Disclosure: Top10VPN is editorially independent. We may earn commissions if you buy a VPN through links on our site.

TorGuard Review

 70% 
2 user reviews
Simon Migliano

Simon Migliano is a recognized world expert in VPNs. He's tested hundreds of VPN services and his research has featured on the BBC, The New York Times and more. Read full bio

Ask Simon About TorGuard

Our Verdict

7.87.8/10
How is this calculated?

Our overall rating is reached by combining several subcategories. The subcategories are weighted as follows:

  • Logging & Jurisdiction: 30%
  • Speed & Reliability: 25%
  • Security & Features: 20%
  • Streaming: 10%
  • Torrenting: 5%
  • Ease of Use: 5%
  • Support: 5%

See our full methodology in how we review VPNs.

TorGuard is an excellent VPN for torrenting. It has a strong no logs policy, a kill switch, supports port forwarding, and allows P2P on 3,000+ servers. It has apps on Windows, macOS, Linux, iOS, Android, Fire TV and is compatible with routers. But it’s standard plan is terrible for streaming, and will cost you a lot more if you want a dedicated streaming IP address or residential address.

Ranked #23 out of 70 VPNs

TorGuard Category Ratings

  • 1.51.5/10
  • 8.58.5/10
  • 9.89.8/10
  • 7.87.8/10
  • 8.58.5/10
  • 7.57.5/10
  • 9.29.2/10
  • 6.86.8/10
  • 77.0/10
  • 6.56.5/10

TorGuard Pros & Cons

Pros

  • Strong no logs policy
  • Fast same-country speeds
  • Works with BBC iPlayer
  • Wide range of features
  • Ad and malware blockers
  • Free encrypted webmail service

Cons

  • Complicated desktop apps
  • Doesn't work with Netflix
  • Disappointing customer support
  • High ping times

Why Trust Our Review?

We’ve spent thousands of hours testing and reviewing 70 VPN services using our impartial review process to recommend you the best VPN software.

Here are some of our key VPN testing statistics:

Total Hours of Testing30,000+
Weekly Speed Tests3,000+
VPN Services Reviewed70
Streaming Platforms Tested Daily12
IP & DNS Leak Tests Performed9,500+
How Much We've Spent On Testing$25,000+

TorGuard is a well-established VPN service that was launched in 2012. It promises “complete privacy,” and in this review we put this claim to the test.

TorGuard has a huge amount of customizable features. But it can be intimidating to new users. You also have to restart the app each time you enable the kill switch in order for it to register.

In our security tests, TorGuard never leaked our IP address and DNS. It offers the safest protocols, OpenVPN and WireGuard with AES-256 and Blowfish encryption. Subscribers also get access to a fully encrypted Chrome and Firefox browser extension and a DNS ad blocker.

We don’t recommend the VPN for unblocking streaming platforms. In our latest tests, TorGuard’s standard servers failed to unblock any international Netflix libraries, Disney+, Hulu, and HBO Max. On the plus side, its Manchester server successfully unblocked all UK streaming platforms, including BBC iPlayer, All 4, and ITV Player.

Read our ExpressVPN review, a streaming-optimized VPN

You can choose to upgrade your subscription to get a dedicated IP address or residential IP address to improve your chances of unblocking streaming service. But this will cost you a lot more and isn’t the best value for your money. There are cheaper VPNs that offer access to streaming service in their basic plans.

The VPN service is based in the US, which is one of the worst jurisdictions for digital privacy. It’s part of the Five Eyes intelligence alliance, which means your VPN usage logs could be stored and shared with government agencies in the US, UK, Australia, Canada, and New Zealand.

However, TorGuard’s zero-logs policy should protect you from this.

Here’s a video of TorGuard in action:

TorGuard Key Data

Data CapUnlimited
Speed94Mbps
Logging PolicyNo Logs
Data LeaksNo
JurisdictionUS (Five-Eyes Member)
Servers3,000+
IP Addresses3,000+
Countries50
US NetflixNo
TorrentingUnlimited
Simultaneous Connections8
Works In ChinaYes
SupportEmail
Cheapest Price$3.89/mo over 36 Months
Money-Back Guarantee7-day Money-Back Guarantee
Official WebsiteTorGuard.net

A trustworthy no-logs service

Logging & Jurisdiction

9.89.8/10
How is this calculated?

We dissect the logging and privacy policies of every VPN. A VPN should never log:

  • Your real IP address
  • Connection timestamps
  • DNS requests

A base of operations outside of 14-Eyes or EU jurisdiction is preferable.

TorGuard is owned by VPNetworks LLC. It’s based in the US, which is extremely privacy-unfriendly. However, it does have a zero-logs policy, which makes it safe to use. Ideally, we would like to see an external audit or transparency report that verifies the logging policy.

TorGuard was founded in 2012 by VPNetworks LLC. Since then, it’s never been acquired or merged with another company.

