Disclosure: Top10VPN is editorially independent. We may earn commissions if you buy a VPN through links on our site.

Mullvad VPN Review

 0% 
No user reviews
Mullvad VPN screenshot
Simon Migliano Head of Research at Top10VPN

Simon is a recognized world expert in VPNs. He's tested hundreds of VPN services and his research has featured on the BBC, The New York Times, CNet and more. Read full bio

Ask Simon about Mullvad VPN

Our Verdict

Mullvad is a fast, private and secure VPN that allows P2P traffic on all its 760+ servers. Sadly, it doesn't beat aggressive geo-restrictions and often doesn't unblock content platforms from abroad. It also lacks compatibility with many devices.

Overall Rating: 8.0/10

Mullvad’s website states that “privacy is a universal right,” but is this VPN service truly private? After putting Mullvad’s VPN applications through our rigorous tests, we confirm that it is.

The VPN service stands out for meeting most online privacy needs. It doesn’t keep any personally-identifiable user logs, it uses high-grade encryption and secure VPN protocols.

Mullvad is well-suited for private web browsing and torrenting. The VPN delivers fast short-distance speeds and it features a built-in kill switch to hide your IP address in the event of a connection drop.

But, the VPN service falls short when it comes to bypassing stricter geo-restrictions. It’s also not as compatible with devices as top-tier VPN services.

Let’s progress into our full Mullvad VPN review by running through the service’s main pros and cons below:

See our ExpressVPN review, the best VPN for streaming

Mullvad VPN Pros & Cons

Pros

  1. Fast short-distance speeds
  2. Solid VPN for torrenting
  3. Privacy-friendly logging policy
  4. Advanced security features
  5. Easy-to-use desktop app
Cons
  1. Unreliable access to Netflix & BBC iPlayer
  2. Small server network
  3. Support is slow and limited

Mullvad VPN Key Data

Data CapUnlimited
Speed86Mbps
Logging PolicyAnonymous Server Usage Data
Data LeaksNo
JurisdictionSweden (14-Eyes Member)
Servers768
IP Addresses768+
Countries37
US NetflixYes
TorrentingUnlimited
Works in ChinaNo
SupportEmail & Online Resources Only
Cheapest Price$5.95/mo
Official WebsiteMullvad.net

Mullvad VPN Category Ratings

We test and review every VPN in eight key areas. Here’s how Mullvad performs in each category:

  • Privacy & Logging Policy: 9.3/10
  • Encryption & Security: 7.4/10
  • Speed & Reliability: 9.2/10
  • Streaming & Torrenting: 7.0/10
  • Bypassing Censorship: 7.0/10
  • Ease of Use: 7.0/10
  • Customer Support: 7.1/10
  • Price & Value for Money: 6.0/10

See how we evaluate VPN services by reading our VPN testing methodology.

A very private VPN close to being no-logs

Logging Policy & Jurisdiction

Privacy & Logging Policy Rating: 9.3/10

Mullvad is one of the most private VPN services we’ve reviewed.

The VPN service employs a minimal-logs policy that only collects anonymous connection metadata relating to server usage.

Mullvad VPN does not log any traffic, user bandwidth, or originating IP addresses. However, the service monitors a user’s total number of simultaneous connections. This data is never stored, though.

Additionally, Mullvad collects some anonymous usage stats, namely CPU load per core and total bandwidth used per server.

Anonymous usage stats are used to maintain reliable server performance. This data is stored indefinitely, but it won’t affect your privacy since it’s completely anonymous.

You also don’t need to submit any personal details to create an account, not even your email address. You’re simply assigned a randomly-generated account number, which functions as your login credentials.

Mullvad’s privacy policy is as close to zero-logs as you can get without potentially jeopardizing performance.

Screenshot of Mullvad VPN Privacy Policy

Excerpt from the Mullvad VPN privacy policy

Mullav is based in Sweden

Mullvad VPN is owned by Amagicom AB and run by its CEO Jan Axel Jonsson.

The company is incorporated in Sweden, part of the ‘Fourteen Eyes,’ an intelligence alliance made up of 14 countries who collect and share mass surveillance data.

This is usually a red flag, but Mullvad doesn’t log your web activity so there is no user data that can be linked back to you.

Fast nearby speeds but slower over long-distances

Speed Analysis

Speed & Reliability Rating: 9.2/10

Mullvad registered high speeds in our extensive tests. It’s not the fastest VPN we’ve reviewed, but it’s a very quick VPN nonetheless.

