Disclosure: Top10VPN is editorially independent. We may earn commissions if you buy a VPN through links on our site.

Ivacy VPN Review

 46.666% 
(3 User reviews)
Ivacy VPN screenshot
Headshot of Top10VPN.com Site Editor Callum Tennent

Callum oversees how we test and review VPN services. He's a member of the IAPP, and his advice about VPNs has featured in Forbes and the Internet Society. Read full bio

Ask Callum about Ivacy VPN

Our Verdict

Ivacy is a cheap VPN that works with US Netflix and BBC iPlayer. It utilizes AES-256 encryption, has a private logging policy, and allows torrenting on its servers. Sadly, Ivacy is too slow, and it is less trustworthy than top VPN services.

Overall Rating: 6.2/10

Ivacy VPN has been operating since 2007, however the VPN service doesn’t hold the reputation of an established company.

In our expert Ivacy VPN review, we will examine the reasons why Ivacy VPN isn’t considered a top VPN service.

In our latest round of testing, we put Ivacy VPN under the microscope to find out what’s really going on. In this review we’ll dig deep into the questions many people ask, such as:

But that’s just the start of our process. By the end of our Ivacy VPN review, you’ll know all about Ivacy’s logging policy, its encryption techniques, its jurisdiction, and much more.

See our review of ExpressVPN, a fast and trusted VPN

Ivacy VPN Pros & Cons

Pros

  1. Works with US Netflix, Hulu, and BBC iPlayer
  2. Good logging policy
  3. Unbeatable price on long-term plans
  4. Good speeds on local VPN connections
Cons
  1. Far too secretive about its ownership structure
  2. Deceptive business practices
  3. No VPN kill switch or split tunneling for MacOS and iOS
  4. Big drop in speeds on international connections

Ivacy VPN Key Data

Data CapUnlimited
Speed83Mbps
Logging PolicyNo Logs
Data LeaksNo
JurisdictionSingapore (Five-Eyes Collaborator)
Servers1,000+
IP AddressesNot disclosed
Countries57
US NetflixYes
TorrentingUnlimited
Works in ChinaYes
Support24/7 Live Chat
Cheapest Price$2.45/mo over 2 years
Official WebsiteIvacy.com

ProtonVPN Category Ratings

We test and review every VPN in eight key areas. Here’s how ProtonVPN performs in each category:

  • Privacy & Logging Policy: 3.3/10
  • Encryption & Security: 6.9/10
  • Speed & Reliability: 7.0/10
  • Streaming & Torrenting: 9.5/10
  • Bypassing Censorship: 9.0/10
  • Ease of Use: 7.7/10
  • Customer Support: 8.1/10
  • Price & Value for Money: 8.0/10

To learn more about our methodology, read our full VPN testing process.

Who is Ivacy VPN?

About & Logging

Privacy & Logging Policy Rating: 3.3/10

There is no ethical obligation to reveal who the people behind Ivacy are.”
– Frank, Ivacy Public Relations Manager

Based in Singapore under its parent company PMG Private Limited, Ivacy is particularly evasive about its ownership and operational structure.

After undergoing some research into the company’s history, we discovered some unsavory secrets — strap yourself in for this one.

You’d never have known it, but Ivacy is actually operated by the same parent company as PureVPN, a Pakistani organization called Gaditek.

Gaditek was founded by the Gadit family, with Umair Gadit being Gaditek’s current CEO and fellow co-founder Uzair Gadit being the CEO of PureVPN.

After years of rumors online, Ivacy finally admitted to this, although claiming its association with PureVPN is “only minor.”

There’s nothing immediately suspicious about this. Several VPN providers are owned and run by the same parent company.

But Gaditek’s peculiar, shady business practices, alongside its reluctance to openly discuss the ownership structure, means Ivacy is a VPN to avoid.

Firstly, Ivacy does not name its management team anywhere. Ivacy also refused to disclose this when we reached out to it.

At one point, the Ivacy website did ambiguously name its CEO as ‘Mr. Saad’, but this has since been scrubbed. A spokesperson also let slip in 2018 that the CEO’s name is ‘Saad Khan’.

In fact, we believe Ivacy’s CEO to be Muhammad Saad Khan. But you’d never know this either, as he does not mention his affiliation to Ivacy anywhere.

He officially states his position as being ‘Senior Product Marketing Manager at Cloudways’, which is a cloud hosting platform owned by Gaditek.

Screenshot showing Saad Khan's connection to Gaditek

Screenshot showing Ivacy CEO Saad Khan’s affiliation with other Gaditek-owned companies.