It’s founder and CEO, Benjamin Van Pelt, is the only employee we can find on LinkedIn. Florida’s company registration website only lists “Losey PLLC” and “Title Authorized Member” as people associated with VPNetworks LLC.

In short, the company structure is rather unclear. There isn’t a lot of information available about TorGuard’s employees. This isn’t uncommon with VPN service providers, though.

Based in Privacy-Unfriendly US

TorGuard is based in Florida. The US is one the least privacy-friendly countries in the world. This is because the US is a member of the Five Eyes international intelligence-sharing alliance. This means the government can demand surveillance data from companies and share it with an intelligence agency without your knowledge.

TorGuard’s customer support did tell us that it would only comply with an “official court ordered ruling,” but even then, it would only be able to submit “blank hard drives.”

This is because TorGuard has a zero-logs policy, which means it wouldn’t have any user web logs to hand over to US authorities. And since it doesn’t record any customer activity, there’s no way of authorities identifying individual users and their online activity.

Logging Policy

TorGuard states it “does not collect or log any data from its Virtual Private Network (VPN) or Proxy services.” We analyzed the service’s logging policy and can confirm it does not appear to collect user activity data.

TorGuard collects the following data:

  • Payment information
  • Anonymized website analytics
  • Apache web server logs, which are regularly deleted
  • Any correspondence with customer service via email

The company only collects anonymous statistical network data to determine server loads. TorGuard doesn’t log any information that could be used to identify your web activity.

Not Independently Audited

We’re disappointed to see TorGuard hasn’t been externally audited. This would be able to verify the no-logs claim and provide the service with ways to improve their security and service.

There’s also no warrant canary on TorGuard’s website. A warrant canary is published on a website to warn its users that the company has been served a subpoena, and that the company may have to give up your data to the authorities.

These features aren’t necessary for a VPN service to be useful and secure, but they absolutely provide a level of trust and transparency from a service that could have access to your browsing activity.

Very impressive same-country speeds

Speed & Reliability

7.87.8/10
How is this calculated?

Speed ratings are calculated using upload speeds, download speeds, and ping (latency).

We test average speeds regularly using a dedicated 100Mbps connection in London, UK. Local download speed is considered the most important factor.

TorGuard’s speeds are very fast over short distances. However, its international speeds aren’t as impressive. As such, it still falls short of the fastest VPNs we've tested.

We recorded an average speed loss of 6% when connected to a TorGuard server close to our location in London, UK, which is an extremely impressive result. That’s better than higher-rated VPNs like IPVanish.

International download speeds have also improved, jumping from an average 63% drop to 37% drop when connecting to the US. Upload speeds were also strong, reaching as high as 85Mbps.

Here’s how TorGuard performed in our local speed tests from our office in London, UK.

Local Speed Test results before using TorGuard:

  • Download Speed: 100Mbps
  • Upload Speed: 99Mbps
  • Ping: 9ms

Local Speed Test results with TorGuard:

  • Download Speed: 94Mbps
  • Upload Speed: 85Mbps
  • Ping: 15ms

Download speed loss when TorGuard is running: 6%

TorGuard ping time has increased from an average of 9ms to 15ms in our latest tests. Previously we would have recommended it for gaming but now that is increased, there are far better options available.

Long-distance speed test results

We tested StrongVPN’s connection speeds from our location in London, UK, by connecting to servers in the US, Germany, Canada, Singapore, and Australia.

Here are TorGuard’s latest global speed test results (connecting from the UK):

  • US (New York):
    • Download: 63Mbps (37% slower)
    • Upload: 67Mbps (31% slower)
  • Germany (Frankfurt):
    • Download: 91Mbps (9% slower)
    • Upload: 94Mbps (4% slower)
  • Canada (Toronto):
    • Download: 84Mbps (16% slower)
    • Upload: 73Mbps (25% slower)
  • Singapore:
    • Download: 19Mbps (81% slower)
    • Upload: 32Mbps (66% slower)
  • Australia (Sydney):
    • Download: 59Mbps (41% slower)
    • Upload: 30Mbps (69% slower)

Download speeds in Germany (9% slower) and Canada (16% slower) absolutely surpassed our expectations. These speeds are more than enough for online browsing, streaming and torrenting.

Meanwhile, connections to the US (37% drop) and Australia (41% drop) were a bit disappointing but not terrible.

We saw the worst results connecting to Singapore (81% drop). This percentage drop in connection while connecting from the UK to Asia is pretty common, though.

TorGuard performed exceptionally well on local connections in the same country and continent. It’s not only on par with many top tier VPN providers in this category, it even outshines some industry leaders. However, it’s not the fastest VPN for every region – that would be Hotspot Shield.

TorGuard is Bad for Gaming

Screenshot of TorGuard connected to a server in New York and CS:GO open and running.

We played CS:GO with TorGuard to test it out.

We tested the VPN by connecting to a server in New Jersey and accessing a US gaming lobby.

Unfortunately, the ping was much too high for smooth gameplay. We experienced a lot of lagging.

