Disclosure: Top10VPN is editorially independent. We may earn commissions if you buy a VPN through links on our site.

X-VPN Free Review

 0% 
No user reviews
X-VPN Free screenshot
Simon Migliano Head of Research at Top10VPN

Simon is a recognized world expert in VPNs. He's tested hundreds of VPN services and his research has featured on the BBC, The New York Times, CNet and more. Read full bio

Ask Simon about X-VPN Free

Our Verdict

4.84.8/10
How is this calculated?

Our overall rating is reached by combining several subcategories. The subcategories are weighted as follows:

  • Logging & Jurisdiction: 30%
  • Speed & Reliability: 25%
  • Security & Features: 20%
  • Streaming: 10%
  • Torrenting: 5%
  • Ease of Use: 5%
  • Support: 5%

See our full methodology in how we review VPNs.

X-VPN Free is a heavily restricted version of X-VPN. It has no data cap, but the free version is limited to mobile devices, has no kill switch, and doesn’t work with streaming services. Overall, the lack of server options, desktop support, and constant pop-up ads means X-VPN Free isn’t worth downloading.

Ranked #50 out of 68

X-VPN Free Category Ratings

  • 0.80.8/10
  • 2.92.9/10
  • 77.0/10
  • 6.76.7/10
  • 1.51.5/10
  • 44.0/10
  • 3.73.7/10
  • 66.0/10
  • 66.0/10

X-VPN Free Pros & Cons

Pros

  1. Good speeds (if VPN server is nearby)
  2. Unlimited VPN data
  3. User-friendly VPN apps
  4. Live chat support

Cons

  1. No server location options
  2. No VPN kill switch
  3. Doesn’t work with Netflix
  4. Unclear torrenting policy
  5. Intrusive and frustrating pop-up ads
  6. Limited to mobile devices

X-VPN Free claims to host over 50,000,000 users around the world. That means it should be a great VPN service, right?

Well, we don’t let numbers speak for themselves – we decided to put this VPN to the test.

Through impartial testing, our experts set out to answer the following questions in this X-VPN Free review:

  • Is X-VPN Free fast?
  • How safe is it?
  • Does X-VPN Free work with Netflix?
  • Can you use it for torrenting?
  • Does X-VPN Free have any data caps?

We’ll cover the details about this VPN provider later on, but first let’s take a look at X-VPN Free’s pros and cons.

Read our detailed review of the premium version of X-VPN here.

X-VPN Free Key Data

Data CapSpeedLogging PolicyData LeaksJurisdictionServersIP AddressesCountriesUS NetflixTorrentingWorks in ChinaSupportCheapest PriceOfficial Website
PremiumFree
UnlimitedUnlimited
79Mbps67Mbps
Some User LogsSome User Logs
YesNo
Hong KongHong Kong
5,000+1
5,000+1+
521
YesNo
RestrictedRestricted
NoNo
Live ChatLive Chat
$5.99/mo over 12 monthsN/A
XVPN.io

Who is X-VPN Free?

Logging Policy & Jurisdiction

77.0/10
How is this calculated?

We dissect the logging and privacy policies of every VPN. A VPN should never log:

  • Your real IP address
  • Connection timestamps
  • DNS requests

A base of operations outside of 14-Eyes or EU jurisdiction is preferable.

X-VPN logs too much data. The VPN service retains your connection timestamps and city-level location. Moreover, it tracks all sites visited through its servers, though this is aggregated. We also found that X-VPN has links to China. In short, X-VPN Free is not a private VPN.

X-VPN was incorporated in July 2017 under the name Free Connected Limited in Hong Kong.

Hong Kong is a good place for a VPN to be based as it doesn’t have any compulsory data retention laws and it falls outside of Five-Eyes jurisdictions.

However, when we performed a thorough investigation into free VPN apps we found X-VPN has links to mainland China, which is bad news for privacy.

Jin Li, the company’s director, and Chengdu Zhuozhuo Technology Co, the sole shareholder, are based in Sichuan province, China.

X-VPN’s privacy policy also says that it’s willing to disclose user information in response to enforcement requests “when the Service is being used contrary to these Terms and applicable laws.”

