We review VPNs independently, but we may earn commissions if you buy a VPN via our links.

Avira Phantom VPN Review

Screenshot of Avira Phantom's desktop app on Windows

Simon Migliano is a recognized world expert in VPNs. He's tested hundreds of VPN services and his research has featured on the BBC, The New York Times and more.

Additional Testing by David Hughes

Our Verdict

4.7/10
How is this calculated?

We calculate the VPN service’s Overall Rating by combining the ratings of several testing categories. Each category is weighted as follows:

  • Privacy & Logging Policy: 20%
  • Speed: 20%
  • Security & Technical Features: 15%
  • Streaming: 15%
  • Ease of Use: 10%
  • Torrenting: 5%
  • Server Locations: 5%
  • Bypassing Web Censorship: 5%
  • Customer Support: 5%

Learn more by reading our VPN testing and review methodology.

Avira Phantom VPN is available as both a paid and free service, but both are bad VPNs that log and store your IP address. For this reason, we cannot recommend Avira Phantom as a safe or private VPN. Neither the Pro or free version unblocks any streaming services, and they are both unpleasant to use. We recommend avoiding Avira Phantom VPN entirely and rate it only 4.7/10.

Ranked #38 out of 65 VPNs

Avira Phantom VPN Category Ratings

  • 1.0/10
  • 6.3/10
  • 0.1/10
  • 8.9/10
  • 7.1/10
  • 2.0/10
  • 7.2/10
  • 6.0/10
  • 5.1/10
  • 3.0/10

Avira Phantom VPN Pros & Cons

  • Free version requires no payment information
  • No device limit on paid & free version
  • Firsty-party DNS servers & DNS leak protection
  • Simple apps & free browser extension
  • Fast local speeds

  • Logs IP address & other personal data
  • No access to streaming sites
  • Free version doesn’t always work
  • Only 500MB of free data per month
  • Free version limited to single server on desktop
  • Kill switch on paid Windows only

Why Trust Us?

We’re fully independent and have been reviewing VPNs since 2016. Our ratings are based on our own testing results and are unaffected by financial incentives. Learn who we are and how we test VPNs.

Available since 2016, Avira Phantom VPN comes from established cybersecurity firm Avira, known for its antivirus software.

For this review of Avira Phantom VPN Pro and Avira Phantom VPN Free, we’ve put both versions through a unique VPN testing process to check how safe the VPN is, if it logs your data, and whether it can be used to unblock Netflix and other streaming sites.

Avoid Avira Phantom VPN if:

  • You want to protect your online privacy. Avira Phantom VPN logs your IP address and other identifiable information about you. It can track your online behavior and it’s willing to hand your data over.
  • You want a VPN for streaming. Both the Pro and Free version of Avira Phantom VPN failed to access Netflix, HBO Max, Hulu, and more in our tests.
  • You want a smooth user experience. Avira Phantom’s apps are frustrating to use – the service often wouldn’t work to connect to a VPN server.
  • You want a cheap VPN. Despite its underwhelming performance, Avira Phantom Pro still costs more than most top-tier VPNs. It’s not good value for money.
  • You want unlimited free data. Avira Phantom Free’s data cap is one of the most restrictive around, capped at 500MB of data per month unless you part with your email address.

Avira Phantom VPN Key Data

 Paid
Free
Data CapUnlimited500MB / 1GB
Download Speed93Mbps53Mbps
Logging PolicyIntrusive LoggingIntrusive Logging
Data LeaksNoNo
JurisdictionGermany (14 Eyes Member)Germany (14 Eyes Member)
Servers1,4001,400
IP AddressesNot disclosedNot disclosed
Countries with Servers3535
US NetflixNoNo
TorrentingPermittedPermitted
Simultaneous ConnectionsUnlimitedUnlimited
Works In ChinaNoNo
SupportEmail Online Resources Only
Cheapest Price$6.50/mo over 12 MonthsFree
Money-Back Guarantee60-day Money-Back Guarantee-
Official WebsiteAvira.com

Privacy & Logging Policy

Avira Phantom Logs Your IP Address

0.1/10
How is this calculated?

We analyze and dissect the VPN service’s logging and privacy policy. A VPN should never log and store:

  • Your real IP address
  • Connection timestamps
  • DNS requests

Headquarters outside of 14 Eyes or EU jurisdictions are also preferable.

