Disclosure: Top10VPN is editorially independent. We may earn commissions if you buy a VPN through links on our site.

Free VPN by FreeVPN.org Review

 0% 
No user reviews
Free VPN by FreeVPN.org screenshot
Headshot of Top10VPN.com Site Editor Callum Tennent

Callum oversees how we test and review VPN services. He's a member of the IAPP, and his advice about VPNs has featured in Forbes and the Internet Society. Read full bio

Ask Callum about Free VPN by FreeVPN.org

Our Verdict

22.0/10
How is this calculated?

Our overall rating is reached by combining several subcategories. The subcategories are weighted as follows:

  • Logging & Jurisdiction: 30%
  • Speed & Reliability: 25%
  • Security & Features: 20%
  • Streaming: 10%
  • Torrenting: 5%
  • Ease of Use: 5%
  • Support: 5%

See our full methodology in how we review VPNs.

Free VPN by FreeVPN.org is one of the slower, less transparent VPNs we've reviewed. It has a vague privacy policy, minimal customer support, and invasive adverts. It does effectively give you unlimited data, but if you need a free VPN there are safer alternatives.

Ranked #63 out of 68

Free VPN by FreeVPN.org Category Ratings

  • 2.42.4/10
  • 22.0/10
  • 1.91.9/10
  • 3.23.2/10
  • 4.54.5/10
  • 5.55.5/10
  • 1.51.5/10
  • 2.52.5/10
  • 0.50.5/10

Free VPN by FreeVPN.org Pros & Cons

Pros

  1. Works with BBC iPlayer
  2. Adverts aren't overbearing
  3. No hard data cap or speed throttling

Cons

  1. Unconvincing privacy policy
  2. Poor customer service
  3. No transparency
  4. Poor performance
  5. Third party adverts
  6. Flawed server list

The Google Play Store and iOS App Store are both littered with bizarre, generic, free VPNs.

“Free VPN by FreeVPN.org” might just take the cake on this front, but does it have more going for it than just the domain name?

This is not the first time we’ve reviewed FreeVPN.org. It’s been around for a while now – since at least 2015 under its current ownership – and we were hopeful it would have used the past few years to improve its free VPN service.

Every time we look at a VPN we start from scratch to give it a fair and objective assessment, and FreeVPN.org is no exception.

Discover the best free VPNs of 2021

FreeVPN.org is slow and unsafe. Instead, why not try a secure, unrestricted and affordable VPN like Surfshark?

Try Surfshark free for 30-days by taking advantage of its generous refund policy.

Free VPN by FreeVPN.org Key Data

Data CapUnlimited
Speed30.5Mbps
Logging PolicySome User Logs
Data LeaksNo
JurisdictionUS (Five-Eyes member)
ServersNot disclosed
IP AddressesNot disclosed
Countries8
US NetflixYes
TorrentingUnlimited
Works in ChinaNo
SupportUnmonitored email
Official WebsiteFreeVPN.org

You can't trust Free VPN by FreeVPN.org

Logging & Jurisdiction

1.91.9/10
How is this calculated?

We dissect the logging and privacy policies of every VPN. A VPN should never log:

  • Your real IP address
  • Connection timestamps
  • DNS requests

A base of operations outside of 14-Eyes or EU jurisdiction is preferable.

FreeVPN.org claim not to log anything, but there's nothing to back up it's vague policy and we've found elements of it to be categorically untrue. This is not a trustworthy VPN provider.

The FreeVPN.org website comes nowhere near the kind of transparency you need in a trustworthy VPN service.

There is no about or team page and the social media buttons don’t go anywhere.

We wanted to find out who is really behind FreeVPN.org.

It certainly isn’t the group of happy young people displayed on the website – they are easily identifiable as the stars of a royalty-free stock photo titled: “Group of happiness students with raised hands.”The FreeVPN.org website and a stock image side by side

There is an address on the website: 1070 Gray Fox Circle, Pleasanton, California 94566. This just points to a detached house in a Californian suburb, though.

A reverse search for the domain provides more information. FreeVPN.org is hosted on the same server as just 11 other sites, including dashvpn.io and open-vpn.org.

Some of the domains hosted on this server, like freedomvpn.org, redirect to the FreeVPN.org site.

