Disclosure: Top10VPN is editorially independent. We may earn commissions if you buy a VPN through links on our site.

ZoogVPN Review

 80% 
(3 User reviews)
ZoogVPN screenshot
Headshot of Top10VPN.com Site Editor Callum Tennent

Callum oversees how we test and review VPN services. He's a member of the IAPP, and his advice about VPNs has featured in Forbes and the Internet Society. Read full bio

Ask Callum about ZoogVPN

Our Verdict

7.77.7/10
How is this calculated?

Our overall rating is reached by combining several subcategories. The subcategories are weighted as follows:

  • Logging & Jurisdiction: 30%
  • Speed & Reliability: 25%
  • Security & Features: 20%
  • Streaming: 10%
  • Torrenting: 5%
  • Ease of Use: 5%
  • Support: 5%

See our full methodology in how we review VPNs.

ZoogVPN is a promising VPN with fast speeds, a private logging policy, and a good free version. Its low price is tempting, but its performance is inconsistent and it often fails to connect. Though ZoogVPN is safe and works with BBC iPlayer and Disney+, there are plenty of VPNs that offer better quality for the same price.

Ranked #21 out of 68

ZoogVPN Category Ratings

  • 5.25.2/10
  • 88.0/10
  • 9.89.8/10
  • 8.18.1/10
  • 7.17.1/10
  • 77.0/10
  • 77.0/10
  • 66.0/10
  • 6.56.5/10
  • 7.57.5/10

ZoogVPN Pros & Cons

Pros

  1. Fast VPN speeds
  2. Works with BBC iPlayer & Disney+
  3. No data logs or leaks
  4. Servers optimized for P2P activity
  5. Affordable price tag
  6. Good free service

Cons

  1. Very small VPN server network
  2. Server connection failures
  3. No Netflix or HBO Max access
  4. Unreliable customer support
  5. No advanced security features

Blazing fast speeds, complete online privacy, and instant access to any website from any country are just some of the things that ZoogVPN promises on its homepage.

Do these claims hold any weight? We put ZoogVPN to the test to find out for ourselves.

We’ll also let you know the answers to the following questions and more:

  • Is ZoogVPN safe?
  • How fast is it?
  • Does ZoogVPN work with Netflix?
  • Is torrenting permitted?
  • Is ZoogVPN any good?

This ZoogVPN review will tell all you need to know about this VPN – the good, the bad, and the awful. Here’s a quick summary of what’s to come:

ZoogVPN Key Data

Data CapSpeedLogging PolicyData LeaksJurisdictionServersIP AddressesCountriesUS NetflixTorrentingWorks in ChinaSupportCheapest PriceOfficial Website
PremiumFree
Unlimited11GB
84Mbps84Mbps
No LogsNo Logs
NoNo
Greece (EU Member)Greece (EU Member)
433
50+3+
223
NoYes
PermittedPermitted
UnreliableNo
Live ChatLive Chat
$1.87/mo over 24 monthsN/A
Zoog.com

A No Logs VPN Service

Logging Policy & Jurisdiction

9.89.8/10
How is this calculated?

We dissect the logging and privacy policies of every VPN. A VPN should never log:

  • Your real IP address
  • Connection timestamps
  • DNS requests

A base of operations outside of 14-Eyes or EU jurisdiction is preferable.

ZoogVPN is based in Greece but it's a no-logs service, which makes it extremely private. The only information it knows is aggregated total upload and download data transferred on its servers. This isn't identifiable.

ZoogVPN was founded in May 2013 by “a bunch of networking geeks and techies.” Their names are George Agal, Alex Ovan, and Sam Jones. We couldn’t find any information about them online, though.

The VPN service is owned by Zoog Services IKE, which is now based in Greece following its incorporation in the Isle of Man, a self-governing British Crown Dependency (and frequent tax haven).

Zoog Services provides an address on its website, which isn’t as common in the VPN industry as we’d like it to be.

Greece isn’t part of the 14-Eyes international intelligence-sharing alliance. This is a positive. But it is a member of the EU, which still engages in data sharing between member states.

In order to find out what that means for you, let’s take a look at ZoogVPN’s privacy policy.

Logging Policy

If you had any concerns regarding ZoogVPN’s Greek jurisdiction – don’t. This VPN is strictly no-logs.

ZoogVPN’s privacy policy clearly states that the service doesn’t log:

  • Usage information on user activity.
  • The websites or apps the user visits.
  • Timestamps.
  • User IP addresses.