Read on to find out how that could affect you.

Logging Policy

X-VPN Free’s logging policy is exactly the same as it is for premium users – it’s neither the most privacy friendly we’ve read, nor the worst.

Here’s what X-VPN collects for troubleshooting and service optimization purposes:

  • Chosen VPN server
  • VPN connection timestamp (date and time)
  • Choice of VPN protocol
  • Network type
  • Server CPU load and bandwidth

Thankfully these are only stored for 96 hours before being erased.

X-VPN also stores this information when you open the app for product development purposes:

  • Device information
  • App version
  • Data usage
  • City-level location

While this data is stored for an undetermined length of time you can request for it to be deleted.

X-VPN also collects anonymous and aggregated data of the sites visited via its servers.

Nevertheless, X-VPN can’t link you with your online activities because it doesn’t store user IP addresses.

Fairly quick on nearby VPN servers

Speed & Reliability

6.76.7/10
How is this calculated?

Speed ratings are calculated using upload speeds, download speeds, and ping (latency).

We test average speeds regularly using a dedicated 100Mbps connection in London, UK. Local download speed is considered the most important factor.

X-VPN Free is slow. The VPN only has one server and chooses the location automatically. As a result, you may be far away and experience slowdowns. With that said, we connected to an X-VPN Free server, and still experienced a large speed drop of 28%.

There are a couple of things to keep in mind before looking at our X-VPN Free speed test results.

  1. The VPN automatically picks a server location for you, and it may not be close by. While it could connect to a VPN server located in the same city as us (London), you might not be as fortunate.
  2. X-VPN uses a proprietary protocol named ‘Protocol X’. This means that we can’t fairly compare results to those of other VPNs that use standard protocols like OpenVPN.

Here are the speeds we recorded in our tests:

Local Speed Test results before using X-VPN Free:

  • Download Speed: 93Mbps
  • Upload Speed: 92Mbps
  • Ping: 9ms

Local Speed Test results with X-VPN Free:

  • Download Speed: 67Mbps
  • Upload Speed: 81Mbps
  • Ping: 9ms

Download speed loss when X-VPN Free is running: 28%

We lost about 30% of our internet speeds when connected to the VPN, which is slower than most other VPN services.

But again, it completely depends on the server location the VPN chooses for you. If it connects you to a faraway country you’ll experience much worse speeds.

As you can see, uploads were a little better than downloads, and ping times were very good too.

Having said that, X-VPN isn’t a good VPN for torrenting, which we’ll explain more about later.

Strong encryption but lacks basic security features

Security & Features

3.73.7/10
How is this calculated?

Top-rated VPNs offer OpenVPN or WireGuard protocols, AES-256 encryption, and a functional kill switch. We also consider additional security features and the global spread of VPN servers.

X-VPN Free uses a proprietary VPN protocol, which isn't as trustworthy as open-sourced options, like OpenVPN and WireGuard. The VPN also doesn't come with a kill switch, nor does it include any advanced security features. As a result, there are far better VPNs available for encrypting and securing your internet traffic.

Protocols
  1. Proprietary
Encryption
  1. AES-256
Security
  1. First-party DNS
Advanced features
  1. None

As we mentioned above, X-VPN doesn’t use standard VPN protocols – it uses proprietary technology instead.

According to X-VPN, protocol X uses “unparalleled encryptions and authentications” to protect user data.

It uses nine different types of tunneling protocols, which you can find within the app settings.

Screenshot of X-VPN Free protocols in app

Unlike the desktop apps, X-VPN’s free mobile apps give no contextual information about the different VPN protocols, which is very confusing to new users.

There is some information about them on X-VPN’s website, though.

While it’s nice to have some information about the level of security and speeds offered by each protocol there are no technical details to back up X-VPN’s claims.

For this reason, we’d prefer for X-VPN to provide standard protocols, like OpenVPN which is open-source and has been thoroughly audited for vulnerabilities.

Thankfully, all of X-VPN’s protocols use AES-256 encryption, a cipher considered unbreakable.