The VPN is extremely quick connecting to nearby servers. Over longer distances, the VPN slows down a fair amount, although many VPNs experience this.

Sadly, we did experience a number of connection drops during our speed tests. As such, Mullvad’s connection reliability needs improving.

Local speed test results

Before using Mullvad VPN:

  1. Download91Mbps
  2. Upload93Mbps
  3. Ping3ms

When connected to Mullvad VPN:

  1. Download86Mbps
  2. Upload88Mbps
  3. Ping14ms

We tested Mullvad’s short-distance speeds by connecting to one of its UK servers from our physical location in London, UK.

Below are the average speed recordings of our short-distance speed tests:
Download speed without Mullvad: 91Mbps

Download speed with Mullvad: 86Mbps

Our download speed loss when Mullvad is running: 6%

The speed results above show how fast Mullvad is connecting to nearby servers. A 6% speed drop is very good, and something few VPN services can attain.

If you want even faster nearby VPN speeds, head over to our Hotspot Shield review or our NordVPN review, the two fastest VPNs we’ve tested.

International speed test results

We also tested Mullvad’s speeds connecting to other countries, from closer ones to far away ones.

Here are our Mullvad VPN’s latest international speed test results:

USA (East Coast):

  • Download: 44Mbps (52% slower)
  • Upload: 85Mbps (9% slower)

Germany:

  • Download: 83Mbps (9% slower)
  • Upload: 90Mbps (3% slower)

Singapore:

  • Download: 38Mbps (58% slower)
  • Upload: 76Mbps (18% slower)

Australia:

  • Download: 38Mbps (58% slower)
  • Upload: 8Mbps (91% slower)

The results above show how Mullvad slows down considerably connecting to servers further away.

The speed loss connecting to the US and Australia was over 50%, which isn’t great. Read our speed analysis of ExpressVPN, one of the quickest VPNs on long-range connections.

It’s a different story when it comes to Mullvad’s upload speeds, which were impressive. We come across very few VPNs with so little international upload speed loss.

High latency is an issue

The VPN’s latency is a let down, unfortunately. Mullvad’s best average ping time was 14ms – way above our most highly-rated VPNs.

High ping times cause lag, particularly when gaming online. For this reason, we can’t recommend Mullvad for avid gamers. Instead, we recommend these online gaming VPNs.

Unexpected connection drops

We also experienced a few connection drops during our tests, particularly connecting to city-level servers rather than general country ones.

Connections drops are from ideal and symbolize Mullvad’s less than optimal reliability.

At least, Mullvad’s VPN kill switch kicked in each time to ensure our true IP address wasn’t exposed and this seems to happen less and less.

Mullvad’s Speeds Compared to Other VPNs

The graph below illustrate Mullvad’s speeds compared against other top VPNs.

We use our internal automated speed test tool to calculate average download speed loss against a capped 100Mbps connection.

The tool runs VPN speed tests automatically four times a day, seven days a week on our New York server.

VPN Speed Performance Comparison Chart

The chart above shows us that Mullvad’s average download speed loss is far worse than ExpressVPN. But, it competes well against Private Internet Access and NordVPN.

Limited range server locations

Server Locations

Globe with a blue flag
37Countries
Image of a city landscape
60Cities
Image of a pink marker
768+IP Addresses

Mullvad only operates VPN servers in 37 countries. This is a narrow range.

Most server locations are based in Europe, so Mullvad may not be the best VPN for users located elsewhere in the world.

If you’re not in Europe, take a look at our NordVPN review, which covers more countries across the globe.

Mullvad VPN currently operates 768 servers. But, with just one IP address per server, the risk of server congestion increases. So far, this hasn’t been the case during our speed tests.

Good US city coverage

You can also access city-specific VPN servers in six countries, including 13 cities in the US:

  • Atlanta
  • Charlotte
  • Chicago
  • Dallas
  • Denver
  • Los Angeles
  • Miami
  • New York
  • Phoenix
  • Raleigh
  • Salt Lake City
  • San Jose
  • Seattle
  • Secaucus

Many city-specific servers in Australia

Also, there are six city locations across Australia:

  • Adelaide
  • Brisbane
  • Canberra
  • Melbourne
  • Perth
  • Sydney

Most top-rated VPNs only cover Melbourne, Sydney and Perth. Mullvad’s presence in six Australian cities makes the VPN a great choice for Australians.