However, his Quora account has him listed as ‘Growth Marketing Strategist at PureVPN’.

Like an insatiable cold caller, he can also be found replying to VPN-related tweets with recommendations for PureVPN, without ever disclosing that he holds a key stake in its parent business and sister company.

As a result, and despite Ivacy’s attempts to distance itself from PureVPN, there is a definite relationship between the two. So much so, that it’s hard not to see Ivacy as a simple reskin of PureVPN.

On top of the secrecy, Gaditek engages in extremely unpleasant business practices.

Gaditek owns and runs four VPN review sites, which it uses to artificially rank its VPN products in the top positions without ever disclosing its true ownership.

Gaditek also routinely engages in ‘astroturfing’ – where it creates fake social media accounts to promote its VPN product under the guise of a real person.

Separately, the PR Manager of Digital and Partnerships at Ivacy was caught offering a VPN reviewer a lifetime subscription to Ivacy in exchange for more favorable reviews on his review site.

This is completely unforgivable.

Do you want to put your most sensitive data in the hands of a company that refuses to tell you who it is? And whose marketing strategy is to deceive customers into thinking its product is better than it is?

Absolutely not. For this reason alone, we suggest you think twice about Ivacy.

Logging Policy

Ivacy operates under a minimal-logs logging policy – collecting no information that could be used to identify you from your online activity.

This means Ivacy does not collect your connection logs, duration logs, IP address, connection timestamps, or any DNS queries generated by your end.

Here is the information as it appears in Ivacy’s privacy policy:

Screenshot of Ivacy's minimal-logs privacy policy

Excerpt of Ivacy’s Privacy Policy.

The only information that Ivacy does gather is your source country, which it claims is to ensure “smooth software functionality.”

Ivacy does not reveal how it determines which country you are connecting from, and could not tell us when we contacted it.

This minimal-logs policy is particularly essential for Ivacy, owing to its base within Singapore.

Singapore is a popular but outright bad location to base a VPN. This is because Singapore has a proven track record of collaborating with the Five-Eyes surveillance network and handing over sensitive information.

So much so, in fact, that Singapore has regularly been dubbed the ‘sixth-eye’ due to its persistent cooperation with the intelligence alliance.

This fact would be a great deal more alarming if we had any doubts about Ivacy’s logging policy. We believe that the minimal logs collected would be of no use to anyone, even a government or police force.

Dedicated servers are great for Netflix & torrenting

Streaming & Torrenting

Streaming & Torrenting Rating: 9.5/10

Ivacy is a good VPN choice for streamers, successfully unblocking most major streaming services.

Ivacy regularly worked with US Netflix and BBC iPlayer in our testing, which is particularly impressive given iPlayer’s infamous difficulty.

Both Netflix and BBC iPlayer can be accessed through Ivacy’s dedicated streaming servers. These servers are clearly labeled and easily discoverable, which remedies a frustration we have with some other VPN providers.

Ivacy’s mediocre speed performance means you may have buffering issues if you’re connecting from further afield, though.

We also wish Ivacy was able to unblock Disney+, which proved inaccessible in our testing.

If streaming is your main concern, check our recommendations for the best VPNs for streaming. These VPNs combine consistent unblocking of all the major streaming services with the fastest VPN speeds.

Torrenting

Ivacy is a great VPN choice for torrenters — providing dedicated servers just for P2P traffic.

These servers are somewhat undiscoverable, but can be found within the ‘Secure Download’ section of the app. We do wish that this was more explicitly explained in the interface, though.

By having servers exclusively for P2P activity, this works to massively reduce the risk of congestion and speed bottlenecks, even at peak times.

Ivacy’s use as a torrenting VPN is made particularly attractive due to its stellar logging policy, ensuring your torrenting activity stays anonymous.

This ensured anonymity is only available to torrenters on Windows and Android, however, as the Ivacy app on both platforms includes an internet kill switch. But Mac and iOS users should avoid using Ivacy for torrenting.

As the kill switch is not supported on any of Apple’s platforms, your true IP address is at risk of being revealed if your VPN connection drops when torrenting from an Apple device.

Good speeds on local servers, but big dip on international connections

Speed & Reliability

Speed & Reliability Rating: 7.0/10

Ivacy delivers decent download and upload speeds.

From our base in London, we saw a 13% drop in download speed and a 43% drop in upload speed when connected to a local London VPN server. These results are good, but certainly not great.