We wouldn’t recommend using TorGuard for gaming with a VPN. If you want to use a VPN with your Xbox, we recommend checking out our list of the best VPNs for gaming.

Network of 3,000+ servers across 50 countries

Server Locations

8.58.5/10
How is this calculated?

The global spread and coverage of the VPN server network is the most important factor here.

We also consider the number of city-level servers, plus how many IP addresses are maintained.

This rating does not directly contribute to the Overall Rating, but instead makes up a portion of the Security & Features rating.

TorGuard has good server coverage for Europe, Asia, and North America, including multiple city level servers across the US. The options for South America and Africa are lacking, though.

Globe with a blue flag
50 Countries
Image of a city landscape
68 Cities
Image of a pink marker
3,000+ IP Addresses

TorGuard has a good amount of servers. It operates 3,000+ servers in 50 countries, and 60 cities, covering most popular locations.

In comparison, CyberGhost has an extensive server network, located in 91 countries and 110 cities.

TorGuard hasn’t released the exact number of IP addresses it offers, but it’s going to be over 3,000 – at least one for every server.

There’s plenty of options in the US, including 11 city-level servers, which are all spread out evenly across the country.

TorGuard has servers in the following US states:

  • California (2 cities)
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Illinois
  • Nevada
  • New Jersey
  • New York
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Washington

We’ve recently seen some downsizing of TorGuard’s server network. There’s now only four countries with SOCKS proxy support: Canada, Switzerland, the Netherlands, and Sweden.

TorGuard used to have multiple servers in Africa, but there’s now just one in South Africa. There’s also two servers in the Middle East, in Dubai and Israel.

TorGuard has servers in the following countries:

Continent Country
North America Canada, US
South America Brazil, Chile, Mexico
Europe Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Moldova, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, UK
Asia Australia, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Japan, South Korea, New Zealand, Singapore, Taiwan, Thailand
Africa & Middle East Israel, South Africa, UAE

If you’re in South America or Africa, or need to connect to those regions, we recommend looking for a better alternative such as PIA. It has servers in four countries in Africa and five countries in South America.

US streaming requires a premium upgrade

Streaming

1.51.5/10
How is this calculated?

Streaming is rated by the number of different services unlocked, how many regional libraries are viewable, and how consistently the VPN can access them.

Netflix, BBC iPlayer, HBO Max, DAZN, and Amazon Prime Video are all tested on a weekly basis.

TorGuard’s standard subscription is awful for streaming. It doesn’t work for Netflix, Disney+, DAZN HBO Max or Hulu. Though it does unblock BBC iPlayer and ITV Player. You can pay extra monthly add-ons if you want to use TorGuard for streaming. However, there are other VPNs that offer this in their standard subscription.

TorGuard’s standard subscription is awful for streaming. It didn’t unblock any Netflix libraries and it failed to block other US streaming platforms. However, it does give you access to all UK streaming platforms, including BBC iPlayer and All 4.

TorGuard doesn’t stream Disney+, DAZN, HBO Max or Hulu

TorGuard was quickly detected and blocked by DAZN, Disney, HBO Max, and Hulu. You should avoid using TorGuard’s standard plan for streaming on US platforms.

Screenshot of TorGuard connect to the US and HBO Max open in Google Chrome. HBO Max displays the "Browser Not Supported" because it has detected TorGuard and blocked access.

We weren’t able to stream HBO Max using TorGuard’s non-streaming IP addresses.

Hulu didn’t even let us login with the VPN service connected. Instead, we received this reminder:

“Error: Hulu is available in the U.S. only, and cannot be used with an anonymous proxy service.”

TorGuard Is Surprisingly Good at Unblocking UK Platforms

We were pleasantly surprised to see TorGuard did a great job at unblocking BBC iPlayer, ITV Hub, and All 4. We didn’t experience any buffering, either.

Screenshot of TorGuard connected to the UK and BBC iPlayer streaming The Apprentice.

TorGuard’s generous speeds allowed us to watch BBC iPlayer.

But we don’t know how long it will be working for. Its standard servers are not the most reliable when it comes to streaming.

EXPERT ADVICE:

Make sure to use TorGuard’s Manchester server for streaming — its London server is much more unreliable.

Dedicated Streaming IP Address

You can pay an extra $7.99 per month for a dedicated streaming IP address, which is more likely to get around streaming geo-restrictions.

You can purchase streaming IPs in:

  • Canada
  • France
  • Germany
  • Italy

However, this is poor value as other VPNs, including VPNArea and CyberGhost, offer multiple streaming servers included in their standard pricing.

Additionally, if you sign up to the Pro plan, you get a dedicated IP address for free with your subscription.

Streaming Residential IP Address

If you want almost guaranteed access to geo-blocked streaming content, you can pay an extra $13.99 per month for a residential IP address in the US.

You can buy residential IP addresses in three different locations:

  • Los Angeles, California
  • Tampa, Florido
  • Dallas, Texas

A residential IP address is rented from an ISP based in the country. It makes the connection look much more authentic and difficult for streaming platforms to detect.