However, other world regions are not so lucky. South America (Brazil) and Africa (South Africa) only count one server country location each.

Good for torrenting and ok for streaming

Streaming & Torrenting

Streaming & Torrenting Rating: 7.0/10

We’ve had mixed streaming results with Mullvad VPN.

In the past, the VPN unblocked both US Netflix and BBC iPlayer. However, recently we couldn’t stream BBC iPlayer on neither its London nor Manchester server.

Only two servers stream US Netflix

The VPN doesn’t have any dedicated streaming servers, so we tested all of Mullvad’s US servers to see which ones work with US Netflix.

Frustratingly, we only managed to watch American Netflix on the San Jose server.

Luckily, there are more reliable VPNs for watching US Netflix and VPNs that work with BBC iPlayer.

Mullvad is a good P2P VPN

Mullvad VPN allows torrenting and P2P activity on all of its servers.

The VPN is a secure and reliable torrenting VPN thanks to its good speeds, strong logging policy and a range of privacy features.

P2P-friendly settings include a built-in kill switch, and port forwarding for torrent seeders. You can also use the service’s SOCKS5 proxy for torrenting, but we recommend using the full VPN at the same time.

Mullvad VPN has even created a useful guide to use BitTorrent with the VPN.

No guarantee it works in China

Beating Censorship

Bypassing Censorship Rating: 7.0/10

Due to China’s crackdown on VPN services, we can’t recommend Mullvad as it often won’t work.

Mullvad’s Shadowsocks proxy may sometimes work, but it’s very rare based on our tests.

The VPN is also unlikely to work in other high-censorship countries, such as Turkey, Iran, the UAE, Russia and Saudi Arabia.

If you need a VPN that works in highly censored nations, read our review of Astrill, our top-rated anti-censorship VPN. It even works consistently in China.

Apps for computers and smartphones

Platforms & Devices

Apps

  1. Windows Logo
    Windows
  2. Mac Logo
    Mac
  3. iOS Logo
    iOS
  4. Linux Logo
    Linux
  5. Router Logo
    Router

Mullvad has built user-friendly VPN apps for Windows, macOS, iOS, Android and Linux.

You can use the VPN on five connections at once, which is the industry standard these days.

No Firestick app or Smart DNS

Sadly, Mullvad doesn’t have a native Fire TV app or a Smart DNS. This makes it more complicated to use the VPN on Apple TV, Roku, PlayStation, Xbox and similar devices.

The only solution is to set up the VPN on your home router, but we don’t recommend beginners do this. Rather, use a native VPN for Fire TV Stick, or a gaming-optimized VPN.

Lacks browser extensions

Mullvad VPN’s limited compatibility extends to web browsers, too.

Disappointingly, the company hasn’t built any VPN or proxy browser extensions. They are increasingly popular with VPN users, because of their ease of use.

If you like using browser add-ons, see our best VPNs for Chrome or our best VPNs for Firefox for more information.

Wide range of security features

Security Evaluation

Protocols
  1. OpenVPN (TCP/UDP)
  2. WireGuard
Encryption
  1. AES-256
Security
  1. DNS Leak Blocking
  2. First-party DNS
  3. IPV6 Leak Blocking
  4. Supports TCP Port 443
  5. VPN Kill Switch
Advanced features
  1. SOCKS
  2. Split Tunneling

Encryption & Security Rating: 7.4/10

Mullvad’s VPN apps have many extra security features, ideal for anyone seeking high levels of online security.

VPN connections are encrypted via the AES 256-bit cipher and you can choose between two VPN protocols: OpenVPN (desktop only) and WireGuard (desktop and mobile).

Mullvad’s built-in kill switch

The built-in VPN kill switch prevents your true IP address from being exposed during connection drops. It runs at all times and automatically kicks in upon a connection failure.

No DNS or IP leaks

Mullvad also operates its own DNS servers, meaning your web traffic isn’t routed through potentially less secure third-party servers.

The apps also feature integrated DNS leak protection to prevent your DNS credentials from becoming visible to a third-party.

In fact, the VPN service successfully masked our IP and DNS credentials in our battery of VPN leak tests.

Mullvad VPN DNS Leak Test From Browserleaks.com

Mullvad VPN leak test from browserleaks.com. We test from the UK.