Local Speed Test Results

Before using Ivacy VPN:

  1. Download95Mbps
  2. Upload98Mbps
  3. Ping7ms

When connected to Ivacy VPN:

  1. Download83Mbps
  2. Upload56Mbps
  3. Ping16ms

Ivacy fared a lot worse over far-reaching connections, with a significant download speed dip of 42% when connected to a US East Coast VPN server.

Depending on your internet speeds, this magnitude of drop could make US Netflix streaming a chore.

Using our 100Mbps fiber optic connection, you can view our speed test results connecting from the UK to various Ivacy servers below:

USA: 55Mbps (download) & 14Mbps (upload)
Germany: 82Mbps (download) & 48Mbps (upload)
Singapore: 47Mbps (download) & 13Mbps (upload)
Australia: 15Mbps (download) & 7Mbps (upload)

Latency remained fairly low on our local connection, making Ivacy a great choice for gamers. But there are even better VPN options out there for gaming.

If you want to read more about how we test VPN speeds, check out our page on how we review VPNs.

Good value for money on longer plans

Pricing

Price & Value for Money Rating: 8.0/10

If you’re set on using Ivacy as your VPN provider, it is worth committing to the longer term plans.

If you pay month-by-month, Ivacy is a relatively pricey VPN option at $9.95 each month.

But if you are able to pay $59 upfront for the 2-year plan, the monthly price for Ivacy drops by a massive 75% to just $2.45 a month.

$2.45 a month is an exceptional price for such a capable VPN service. If getting value for money is your priority, Ivacy is a superb choice.

  1. Monthly

    US$9.95/mo

    Billed $9.95 every month
  2. 12 months

    US$3.66/mo

    Billed $44 every 12 months
    Save 63%
  3. 2 years

    US$2.45/mo

    Billed $59 every 2 years
    Save 75%

All plans have 30-day money-back guarantee

Payment & Refund Options

Credit CardYes
PayPalYes
BitcoinYes
AliPayYes
UnionPayYes

Ivacy offers a 1-day free trial, which you can use without having to enter your email address or payment information. This is a lot shorter than trial periods from other VPN services, but it’s a good way of testing Ivacy before purchasing a longer-term subscription.

Alternatively, Ivacy has a 30-day money-back guarantee. This guarantee is truly no questions asked and is not subject to any restrictions or data usage caps.

We found requesting a refund through Ivacy’s 24/7 live chat to be swift and painless.

However, this 30-day guarantee is not available on the monthly plan. Pay monthly subscribers can request a refund within just seven days.

Bad news too if you’re a crypto-user, as payments made via Bitcoin and BitPay are ineligible for a refund.

If spending any money upfront is just too much to swallow, why not check out our rundown of the best truly free VPN trials.

Ivacy Free

Ivacy also offers a 100% free subscription plan, which requires no account or payment details to use. It doesn’t come with any data cap, which is rare for a free VPN.

However, you can only connect to your nearest server location. This means you won’t be able to access any streaming services outside of your region. It also doesn’t come with a kill switch or split-tunneling functionality.

Overall, Ivacy Free is an acceptable choice for encrypting unsafe public WiFi networks, but it’s useless for anything beyond that. Instead, we recommend you make use of the VPN’s 1-day free trial or use one of the best free VPNs.

VPN servers in 57 countries

Server Locations

Globe with a blue flag
57Countries
Image of a city landscape
80+Cities
Image of a pink marker
Undisclosed number ofIP Addresses

Ivacy has a decent server allocation, maintaining a mid-sized server network with 57 countries to choose from.

Coverage is best in Europe and North America but recent network expansion has seen Ivacy introduce VPN servers in more traditionally underrepresented countries, including Costa Rica, Ghana, Kenya, and Panama.

The overall country spread is mediocre, though, so we strongly recommend checking the server list to ensure your desired location is on there.

Ivacy’s total server number is more pleasing, with over 1,000 spread across the globe.

But be warned — this is not as impressive as it first seems. A staggering 25% are not physically located in their advertised location. Ivacy operates a huge fleet of virtual server locations, which use masking techniques to conceal their location for WHOIS lookups.

For instance, Ivacy’s ‘Luxembourg’ server is actually located in Atlanta, US, and its ‘Turkey’ server is located in New York.

On top of this, you can use OpenVPN, our preferred protocol, in just 17 of those 57 countries.

Tailor-made app works well in China

Censorship

Bypassing Censorship Rating: 9.0/10

Ivacy has a bespoke app just for use in China, called Ivacy Prime. This is tied to your regular Ivacy subscription, so you don’t need to pay for two separate applications.

