We review VPNs independently, but we may earn commissions if you buy a VPN via our links.

Mozilla VPN Review

 Rated 0 out of 5 
No user reviews
Mozilla VPN app on desktop
Callum Tennent's profile image

Callum Tennent oversees how we test and review VPN services. He's a member of the IAPP, and his VPN advice has featured in Forbes and the Internet Society.

Fact-checked by Simon Migliano

Our Verdict

7.597.6/10
How is this calculated?

We calculate the VPN service’s Overall Rating by combining the ratings of several testing categories. Each category is weighted as follows:

  • Privacy & Logging Policy: 20%
  • Speed: 20%
  • Security & Technical Features: 15%
  • Streaming: 15%
  • Ease of Use: 10%
  • Torrenting: 5%
  • Server Locations: 5%
  • Bypassing Web Censorship: 5%
  • Customer Support: 5%

Learn more by reading our VPN testing and review methodology.

Mozilla VPN is an excellent VPN service from a trusted name in tech, using the same server network and technology as Mullvad VPN. In our tests, it produced fast and secure connections across the entirety of its server network. Its big weakness is how few streaming services it unblocks and its limited device support, but it’s a solid choice for torrenting thanks to its impressive no-logs policy.

Ranked #21 out of 65 VPNs

Mozilla VPN Category Ratings

  • 22.0/10
  • 7.57.5/10
  • 9.19.1/10
  • 9.59.5/10
  • 7.97.9/10
  • 33.0/10
  • 99.0/10
  • 99.0/10
  • 88.0/10
  • 55.0/10

Mozilla VPN Pros & Cons

  • No personal data logged
  • Private and secure
  • Extremely fast
  • Easy to use
  • Good for torrenting

  • Not available in all countries
  • Regional gaps in server network
  • Bad for streaming
  • Won’t work in China

Why Trust Top10VPN.com?

We’re completely independent and have spent 8 years reviewing VPNs using our unbiased testing process.

Our ratings are based on our own data, and are unaffected by financial incentives.

VPN Services Tested65
Total Hours of Testing30,000+
Weekly Speed Tests3,000+
Streaming Platforms Tested97
VPN Security Tests Conducted9,500+
Money Spent on VPN Subscriptions$25,000+

Mozilla is best known for producing the Firefox web browser – one of the most popular browsers on the market for almost 20 years. Also an open and vocal advocate for privacy, it’s now released Mozilla VPN.

Straight away, you should know that Mozilla VPN is not available in every country. You can currently only download Mozilla VPN in these regions:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Canada
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czechia
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Hungary
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malaysia
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Singapore
  • Slovenia
  • Slovakia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • UK
  • US

It’s also only available on a very basic selection of platforms: Windows, macOS, Linux, Android, and iOS. However it’s one of the best-designed and easiest-to-use VPNs we’ve tested.

Another feature that sets it apart is that it only uses the WireGuard protocol across every platform. There’s no choice for customization here, which you might not like if you’re a VPN expert, but we think it’s a fine choice as WireGuard is so safe and fast.

And Mozilla VPN is certainly fast, even by the standards of other WireGuard VPNs. It recorded an impressive 92Mbps average download speed on short-distance connections, and also held up well when connecting overseas.

These speeds are in large part thanks to Mullvad’s server network and infrastructure, which Mozilla VPN uses in its entirety. This also means that it shares Mullvad’s excellent logging policy, which is minimal, private, and trustworthy.

Mozilla VPN’s single biggest weakness is how bad it is at unblocking streaming libraries from around the world. We were only able to access HBO Max, All 4, and YouTube with it connected.

Combine that with some big gaps in the coverage of its server network and its price (which even on the longest deal is still quite expensive) and you should ask yourself if Mozilla VPN is really the right VPN for you. While it’s very good there still might be a better VPN out there for your specific needs.

Mozilla VPN Key Data

Data CapUnlimited
Download Speed96Mbps
Logging PolicyNo Logs
Data LeaksNo
JurisdictionUS (Five Eyes)
Servers655
IP Addresses655+
Countries with Servers43
US NetflixNo
TorrentingUnlimited
Simultaneous Connections5
Works In ChinaNo
SupportEmail & Online Resources Only
Cheapest Price$4.99/mo over 12 Months
Money-Back Guarantee30-day Money-Back Guarantee
Official WebsiteMozilla.org

Privacy & Logging Policy

Mozilla VPN’s Logging Policy Is a Little Confusing, but Ultimately Impressive

9.19.1/10
How is this calculated?