Several of these pages, including DashVPN, point to the same Pleasanton address, too. It is safe to say that they belong to the same individual or organization.

Photographs of the President, CEO and CTO of ActMobile

Left to right: Matt Snyder (President), Tim Bush (CFO) & Pankaj Kulkarni (CTO)

After some investigation, it’s apparent all these companies exist beneath ActMobile Networks Inc., fronted by president Matt Snyder, CFO Tim Bush, and CTO Pankaj Kulkarni.

A more elusive figure is Andrew Foss. ActMobile.com is registered under his name, and he is listed as CEO on an archived version of its website, but we can’t find any record at all of him online.

Matt Snyder’s LinkedIn account describes ActMobile as producing “consumer-facing apps… under the FreeVPN.org umbrella”:Description of ActMobile from LinkedIn

ActMobile is unambiguously the parent company of FreeVPN.org.

The company is incorporated in the United States, which is a privacy red flag. Revelations in recent years show the US as one of the most privacy hostile countries in the world.

If you can trust your VPN service not to keep logs, jurisdiction isn’t necessarily a big deal. As we have just seen, though, FreeVPN.org isn’t very transparent.

Dubious Security Standards

We also have some doubts about how seriously it takes data security.

Currently, the URL Freevpn.org doesn’t redirect to HTTPS by default, leaving users without HTTPS Everywhere to the HTTP version of the site.

This is insecure, dangerous, and frankly not something we expect to see from a VPN service in 2021.

The question is raised: if its website isn’t secure, how can you trust FreeVPN.org’s VPN with your data?

Logging Policy

Back in 2016, FreeVPN.org had a comprehensive and well written (if invasive) privacy policy.

But, bit by bit, it has swapped comprehensiveness out for short, crowd-pleasing declarations.

In big letters at the top of the page there is a question and answer:

“What Information Do We Collect?

None.

The mobile app also includes an information tab with an encouraging statement:Screenshot of the FreeVPN.org app

On their face, these changes all seem positive. Not keeping data is surely good, isn’t it?

But it isn’t that simple. Lots of VPN providers will claim not to log – but investigation often reveals they have a very loose definition of what logs actually are.

A privacy policy can promise lots, but you need to be able to trust it, otherwise it is meaningless.

We hoped that this privacy policy rewrite meant that FreeVPN.org was making its service more secure and trustworthy.

Instead, FreeVPN.org is only getting less transparent – it seems to care more about making money than being honest about user privacy.

For instance, the privacy policy states:

  • It does not use cookies
  • It does not collect or share any information about its users
  • It has advertising partners but doesn’t share any information with them

iOS and Android apps generally do not accept cookies in the same way as a computer browser would – advertisers have other methods of tracking your activity.

On the website FreeVPN.org give instructions for deleting your personal data – but we found no way to do so in the app.

The FreeVPN.org website where it suggests you can delete personal data

The suggestion of the existence of a personal profile is worrying on its own – as it suggests that FreeVPN.org is logging something about its users.

Slow and unreliable connection speeds

Speed & Reliability

3.23.2/10
How is this calculated?

Speed ratings are calculated using upload speeds, download speeds, and ping (latency).

We test average speeds regularly using a dedicated 100Mbps connection in London, UK. Local download speed is considered the most important factor.

FreeVPN.org's server netowrk is clearly poorly built or totally overwhelmed with traffic. It's speeds are cosistently slow, both over short and long distance connections.

We don’t expect the best speeds from free VPNs – within reason. A VPN still needs to hit some basic levels of performance in order to function properly.

While FreeVPN.org certainly isn’t the slowest VPN we’ve ever reviewed, it consistently underperforms.

Local Speed Test results before using Free VPN by FreeVPN.org:

  • Download Speed: 77.9Mbps
  • Upload Speed: 87.7Mbps
  • Ping: 5ms

Local Speed Test results with Free VPN by FreeVPN.org:

  • Download Speed: 25.5Mbps
  • Upload Speed: 23.4Mbps
  • Ping: 16ms

Download speed loss when Free VPN by FreeVPN.org is running: 67%

Latency was poor across the board. Our best connection was to the UK (London to London), which gave us a ping of 16ms. Our worst connection was to Hong Kong, which reached 240ms.

Again, we’ve seen higher pings than this, but it pretty much eliminates the option of playing online mobile games while connected.