Avira Phantom VPN logs your IP address along with other intrusive information. It’s also based in Germany, which is not a privacy-friendly nation, and it belongs to a large corporation with no track record of providing quality VPN services. You should avoid Avira Phantom VPN if you want to protect your online privacy.

Ranked #54 out of 65 VPNs for Privacy & Logging Policy

We examined Avira Phantom VPN’s logging policy in detail. Here’s what it logs:

Data TypeLogged by Avira Phantom VPN
Account InformationNo
Browsing ActivityNo
Date of Last ConnectionNo
Device InformationYes
DNS QueriesNo
Individual Bandwidth UsageYes
Individual Connection TimestampsNo
ISPNo
Number of Simultaneous ConnectionsNo
Originating IP AddressYes
VPN Server IPNo
VPN Server LocationNo

As you can see above, despite claims otherwise, Avira Phantom VPN logs your IP address, which caps its privacy rating at 0.1/10. It also logs your device information and individual bandwidth usage.

Your IP address should never be logged by a VPN because it removes your anonymity, defeating the purpose of using a VPN.

Despite what some VPNs say, none of this data collection is necessary to maintain a VPN service. For example, Private Internet Access scores 9.7/10 in our privacy assessment because it logs almost nothing and has proven it in court cases.

We suggest that you don’t use Avira Phantom VPN if you want to protect your privacy.

Where Is Avira Phantom VPN Based?

Avira is a security software company founded in 2006. However, its predecessor company, H+BEDV Datentechnik GmbH, has been around since 1986. The company is chiefly known for its antivirus software.

Avira’s headquarters are in Tettnang, Germany. It also has offices in China, the Netherlands, Romania, and the US.

Germany is not a good location to base a VPN service for these reasons:

  • It falls under EU data retention laws
  • It is part of the 14 Eyes intelligence-sharing alliance

Along with Avira’s intrusive logging policy, and the fact that the company explicitly states it will comply with data requests from authorities, this is cause for concern.

Avira Belongs to a Larger Corporate Structure

In December 2020, US-based company, NortonLifeLock Inc., bought Avira. This purchase did not change Avira’s policy of logging user data. In fact, NortonLifeLock’s VPN, Norton Secure VPN, also logs IP addresses.

NortonLifeLock belongs to the larger Fortune 500 company, Gen Digital. This company owns AVG, which runs AVG Secure VPN; Avast, which runs Avast SecureLine VPN; and Privax Ltd., which runs HMA (HideMyAss). All of these VPNs score averagely in our overall VPN assessments, chiefly because they all log unnecessary data.

Streaming

Avira Phantom VPN Does Not Unblock Streaming Services

1.0/10
How is this calculated?

This rating is calculated by how many different streaming services and regional content libraries the VPN can unblock, and how consistently it can access them.

We test access to Netflix, Disney+, Max, Amazon Prime Video, BBC iPlayer, and many more platforms on a weekly basis.

Avira Phantom VPN sells itself as a streaming VPN and includes a streaming server, but our tests show that both the Pro and free version fail to unblock any major streaming service, including any international Netflix libraries. The only exception is the UK’s Channel 4 on the Pro version. This is very disappointing, and explains why Avira Phantom VPN is only rated 1.0 in our streaming assessment.

Ranked #32 out of 65 VPNs for Streaming

We tested both the paid and free versions of Avira Phantom VPN on a number of popular streaming platforms. Here are the results:

Streaming PlatformAvira Phantom ProAvira Phantom Free
Amazon Prime VideoNoNo
BBC iPlayerNoNo
Channel 4YesNo
Disney+NoNo
Hotstar IndiaNoNo
HuluNoNo
ITVXNoNo
MaxNoNo
Netflix USNoNo

As you can see, both versions of Avira Phantom VPN fail to access any major streaming site, except Channel 4 on the paid version and YouTube. This is a very poor streaming performance – the best VPNs for streaming unblock all of these streaming services and more.

Server Locations

Small Server Network of 35 Countries

7.1/10
How is this calculated?

The key factor for calculating this rating is the global spread and coverage of the VPN’s server network.

We also consider the total number of servers, the number of city-level servers, and the number of IP addresses available.