On the other hand, none of X-VPN Free’s apps come with a VPN kill switch, which could lead to users’ personal data being exposed should the VPN connection suddenly drop.

Annoyingly, the feature is present within the app settings, but you can only enable it if you’re a premium subscriber.

It’s not all bad, though.

X-VPN didn’t leak in our IP, DNS, and WebRTC leak tests:

Screenshot of X-VPN Free leak test results

Here are the leak test results for X-VPN Free, connected to a London server.

X-VPN has a while to go before it’s as secure as our top-rated free VPNs.

 

Automatic VPN server location only

Server Locations

1.51.5/10
How is this calculated?

The global spread and coverage of the VPN server network is the most important factor here.

We also consider the number of city-level servers, plus how many IP addresses are maintained.

This rating does not directly contribute to the Overall Rating, but instead makes up a portion of the Security & Features rating.

X-VPN Free only has one server location. The VPN will automatically connect you to your nearest server location. Depending on your location, this may noticeably impact speed performance. It also makes it impossible to use X-VPN Free for bypassing international geo-blocks.

Globe with a blue flag
1Countries
Image of a city landscape
1Cities
Image of a pink marker
1+IP Addresses

When you use the VPN service it automatically connects you to the nearest server location.

For example, we’re based in the UK so X-VPN automatically connected to a London server.

While this is good for optimizing speeds – the closer you are to VPN server the faster the connection will be – it’s not at all ideal for accessing foreign content.

Screenshot of X-VPN Free server locations list

X-VPN also couldn’t confirm for us how many server locations are available to free users so there’s no way of knowing whether you’re near a free VPN server until you try it out for yourself.

The full list of premium server locations are included in the apps but if you click on one X-VPN will prompt you to upgrade.

X-VPN uses a mixture of bare metal servers and virtual servers, meaning that some aren’t really located in the country they say they are.

Doesn't work with streaming apps

Streaming

0.80.8/10
How is this calculated?

Streaming is rated by the number of different services unlocked, how many regional libraries are viewable, and how consistently the VPN can access them.

Netflix, BBC iPlayer, HBO Max, DAZN, and Amazon Prime Video are all tested on a weekly basis.

X-VPN’s free service is a bad VPN for streaming. The paid version of X-VPN has dedicated streaming servers, but they are not available for free users. We were unable to access US Netflix, BBC iPlayer, and all other streaming services in our testing.

Sadly, most free VPN services don’t prioritize streaming access. Popular platforms like Netflix and Hulu actively block VPN IP addresses, and free VPNs don’t put resources into getting around those blocks.

If you really need a VPN for streaming Netflix, then check out our recommendations for the best VPNs for Netflix

Unsuitable for torrenting

Torrenting

2.92.9/10
How is this calculated?

We calculate the average download bitrate of every VPN using a bespoke torrenting setup.

Testing also factors in the percentage of servers which permit P2P, plus useful features like port forwarding.

As X-VPN is only available on mobile, its torrenting ability is inherently limited. iOS doesn't allow torrenting at all, and it's more difficult on Android compared to a PC. Moreover, the free version of X-VPN only supports torrenting on some servers, so your experience depends on which server you get automatically connected to.

X-VPN’s stance on torrenting and P2P traffic is unclear.

X-VPN told us that it only supports P2P traffic on some servers, but didn’t let us know which ones.

Even then, X-VPN’s free apps don’t come with a VPN kill switch, which could leave your personal information exposed when torrenting.

It’s best to stick to a VPN service that is completely transparent about torrenting – here are the best free VPNs for P2P users.

Doesn’t work in China

Bypassing Censorship

44.0/10
How is this calculated?

Our remote-access server in Shanghai, China routinely tests if a VPN can beat restrictions and access a free, open internet. Obfuscation technologies and nearby servers are also a contributing factor.

This rating does not directly contribute to the Overall Rating, but instead makes up a portion of the Security & Features rating.

We found that X-VPN Free has never been able to bypass the Great Firewall of China. It's also not a good option for other high-censorship countries due to the lack of server location options.

A member of the customer support team confirmed that X-VPN doesn’t support service in China due to “related policies.”