Split tunneling on Android and Linux

Split tunneling lets you decide which programs should use the VPN connection, and which ones shouldn’t. This can help fix connection issues when the VPN is running.

This feature is only available on the Android and Linux apps, though. For Windows and macOS, there is a manual split tunneling process, but it’s more complicated.

Apps built in Rust

For more our more technical readers, Mullvad’s apps are developed using Rust, a programming language made for building secure programs. They’re also built using code signing for app and server code.

Well-designed and easy to use apps

Ease of Use

How to Install & Set Up Mullvad VPN

Ease of Use Rating: 7.0/10

Mullvad VPN has a sleek and simple desktop client for Windows, Mac and Linux users. The main screen is clutter free, displaying only your connection status and selected server.

When connected, the banner at the top turns green and the app reads ‘secure connection’. A red banner indicates that the VPN is not connected.

The app disappears in your toolbar whenever you click elsewhere, which is annoying.

Changing VPN server location is simple and is done by clicking ‘Switch Location’ on the main screen – you can drill down to city level in some locations and even choose a specific server.

The main settings are located in the top right corner, but there is no access to many of the advanced features, such as split tunneling, which require manual configuration.

The app’s advanced settings only allow you to toggle between UDP and TCP and select your preferred port.

Similarly to the desktop clients, Mullvad’s mobile apps are also easy to use.

Limited customer support

Customer Support

EmailYes
Online ResourcesYes

Customer Support Rating: 7.1/10

Unfortunately, there isn’t any live chat support available and the speed of email replies can vary a lot; from a couple of minutes to 12 hours. This is frustrating if you need quick answers.

At least, Mullvad’s customer support agents are friendly and helpful.

Mullvad’s website contains detailed FAQs and user guides that answer most common queries. There’s no website search functionality, though, so it’s quicker to search for your question on a search engine to find the answer on Mullvad.net.

Pay as you go VPN

Pricing Plans

Price & Value for Money Rating: 6.0/10

Unlike most VPN services, Mullvad VPN doesn’t offer longer-term subscription plans. Or longer-term discounts for that matter.

With Mullvad, you pay one monthly price and ‘top up’ for however long you want to use the VPN.

For just $5.95 a month, Mullvad is a relatively cheap VPN service, considering you aren’t tied in for 12 months or longer.

If you want to pay even less per month (by subscribing to a longer-term plan), consider signin up to VPN services like Surfshark (read our review) or Private Internet Access (read our review).

  1. Monthly

    US$5.95/mo

    Price converted from 5 EUR. Subject to currency fluctuations.

All plans have 30-day money-back guarantee

Payment & Refund Options

Mullvad VPN accepts most standard forms of payment, such as:

  • Credit/debit card
  • Bitcoin
  • Bitcoin Cash
  • Bank wire
  • Swish

However, other popular international payment methods, such as Alipay, aren’t yet available.

Mullvad is one of the very few VPN services that lets you pay with cash, which is great for anonymity.

Just mail it an envelope containing an amount of money, along with your account number. The company will then top up your account accordingly. You can pay in EUR, USD, GBP, SEK, DKK, NOK, CHF, CAD, AUD, and NZD.

A good VPN focused on privacy

The Bottom Line

In summary, Mullvad VPN is reasonably fast, secure, and is gaining popularity with privacy-focused users.

Private browsing and torrenting is where Mullvad delivers the best results.

However, there are several important areas where Mullvad needs to improve. Mainly, device compatibility and bypassing geo-restrictions.

If these issue don’t bother you, then Mullvad is a solid VPN choice. Otherwise, take a look at the two VPN alternatives below.

Additional research by David Hughes

Alternatives to Mullvad VPN

The new ExpressVPN logo

ExpressVPN

ExpressVPN excels where Mullvad struggles. It works well on most devices, bypasses most geo-blocks, and is very fast across long-distances. Read ExpressVPN review

CyberGhost

CyberGhost

CyberGhost is a better streaming VPN than Mullvad and is the better value for money. Mullvad is pretty expensive for what it offers. Read CyberGhost review

About the Author


  • Simon Migliano Head of Research at Top10VPN

    Simon Migliano

    Simon is a recognized world expert in VPNs. He's tested hundreds of VPN services and his research has featured on the BBC, The New York Times, CNet and more. Read full bio


User Feedback for Mullvad VPN

  • 0 user reviews
  • 0 questions answered