Avira Phantom VPN’s server network is on the small side, covering only 35 countries. Top VPNs offer up to 100 countries on their server networks. The free version of Avira Phantom VPN has the same number of servers, but only on mobile devices. On desktop, free users are restricted to a single server location – the nearest to your location. This is needlessly confusing and restrictive.

Ranked #37 out of 65 VPNs for Server Locations

Globe with a blue flag
35 Countries
Image of a city landscape
47 Cities
Image of a pink marker
Undisclosed number of IP Addresses

Avira Phantom VPN has servers in 35 countries. This is a medium-to-small size server network. For context, VPNs like Surfshark offer 100 countries.

Here is a breakdown of where Avira Phantom’s servers are located across the globe:

Continent
Avira Phantom Pro Countries
Avira Phantom Free Countries
Europe
25
25
Asia
3
3
South America
2
2
North America
3
3
Africa
3
0
Oceania
2
2
Antarctica
0
0

There is heavy emphasis on Europe and the US. Over 70% of Avira Phantom VPN’s countries are in Europe. We would like to see more scope in Avira Phantom VPN’s server network.

You can only select servers at the city-level for Australia (Perth & Sydney), the UK (London & Manchester), and the US (12 cities).

Avira Phantom Server Locations

Avira Phantom VPN has 35 countries on its network.

Disappointingly, we asked Avira Phantom how many individual servers it maintains and it refused to answer.

Furthermore, we’d like to see Avira Phantom grant the user the power to select different types of servers, including Static IP addresses and residential IP addresses.

Free Version Restricted to Single Server on Desktop

On desktop, Avira Phantom Free’s servers are restricted to your nearest location only. For example, if you’re in the US you can only connect to another US IP address.

However, on mobile the free version has the same number of servers as the paid version. For a free VPN, this is quite a lot – more than many of the best free VPNs. We hope Avira makes this consistent across platforms.

Speed

Only the Pro Version of Avira Phantom Is Fast

8.9/10
How is this calculated?

We calculate the VPN’s speed rating using our download speeds, upload speeds, and ping (latency) measurements.

We regularly test the VPN’s local and international speeds using a dedicated 100Mbps internet connection in New York, USA.

Avira Phantom VPN Pro is fast. It’s able to deliver an average download speed of 93Mbps when connecting to a nearby server. However, its speeds drop considerably when using the free version, which has an average local download speed of 53Mbps – a decrease of 47% compared to our normal internet connection.

Ranked #30 out of 65 VPNs for Speed

We tested Avira Phantom VPN’s speeds on our 100Mbps baseline internet to see how it affected our speeds. Here is a table showing Avira Phantom VPN Pro’s results in full:

We experienced minimal download speed loss when using Avira VPN Pro – a loss of only 7% compared to our internet speeds without a VPN.

Latency was also impressive: a ping time of only 6ms when connected to the VPN’s New York server.

Understandably, Avira VPN gets slower the further away you connect, but its long-distance speeds remain impressively fast. For example, connecting to London from the US we picked up download speeds of 96Mbps, despite 3,500 miles of physical distance.

Though fast, Avira VPN’s international speeds can’t compete with the absolute fastest VPNs. For example, we lost 49% of our normal speed connecting to Australia, while ExpressVPN only lost 17% on the same distance.

You can use the bar chart below to compare Avira Phantom VPN’s average local and international speeds with some of the best performing VPNs available:

Bar Chart Comparing Avira Phantom VPN's Short and Long Distance Speed Loss Average Against Competitors

Avira Phantom VPN Free Is Slower

As you’d expect from the free version, Avira Phantom Free is much slower than the paid service.

A speed loss of 47% on a local New York server is more than we expect from a quality VPN, free or otherwise. Its ping is also a lot higher, at 19ms.

Security & Technical Features

No Advanced Features, but Secure Enough to Use

7.2/10
How is this calculated?

A secure VPN must offer OpenVPN or WireGuard protocols, AES-256 encryption, and a working kill switch.

To calculate this rating, we also factor in additional security settings and features.

From a security perspective, Avira Phantom VPN is safe because it gets the basics of VPN security right: it uses AES-256 encryption and OpenVPN as its default protocol. WireGuard is available on Android, too. Impressively, it operates its own DNS servers and includes DNS leak protection. However, its kill switch is only available on Windows, and all of its apps lack advanced tools and customization. We’d like to see Double VPN, static IP addresses, split tunneling, and more.