China aggressively blocks VPN traffic and X-VPN won’t work there.

Unfortunately, that’s the case for most free VPNs. You’ll typically need to opt for a paid VPN service if you travel to China – of all the VPNs we’ve tested, these are the best for working in China.

X-VPN’s free service isn’t great for other high-censorship countries either because you can’t select the server location, which will affect the content you can access and the VPN’s speeds.

Limited to mobile-only apps

Platforms & Devices

How is device compatibility rated?

A quality VPN should maintain functional, fully-featured applications and extensions for as many platforms and devices as possible.

This does not directly contribute to the Overall Rating, but instead makes up a portion of the Ease of Use rating.

X-VPN Free is only available on mobile, with apps for Android and iOS. If you want to use X-VPN on desktop or on your TV, you’ll have to upgrade to a premium subscription.

Apps

  1. iOS Logo
    iOS
  2. Android Logo
    Android

X-VPN only has free VPN apps for Android and iOS devices.

You can try out the service on desktop for free but users are restricted to 500MB of data, and once it’s gone it’s gone for good. Most free data allocations renew each month, but not X-VPN.

The mobile apps are free for as long as you need them, though.

While X-VPN’s premium service comes with an app for Amazon Fire TV Stick, a browser extension for Google Chrome, and manual setup options for routers, these aren’t available for free users.

Simple, user-friendly apps

Ease of Use

66.0/10
How is this calculated?

This rating mainly consists of the intuitiveness of setup and everyday use.

Device or platform compatibility and customization options are also a factor.

As X-VPN is mobile-only, it's easy to set up and use. Find X-VPN within your device's app store and download the app. There’s no need to sign in, you can just select a server and click the connect button. Disappointingly, the app includes pop-up ads. These do significantly worsen the user experience.

How to Install & Set Up X-VPN Free

There are a couple of settings to configure in the X-VPN Free mobile app. Be sure to enable the VPN kill switch – but other than that it’s very basic.

Like many free VPNs, there are intrusive pop-up ads, which are annoying and interruptive when using the app.

Unreliable live chat & basic online resources

Customer Support

66.0/10
How is this calculated?

This rating is based on our assessment of each VPN’s:

  • Email support
  • Live chat support
  • Online resources

Not every VPN offers all of these, and they often vary in quality and response time.

X-VPN's customer support is poor, which is common for free VPN services. There’s live chat support, but it disappointed in our tests. The online guides are resources were also below-average due to the lack of useful information included.

Live chat SupportYes
Online ResourcesYes

X-VPN Free’s live chat support isn’t always available and on occasion we were left waiting hours (or even days) for a response.

The customer support agents aren’t very knowledgeable, either.

We were referred to the manager for some simple questions and even then we waited two days for an email reply.

The resources on X-VPN’s website are sparse and not very useful. Aside from a few setup guides, there are some very basic FAQs.

The website is in great need of an update – it’s tired-looking and some of the information is outdated.

Do We Recommend X-VPN Free?

The Bottom Line

X-VPN Free doesn’t come close to its competition.

While there’s unlimited data on offer, the VPN’s lack of server location options, desktop support, and constant pop-up ads were enough to put us off.

This is a mobile-only VPN that’s not particularly safe, fast, or effective – we recommend avoiding it if possible.

Alternatives to X-VPN Free

ProtonVPN logo landscape

ProtonVPN Free

6.66.6/10

ProtonVPN is another free VPN service that provides unlimited data, but unlike X-VPN you can use it on all your devices, it’s super privacy-friendly, and you can choose between multiple locations. Read ProtonVPN Free review

Windscribe

Windscribe

8.68.6/10

With a 10GB monthly data cap, Windscribe isn’t as generous as X-VPN, but it has no pop-up ads, servers in 10 countries, and is torrenting-friendly. Read Windscribe review

About the Author


  • Simon Migliano Head of Research at Top10VPN

    Simon Migliano

    Simon is a recognized world expert in VPNs. He's tested hundreds of VPN services and his research has featured on the BBC, The New York Times, CNet and more. Read full bio


User Feedback for X-VPN Free

  • 0 user reviews
  • 0 questions answered