The speeds achieved by FreeVPN.org scale pretty directly with distance, so we don’t think they are being throttled, just that they are not set up to effectively serve the volume of traffic passing through them.

These are the speeds we saw world-wide:

  • USA: 4.5Mbps (download) & 13.2Mbps (upload)
  • Germany: 29Mbps (download) & 30.9Mbps (upload)
  • Hong Kong: 6.6Mbps (download) & 11.9Mbps (upload)

Nearby connections aren’t great but global ones slow down to a crawl. Even if we thought FreeVPN.org were a trustworthy organization, speeds like these would make its service difficult to recommend.

Weak security

Security & Features

1.51.5/10
How is this calculated?

Top-rated VPNs offer OpenVPN or WireGuard protocols, AES-256 encryption, and a functional kill switch. We also consider additional security features and the global spread of VPN servers.

FreeVPN.org uses an outdated version of TLS SSL encryption for it's VPN, which isn't up to industry standards. It also doesn't include vital security features like a kill switch.

Protocols
  1. SSL VPN
Encryption
  1. Undisclosed
Security
  1. None
Advanced features
  1. None

The app features no advanced security features, not even a kill switch. These kinds of tools are vital to keeping your data safe from governments and hackers, but completely absent from FreeVPN.org’s VPN service.

We’d like to talk a little about about the VPN protocol and encryption being used – but neither the website or the app disclose anything about these, though.

There also aren’t any settings which allow you to change protocol.

Since FreeVPN.org doesn’t monitor its email we weren’t able to find anything out from the company directly, either.

Our research has found that FreeVPN.org uses TLS (Transport Layer Security) 1.2, the second most up-to-date version of the SSL (Secure Sockets Layer) VPN protocol.

This is the same protocol as Microsoft uses for its corporate networking, and can be considered generally secure.

That said, it is not the most recent version of the protocol, or the most secure. TLS 1.3 has performance improvements over 1.2, while also reducing the risk of successful attacks.

The app only allows you access to the VPN for fixed amounts of time, and this results in a significant security flaw. Once your time has run out the VPN connection simply cuts out without warning, completely exposing your data.

As we have already mentioned, when we visited FreeVPN.org it didn’t automatically redirect us to the HTTPS version of the site. This is insecure and exposes any visitors to potential Man-in-the-Middle attacks.

Screenshot of the HTTP symbol in a Firefox browser address bar

A crossed out padlock represents an unsecure connection in Firefox, in Chrome the padlock would be open

(If you do visit the site, make sure there is a padlock in the URL bar to show you have a HTTPS connection. If the padlock is open or crossed out, make sure to add https:// before the URL to connect to the secure version of the site).

This security flaw applies only to the website, not to the VPN itself, but it doesn’t give us any faith that FreeVPN.org is up to the task of securing a global network of VPN traffic.

With all that said: we found no DNS or IP leaks, which is a positive sign.

Some more transparency around this would do a lot to boost our faith in this VPN provider.

Sometimes works with BBC iPlayer but not US Netflix

Streaming

2.42.4/10
How is this calculated?

Streaming is rated by the number of different services unlocked, how many regional libraries are viewable, and how consistently the VPN can access them.

Netflix, BBC iPlayer, HBO Max, DAZN, and Amazon Prime Video are all tested on a weekly basis.

FreeVPN won't unlock paid streaming services like Netflix, Amazon Prime Video or Disney+. We have found it works consistently with BBC iPlayer, although slow speeds make HD streaming impossible.

You won’t be able to watch US Netflix using FreeVPN.org.

This is pretty normal for a free VPN, but we still can’t let it off easily.

FreeVPN.org will get you access to BBC iPlayer, though. The slow speeds (even on a same city connection) don’t let you get the most out of the platform, though.Bad video compression in iPlayer caused by FreeVPN.org

Watching from London we saw consistent compression artifacting which was frustrating, but tolerable. If you’re trying to connect from the US it probably isn’t even worth bothering, as your speeds will be even worse than ours.

Very slow for P2P

Torrenting

22.0/10
How is this calculated?

We calculate the average download bitrate of every VPN using a bespoke torrenting setup.

Testing also factors in the percentage of servers which permit P2P, plus useful features like port forwarding.