Ranked #30 out of 65 VPNs for Security & Technical Features

You can see a full breakdown of Avira Phantom VPN’s security suite below, including its protocols, encryption ciphers and advanced features:

ProtocolsAvailable in Avira Phantom VPN
IKEv2/IPSecYes
L2TP/IPSecYes
OpenVPN (TCP/UDP)Yes
WireGuardYes
EncryptionAvailable in Avira Phantom VPN
AES-128No
AES-192No
AES-256Yes
BlowfishNo
ChaCha20Yes
SecurityAvailable in Avira Phantom VPN
Diskless ServersNo
DNS Leak BlockingYes
First-party DNSYes
IPv6 Leak BlockingYes
Supports TCP Port 443No
VPN Kill SwitchYes
WebRTC Leak BlockingNo
Advanced FeaturesAvailable in Avira Phantom VPN
Ad BlockerNo
Dedicated IPNo
Double VPNNo
SOCKSNo
Split TunnelingNo
Static IPNo
Tor over VPN ServerNo
Tracker BlockerNo

Safe Encryption & Security Protocols

Avira Phantom VPN may not have a good logging policy, but it uses secure technology to encrypt your data. The AES-256 cipher is used for both free and Pro versions, which is the best available encryption cipher.

We used a packet-sniffing tool to check that Avira Phantom was actually encrypting our data. We found that all incoming and outgoing traffic was indeed encrypted, making it indecipherable.

OpenVPN is Avira’s default connection protocol across all apps, which is a good choice. Its Android app has a toggle option for WireGuard, too – which is even more advanced than OpenVPN.

We’d like to see a kill switch added to all of Avira Phantom’s apps. Currently, the kill switch is only available to paid users on Windows. This is a big security flaw for Apple and Android users.

First-Party DNS Servers & No Leaks

Avira Phantom VPN owns and operates its own DNS servers. That means Avira handles all the online requests you make when connected to the VPN, without resorting to rented third-party hosts. This is an excellent privacy and security feature.

We used our in-house leak test tool to check for any data leaks when using Avira’s VPN servers. We’re happy to report that we recorded no IP, DNS, or WebRTC leaks:

Avia Phantom VPN Leak Test

We found no IP, DNS, or WebRTC leaks when testing Avira Phantom VPN.

No Advanced Features or Customization

Avira Phantom’s lack of customization is a problem. You have no control over its security suite, including the option to switch between protocols.

We’d like to see manual protocol selection enabled across all of Avira VPN’s apps. Currently, Android and iOS are the only devices that allows it.

VPNs like Hide.me and Astrill VPN score much higher in our security assessment because they allow a greater degree of control, making it better suited to advanced users.

Avira Phantom Settings Menu

Avira Phantom VPN Pro’s security settings menu – it has barely any technical features.

These VPNs also have a lot more technical features compared to Avira Phantom VPN, which has almost none. The only feature is a malicious site and content blocker that you can toggle on or off.

Advanced VPNs have features like Double VPN, IP rotation, open-source apps, and GPS spoofers. We’d also like to see an effective VPN ad blocker.

Torrenting

Supports Torrenting On Pro & Free Servers

6.3/10
How is this calculated?

This rating is determined by the VPN’s torrenting speeds, the percentage of servers that allow P2P file sharing, the service’s privacy and trustworthiness, and useful settings like port forwarding.

For speed specifically, we calculate the VPN’s average download bitrate using our bespoke torrenting setup.

Both the free and Pro versions of Avira Phantom VPN allow you to torrent on all of its servers, and both have very fast average download bitrates. Avira VPN also has a kill switch on Windows to prevent accidental IP leaks. However, we can’t recommend it for torrenting as it logs your data, and its kill switch is not available across all apps. There is also no port forwarding option.

Ranked #29 out of 65 VPNs for Torrenting

Here’s a quick summary of showing how Windscribe performed in our torrenting tests:

Torrenting Attribute
Avira Phantom Pro Pro
Avira Phantom Free
Average Download Bitrate
9.8
9.5
No. of P2P Servers
35
35
Logging Policy
Intrusive Logging
Intrusive Logging
Kill Switch
Windows Only
No
Port Forwarding
No
No

We tested both the free and Pro versions of Avira Phantom VPN by connecting to a nearby server and downloading a 1GB torrent test file on qBittorrent. We performed this test three times to garner an average result.