We analyze and dissect the VPN service’s logging and privacy policy. A VPN should never log and store:

  • Your real IP address
  • Connection timestamps
  • DNS requests

Headquarters outside of 14 Eyes or EU jurisdictions are also preferable.

Mozilla VPN is owned by Mozilla, creator of the popular Firefox web browser. However, its VPN runs on Mullvad VPN’s servers. As such its logging policy is a confusing combination of the two company’s privacy policies. However, after some investigative work and speaking to Mozilla, we can confirm that Mozilla VPN’s logging policy is trustworthy.

Ranked #9 out of 65 VPNs for Privacy & Logging Policy

While it’s fairly common for bigger tech brands to rent servers from or use the infrastructure of dedicated VPN services, they usually have fairly straightforward logging policies. Mozilla VPN’s is a little confusing, by comparison.

As Mozilla is its own entity, but uses Mullvad’s server network and technologies for its VPN, it has a logging policy which is a combination of both companies’.

We reached out to Mozilla for clarification and it was happy to explain to us how data collection and logging works for Mozilla VPN users. We’ve summarized this information in the table below:

Our main concern was that Mozilla’s standard privacy policy would apply to users of its VPN. However, while that data is collected at the creation of your Mozilla account (which is required to use the VPN) it is not associated with your Mozilla VPN account usage.

The only personal data logged by Mozilla VPN which is actually tied to your usage is information about your device, such as model and operating system.

All Mozilla VPN usage data is handled and processed by Mullvad. As we said in our review of Mullvad VPN, it’s an exceptional no-logs policy.

You can 100% trust Mullvad to treat your privacy with complete respect, with next to nothing being logged on its global server network.

US & Swedish jurisdictions are poor choices

Our only real complaints with the two logging policies at play here are the jurisdictions of the two companies involved.

Firefox is incorporated in the US, while Mullvad is based in Sweden. The US is one of the worst countries on Earth for online privacy and is a part of the intrusive Five Eyes Alliance.

Sweden isn’t as bad as the US, but is still an EU member and as such is part of various international data-sharing agreements.

The good news here is that, with so little data logged, it’s unlikely you’ll need to worry about these jurisdictions. They are still a factor though, if a minor one.

Speed

Mozilla VPN Is Fast

9.59.5/10
How is this calculated?

We calculate the VPN’s speed rating using our download speeds, upload speeds, and ping (latency) measurements.

We regularly test the VPN’s local and international speeds using a dedicated 100Mbps internet connection in New York, USA.

Wherever you are in the world, Mozilla VPN is likely to record excellent download speeds. Mozilla VPN barely affected our 100Mbps download speeds when connecting to servers in Canada and nearby New York. Even connecting to further destinations like West Coast US and Germany still produced remarkable results.

Ranked #12 out of 65 VPNs for Speed

We connected to Mozilla VPN servers in nine cities spread across six different continents. We test using a 100Mbps internet connection, similar to the baseline speed of your home internet connection.

Here’s a table showing Mozilla VPN’s speed test results:

When connected to a nearby server in New York, US, Mozilla VPN suffers just an 4% download speed loss – this is very good. You’ll barely notice any difference to your internet speeds with Mozilla VPN connected to a server near you.

It also performed very well in a selection of extremely distant locations like the US West Coast and Germany, and when connected to a server in neighboring Canada downloads slowed by an indistinguishable 1%

When Mozilla VPN is running at its absolute maximum it comes close to the fastest VPNs on the market. While conducting multiple tests over a longer period of time we did notice some fluctuations, but not enough to seriously concern us.

Mozilla VPN records very impressive numbers for both upload and download speeds, wherever you are in the world. This is partly down to its total commitment to WireGuard, one of the fastest VPN protocols available.

We also want to give special credit to Mozilla VPN for being so quick to connect. Establishing a connection to a server takes no longer than a split second after you click the ‘connect’ button – it’s one of the consistently fastest we’ve ever tested.

Server Locations

Mozilla VPN Uses Mullvad’s Respectable Global Server Network

7.97.9/10
How is this calculated?

The key factor for calculating this rating is the global spread and coverage of the VPN’s server network.