The only thing that Zoog does collect, aside from your email address, is aggregated information about the total upload and download data transferred on its servers. This is used to maintain the VPN service.

None of this information is shared with any other company or party, save for customer emails in cases where they’re required to verify payment (for example with PayPal or your credit card provider).

Even more reassuringly, ZoogVPN also publishes a regular warrant canary, which currently states that company has received:

  • 0 – National Security letters
  • 0 – Gag orders
  • 0 – Warrants or subpoenas from a government organization

So far so good.

Next we’ll see if ZoogVPN’s speeds are as pleasing as its approach to privacy.

Strong Encryption, Basic Security

Security & Features

77.0/10
How is this calculated?

Top-rated VPNs offer OpenVPN or WireGuard protocols, AES-256 encryption, and a functional kill switch. We also consider additional security features and the global spread of VPN servers.

ZoogVPN provides basic security. It offers industry-standard encryption, OpenVPN (but no WireGuard), a functional kill switch, and effective leak protection. This will protect your privacy on public WiFi networks, but if you're looking for extensive security, we suggest looking elsewhere.

Protocols
  1. IKEv2/IPSec
  2. OpenVPN (TCP/UDP)
Encryption
  1. AES-256
Security
  1. VPN Kill Switch
Advanced features
  1. None

ZoogVPN doesn’t provide any additional features when it comes to security, but it does include the bare essentials. It supports OpenVPN by default – one of the most secure connection protocols available. Traffic is encrypted with AES-256, a cipher considered uncrackable.

Our tests detected no IP, DNS, or WebRTC leaks, and the VPN kill switch works as intended. Overall, ZoogVPN is a safe and secure VPN service that will effectively encrypt your browsing data and hide your IP address.

As well as OpenVPN, there’s also IKEv2/IPSec, L2TP/IPSec, and PPTP protocols available. The first two are fine but we absolutely don’t recommend PPTP, as it’s very insecure.

There is no WireGuard, which is a newer protocol that we like to see alongside OpenVPN. This speaks to ZoogVPN’s basic level of security investment.

The iOS app runs exclusively on IKEv2/IPSec, which is fast, safe, and particularly useful for mobile devices that dip in and out of WiFi and 4G.

ZoogVPN doesn’t have any advanced options, like split tunneling or Double VPN. But it does have a VPN kill switch for Windows and Mac, which is responsible for preventing personal data leaks should the VPN connection drop suddenly.

ZoogVPN also passed our tests for IP, DNS, and WebRTC leaks:

Screenshot of ZoogVPN leak test results

We test from the UK. You can see that ZoogVPN is effectively hiding our IP address.

As you can see, ZoogVPN relies on third-party DNS servers, which isn’t ideal. That said, OpenDNS is secure enough.

ZoogVPN gets the basics of security right, so it’s safe to use. But it’s not offering anything unique or advanced for experienced VPN users.

Fast Short & Long Distance Speeds

Speed & Reliability

8.18.1/10
How is this calculated?

Speed ratings are calculated using upload speeds, download speeds, and ping (latency).

We test average speeds regularly using a dedicated 100Mbps connection in London, UK. Local download speed is considered the most important factor.

ZoogVPN is fast on local connections and distant international ones. We recorded a 12% speed loss on local connections, which is a good result. Long-distance speeds were also strong. Its latency/ping score could be better but most users won't even notice.

ZoogVPN’s speeds didn’t disappoint – the VPN performed fantastically, both over short-distance connections and further afield.

Uploads and downloads were consistently quick enough for HD streaming and smooth torrenting when we connected to nearby VPN servers.

Here are our local speed test results in full:

Local Speed Test results before using ZoogVPN:

  • Download Speed: 96.06Mbps
  • Upload Speed: 98.9Mbps
  • Ping: 2ms

Local Speed Test results with ZoogVPN:

  • Download Speed: 84.35Mbps
  • Upload Speed: 94.54Mbps
  • Ping: 15ms

Download speed loss when ZoogVPN is running: 12%

Ping times were a little less impressive, but shouldn’t affect the vast majority of users. For a lesser-known product, ZoogVPN’s speeds are very, very good.

Here’s a quick look at how well ZoogVPN performed internationally:

  • USA:
    • Download: 59Mbps (38% speed loss)
    • Upload: 73Mbps (27% speed loss)
  • Germany:
    • Download: 74Mbps (23% speed loss)
    • Upload: 94Mbps (5% speed loss)
  • Japan:
    • Download: 23Mbps (76% speed loss)
    • Upload: 22Mbps (78% speed loss)
  • Australia:
    • Download: 33Mbps (66% speed loss)
    • Upload: 31Mbps (69% speed loss)

These speeds will enable you to stream, torrent and browse to your heart’s content.