It can also improve your browsing experience as you can often bypass annoying captchas.

However, it’s not the cheapest option if you want an annual subscription. Windscribe offers residential IP addresses to its premium subscribers for a one-time annual fee of $96.00, which translates to $8 per month. You can also choose from more countries, such as Canada, Germany, Spain and the UK.

TorGuard’s Streaming Bundle

TorGuard offers a streaming bundle that includes a standard subscription plus two dedicated IP addresses for streaming.

Screenshot of TorGuard's website, showing a page with details about TorGuard's streaming bundle.

TorGuard’s streaming bundle is expensive for what you get.

Despite the claim it lets you “Stream What You Want, Whenever You Want,” you’re restricted to only two IPs addresses in either the US, UK, or Japan.

We don’t recommend purchasing the bundle because you only get access to two countries’ streaming platforms. Whereas with other VPNs, you can get access to multiple countries, all without having to pay for an add-on.

Additionally, you only get dedicated IP addresses, not residential IP addresses, so you could still encounter geo-blocks.

Here’s a quick table comparing TorGuard’s streaming bundle with ExpressVPN’s standard subscription.

TorGuard is a good choice for torrenting

Torrenting

8.58.5/10
How is this calculated?

We calculate the average download bitrate of every VPN using a bespoke torrenting setup.

Testing also factors in the percentage of servers which permit P2P, plus useful features like port forwarding.

TorGuard is one of the best VPNs we've reviewed for torrenting. It has super fast P2P speeds, a kill switch, port-forwarding and a strong zero-logs policy. However, P2P traffic on BitTorrent will be blocked on its US servers.

While TorGuard isn’t good for streaming, it’s an exceptionally good VPN for torrenting.The VPN service allows P2P traffic on all its servers, and it doesn’t log any user web activity.

In practice, we’ve found it consistently outperforms competing VPNs for torrenting. In our P2P benchmark tests TorGuard achieved an average download speed of 9.3MiB/s, compared to 10MiB/s without a VPN.

Screenshot of qBitorrent downloading a file, while TorGuard is connected to UK server.

We downloaded our 1GB test file very quickly using TorGuard.

It also features a must-have VPN kill switch and a transparent no-logs policy. All necessary attributes of a torrenting VPN.

Seeders can also use port forwarding with the VPN, although this is limited to ports above 2048. It’s supported through protocols OpenVPN, WireGuard and OpenConnect.

US Servers Banned from BitTorrent

On 13 March 2022, TorGuard settled a case in court with 27 film studio companies which accused it of saving no user logs and promoting torrenting of copyrighted material.

TorGuard settled to “use commercially reasonable efforts to block BitTorrent traffic on its servers in the United States using firewall technology.”

Screenshot of TorGuard's Stipulation of Dismissal

Excerpt from VPNetwork LLC’s Stipulation of Dismissal, stating TorGuard will block BitTorrent traffic on its US servers.

Despite the final outcome of the court case, there are three key takeaways which affirm TorGuard’s status as the one of the best VPNs for torrenting.

First, TorGuard did not expose any customer data during the course of the legal battle, which means it stuck to its no-logs policy and protected its users’ data. If a VPN has an intrusive logging policy, it is not safe to use for torrenting. For example, Avast SecureLine is not recommended for torrenting.

TorGuard has not been forced to log network usage data. Due to the nature of shared IPs and related hardware technicalities of how TorGuard’s network was built it is impossible for us to do so.

Second, TorGuard is only taking steps to block BitTorrent traffic on its US servers. This means users are free to continue P2P activity on servers in other countries. If you’re in the US, there are nearby servers in Canada or Mexico.

Third, TorGuard is not the only VPN to be sued by major film studios and settle to block traffic on US servers. In January 2022 VPN Unlimited similarly agreed to block BitTorrent and even more torrenting websites, including PirateBay and Popcorn Time.

As of 15 March 2022, our testing found that this block hasn’t come into effect on TorGuard. But the court has allowed 120 days for TorGuard to implement the firewall.

How Does TorGuard Compare to Other Top VPNs for Torrenting?

This table shows how TorGuard compares to other VPNs for important torrenting features like P2P speed, server count and features.

Fully secured apps

Security & Features

9.29.2/10
How is this calculated?

Top-rated VPNs offer OpenVPN or WireGuard protocols, AES-256 encryption, and a functional kill switch. We also consider additional security features and the global spread of VPN servers.

TorGuard is a very secure VPN service and it will keep you safe online. Not only does it use the highest level of encryption, AES-256, but the TorGuard Windows app also defaults on startup to OpenVPN, currently the strongest VPN protocol.