We also consider the total number of servers, the number of city-level servers, and the number of IP addresses available.

As Mozilla VPN is powered using Mullvad VPN’s technologies and infrastructure, it also uses the exact same server network. That’s 655 servers across 43 countries and 68 cities. Of those servers roughly 20% are owned outright by Mullvad.

Ranked #23 out of 65 VPNs for Server Locations

Globe with a blue flag
43 Countries
Image of a city landscape
68 Cities
Image of a pink marker
655+ IP Addresses

With Mullvad VPN, you can connect to servers in these regions:

Continent Number of Countries
Europe 31
Asia 5
South America 2
North America 2
Africa 1
Oceania 2

Sharing Mullvad’s server network means that Mozilla VPN enjoys all the same strengths and suffers the exact same weakness as Mullvad.

The main drawback is that Mozilla VPN’s server network completely ignores Central America, the Middle East, and large parts of South Asia and Africa. Leaving billions of potential users with no option but to use servers thousands of miles away is extremely disappointing.

The rest of the world sees good coverage, though. Mozilla VPN has city-level server coverage in seven countries:

You can choose city-level servers in eight countries:

  • Australia (six cities)
  • Canada (three cities)
  • France (two cities)
  • Germany (two cities)
  • Japan (two cities)
  • Serbia (two cities)
  • Sweden (four cities)
  • UK (two cities)
  • US (13 cities)

There’s also servers in 15 different US cities from coast-to-coast, so if that’s where you’re based you should get optimal speeds no matter what.

One Fifth of Mozilla VPN’s Servers Are Owned by Mullvad

Most VPNs rent their server network from third party providers. Mullvad is a little different in that it owns almost 20% of its server network itself. All of those privately owned servers are in Western Europe and Scandinavia.

While there’s nothing wrong with renting servers, knowing that your VPN provider owns its own provides that little extra bit of security. While these servers are owned by Mullvad and not Mozilla itself, the principle still stands – Mullvad is an extremely secure and trustworthy VPN.

EXPERT TIP: You can see a full technical breakdown of all of Mozilla VPN/Mullvad’s servers on its official website.

Multi-Hop Is Available on Almost Every Server

Double VPN (or multi-hop as Mozilla VPN calls it in its app) is a technology which routes your device’s web traffic through two servers instead of one.

Mozilla VPN multi-hop menu

The multi-hop exit location you choose will decide the IP address you’re assigned.

This can make your traffic harder to track and thus increase your privacy online. This comes at the cost of speed, though, as your data has to move through an additional location before its final destination.

Mozilla VPN’s multi-hop is impressive because it doesn’t limit you to a handful of entry or exit nodes – almost the entire server network is available for you to select at both stages.

If you’re curious as to how it works and why you might want to use it, we have a whole guide dedicated to explaining Double VPN.

Streaming

Mozilla VPN Is No Good for Streaming

22.0/10
How is this calculated?

This rating is calculated by how many different streaming services and regional content libraries the VPN can unblock, and how consistently it can access them.

We test access to Netflix, Disney+, Max, Amazon Prime Video, BBC iPlayer, and many more platforms on a weekly basis.

Mozilla VPN is a terrible VPN for unblocking streaming services. It struggles with almost everything: it can’t unblock any Netflix libraries, it doesn’t work with Amazon Prime Video US, and other US services like Hulu and Disney+ block it. In our testing it only managed to work with HBO Max (inconsistently), All 4, and YouTube.

Ranked #43 out of 65 VPNs for Streaming

Here are the few services that we found Mozilla VPN worked with in our testing:

Streaming PlatformWorks with Mozilla VPN
Amazon Prime VideoNo
BBC iPlayerNo
Channel 4Yes
Disney+No
Hotstar IndiaNo
HuluNo
ITVXNo
MaxYes
Netflix USNo

Mozilla VPN’s ability to unblock streaming libraries is unfortunately tied to Mullvad’s ability to do so, as it operates using Mullvad’s infrastructure. Despite being a great VPN, Mullvad is terrible for streaming – and therefore Mozilla VPN is too.

The good news is that we were able to unblock HBO Max, an excellent US streaming service with lots of unique content – we just connected to Mozilla VPN’s US – Raleigh server and it let us stream straight away.

Mozilla VPN unblocking HBO Max outside of the US

HBO Max is one of the few services Mozilla VPN works to unblock.