While FreeVPN.org does allow torrenting, we don't recommend using it for P2P traffic. The service is based in the US, logs unnecessary information and has super slow speeds.

FreeVPN.org doesn’t have an official policy on torrenting anywhere on its website or in the app. We reached out for information on it but haven’t received a reply.

In our tests we’ve found P2P traffic is permitted on its servers, but we do not recommend using this VPN for torrenting.

There are a few reasons for this:

  • The terrible speeds available from Free VPN by FreeVPN.org will make torrenting slow and frustrating
  • FreeVPN.org’s US jurisdiction is notoriously hostile to torrenting
  • The VPN company has a vague and poorly written logging policy which we do not trust

If you want to torrent it is absolutely vital you’re using a trustworthy VPN. There are only a few free VPNs that are appropriate for torrenting – we’ve rounded them all up here.

Tiny server network, pretends to be larger than it is

Server Locations

4.54.5/10
How is this calculated?

The global spread and coverage of the VPN server network is the most important factor here.

We also consider the number of city-level servers, plus how many IP addresses are maintained.

This rating does not directly contribute to the Overall Rating, but instead makes up a portion of the Security & Features rating.

While FreeVPN has a large number of location options, very few actually connect where they claim. Out of a huge server list we only found eight unique locations.

Globe with a blue flag
8Countries
Image of a city landscape
8Cities
Image of a pink marker
Undisclosed number ofIP Addresses

When you load up the server locations list in Free VPN by FreeVPN.org’s app, it looks fairly strong.

It isn’t comprehensive by any degree, but for a free VPN it has a decent number of options and at least something in every continent except Africa.

Ideally, we would like to see more across Asia, South America, and of course Africa than is on offer here, but poor coverage in these areas sadly isn’t at all unusual for a free VPN.

Put simply, if the server list accurately reflected what the VPN actually does when you connect it would be right in the middle of the pack: modest but respectable.

Unfortunately, in our tests, we discovered that the server options in the app were consistently misleading.

The continent-level server location choices were often just duplicates of a country-level server location – not just at the country, city, or even server level, but even giving us the same IP address at times. This was the case with the China and Asia servers, which connected to the same IP address in Hong Kong.

This is pretty misleading, but not outright lying… yet.

Things get worse.

The South America, Japan, and US West server options all connected us to the same server, located in Arizona, US.

Even by the standards of misleading free VPNs, it’s pretty shocking to have options from three different continents all connect to the same server.

In real terms, this contributes to FreeVPN.org’s slow speeds over longer connections – and will likely bottleneck the speeds of anyone attempting to connect at peak times, even if they are located nearby.

It also suggests that FreeVPN.org is operating a very small server network across the board. We reached out for more specific numbers, but it hasn’t given us an answer.

After connecting to every server location several times we can conclude that FreeVPN.org doesn’t have 18 server locations across at least ten countries as the server list suggests, but around 11 server locations across eight countries.

As recent events have shown, when a VPN provider doesn’t effectively secure its server network that puts your data in jeopardy. The lack of transparency (and occasional lying) on show here is a big red flag.

Unlikely to work in China

Bypassing Censorship

5.55.5/10
How is this calculated?

Our remote-access server in Shanghai, China routinely tests if a VPN can beat restrictions and access a free, open internet. Obfuscation technologies and nearby servers are also a contributing factor.

This rating does not directly contribute to the Overall Rating, but instead makes up a portion of the Security & Features rating.

FreeVPN.org's developers claim to have users in mainland China, but we havn't seen any evidence the app works in censored regions.

We’ve seen little evidence that Free VPN by FreeVPN.org will work is censored regions, although when we spoke to the app’s developers they claimed to have users in China.

Only very well designed VPNs with dedicated obfuscation technology can work in censored regions – you might want to give FreeVPN.org a try in censored regions, but we wouldn’t count on it working.

If you need a VPN for a censored region do yourself a favour and get a better one – take a look at our best VPNs for China, the UAE or Turkey to get an idea of the options available.

Available only on mobile devices

Device Compatibility

How is device compatibility rated?

A quality VPN should maintain functional, fully-featured applications and extensions for as many platforms and devices as possible.

This does not directly contribute to the Overall Rating, but instead makes up a portion of the Ease of Use rating.

