and security features, but nothing more. It encrypts traffic using AES-256, uses OpenVPN, and comes with a kill switch. However, it uses a less secure protocol on macOS and it doesn't include any advanced features, like double hop.

Ranked #31 out of 55 VPNs for Security & Technical Features

ProtocolsAvailable in AVG Secure VPN
IKEv2/IPSecYes
L2TP/IPSecYes
OpenVPN (TCP/UDP)Yes
WireGuardNo
EncryptionAvailable in AVG Secure VPN
AES-128No
AES-192No
AES-256Yes
BlowfishNo
ChaCha20No
SecurityAvailable in AVG Secure VPN
DNS Leak BlockingNo
First-party DNSNo
IPv6 Leak BlockingNo
Supports TCP Port 443No
VPN Kill SwitchYes
WebRTC Leak BlockingNo
Advanced FeaturesAvailable in AVG Secure VPN
Ad BlockerNo
Dedicated IPNo
Double VPNNo
Smart DNSNo
Static IPNo
SOCKSNo
Split TunnelingNo
Tor over VPN ServerNo
Tracker BlockerNo

Poor Selection of VPN Protocols

AVG Secure VPN uses different VPN protocols for each of its apps:

  • Windows and Android – OpenVPN (UDP) and Mimic.
  • macOS – L2TP/IPSec and Mimic.
  • iOS – IKEv2/IPSec and Mimic.

Mimic is a proprietary VPN protocol developed by Avast. It’s exclusive to AVG Secure VPN and Avast Secureline. It’s a closed-source protocol that hasn’t been audited by a third party. As a result, it’s impossible to know how safe and secure it is to use.

Until more details are published, we don’t recommend using Mimic for sensitive activities, such as torrenting or online banking. Where it’s available, you should use OpenVPN instead.

There’s no option to use WireGuard, either. WireGuard is a new VPN protocol that performs well on speed and security. Unlike Mimic, it’s also open-source, meaning it can be vetted by third parties.

We’d like to see AVG VPN add OpenVPN as an option on all platforms, as well as support WireGuard.

AVG VPN's protocol options

AVG doesn’t use OpenVPN on all platforms.

No Advanced Security Features

AVG’s VPN software performs poorly when it comes to configurable settings.

All of AVG VPN’s apps use AES-256 encryption, which is considered unbreakable. It doesn’t have split tunneling, a feature that allows you to run some apps outside of the VPN tunnel.

There aren’t any advanced security features, either, like multi-hop, dedicated IP, or a malware blocker. Instead, AVG’s security features are basic and offer no options for customization.

The one upside is that AVG VPN has a VPN kill switch on its Windows and macOS clients.

The kill switch protects your real IP address if the VPN connection drops unexpectedly. The feature blocks all internet traffic and keeps your true IP address hidden.

AVG VPN Hides Your IP Address

We put AVG Secure VPN through a range of security tests to ensure it doesn’t leak any personal information. We didn’t experience any leaks during our DNS, IP, or WebRTC leak tests.

AVG Secure VPN leak test results on browserleaks.com

AVG Secure VPN successfully concealed our true IP address.

However, AVG Secure VPN still recommends disabling WebRTC in your browser settings, since the VPN can’t disable WebRTC in-app.

Device & OS Compatibility

Doesn’t Work on Many Devices

How is this rated?

A high-quality VPN should maintain functional, fully-featured applications and browser extensions for as many platforms and devices as possible.

Our ‘Device & OS Compatibility’ assessment contributes to the Ease of Use rating.

AVG Secure VPN provides custom VPN apps for four popular platforms: Windows, macOS, iOS and Android. Unfortunately, AVG Secure VPN provides no manual workarounds for other devices and platforms, like Linux.

Apps

  1. Windows
  2. Mac
  3. iOS
  4. Android

AVG Secure VPN is incompatible with games consoles and TV streaming devices. It doesn’t have a Fire TV Stick app, no Smart DNS tool, and you can’t set it up on your home router.

For better streaming and online gaming, we recommend these highly-rated Apple TV VPNs, Fire TV Stick VPNs, and VPNs for gaming.

Lacks Browser Extensions

AVG Secure VPN doesn’t come with any VPN browser extensions.

To use a VPN directly from your browser, we recommend these top-rated Chrome VPNs and these secure Firefox VPNs.

On the plus side, you can use AVG Secure VPN on up to ten devices simultaneously.

Ease of Use

Simple VPN Apps With Easy Set Up

7.77.7/10
How is this calculated?

This rating mainly consists of the user-friendliness and intuitiveness of setting up and regularly using the VPN.

We also factor in customization settings, as well as device and OS compatibility (see section above).

AVG’s VPN desktop apps are simple to download and install. Although the apps are well-laid out and user-friendly, basic and don't offer enough customization options.

Ranked #28 out of 55 VPNs for Ease of Use

AVG VPN is easy to install, set up, and use on all platforms.

To connect to a VPN server, just click the on/off button from the app’s home screen. Servers are conveniently split up into use cases. For example, click ‘Torrenting’ to find all of AVG VPN’s dedicated P2P servers.

Though its apps don’t offer many customization options, this means AVG VPN is very easy to use. The app is fine if you want a simple VPN to encrypt web traffic or bypass streaming restrictions.

But if you want a VPN that allows you to benefit from advanced features, you should consider an alternative.

Customer Support

Poor Live Chat and Slow Email Responses

8.68.6/10
How is this calculated?