We were also able to watch UK-based streaming service All 4 by using the United Kingdom – Manchester server.

Those two services are the limit of Mozilla VPN’s streaming abilities. Every other popular service we attempted to access blocked us immediately or, in some cases, wouldn’t even let us log in.

A good streaming VPN should be able to unlock plenty of services, as well as multiple Netflix libraries from around the world to give you access to as much content as possible. ExpressVPN is the best VPN for streaming – it unblocks 10 Netflix libraries, BBC iPlayer, and more.

Torrenting

A Safe but Inconsistent VPN for Torrenting

7.57.5/10
How is this calculated?

This rating is determined by the VPN’s torrenting speeds, the percentage of servers that allow P2P file sharing, the service’s privacy and trustworthiness, and useful settings like port forwarding.

For speed specifically, we calculate the VPN’s average download bitrate using our bespoke torrenting setup.

Mozilla VPN is a fine choice for torrenting, but its download bitrate is inconsistent. It will keep your IP address anonymized, has a working kill switch, and P2P traffic is supported on every server.

Ranked #23 out of 65 VPNs for Torrenting

Here’s a quick summary of showing how Mozilla VPN performed in our torrenting tests:

Torrenting Attribute Result
Average Download Bitrate 4.6MiB/s
No. of P2P Servers 655
Logging Policy No Logs
Kill Switch Yes
Port Forwarding No

You can torrent on all 655 Mozilla VPN servers without any data limits or throttling. We’ve verified through testing that the kill switch works properly (even if there’s no way to toggle it on or off in the app) so you don’t need to worry about your IP address being revealed if your connection drops.

The only real problem when torrenting with Mozilla VPN is that we found its speeds to be extremely inconsistent. Our test torrent file downloads at 10.0MiB/s without a VPN. One set of four tests with Mozilla VPN turned on logged an average download bitrate of almost 9.5MiB/s – that would make it one of the fastest torrenting VPNs we’ve tested.

However, a further set of tests measured Mozilla VPN at a much slower average download bitrate of 5.1MiB/s. We tried everything to recapture those initial blazing-fast speeds, but nothing worked.

You might be fortunate and consistently experience the first set of speeds, but we consider them to be a fluke rather than the standard.

Mozilla VPN’s only other flaw for torrenting is a lack of port forwarding, which is not available on any platform. If you want a technical VPN with plenty of features (plus excellent speeds), our AirVPN review found it to be an excellent choice.

Bypassing Web Censorship

Mozilla VPN Does Not Unblock Internet in China

33.0/10
How is this calculated?

We routinely test if the VPN can bypass strict internet restrictions in China using our remote-access server in Shanghai.

Other important factors we consider include obfuscation technologies and the availability of servers in neighboring countries (for faster connections).

When tested on our Shanghai server Mozilla VPN did not work to bypass strict web censorship. However, it does have a special mode designed for disguising VPN traffic which may work in other regions with less advanced internet blocks.

Ranked #46 out of 65 VPNs for Bypassing Web Censorship

We test a VPN’s ability to beat online censorship by installing it on our remote test server located in Shanghai, China.

The issue we ran into while testing Mozilla VPN against censorship is that our test server runs Windows 10. Mozilla VPN’s Windows client does not have access to an advanced feature labeled in-app as ‘Tunnel VPN through port 53/DNS’.

This feature is available on macOS, Android, and Linux – only Windows is missing it. It’s meant to be used to obfuscate VPN traffic with the specific goal of masking it and therefore helping you beat censorship. However, that one restriction means that we can’t properly test it.

Mozilla VPN might work in China – so long as you aren’t using Windows. We found that without port 53 enabled we were still blocked by the Great Firewall of China.

However, Mozilla VPN uses Mullvad’s network for its servers. Mullvad has never worked in China in our testing. It’s unlikely that Mozilla VPN would be any different.

Mozilla VPN’s download page is also blocked in China. If you’re planning on using it in a country which censors its internet then you’ll need to download it before traveling.

Our regular testing has found Astrill VPN is the best VPN for China. It will also beat censorship in countries like Russia and the UAE.

Device & OS Compatibility

Only Available On the Five Most Popular Platforms

How is this rated?

A high-quality VPN should maintain functional, fully-featured applications and browser extensions for as many platforms and devices as possible.

Our ‘Device & OS Compatibility’ assessment contributes to the Ease of Use rating.