Protocols
  1. IKEv2/IPSec
  2. L2TP/IPSec
  3. OpenVPN (TCP/UDP)
  4. PPTP
  5. SSTP
  6. WireGuard
Encryption
  1. AES-128
  2. AES-256
Security
  1. DNS Leak Blocking
  2. First-party DNS
  3. IPv6 Leak Blocking
  4. Supports TCP Port 443
  5. VPN Kill Switch
  6. WebRTC Leak Blocking
Advanced Features
  1. Ad Blocker
  2. Dedicated IP
  3. SOCKS
  4. Split Tunneling

The TorGuard settings give you an incredible amount of control but aren’t for the faint-hearted.

There’s a lot of advanced settings — though we wonder how many are actually useful on a day-to-day basis. There’s eleven different options for customizing the app’s appearance.

Nevertheless, these additional settings let you add extra layers of security, enable ad blocking, switch to using TorGuard’s proxy servers, or even execute custom scripts.

Also, TorGuard followed ExpressVPN in updating its server infrastructure to purely RAM-based (diskless) servers. This means no data is ever recorded on server disks.

Powerful Encryption

TorGuard uses AES-256-CBC encryption and secure VPN protocols. Alongside OpenVPN, TorGuard fully supports WireGuard on all platforms, and was one of the earlier VPNs to do so.

A strong selling point is that it owns private no-logs DNS servers. This means that it encrypts all your DNS requests (the websites you visit) while using the VPN. Only a few VPN services offer this level of protection, including VyprVPN and StrongVPN.

Complicated Kill Switch

TorGuard includes a VPN kill switch and owns its own DNS servers, ensuring your personal data is protected.

Screenshot of TorGuard's Windows client, highlighting the Kill Switch under Network settings.

TorGuard’s kill switch can be found under Network in Settings — make sure you turn it on.

The kill switch stops your internet connection entirely in the unlikely event your VPN connection drops. In doing so, your true IP address is never exposed.

EXPERT ADVICE:

After enabling the kill switch, make sure to restart the TorGuard app. Otherwise, the kill switch won’t work.

TorGuard's Windows client has an option in General setting to "Arms killswitches when first connected."

TorGuard has a defunct kill switch option under General.

When we tested the Arm killswitches after first successful connection option, we found that it didn’t turn on the kill switch or the app kill feature. Even when we restarted the app, it didn’t come into effect. TorGuard’s customer support team confirmed that this feature was being “phased out.”

And, there are plenty of advanced settings to satisfy even the most security-conscious. The most notable features are:

  • App Kill
  • Custom proxy servers
  • Dedicated IP addresses
  • Ad blocking DNS servers

TorGuard Doesn’t Leak Your IP Address or DNS

We ran TorGuard through multiple IP, DNS, and WebRTC leak tests. It passed all the tests and didn’t leak any of our personal information.

We connected to a server and Germany before running the tests. As you can see in the screenshot below, the test didn’t detect our network details in the UK.

TorGuard is connected to a server in Germany and the leak tests show no leaks of our real location.

In our latest tests, TorGuard didn’t leak any data.

Virus & Malware Checks

We ran a malware and virus check on TorGuard’s app installer to make sure it didn’t contain any viruses. TorGuard was completely clean and virus-free.

Screenshot of TorGuard's malware scan results. It shows 0 malware threats.

TorGuard’s installer contains no malware.

Single Server Breach

In May 2018, TorGuard suffered a security breach.

TorGuard immediately disclosed in a blog post that the attackers had gained root access to the VPN’s servers. However, the attacker was not able to decrypt user traffic or launch DDoS attacks because the key is kept strictly off the server.

TorGuard issued the following statement:

TorGuard VPN or proxy traffic was not compromised during this isolated breach of a single VPN server and no sensitive information was compromised during this incident.

Despite the minimal impact of the server breach, the handling of the situation was questionable. Following the attack, TorGuard and NordVPN were entangled in a bizarre scandal, where TorGuard filed a lawsuit against NordVPN citing hacking and blackmail.

Copycat Code

In July 2015, VPN.AC released a blog post accusing TorGuard of copying code from its browser extension and putting its users at risk of cyber attacks.

TorGuard was using VPN.ac’s geo-location API server address, which meant its users’ IP addresses could’ve been exposed to VPN.ac.

The browser extension has been since updated to remove the security concern.

TorGuard’s Security Initiatives

TorGuard has taken steps towards preventing security breaches:

  • Bug bounty program
  • Diskless RAM servers

However, there are a few missing initiatives that would further ensure security:

  • Infrastructure security audit
  • Vendor security assessment
  • Warrant canary

Stunnel protocol should work in China

Bypassing Censorship

7.57.5/10
How is this calculated?

Our remote-access server in Shanghai, China routinely tests if a VPN can beat restrictions and access a free, open internet. Obfuscation technologies and nearby servers are also a contributing factor.

This rating does not directly contribute to the Overall Rating, but instead makes up a portion of the Security & Features rating.

TorGuard uses the open-source obfsucation tool Stunnel to help it get around heavy censorship in authoritarian countries like China and Turkey.

TorGuard can sometimes work in China and bypass the country’s crackdown on VPNs. This is thanks to its proprietary Stealth VPN protocol, Stunnel.