Only 22 Countries On Server Network

Server Locations

7.17.1/10
How is this calculated?

The global spread and coverage of the VPN server network is the most important factor here.

We also consider the number of city-level servers, plus how many IP addresses are maintained.

This rating does not directly contribute to the Overall Rating, but instead makes up a portion of the Security & Features rating.

You can only get IP addresses in 22 countries when using ZoogVPN. This isn't a lot at all. There are no servers in South America, and only a hand full in Asia. North American and European users should be fine, but we also experienced some random connection issues.

Globe with a blue flag
22Countries
Image of a city landscape
34Cities
Image of a pink marker
50+IP Addresses

ZoogVPN’s server network is underwhelming at 43 physical servers located in 22 countries. The best VPNs have hundreds, if not thousands, of servers.

To make matters worse, we experienced quite a lot of server connection failures during our tests, further narrowing the choice of available locations.

The vast majority of ZoogVPN’s servers are situated in Europe and North America, but there are a handful in Asia-Pacific too.

If you live in South America there’s no countries at all. For those in Africa the only server on the continent is located in South Africa.

ZoogVPN’s website claims that there are “thousands” of shared IP addresses available to users, which should go some way to reducing server congestion.

As is expected for such a small VPN server network, ZoogVPN doesn’t provide city-level servers in many countries, but there are two options in Germany and eight in the US.

If you need more server choice then you’ll find plenty on our list of the top five VPNs for 2021.

No Netflix, HBO Max, or Hulu

Streaming

5.25.2/10
How is this calculated?

Streaming is rated by the number of different services unlocked, how many regional libraries are viewable, and how consistently the VPN can access them.

Netflix, BBC iPlayer, HBO Max, DAZN, and Amazon Prime Video are all tested on a weekly basis.

ZoogVPN disappoints when it comes to streaming. It lists lots of streaming-optimized servers but we only had success accessing Amazon Prime Video, BBC iPlayer, and Disney+. That means extra Netflix libraries, HBO Max, Hulu, and DAZN all remain blocked.

ZoogVPN provides a bunch of streaming-friendly servers in several locations – they’re clearly marked with a play button symbol.

But they don’t always work; we managed to unlock Amazon Prime Video, BBC iPlayer, Disney+, and ITV Hub. We failed to get access to any Netflix library, including the US one.

You can easily find out which servers are intended to work with your favorite streaming service on ZoogVPN’s network status page.

As for the video quality, ZoogVPN’s speeds are more than good enough for HD streaming with little buffering.

P2P Servers & Kill Switch Fail-Safe

Torrenting

88.0/10
How is this calculated?

We calculate the average download bitrate of every VPN using a bespoke torrenting setup.

Testing also factors in the percentage of servers which permit P2P, plus useful features like port forwarding.

ZoogVPN has a number of P2P servers that are optimized for torrenting. It also comes with the necessary kill switch to prevent accidental IP exposures and a suitable privacy policy. This is a good option for torrenting, although there is no port forwarding.

ZoogVPN has P2P servers optimized for torrenting, but only on some of its VPN servers.

These P2P-friendly servers are clearly marked within the app’s server locations list. They span 16 countries including Canada, the US, and a handful of servers in Europe and Asia-Pacific.

We picked up a fast average bitrate when using these servers – 9.6 MiB/s.

ZoogVPN’s no-logs policy will be attractive for torrenting fans. So will the VPN kill switch, which prevents your IP address from being exposed to peers and your ISP should the VPN connection drop.

Obfuscation Tools May Work in China

Bypassing Censorship

77.0/10
How is this calculated?

Our remote-access server in Shanghai, China routinely tests if a VPN can beat restrictions and access a free, open internet. Obfuscation technologies and nearby servers are also a contributing factor.

This rating does not directly contribute to the Overall Rating, but instead makes up a portion of the Security & Features rating.

ZoogVPN has obfuscation tools designed to get around state censorship, but we can't guarantee that it'll work in China. It's likely to work in Russia, Turkey and the UAE, though.

It’s hard to say for sure whether ZoogVPN can be used to consistently bypass internet censors in China. But we find it unlikely.