Avira Phantom Free Torrenting Test

We tested Avira Phantom VPN Pro & Free on the torrent client, qBittorrent.

We were impressed by Avira Phantom VPN’s average torrent bitrate speed. At 9.8, it’s actually one of the fastest bitrates we’ve seen out of 65 VPNs.

Despite its speed, we caution against using Avira Phantom VPN to torrent on iOS, macOS, or Android due to the absence of a kill switch on these platforms. Kill switches guarantee that your real IP address won’t accidentally leak when file sharing.

Furthermore, Avira Phantom VPN’s logging policy is highly intrusive and it’s willing to share data. This means that P2P file sharers could get into trouble if they accidentally download any copyrighted material.

Avira Phantom Free also has a fast bitrate, but it suffers the same anonymity issues. The kill switch isn’t available on the free version and it’s also restricted by a 500MB per month data cap, which may not even be enough to download a single file, depending on what you’re torrenting.

For a truly safe free VPN for torrenting, we recommend Windscribe Free instead.

Bypassing Web Censorship

Doesn’t Work to Unblock Restricted Websites

2.0/10
How is this calculated?

We routinely test if the VPN can bypass strict internet restrictions in China using our remote-access server in Shanghai.

Other important factors we consider include obfuscation technologies and the availability of servers in neighboring countries (for faster connections).

Neither the free or paid version of Avira Phantom VPN works against censorship in China. It has no obfuscation feature to hide the fact that you are using a VPN, making it highly susceptible to blocks. Avira Phantom might work in places with less sophisticated censorship, like Turkey or Russia, but we wouldn’t rely on it when there are VPNs like Astrill VPN that are almost guaranteed to bypass web blocks.

Ranked #51 out of 65 VPNs for Bypassing Web Censorship

We tested Avira Phantom VPN on our own server in Shanghai, China. We wanted to see whether it works to unblock restricted websites within the country. Unfortunately it does not: Avira Phantom was easily detected by Chinese censors.

This is likely due to the fact that Avira Phantom has no obfuscation technology to hide the fact that your traffic is going through a VPN tunnel. Furthermore, OpenVPN is a protocol easily detected and blocked by government censors.

There are reports of Avira VPN working in countries with less sophisticated censorship, but there are lots of reliable VPNs that get around the Great Firewall of China and are guaranteed to work in countries like Russia, Iran, and the UAE.

Device & OS Compatibility

Apps for the Most Popular Devices Only

How is this rated?

A high-quality VPN should maintain functional, fully-featured applications and browser extensions for as many platforms and devices as possible.

Our ‘Device & OS Compatibility’ assessment contributes to the Ease of Use rating.

Avira Phantom VPN is only available on the most common devices, which includes Android, iOS, Windows, and macOS. There is no Firestick or Android TV app, which is disappointing. It isn’t compatible with routers, and there is no Smart DNS feature. However, Avira Phantom VPN Pro & Free has no device limit, so you can install it on an unlimited number of devices, and there’s a free browser extension.

Apps

You can use Avira Phantom VPN on the following platforms:

  1. Windows
  2. Mac
  3. iOS
  4. Android

This level of device compatibility is the bare minimum we expect from a paid VPN service.

Unfortunately, Avira Phantom isn’t available on any other platform. It has no Fire TV Stick or Android TV app, and you cannot use it as a VPN for Linux.

It also isn’t possible to install the VPN on your router, so you cannot use it on Apple TV or games consoles. There is no Smart DNS to easily spoof your region, either.

The good news is that Avira Phantom has no simultaneous connection limit. You can install and use the Pro or free version of its apps on as many devices as you wish.

Browser Extensions

Avira Phantom VPN currently offers a free browser extension for:

  1. Chrome

Unfortunately, there is no Firefox add-on yet.

The Chrome extension is very easy and quick to install, and you can use it to get a new IP address instantly. Like with the free version of the app, you are limited to the nearest VPN server only.

Avira Phantom Chrome Browser Extension

Avira Phantom VPN has a free browser extension for Chrome but not Firefox.