Stunnel wraps traffic in a layer of TLS encryption to make it harder to identify as VPN traffic. You can enable Stunnel by ticking a box in the TorGuard app’s settings.

TorGuard Stealth VPN

You can connect to its Hong Kong, Japan, Singapore, Taiwan, or US servers for better internet speeds out of China.

Just beware that TorGuard’s website is currently blocked in China, so you’ll need to download the VPN before you travel.

The Stunnel protocol also works in other highly-censored countries like Iran, Turkey, Saudi Arabia and the UAE.

Compatible with all popular devices

Platforms & Devices

How is this rated?

A quality VPN should maintain functional, fully-featured applications and extensions for as many platforms and devices as possible.

This does not directly contribute to the Overall Rating, but instead makes up a portion of the Ease of Use rating.

TorGuard has apps for Windows, macOS, iOS and Android, as well as router compatibility. The VPN service lets you have eight simultaneous connections, which is just above the industry average.

Apps

  1. Windows
  2. Mac
  3. iOS
  4. Android
  5. Linux
  6. Router

TorGuard has VPN applications for Windows, macOS, iOS, Android, and even Linux. Very few VPN services offer a native Linux client with a graphical user interface.

You can also set up TorGuard on your home router, or you can buy a pre-configured router from TorGuard’s website. This lets all devices in your home use the VPN connection.

Windows App

TorGuard’s Windows app isn’t the best on the market. Immediately after we installed it, our test device started lagging.

Screenshot of TorGuard's Windows client homepage.

TorGuard’s Windows homepage is minimalistic.

To switch protocols, click on the hamburger icon. You can choose between OpenVPN, WireGuard, and OpenConnect. There’s a ton of different port options, including 443, 80, 9201, and 1198.

Click on the cog icon for advanced settings. Here, the options are conveniently organized into tabs:

  • General: set automatic connections and appearance settings.
  • App Kill: select apps you would like to close if TorGuard disconnects.
  • Scripts: add custom scripts before or after connections.
  • Network: enable TorGuard’s IPv6 leak protection, the kill switch, ad blocker DNS, or customize protocol settings.
  • Proxy: add your own custom proxy server.
  • Server: add and configure your dedicated or residential IP address.
  • Debug: identify and show errors in TorGuard’s software code.

If you purchase a residential IP address, dedicated IP address or streaming bundle, make sure to register your new IP address in settings, under Server.

Screenshot of TorGuard's server settings.

Registering a new IP address is a simple process.

macOS Client

TorGuard is much better on macOS than it is on Windows. It doesn’t cause any lag and connects very fast.

We’re disappointed there isn’t a search bar. But you can filter servers alphabetically and filter servers by specialized type or region.

It’s also missing a couple of options that are on the Windows client, including the option to install TUN/TAP adapters, block outside DNS, and a few design features. But, unless you’re a highly advanced user, we don’t think you’ll miss these features.

TorGuard’s setup process is complicated compared to other VPNs. When we first installed it, we had to enable an uncomfortable number of permissions.

Screenshot of TorGuard's macOS client and a prompt to change accessibility settings.

First we were prompted to open and update our device’s Accessibility settings.

Screenshot of accessibility setting on macOS.

Next, you are prompted to “Allow [TorGuard] to control your computer.”

Screenshot of TorGuard's prompt to update System Events settings.

Lastly, we had to give TorGuard access to our device’s “System Events” data and action permissions.

We don’t often see this many requests for permissions on macOS VPN clients. Asking for permission to view System Events and perform actions in the app is a bit concerning.

On the flip side, VPNs must have a certain amount of permissions to run properly and it might use this information to detect bugs or software failures.

Android App

You can choose between OpenVPN (UDP and TCP) and WireGuard (UDP) protocols. In settings, you can also toggle for whether you want the VPN to attempt reconnecting if the connection drops and to turn on IPv6 leak protection. You can also configure your own dedicated IP address, static DNS, or proxy.

However, TorGuard doesn’t offer a kill switch on Android.

Screenshot of TorGuard's Android app.

There’s a large Connect button that flashes green when the VPN is connected and orange when disconnected.

TorGuard offers a split tunnel feature called Restricted Apps on Android devices. This gives users the ability to include or exclude apps from their VPN connection, so you can use your original IP address when necessary.

Screenshot of TorGuard's Android app. It shows the restricted apps mode available in settings.

TorGuard’s Android settings are highly configurable.

Just like in the desktop apps, you can sort by alphabetically, in reverse alphabetically and by proximity. You can also then filter by specialized server type or region.

iOS App

The iOS app features far fewer customizable settings and a different design to the other clients.

Screenshot of TorGuard's iOS app, showing connection details. There's a button to change servers at the bottom of the screen.

TorGuard’s iOS app displays connection details differently to its other clients.

TorGuard’s iOS app offers more protocol options than its Android counterpart. You can choose between:

  • IPSec
  • IKEv2
  • OpenVPN
  • WireGuard
Screenshot of TorGuard's iOS settings.