That said, the Windows and Android VPN apps do have ZoogVPN Shadowing – an extra obfuscation tool designed to make VPN traffic look like normal internet traffic in order to help you beat censorship blocks.

It’s a promising sign, and will almost certainly do the trick in slightly less heavily censored countries like Russia and the UAE, but it’s a fairly recent development and we can’t be sure that it works reliably in China yet.

For now, we recommend you use an effective anti-censorship VPN service like ExpressVPN.

Custom Apps for Fire TV & Android TV

Platforms & Devices

How is device compatibility rated?

A quality VPN should maintain functional, fully-featured applications and extensions for as many platforms and devices as possible.

This does not directly contribute to the Overall Rating, but instead makes up a portion of the Ease of Use rating.

ZoogVPN has custom apps for a wide range of devices, including the most popular ones like Windows, Mac, iOS, and Android, as well as for Fire TV Stick, Android TV, and Linux. It doesn’t offer browser extensions but it can be installed at router-level for house-wide coverage. There’s plenty of options.

Apps

ZoogVPN has apps, or is available to use, on these devices:

  1. Windows Logo
    Windows
  2. Mac Logo
    Mac
  3. iOS Logo
    iOS
  4. Android Logo
    Android
  5. Linux Logo
    Linux
  6. Router Logo
    Router

It is possible to install the software on Linux and routers but it requires some manual config.

You can use ZoogVPN on up to five devices at once using just one subscription.

Games Consoles & Streaming Devices

  1. AppleTV Logo
    AppleTV
  2. Amazon Fire TV Logo
    Amazon Fire TV
  3. Chromecast Logo
    Chromecast
  4. Nintendo Logo
    Nintendo
  5. PlayStation Logo
    PlayStation
  6. Roku Logo
    Roku
  7. Xbox Logo
    Xbox

For those who want to protect their streaming devices, ZoogVPN provides a great solution: custom apps for both Amazon Fire TV Stick and Android TV.

What about smart TVs and games consoles?

Well, you can use ZoogVPN use on pretty much any internet-connected device by installing the software on a supported router. It’s a pretty complex process, but ZoogVPN provides simple setup instructions on its website.

Simple But Unreliable Applications

Ease of Use

66.0/10
How is this calculated?

This rating mainly consists of the intuitiveness of setup and everyday use.

Device or platform compatibility and customization options are also a factor.

ZoogVPN has stripped back, simple apps that anyone can use without complications. It suits newcomers and those who want to use the free version for a quick fix. But this comes at the cost of advanced performance and we experienced slow connection times and frequent connection failures.

How to Install & Set Up ZoogVPN

ZoogVPN’s apps will be immediately familiar to anyone who’s ever used a VPN before, and intuitive to anyone who hasn’t.

After a quick and easy setup, the ZoogVPN app displays a big central connect button and a server list sorted in alphabetical order.

There’s not many options to play around with – just a choice of protocol and a kill switch toggle.

This is reasonable enough. But when you experience frequent connection failures ZoogVPN’s ease of use score plummets. On several occasions, we waited a long time for the VPN to connect only for it to fail altogether.

If you’re planning on using a VPN frequently, ZoogVPN might become frustrating quite quickly.

Useful Live Chat Support, Limited Online Resources

Customer Support

6.56.5/10
How is this calculated?

This rating is based on our assessment of each VPN’s:

  • Email support
  • Live chat support
  • Online resources

Not every VPN offers all of these, and they often vary in quality and response time.

ZoogVPN has an FAQ, some setup guides, and online resources. You can also send an email for specific enquiries or contact the live chat support for quick assistance. There's a good amount of help available, but the chat doesn't operate 24/7 and the website information could be more in-depth.

Live chat SupportYes
EmailYes
Online ResourcesYes

While only available intermittently, ZoogVPN’s live chat support is useful for quick answers to simple questions.

For more technical questions we were told to contact ‘Level 2 Support’ via email.

We waited several hours for a response, but replies were helpful when they eventually came.

There’s a basic FAQ section on the ZoogVPN website, along with setup wizards for numerous platforms, but the online resources are far from comprehensive.

Very Cheap & Good Free Version

Price & Value

7.57.5/10
How is this calculated?

Price & Value for Money receives a rating, but is not factored into our Overall Rating. We believe the reader should decide what is or isn’t a reasonable price.

A good rating here isn’t just based on how cheap the VPN is, but for the value it offers overall.

ZoogVPN is very cheap on its best deal, so it's a tempting service. You'll get your money's worth, nut there are actually cheaper VPNs that we rate much higher.