You can only download and install Mozilla VPN on the most popular desktop and mobile operating systems: Windows, macOS, Linux, iOS, and Android. There are no browser extensions, no streaming device apps, and there’s no router support to cover your consoles or smart devices. You can install the app and sign in on five devices at one time.

Apps

  1. Windows
  2. Mac
  3. iOS
  4. Android
  5. Linux

You can only install Mozilla VPN on the five most popular mobile and desktop platforms.

This is disappointing, but it wouldn’t be so bad if Mozilla VPN could be installed on Linux – however, it can’t. That means that there’s no easy way to protect any of your devices which can’t have a Mozilla VPN app installed directly on them, like games consoles.

There’s also no apps for streaming devices, like Amazon Fire TV. Even if there was one, though, Mozilla VPN is so poor for unblocking streaming services that you probably wouldn’t want to use it anyway.

There’s also no Smart DNS service to help you bypass streaming blocks, and there’s no browser extensions either – not even one for Firefox, a browser made by Mozilla itself.

Mozilla VPN is still relatively new, so we can excuse its poor range of apps for now. We really want to see it broaden its scope in the near future, though.

Mozilla VPN Can Only Be Installed on Five Devices at Once

Perhaps the most annoying drawback, though, is Mozilla VPN’s five-device limit. Ordinarily a VPN will limit your number of simultaneous connections, but will let you install it on as many devices as you like. With Mozilla VPN, you can only be signed in on five devices at once, regardless of how many are actually being used at the same time.

Our registered devices within Mozilla VPN's app

Mozilla VPN at least shows you the devices currently linked to your account within the app, so you can quickly remove the ones you don’t need.

Security & Technical Features

Mozilla VPN Has No Leaks & Industry-Standard Security

99.0/10
How is this calculated?

A secure VPN must offer OpenVPN or WireGuard protocols, AES-256 encryption, and a working kill switch.

To calculate this rating, we also factor in additional security settings and features.

Despite a limited suite of features, Mozilla VPN is perfectly safe. It aced all of our IP and DNS leak tests. Its kill switch is automatically and permanently activated on all platforms and works well. There’s no protocol selection - every app uses WireGuard only, but it’s a quick and safe protocol so we don’t mind too much.

Ranked #14 out of 65 VPNs for Security & Technical Features

ProtocolsAvailable in Mozilla VPN
IKEv2/IPSecNo
OpenVPN (TCP/UDP)No
WireGuardYes
EncryptionAvailable in Mozilla VPN
AES-128No
AES-192No
AES-256No
BlowfishNo
ChaCha20Yes
SecurityAvailable in Mozilla VPN
Diskless ServersNo
DNS Leak BlockingNo
First-party DNSYes
IPv6 Leak BlockingNo
Supports TCP Port 443No
VPN Kill SwitchYes
WebRTC Leak BlockingNo
Advanced FeaturesAvailable in Mozilla VPN
Ad BlockerYes
Dedicated IPNo
Double VPNYes
SOCKSNo
Split TunnelingYes
Static IPNo
Tor over VPN ServerNo
Tracker BlockerNo

We can’t fault Mozilla VPN for its security. It passed every leak test we put it through, using the excellent WireGuard protocol as standard.

A browser leak test while using Mozilla VPN showing no leaks detected

Mozilla VPN did not ever leak our IP address or DNS requests.

What’s less conventional, though, is that WireGuard is the only protocol available across all of its apps. Ordinarily VPNs will let you choose from a selection, but not Mozilla VPN. While it’s unusual, though, it doesn’t bother us much as WireGuard is one of the best VPN protocols currently available – it’s super fast and super safe.

Nowhere in the Mozilla VPN app or on the Mozilla website does it clarify what encryption cipher is used. We reached out to Mozilla support which stated that all apps use ChaCha20 encryption. This is standard encryption for WireGuard and, while it varies slightly to the more conventional AES-256, is just as secure.

We then used Wireshark to confirm that Mozilla VPN properly encrypts web traffic – and it does.

A Wireshark encryption test showing that Mozilla VPN is working properly

If someone were to intercept your data while using Mozilla VPN, this is all that they would see. Mozilla VPN properly encrypts all your traffic.

One of Mozilla’s few extra features is custom DNS, which allows you to pick from ad blocking servers, tracker blocking servers, both at once, or a custom DNS of your own choosing (such as Google or Cloudflare’s).