The settings menu in TorGuard’s iOS app is a bit sparse.

It has a couple of negatives. First, it doesn’t have a functioning kill switch. It didn’t matter whether we toggled on or off, restarted the app or kept it running, it never stopped the network connection when we disconnected.

Secondly, servers are listed either alphabetically, by proximity, or showing your favorites. You can’t filter servers by region or by specialized server type, such as stealth or dedicated IP, like you can in the Android and desktop apps.

Amazon Fire TV App

TorGuard has a user-friendly Fire TV app. You can choose between trusted protocols, WireGuard and OpenVPN.

However, TorGuard’s standard subscription doesn’t unblock any international Netflix libraries. If you have a standard subscription, you’ll only have access to Netflix’s own library of content. We also don’t like that there isn’t a kill switch.

Below is a video of TorGuard’s app in action on our Fire TV Stick:

Games Consoles & Streaming Devices

  1. Apple TV
  2. Amazon Fire TV
  3. Chromecast
  4. Nintendo
  5. PlayStation
  6. Roku
  7. Xbox

There’s also a custom TorGuard VPN app for Amazon’s Fire TV Stick. While it’s not very to stream popular content platforms, it’s well-suited for watching Kodi streams anonymously.

You can also use TorGuard with a wide range of games consoles and streaming devices, by connecting them to a router that’s running the VPN software.

However, there are VPN services that have a Smart DNS tool, which TorGuard doesn’t. Smart DNS lets you change the DNS settings of devices such as Apple TV, Roku, Xbox and PlayStation, with those of a VPN server.

Using Smart DNS is a lot easier than setting up a VPN on your router. We recommend using Surfshark VPN on devices that don’t support native VPN apps.

Browser Extensions

  1. Chrome
  2. Firefox

A TorGuard subscription also comes with extensions for Chrome and Firefox browsers. Both extensions have the exact same layout, settings, and number of server locations.

There’s a huge selection of countries to choose from (43 in total) and even some city-level servers. We’re pleasantly surprised to see it’s one of the few VPN browser extensions that fully encrypts your traffic (using SSL). This means it’s much more secure than other browser extensions which are just proxies.

Screenshot of TorGuard's browser extension.

TorGuard’s browser extension is intuitive and easy to use.

In settings, you can also enable TorGuard’s DNS filtering ad block tool and exclude certain websites from the proxy connection.

Screenshot of TorGuard's browser extension settings.

Tap the cog icon on the proxy homepage to reach its settings.

All these features worked well in our latest tests. Nevertheless, we would still recommend connecting to TorGuard’s VPN as it gives you greater flexibility in choosing protocols and adjusting the settings.

Complex and difficult to use apps

Ease of Use

6.86.8/10
How is this calculated?

This rating mainly consists of the intuitiveness of setup and everyday use.

Device or platform compatibility and customization options are also a factor.

TorGuard’s custom VPN apps are best for those seeking to fine-tune every aspect of the app, right down to the level of handshake encryption being used. It's geared towards experienced users.

TorGuard’s Windows and macOS apps are identical, which is extremely rare for a VPN. Despite this, they run completely differently on the two operating systems. The macOS client is much faster and didn’t cause any bugs like the Windows’ client did.

Screenshot of TorGuard's general settings.

There’s seventeen different options just in the General settings page.

Both desktop apps have an incredibly long list of customizable settings and features. A few of the options are a bit redundant and the amount can be intimidating to a VPN beginner.

Screenshot of TorGuard's login page. The "Remember Credentials" option is highlighted.

You can save your credentials under the Username and Password fields.

To improve your user experience, we recommend ticking Remember Credentials on every app before logging in. This saves you having to enter your details each time you connect to a server.

Email and useful online resources

Customer Support

77.0/10
How is this calculated?

This rating is based on our assessment of each VPN’s:

  • Email support
  • Live chat support
  • Online resources

Not every VPN offers all of these, and they often vary in quality and response time.

TorGuard’s customer support is somewhat disappointing. We couldn’t access the live chat, despite the claim that there's “24X7 Support” and “Chat Support Available.” You also have to be a paying customer to submit a ticket to its support team. On the plus side, they always reply within the hour to support tickets.

Email support via an online formYes
Tutorial VideosYes
Online ResourcesYes

To test out TorGuard’s customer service, we submitted a ticket requesting more information about its servers. We were glad to receive a response in just under an hour. However, the support agent directed us to a different email address. We followed up with the new address and received the answer in also under an hour.

The Support Center has a searchable database of articles, which greatly improves user experience. However, the answers in the FAQ are rather sparse, and we saw a couple out-of-date images.

TorGuard has a very active community forum. Customer support agents typically reply to questions asked there within the same day.

The Support Center links out to TorGuard’s YouTube channel, which has around 18 videos. However, a majority of these were posted six years ago and haven’t been updated since then.

Not the best value for your money

Price & Value

6.56.5/10
How is this calculated?