This rating is based on our assessment of the VPN’s:

  • Live chat support
  • Email support
  • Online resources

Not every VPN offers all these support options, and they often vary in quality and response times.

AVG’s customer support is disappointing, and not what we expect from a well-established cybersecurity company. Its 24/7 live chat team weren't always able to answer our questions, and our emails were sometimes ignored. The online tutorials are below-par, too.

Ranked #12 out of 55 VPNs for Customer Support

Customer SupportAvailable in AVG Secure VPN
24/7 Live Chat SupportYes
24/7 Email SupportNo
ChatbotNo
EmailNo
Email Support via Online FormYes
Tutorial VideosNo
Online ResourcesYes

The best way to get in touch with an AVG support agent is via live chat. Sadly, it’t not clear how to do this through the AVG website.

We found that AVG’s live chat support team are available through a specialzed URL.

The support team covers both the AVG antivirus product as well as the VPN. We often had to wait over 20 minutes to be put through, and once we were, our query wasn’t always answered.

When contacting AVG via a support request form on the website, we sometimes didn’t receive any responses at all.

The support section of AVG’s website is poorly laid out and it took us a long time to find relevant resources. That’s because there’s no marked section for AVG Secure VPN.

The FAQ section is basic, but it does include some setup instructions and troubleshooting tips. There are also links to the community forum, with mostly user-generated tips and advice, but little input from AVG’s support team.

Price & Value

Not Worth the Expensive Subscription Cost

6.56.5/10
How is this calculated?

While we do assign a ‘Price & Value’ rating, it doesn’t contribute to the Overall Rating. We believe the reader should decide what is or isn’t a reasonable price.

A good rating isn’t just based on how cheap the VPN is, but for the overall value it offers.

AVG Secure VPN is expensive for the level of quality it provides. You can choose from three pricing plans, although there is no option to pay for a single month. All subscription lengths include the same product features.

Ranked #27 out of 55 VPNs for Price & Value

AVG’s VPN subscriptions start from a minimum of $4.99 for 12 months. The price drops to $3.99 per month on the two-year and three-year plans. You’ll have to pay upfront for each subscription.

Unlike most other VPN services, AVG does not offer a monthly subscription option. Make sure to use the VPN’s free trial before paying the upfront fee.

Here are AVG Secure VPN’s pricing options in full:

  1. 12 Month(s)

    $4.99/mo

    Billed $59.88 every 12 months
  2. 2 Year(s)

    $3.99/mo

    Billed $95.76 every 2 years
    Save 20%
  3. 3 Year(s)

    $3.99/mo

    Billed $143.64 every 3 years
    Save 20%

We recommend signing up for a yearly or two-year subscription. You won’t benefit from any further discount if you choose the three-year plan.

Simply, there are far better and cheaper VPNs available for less. For example, Surfshark’s two-year subscription is 45% cheaper, and Mullvad is available monthly for just $5.95.

The VPN also comes bundled with the ‘AVG Ultimate’ subscription. This package includes AVG’s antivirus and PC optimization software. It’s available for an annual subscription of $79.99.

Payment & Refund Options

  1. American Express
  2. Mastercard
  3. PayPal
  4. Visa

It’s only possible to purchase AVG Secure VPN using a credit card or PayPal. This limitation puts it well behind its competitors in terms of payment options.

There is no option to pay with cryptocurrencies for greater levels of privacy, nor are there any international options like AliPay or WorldPay.

7-Day Free Trial

AVG Secure VPN isn’t free, but you can trial the software for seven days without paying a cent. No personal or payment information is needed for the free trial.

Simply download the VPN on your chosen device and you’re good to go. You can only use the VPN on one device during the free trial, though.

30-Day Refund Guarantee

AVG Secure VPN also offers a 30-day money-back guarantee, but it does come with some restrictions.

You are only eligible for a refund if you’ve used less than 10GB of data during the 30 days, and if you’ve connected to the VPN service fewer than 100 times in total.

If you do qualify for a refund, simply contact the AVG support team.

The Bottom Line

We Don’t Recommend Using AVG Secure VPN

AVG Secure VPN is a mediocre VPN service, but it has improved slightly of late. It logs less user data than it used to, and its speeds are now very fast. However, it doesn’t go far enough.

The VPN still logs connection timestamps, and its fast speeds are down to the untested Mimic protocol. As a result, it’s not suitable for users concerned about privacy or security.

It’s a decent choice if you need to get an IP address from another country quickly. The VPN has servers in 36 countries, with all the main regions covered.

While we were able to watch US Netflix and BBC iPlayer using AVG VPN’s streaming-optimized servers, it didn’t work with Prime Video or Hulu. Also, its live chat customer support option is poor and email support is slow.

It’s fine to use if the VPN comes as part of your existing AVG subscription, but we don’t recommend paying for it separately. There’s no monthly subscription option, and there are safer and better alternatives available for cheaper.

In short, you should not use AVG Secure VPN and use a different VPN instead. You can find some suggestions in the section below.

Alternatives to AVG Secure VPN

Private Internet Access logo

Private Internet Access

9.349.3/10

Looking for super-fast speeds and top-level privacy? Private Internet Access provides both. It works reliably with US Netflix, too. Read Private Internet Access review

CyberGhost

CyberGhost

9.059.1/10

If it's access to global content you need, CyberGhost is a great choice. With VPN servers in 90 countries. It's also safe, secure, and cheap. Read CyberGhost review


User Reviews for AVG Secure VPN

User Reviews are shown in the original language of submission.