Ivacy Prime is only available on Windows and Android.

Frustratingly, there is no documentation relating to Ivacy Prime on the Ivacy web page, despite vast differences between it and the regular Ivacy app.

Firstly, the Ivacy Prime app does not offer an internet kill switch. This means that if your connection drops for any reason, your true IP address is at risk of being revealed.

Split tunneling is also not supported, which is less critical of a feature, but still a notable omission.

Ivacy Prime also only supports the OpenVPN protocol, which is a big win in our eyes. OpenVPN is open-sourced and has proven to be the best balance between performance and privacy.

The palette of modes has also been stripped back in the Ivacy Prime app — offering just ‘Smart Connect’, ‘Streaming’, and ‘Social Sites’.

Image showing the social sites that can be blocked in China with Ivacy VPN

The ‘Social Sites’ section is the most meaningful addition of the Prime app. This allows you to access popular sites like Facebook, Spotify, and YouTube which have been blocked by the notorious ‘Great Firewall of China’.

The usual fare of streaming services, like Netflix and Amazon Prime Video, have their own dedicated servers. There is a notable addition of YouTube TV, but BBC iPlayer is disappointingly absent.

Native apps for all major platforms

Platforms & Devices

Apps

  1. Windows Logo
    Windows
  2. Mac Logo
    Mac
  3. iOS Logo
    iOS
  4. Android Logo
    Android
  5. Linux Logo
    Linux
  6. Router Logo
    Router

Ivacy covers the usual suspects with its native VPN apps. These include:

  • Microsoft Windows
  • Apple MacOS
  • Android
  • iOS
  • Linux

Generously, Ivacy allows up to five simultaneous connections per account. This makes Ivacy a good choice if you want to protect all your family’s devices alongside your own.

However, Apple users be warned – both the kill switch and split tunneling features are unavailable on iOS and MacOS.

This is a huge problem if you plan on using Ivacy VPN on either of these platforms, as if your connection drops your true IP address is at risk of being revealed.

Fortunately, we’ve got you covered. Check out our run-through of the best VPNs for Apple users.

If you’re having any issues with downloading, Ivacy does provide helpful walkthroughs on how to install Ivacy VPN on each of its supported platforms.

Games Consoles & Streaming Devices

  1. AppleTV Logo
    AppleTV
  2. Amazon Fire TV Logo
    Amazon Fire TV
  3. Chromecast Logo
    Chromecast
  4. Nintendo Logo
    Nintendo
  5. PlayStation Logo
    PlayStation
  6. Roku Logo
    Roku
  7. Xbox Logo
    Xbox

Ivacy punches well above its weight when it comes to streaming device support.

Ivacy has dedicated applications for both Amazon Fire TV and Android TV. This means you don’t have to fiddle around with manual configurations, but can just download the app and start streaming.

No VPN provider has a native application for any of the major games consoles, so it’s not a surprise to see Ivacy lacking support here.

You are still able to run Ivacy on devices like your PS4 and Xbox, though. To do this, you will need to install the VPN at router level, allowing you to cover all devices on your network with VPN security.

Browser Extensions

  1. Chrome Logo
    Chrome
  2. Firefox Logo
    Firefox

Ivacy has VPN browser extensions for Google Chrome and Mozilla Firefox.

However, like most other VPN browser extensions, they simply work as an internet proxy.

This is fine if you want to use Ivacy just to unblock Netflix or BBC iPlayer, but if you’re serious about your online anonymity, we suggest avoiding the browser extension and using the full application.

Robust VPN encryption with paltry amount of OpenVPN countries

Encryption & Security

Protocols
  1. IKEv2/IPSec
  2. L2TP/IPSec
  3. OpenVPN (TCP/UDP)
  4. PPTP
  5. SSTP
Encryption
  1. AES-256
Security
  1. DNS Leak Blocking
  2. First-party DNS
  3. IPV6 Leak Blocking
  4. VPN Kill Switch
  5. WebRTC Leak Blocking
Advanced features
  1. Split Tunneling

Encryption & Security Rating: 6.9/10

Ivacy is a solid VPN choice when it comes to encryption and security.

Disappointingly, OpenVPN (our preferred VPN protocol), is available on servers in just 17 countries and has to be enabled in the settings menu. Otherwise, Ivacy will default to IKEv2.

When using Ivacy VPN, all your data is encrypted through the virtually unhackable AES-256 cipher. AES-256 is offered by most major VPN providers, being the gold standard for online encryption protocols.