Price & Value for Money receives a rating, but is not factored into our Overall Rating. We believe the reader should decide what is or isn’t a reasonable price.

A good rating here isn’t just based on how cheap the VPN is, but for the value it offers overall.

TorGuard offers Standard and Pro plans, and extra Add-ons. The Standard subscription offers decent value, but the fully-featured Pro version is more expensive. Additional features like a residential streaming IP can set you back even further.

TorGuard offers two types of product plans: Standard and Pro.

The Standard plan offers eight simultaneous device connections, while the Pro subscription allows up to 12, with a dedicated streaming IP address included.

The TorGuard Standard package costs $9.99 per month, if you sign up to the rolling monthly plan. However, subscribing to the annual Standard Plan reduces the monthly price to $4.99. You can get the lowest price, $5.83 by subscribing to a 3-year subscription.

The Pro plan costs $12.99 per month on a rolling basis, $9.99 per month on a yearly subscription, or $6.94 with a 3-year subscription.

If you apply the promo code TGLifetime50 at checkout, you’ll receive a 50% lifetime discount on your subscription.

  1. Monthly

    US$9.99/mo

    Standard plan is billed $9.99 every month
  2. Monthly

    US$12.99/mo

    Pro plan is billed $12.99 every month
  3. 12 Month(s)

    US$3.99/mo

    Standard plan is billed $139.99 every 36 months
    Save 61%
  4. 12 Month(s)

    US$6.94/mo

    Pro Plan is billed $249.99 every 36 months
    Save 47%

Payment & Refund Options

  1. American Express
  2. Bitcoin
  3. Mastercard
  4. PayPal
  5. Visa
  6. Voucher

TorGuard offers an extensive range of payment options including all major credit and debit cards, PayPal and a long list of cryptocurrencies.

Options such as Alipay and Neosurf are also available through its partnership with Paymentwall.

Seven-Day Money-Back Guarantee

TorGuard offers a seven-day refund guarantee on all subscription plans.

It is a completely ‘no questions asked’ guarantee, and TorGuard will refund your payment if you are “less than 100% satisfied” with its VPN service.

You can expect your money to be refunded to your account within 3-4 days.

TorGuard Has a Seven-Day Free Trial

In April 2022, TorGuard introduced a seven-day free trial so you can test it out before committing to a subscription. It’s available on Windows, macOS, Android and iOS.

But, TorGuard requires you to hand over your payment details upon signing up. So make sure to cancel your free trial before it expires, otherwise you will be billed when it automatically renews.

Screenshot of the Free Trial signup pages for TorGuard on iOS and Android.

You’ll have to sign up before using TorGuard’s free trial.

To use the free trial on Android, follow these steps:

  • Download the TorGuard app from the Google Play Store.
  • Open the app and tap Sign up.
  • Choose your preferred Billing Cycle. In case you forget to cancel free trial, we recommend choosing the $9.99 monthly cycle.
  • Skip past add-ons and tap Continue.
  • In Anonymous VPN, tap Choose Another Category.
  • Select Anonymous VPN Trial.
  • Tap Order Now.

EXPERT ADVICE:

Remember to cancel your trial subscription as soon as you sign up or a few days after because TorGuard can charge before the period is actually over. Despite this, you can request a refund as it has a seven-day money-back guarantee.

In its Terms of Use, TorGuard states it will “autorenew at least 24 hours before the end of the current subscription period,” and your account will be “charged within 24 hours before the end of current period.” This means that TorGuard can renew and charge you for a subscription a full day before your subscription expires.

TorGuard is a good no-logs VPN

The Bottom Line

We definitely recommend TorGuard. It doesn’t keep logs, has a good number of servers, delivers fast local download speeds, and it even works in China.

TorGuard is a great VPN for torrenting. It records fast download bitrates, has a kill switch, and gives you the option to port forward.

It’s not perfect, though. TorGuard’s international speeds are relatively slow, and the VPN can’t unblock streaming platforms like US Netflix, Disney+, and Hulu. You’ll have to pay for the Pro plan or an add-on to stream on US platforms.

Overall, TorGuard is a great option that’s definitely worth considering if streaming doesn’t interest you. It’s a high quality mid-tier option that specializes in torrenting.

Additional research by Alyx Morley

Alternatives to TorGuard

The new ExpressVPN logo

ExpressVPN

9.79.7/10

Where TorGuard fails, ExpressVPN excels. ExpressVPN is the best VPN for streaming, a wide range of server locations and very high international speeds. Read ExpressVPN review

Windscribe

Windscribe

8.68.6/10

Windscribe also offers residential IP addresses at a cheaper and unlimited simultaneous connections. It’s also got better server coverage and permits P2P on most servers. Read Windscribe review

About the Author


  • Simon Migliano

    Simon Migliano

    Simon Migliano is a recognized world expert in VPNs. He's tested hundreds of VPN services and his research has featured on the BBC, The New York Times and more. Read full bio


User Feedback for TorGuard