If a relatively unknown VPN service is to really challenge the best VPN providers, then it also needs to come in at an attractive price point, and ZoogVPN’s is an absolute jaw-dropper.

On its two-year deal, ZoogVPN is one of the cheapest fully-featured VPN services we’ve seen. The prices are as such:

  1. Monthly

    US$9.99/mo

    Billed $9.99 every month
    Save 23%
  2. 12 months

    US$2.99/mo

    Billed $35.99 every 12 months
    Save 77%
  3. 2 years

    US$1.87/mo

    Billed $44.99 every 2 years
    Save 86%

All plans have 7-day money-back guarantee

At $1.87 per month on its two-year plan ZoogVPN is one of the absolute cheapest fully-featured VPN services we’ve seen.

If you’re looking for a shorter commitment the 12-month plan is a steal at $2.99 per month. Even if you pay month-to-month, it’ll cost you an affordable $9.99.

Payment & Refund Options

You can pay for ZoogVPN with the following payment methods:

  1. American Express logo
    American Express
  2. Bitcoin logo
    Bitcoin
  3. Mastercard logo
    Mastercard
  4. PayPal logo
    PayPal
  5. UnionPay logo
    UnionPay
  6. Visa logo
    Visa

ZoogVPN accepts the standard payment methods including credit and debit cards, PayPal, and Bitcoin.

It also accepts payments via Paymentwall, which lets you use various international methods such as AliPay.

ZoogVPN offers a seven-day money-back guarantee for users that paid with credit/debit cards or PayPal, but it comes with some terms.

  1. You aren’t eligible for a full refund if you’ve used more than 2GB of data, but ZoogVPN may offer a partial refund at its discretion.
  2. You may only receive a partial refund if “only some of the desired services are not availalbe [sic].”
  3. Even if you do qualify for a refund you’ll be subject to a 5% admin fee.

There’s a free version of ZoogVPN available, too, but we would strongly recommend you opt for the premium version. The free version of ZoogVPN limits you to 11GB of data and three VPN server locations. It’s limited but it’s safe.

ZoogVPN Has One of the Best Free Services

ZoogVPN has a completely free VPN service. You can sign-up easily with no payment details needed.

ZoogVPN Free gives you access to three server locations: the US (Washington), UK (London), and the Netherlands (Amsterdam).

The service is limited to 11GB of data per month. While this is restrictive, it’s actually one of the most generous data allowances around. Only the no-limit ProtonVPN Free is better.

Other restrictions include a one-device limit and inferior 128-bit encryption instead of AES-256.

You can stream with ZoogVPN Free. It works to unblock US Netflix. With 11GB you’ll be able to watch around 10 hours of content. Its Amsterdam server is also P2P-optimized, which means secure torrenting, too.

We picked up fast speeds, too. On its free London server we recorded 95Mbps local download speeds – a 5% speed loss to our normal internet.

Most importantly, ZoogVPN Free is safe. Its security package is almost identical to the premium version (OpenVPN protocol is available) and is subject to the same zero-logs privacy policy. There’s no speed throttling or annoying pop-up ads, either.

If you want a simple, free VPN to browse safely with no strings attached, ZoogVPN is definitely worth checking out.

A Promising Mid-Tier VPN

The Bottom Line

ZoogVPN is promising in some areas – it’s a fast zero-logs provider with good security, and it unblocks BBC iPlayer and Disney+.

But its score falls when it comes to stability. ZoogVPN often fails to connect to certain servers, which quickly becomes very frustrating.

ZoogVPN’s affordable price is undoubtedly attractive. But there are plenty of other VPN services around that offer much higher levels of quality for around the same monthly cost.

 

Additional research by David Hughes

Alternatives to ZoogVPN

Surfshark VPN logo

Surfshark

99.0/10

For roughly the same price as ZoogVPN, Surfshark is far superior, with top-notch security features and easy access to Netflix. Read Surfshark review

PrivateVPN

PrivateVPN

8.98.9/10

PrivateVPN is another really cheap VPN service that doesn’t compromise on quality. It keeps no logs, is quick, and works with all your favorite streaming channels. Read PrivateVPN review

About the Author


  • Headshot of Top10VPN.com Site Editor Callum Tennent

    Callum Tennent

    Callum oversees how we test and review VPN services. He's a member of the IAPP, and his advice about VPNs has featured in Forbes and the Internet Society. Read full bio


User Feedback for ZoogVPN