An adblock tester showing that Mozilla VPN successfully blocks 77% of all ads served

Mozilla VPN puts up a very respectable ad blocking score. It mostly struggled with social media trackers.

The ad and tracker blockers work well, but they don’t catch everything they should. However, almost every VPN in-built ad blocker struggles, as we discovered in our in-depth testing on whether or not VPNs actually block ads.

MozillaVPN also offers split tunneling, but only on Windows and Android. It’s not labeled exactly like that in the app, though. To access it you have to head to Settings > App permissions then toggle Protect all apps with VPN to the Off position.

Now you can choose which apps will travel outside of the encrypted VPN tunnel.

Ease of Use

Extremely Clean & Simple Apps

99.0/10
How is this calculated?

This rating mainly consists of the user-friendliness and intuitiveness of setting up and regularly using the VPN.

We also factor in customization settings, as well as device and OS compatibility (see section above).

We love that Mozilla VPN’s apps are about as straightforward as possible. Smartly-laid out and with clear labels for most options it’s a great VPN app for anyone new to VPNs. Its apps also look almost identical across every available platform.

Ranked #9 out of 65 VPNs for Ease of Use

When it comes to VPN apps, simpler is better – even if you’re an experienced user. Mozilla VPN is as simple as can be, and that makes using it a pleasure.

Mozilla VPN looks exactly the same on almost every platform, with only a feature changing here or there between them.

You can see what Mozilla VPN looks like on every platform below, as well as what’s different about each one.

Mozilla VPN Windows Client

The Mozilla VPN home screen on Windows 10

The Windows version of Mozilla VPN is not docked to the taskbar so you can move it freely, but it can’t be resized.

While Windows is often the main focus for VPN developers, Mozilla VPN is unusual in that its Windows app is actually the only one missing one big feature.

‘Tunnel VPN through port 53/DNS’ is a feature used to help beat web censorship, but you can’t access it on Windows.

Everything else is present. The simple home screen lets you connect or disconnect, select a server, and also see how many devices you’re currently logged into your Mozilla VPN account on.

You can then access a handful of advanced features, like custom DNS and LAN access, through the settings cog. You can also find split tunneling here, but Mozilla VPN calls it ‘App permissions’. Turn off the toggle labeled ‘Protect all apps with VPN’ to choose which apps to split tunnel.

Mozilla VPN macOS Client

The Mozilla VPN home screen on macOS.

The macOS app is exactly the same as the Windows app, except for a couple of features.

It has the port 53 feature which was missing on Windows, mentioned above, but is missing split tunneling. While this isn’t ideal, it’s also unfortunately common among VPNs due to restrictions in Apple’s operating system.

Mozilla VPN Linux Client

Mozilla VPN's Ubuntu Linux GUI app

We tested Mozilla VPN using the Ubuntu Linux distro.

Mozilla VPN has an excellent Linux app.

Not only does it have a full GUI, something a huge majority of even the best VPNs neglect, it also has the full range of features.

You get split tunneling, port 53, double VPN, and custom DNS – it’s the only desktop platform with no compromises.

Mozilla VPN iOS Client

Mozilla VPN home screen on Android

Mozilla VPN’s iOS app matches its macOS version almost identically.

The iOS app is identical to the macOS app, which is always nice to see. It has the same simple, bright design and all of the same features as its Apple desktop counterpart (including no port 53 mode and no split tunneling – again, down to iOS limitations).

The only thing which might put you off here if you’re an iPhone user is that there’s no night mode, and Mozilla VPN uses white backdrops throughout.

Mozilla VPN Android Client

Mozilla VPN home screen on Android

The Mozilla VPN Android app has the same easy-to-use design as other platforms – but Android fans might be disappointed at the lack of a dark mode.

Just like Linux, Android gets Mozilla VPN’s most complete app. All features are available here, wrapped up in a package that looks identical to its desktop counterparts.

Customer Support

No Live Chat, but Excellent Email Support

88.0/10
How is this calculated?

This rating is based on our assessment of the VPN’s:

  • Live chat support
  • Email support
  • Online resources

Not every VPN offers all these support options, and they often vary in quality and response times.

Mozilla VPN has no live chat support, which is something we expect of the very best VPNs. However, its email support proved to be terrific. The agent replying to us wasn’t the fastest, but they were able to answer technical questions in great detail and clear language.