FreeVPN.org is a mobile VPN. It offers apps for iOS and Android, but not for other platforms.

Apps

  1. iOS Logo
    iOS
  2. Android Logo
    Android

The number of devices FreeVPN.org produces apps for is extremely limited.

It has an app for iOS and an app for Android and nothing else.

There is no Windows app. There is no Mac app. There is no router compatibility.

You cannot use FreeVPN.org on game consoles or smart TVs, and there aren’t any browser extensions.

If you want anything more than smartphone or tablet coverage, look elsewhere.

Ugly, poorly designed applications

Ease of Use

2.52.5/10
How is this calculated?

This rating mainly consists of the intuitiveness of setup and everyday use.

Device or platform compatibility and customization options are also a factor.

The FreeVPN.org app offers just the very basics, and doesn’t present them very well. A recent design overhaul has improved things slightly, though.

How to Install & Set Up Free VPN by FreeVPN.org

The VPN has recently has a design overhaul, which has marginally improved the service.

The main screen of the app is perfectly usable, if unattractive.

The country scroll wheel is fiddly and difficult to navigate, though.

On top of this there are no settings available at all, which we find shocking.

FreeVPN.org operates on an “Earn VPN Time” system which asks you to watch up to 10 adverts before you start using the VPN. If you watch 10 adverts you unlock 24 hours of VPN use.

These are the only full-screen adverts you’ll encounter in the app itself – and they aren’t too obnoxious either.

We like that FreeVPN.org doesn’t just throw ads at you unexpectedly. From an ease of use perspective frontloading the adverts like this makes sense (even if they bring privacy and security issues).

This advert system is new since the last time we reviewed FreeVPN.org, and we think it shows a marginal improvement.

In app support

Customer Support

0.50.5/10
How is this calculated?

This rating is based on our assessment of each VPN’s:

  • Email support
  • Live chat support
  • Online resources

Not every VPN offers all of these, and they often vary in quality and response time.

FreeVPN.org has poor support. It doesn't offer online resources or live-chat, and the support email on it's website is unmonitored. The only way to get help is through an in-app support field.

EmailYes

FreeVPN.org doesn’t have particularly good customer service.

Most free VPNs at least have a guide section, or a blog which can give its users some help, but when you click the “Blog” link on the FreeVPN.org website it just refreshes the page – no help to be found.

In fact, FreeVPN.org appears to be made up of just three pages: the homepage, a privacy policy, and a download page for a .apk of the app.

None of the social media buttons actually lead to social media profiles, either.

Without online resources the only option users are left with is to email a support email (support@freevpn.org).

We tried doing just this, but got no reply.

FreeVPN.org has informed us that it monitors customer service questions that come from the app itself, not the email listed on its site.

Do We Recommend Free VPN by FreeVPN.org?

The Bottom Line

We don’t think it’s a good idea to use FreeVPN by FreeVPN.org. There are faster, more trustworthy free and affordable VPNs available.

FreeVPN by FreeVPN.org also lacks many of the benefits of VPNs, like getting around censorship or keeping your data out of the US.

If you’ve already downloaded FreeVPN.org’s free VPN app, we recommend uninstalling it immediately.

Additional research by Liam Mullally

Alternatives to Free VPN by FreeVPN.org

Windscribe

Windscribe

8.68.6/10

Unlike FreeVPN.org, Windscribe Free is a free VPN which actually delivers on lofty promises. It gives you good speeds, a decent server network, computer and mobile apps, and a better guarantee of privacy and security. Windscribe Free doesn’t have ads, but implements a 10GB data cap. Read Windscribe review

PrivateVPN

PrivateVPN

8.98.9/10

One of the cheapest VPNs we recommend, PrivateVPN is great for streaming global content without punishing your wallet. It has a no logs policy we trust and apps for all your devices, not just mobile. It is also consistently very fast, over twice as fast as FreeVPN.org in our tests. Read PrivateVPN review

About the Author


  • Headshot of Top10VPN.com Site Editor Callum Tennent

    Callum Tennent

    Callum oversees how we test and review VPN services. He's a member of the IAPP, and his advice about VPNs has featured in Forbes and the Internet Society. Read full bio


User Feedback for Free VPN by FreeVPN.org

  • 0 user reviews
  • 1 question answered