On top of this, Ivacy provides a VPN kill switch, DNS, and IPv6 leak protection – all of which work to prevent your true IP address from being exposed in case of an unexpected connection drop.

Our tests found Ivacy to be fully protected from any DNS or IP leaks, too. Ivacy can be relied upon to successfully hide your true IP address.

But be warned – the internet kill switch is only available on Windows and Android. This means iOS and Mac users miss out on a kill switch, which is a huge downside.

The inclusion of split tunneling is a welcome feature. This allows you to safeguard your web traffic while maintaining compatibility with devices on your network, like your printer or streaming device.

But again, split tunneling is only available on Windows and Android. We long for Ivacy to give Apple users as much love as the rest of its user base.

Easy to set up, but clunky to configure

Ease of Use

How to Install & Set Up Ivacy VPN

Ease of Use Rating: 7.7/10

Installing Ivacy is incredibly simple, even for VPN novices.

In short, you just have to head to the downloads page of the Ivacy website and click ‘Get Started’ for your preferred platform, then follow the on-screen steps.

Once installed, the Ivacy app is fine but certainly not great.

The different sections of the app are ambiguously labeled and it can be difficult to determine the particular purpose of each option.

To make this worse, the ‘more info’ button, which presumably explains the role of each section, does not work.

But don’t worry, we’ve got you covered.

  • ‘Smart Connect’ simply connects you to your nearest Ivacy VPN server
  • ‘Secure Download’ is for torrenting and P2P traffic
  • ‘Streaming’ is for unblocking geo-restricted streaming services
  • ‘Unblocking’ is for connecting to a VPN server in a country of your choosing

Configuring some of Ivacy’s security options can also be a chore. Bizarrely, the kill-switch is hidden behind a drop-down menu on the ‘Connection’ tab of settings. IP and DNS leak protection is also off by default.

Some settings are also concealed by technical jargon. It would be useful if the VPN protocol options of UDP and TCP were explained to be the OpenVPN options, for example.

Browser Extensions

Screenshot of Ivacy Chrome Extension

 

Downloading the Ivacy browser extension for Google Chrome and Mozilla Firefox is easy.

To do this, just head to the Ivacy website and click ‘Get Started’ for your preferred browser.

Much like the fully-fledged application, the Ivacy browser extension is split into multiple sections.

Dedicated servers for streaming can be found in the ‘Purposes’ tab, as well as a ‘Quick Connect’ to a local VPN server, and a list of locations around the world to connect to.

Lackluster live chat bolstered by comprehensive online resources

Customer Support

24/7 Live chat supportYes
24/7 Email supportYes

Customer Support Rating: 8.1/10

Despite being always available, Ivacy’s customer support is not as good as we’d like.

Ivacy’s 24/7 live chat feature is great if you’re in a hurry, but falls flat most of the time.

We found it to work mostly as a conduit to its online resources, as almost all our queries were answered with a link.

However, this is not necessarily a bad thing, as Ivacy does boast a decent knowledge base which should answer the majority of questions.

The support section on the website is where you’ll find FAQs, troubleshooting advice, and manual setup guides for lots of devices.

With more technical questions, we were directed to Ivacy’s email support team. Disappointingly, they were not the hastiest repliers and were often unable to adequately answer our questions.

More frustratingly, Ivacy’s customer support team outright refused to answer some of the questions we posed.

For instance, Ivacy refused to tell us how it determines the source country of its users, and ignored all correspondence regarding the company’s ownership structure.

Do We Recommend Ivacy VPN?

The Bottom Line

Ivacy VPN is a decent choice if you want a cheap way to encrypt internet traffic and watch US Netflix. It’s also an affordable option to use in China.

On the whole, though, we recommend that you avoid using Ivacy due to its purposely hidden ownership structure and its sketchy business methods. Frankly, we believe that Ivacy does not deserve your money.

Alternatives to Ivacy VPN

The new ExpressVPN logo

ExpressVPN

ExpressVPN is the most trustworthy VPN provider around, with its no-logs policy being verified through server seizures and independent security audits. Read ExpressVPN review

PrivateVPN

PrivateVPN

PrivateVPN is one of the best VPN services on the market. It comes with fast speeds, regular unblocking of US Netflix, and a strict zero-logs policy. Read PrivateVPN review

About the Author


  • Headshot of Top10VPN.com Site Editor Callum Tennent

    Callum Tennent

    Callum oversees how we test and review VPN services. He's a member of the IAPP, and his advice about VPNs has featured in Forbes and the Internet Society. Read full bio


User Feedback for Ivacy VPN

  • 3 user reviews
  • 0 questions answered