Ranked #27 out of 65 VPNs for Customer Support

Customer SupportAvailable in Mozilla VPN
24/7 Email SupportNo
24/7 Live Chat SupportNo
ChatbotNo
EmailNo
Email Support via Online FormNo
Live Chat SupportNo
Online ResourcesNo
Tutorial VideosNo

Mozilla is a large company with many products, but we still wish that it offered live chat support for its VPN service. It can be frustrating having to wait for an email reply if something is wrong with your product here and now.

That said, we were really impressed with Mozilla VPN’s email support. We fired off a series of fairly technical questions and the Mozilla VPN representative replying to us answered with a level of accuracy and knowledge far higher than what we’re used to seeing from other VPNs.

A conversation with Mozilla VPN support

Mozilla VPN’s support agent knew the exact answer to our question.

There’s a Mozilla VPN online resource hub for doing your own troubleshooting, but it’s limited to just the basics: installation, setup, billing, and other topics like that.

Alternatively, there’s an extensive and active array of forums dedicated to all of Mozilla’s products – including its VPN. Any question you post there is likely to be answered by another user rather than Mozilla staff, but it might be quicker for you than waiting on email support.

Price & Value

Too Expensive, Even On Its Longest Plan

55.0/10
How is this calculated?

While we do assign a ‘Price & Value’ rating, it doesn’t contribute to the Overall Rating. We believe the reader should decide what is or isn’t a reasonable price.

A good rating isn’t just based on how cheap the VPN is, but for the overall value it offers.

In a marketplace where you pay less than the equivalent of $3.00 per month for some of the absolute best VPNs, Mozilla VPN is overpriced. At $9.99 its one-month plan is actually quite competitive, but $4.99 per month for one year is overpriced. There’s no free trial, but you can get a full refund if you cancel within 30 days.

Ranked #33 out of 65 VPNs for Price & Value

Mozilla VPN is a hard sell. It simply isn’t priced competitively enough. While its one-year plan compares fairly to the same plan from other VPNs, Mozilla VPN loses out by not offering an even longer plan for greater savings.

So you can get a clearer idea of how much a VPN should cost, here’s how Mozilla VPN compares to some of the best services on the market:

As always, bear in mind that to get the best price you will have to pay the entire cost of the VPN’s subscription up-front.

  1. Monthly

    $9.99/mo

    Billed $9.99 every month
  2. 12 Month(s)

    $4.99/mo

    Billied $59.88 every 12 months
    Save 50%

Payment & Refund Options

  1. American Express
  2. Mastercard
  3. PayPal
  4. Visa

Mozilla VPN’s payment options are disappointingly limited. You can use a credit or debit card, or PayPal. There’s no option for cryptocurrency, direct bank transfer, or any international payment cards.

Every subscription plan comes with a 30-day money-back guarantee which you can get quickly and easily by contacting support. Mozilla VPN states on its website, though, that this can only be redeemed once and on your first subscription period.

That means that you can’t resubscribe in the future then ask for your money back again, nor can you let your one-month subscription renew for a second month and ask for the money back on it.

The Bottom Line

Mozilla VPN Is Fast & Safe, but Has Its Drawbacks

There are a few obvious scenarios in which you should not subscribe to Mozilla VPN. For starters, it might not be available in your country. It’s also quite expensive, has a server network missing some major global regions, and it’s no good at unblocking streaming sites. It’s also highly unlikely to work in China.

While that may sound like a lot, though, it’s so good at everything else that those points may not matter to you. It has a lovely clean app for all the major platforms, it has exceptional download speeds, and you can 100% trust it to keep your data safe (with almost no logs whatsoever).

Alternatives to Mozilla VPN

Mullvad VPN logo in horizontal orientation.

Mullvad

7.787.8/10

You can’t discuss Mozilla VPN without mentioning Mullvad. Given that Mozilla VPN uses Mullvad’s network infrastructure and logging policy, you may be better off simply using the VPN that it’s so heavily based around. Read Mullvad review

Surfshark VPN logo

Surfshark

9.249.2/10

Cheaper and much better for streaming, but without compromising on security, Surfshark is one of the best VPNs we’ve tested. Read Surfshark review


User Reviews for Mozilla VPN

User Reviews are shown in the original language of submission.