It’s also not just a proxy like many browser extensions on offer from VPN providers. It’s a genuine VPN that encrypts your data via AES-256.

Ease of Use

Frustrating Apps with Connection Issues

6.0/10
How is this calculated?

This rating mainly consists of the user-friendliness and intuitiveness of setting up and regularly using the VPN.

We also factor in customization settings, as well as device and OS compatibility (see section above).

Avira Phantom VPN is admittedly simple to use, with good-looking apps that are consistent across devices. However, we found the experience of installing and testing Avira Phantom to be frustrating overall, due to a poorly-made website and persistent technical errors and bugs within the app. Sometimes the VPN just wouldn’t connect.

Ranked #48 out of 65 VPNs for Ease of Use

Avira Phantom VPN is stripped-back and relatively simple to look at. This is in part because there are almost zero customization choices. But we like that the apps are mostly consistent across desktop and mobile devices.

Regardless of which platform you’re on, Avira Phantom is composed of a home screen with an on/off button, a list of VPN server locations, and a minimal settings menu.

All of Avira Phantom’s apps offer a light and dark mode, as well as an option to launch at system start. Beyond that, there’s little to its customisation options. Selecting support or account details sends you directly to Avira’s badly-designed website.

As part of the overall user experience, we disliked using the Avira website, which is overly complicated. For example, we found it difficult to find the VPN’s monthly subscription options, making us feel coerced into a more expensive longer-term contract.

Here’s a summary of our experience using Avira Phantom’s apps for different devices:

Desktop & Laptop (Windows & macOS)

What bothered us most when testing Avira Phantom VPN on desktop was the frequency of bugs. Sometimes the VPN just did not work to establish a connection. Take a look at the short video below to see what we experienced:

Avira Phantom VPN simply does not work sometimes.

To make matters worse, even when it did manage to connect (usually on the pro version), after we disconnected again our internet stopped working entirely. We had to connect to another VPN to re-establish our internet.

There are also some non-intuitive aspects to the app. For example, if you type ‘United States’ into the server search bar, no results turn up. You have to type ‘US’ specifically.

However, this logic does not extend to the UK; typing in ‘UK’ brings up no results. Instead, you have to type in ‘United Kingdom’. Small things like this show an absence of attention to detail.

Avira Phantom VPN macOS App

Avira Phantom on macOS

We do like that the macOS app can be undocked and moved around your desktop — this is a nice touch when so many VPN apps for macOS cannot be dragged around.

When it comes to the user experience for the desktop apps specifically, there is lots of room for improvement.

Mobile (Android & iOS)

Similar to its desktop apps, Avira’s mobile apps are made up of three separate windows: the main home screen with the connect button, a settings menu, and the server locations list. Simplicity can be good, but this is arguably too little.

Avira Phantom VPN Android App

Avira’s Android app is made up of three screens.

On Android specifically, Avira Phantom Free has an option to ‘Enable WireGuard’. There’s also a send diagnostic data option and auto connect. This is not available on iOS.

Thankfully, prompts to purchase a pro account are subtler than most free VPNs, making for a mostly unintrusive free VPN experience. We also experienced less connection issues using the mobile version.

Customer Support

Minimal Support & Unhelpful Bots

5.1/10
How is this calculated?

This rating is based on our assessment of the VPN’s:

  • Live chat support
  • Email support
  • Online resources

Not every VPN offers all these support options, and they often vary in quality and response times.

For free users of Avira Phantom, customer support is almost non-existent, except for a few unhelpful online resources and a chatbot that mostly asks you to upgrade. Pro users at least have access to an email address and telephone number, but it took five days for us to get a response. This is far behind the attentive, quick, and human-led support we get from other paid-for VPN providers.

Ranked #48 out of 65 VPNs for Customer Support

Customer SupportAvailable in Avira Phantom VPNAvailable in Avira Phantom Free
24/7 Email SupportNoNo
24/7 Live Chat SupportNoNo
ChatbotYesYes
EmailYesYes
Email Support via Online FormNoNo
Live Chat SupportNoNo
Online ResourcesYesYes
Tutorial VideosNoNo

Avira Phantom VPN’s customer support is limited and frustrating to access. It mostly consists of a poorly designed website with barely useful FAQs and a mostly inactive community section.

There is also a poorly functioning chatbot that links you to support articles, most of which are unhelpful. The chatbot continuously prompts you to get a premium account for more support. Even once we purchased a premium account, we still found the support still to be lacking.

Avira Phantom Customer Support

Avira Phantom VPN support is lacking in helpful resources.

We eventually found an email address in the paid support section, but it took a while to get a response. We sent an email on 28 September at 12:35 and received a response on 5 October at 13:5 – a wait time of five working days.

To make matters worse, the response failed to answer our questions and said it is being taken care of by “senior technicians.” The more helpful follow-up email arrived on 13 October – 11 working days after our initial enquiry.

We thought that, as a paying subscriber, we might have access to a human chat support agent, like with most top-performing VPNs. This was not the case.

Price & Value

Not Good Value for Money

3.0/10
How is this calculated?

While we do assign a ‘Price & Value’ rating, it doesn’t contribute to the Overall Rating. We believe the reader should decide what is or isn’t a reasonable price.

A good rating isn’t just based on how cheap the VPN is, but for the overall value it offers.

Avira Phantom VPN isn’t worth paying for. Considering the absence of technical features, the lack of proper customer support, and how many bugs we encountered, $6.50 per month is an unreasonable cost. You can get exceptional VPNs for half the price, such as Private Internet Access. However, at 60 days long, Avira Phantom does have the longest money-back guarantee of any VPN. Its free version is even worse, and shouldn’t be considered – even though it costs nothing.

Ranked #38 out of 65 VPNs for Price & Value

  1. Monthly

    $10.00/mo

    Billed $10.00 every month
  2. 12 Month(s)

    $6.50/mo

    Billed $78.00 every 12 months
    Save 38%

Avira Phantom’s monthly plan is the average asking price of a short-term VPN subscription. However, the annual plan – which costs $6.50 per month – is too expensive when considering the service on offer.

To put this into perspective, a much better VPN like CyberGhost costs $2.03 per month. Even better, PIA, which is ranked #3 out of 65 VPNs, is one of the cheapest VPNs and only costs $2.03.

Avira Phantom needs to bring down its price to better reflect the quality of service on offer.

Payment & Refund Options

You can pay for an Avira Phantom VPN subscription using these payment methods:

  1. American Express
  2. Mastercard
  3. PayPal
  4. Visa

This covers the most popular forms of payment. However, more payment options should be made available, including privacy-friendly cryptocurrencies and international payment methods.

In terms of refunds, Avira Phantom VPN offers a 60-day money-back guarantee on annual subscriptions. This is the longest money-back guarantee we’ve seen on the market, beating CyberGhost’s generous 45-day refund promise.

However, if you purchase a monthly subscription, the refund period is reduced to 30 days.

To claim a refund you simply need to email Avira and your refund will be processed by the billing partner, Cleverbridge.

Avira Phantom Free

The free version of Avira Phantom VPN is easy to get and quick to download. You don’t need to insert any personal information or payment details, either, so there’s no risk of being charged.

You can use the free version for as long as you like, but it does have a 500MB per month data cap. However, if you decide to give Avira your email address it will increase your personal data allowance to 1GB per month.

The Bottom Line

Disappointing Pro & Free VPN

Overall, we do not recommend either the Pro or Free version of Avira Phantom VPN and rate it a poor 4.7/10. This is due to its inability to unblock streaming services, its invasive privacy policy, and the presence of technical bugs.

Even the free version disappoints because it doesn’t protect your online privacy or unblock streaming sites. It does have a fast average bitrate, but this is outweighed by its privacy and security flaws, such as the absence of a kill switch on most apps.

Avira Phantom VPN free has actually decreased in quality since we started testing it years ago, no longer making it to our list of the best free VPNs.

There is no clear reason to use either the Pro or Free VPN, especially if you’re able to pay for a VPN: there are better VPN services for substantially less cost.

You can compare Avira Phantom VPN to some comparable VPN services in the table below:

History of Major Updates to Avira Phantom VPN

  • August 2021: Avira’s parent company, NortonLifeLock, merges with Avast and adopts the name Gen Digital
  • June 2021: Free users are granted access to Avira Phantom VPN’s entire server network.
  • April 2021: Default 1GB free data allowance is reduced to 500MB.
  • December 2020: NortonLifeLock acquires Avira.
  • 2016: Avira Phantom VPN is launched.