Disclosure: Top10VPN is editorially independent. We may earn commissions if you buy a VPN through links on our site.

VPNArea Review

 100% 
(1 User reviews)
VPNArea screenshot
Headshot of Top10VPN.com Site Editor Callum Tennent

Callum oversees how we test and review VPN services. He's a member of the IAPP, and his advice about VPNs has featured in Forbes and the Internet Society. Read full bio

Ask Callum about VPNArea

Our Verdict

8.58.5/10
How is this calculated?

Our overall rating is reached by combining several subcategories. The subcategories are weighted as follows:

  • Logging & Jurisdiction: 30%
  • Speed & Reliability: 25%
  • Security & Features: 20%
  • Streaming: 10%
  • Torrenting: 5%
  • Ease of Use: 5%
  • Support: 5%

See our full methodology in how we review VPNs.

VPNArea has a strong no-logs privacy policy, tools for bypassing strict censorship, and good features for streaming. It unblocks Netflix, and it works on Fire TV Stick. VPNArea's apps are not the easiest to use, but overall it's a very good VPN.

Ranked #11 out of 68

VPNArea Category Ratings

  • 7.47.4/10
  • 8.98.9/10
  • 9.89.8/10
  • 8.28.2/10
  • 8.58.5/10
  • 9.49.4/10
  • 9.49.4/10
  • 6.46.4/10
  • 9.59.5/10
  • 7.57.5/10

VPNArea Pros & Cons

Pros

  1. Very impressive speeds
  2. Works with US Netflix
  3. Specialized servers for torrenting
  4. No-logs privacy policy
  5. Connect securely to 55 countries

Cons

  1. Short refund period
  2. Unattractive and confusing apps
  3. Small server count

You may not have heard of it, but VPNArea claims to be able to do it all: a secure service that keeps you private, beats online barriers, unlocks streaming content, and more.

We tested it extensively for this VPNArea review to find out:

After hours spent testing VPNArea, our key conclusions are listed below.

VPNArea Key Data

Data CapUnlimited
Speed90Mbps
Logging PolicyNo Logs
Data LeaksNo
JurisdictionBulgaria (EU Member)
Servers165
IP Addresses165+
Countries55
US NetflixYes
TorrentingUnlimited
Works in ChinaYes
Support24/7 Live Chat
Cheapest Price$2.99/mo over 36 Months
Official WebsiteVpnarea.com

Is VPNArea Trustworthy?

Logging Policy & Jurisdiction

9.89.8/10
How is this calculated?

We dissect the logging and privacy policies of every VPN. A VPN should never log:

  • Your real IP address
  • Connection timestamps
  • DNS requests

A base of operations outside of 14-Eyes or EU jurisdiction is preferable.

VPNArea is a true no-logs VPN. In short, this means it can be trusted to keep your internet activity private and hidden from third parties. The main drawback is the lack of third-party audits, but we trust VPNArea's privacy policy.

VPNArea was founded in 2012 and is owned by Bulgarian-based company Offshore Security LTD.

Its headquarters are currently in Varna, Bulgaria, which would usually be a bad choice for a VPN service given it’s subject to intrusive EU surveillance laws and data-sharing agreements.

However VPNArea’s strict no-logs policy means that its jurisdiction is nothing to be concerned about, as even if a third party requested your personal information, VPNArea would not be able to hand it over.

Logging Policy

Most VPNs will claim not to collect any logs, but VPNArea is one of the very few VPN services we’ve reviewed that is truly no-logs.

It does not monitor, record or store “any login dates, timestamps, incoming and outgoing IP addresses, bandwidth statistics or any other identifiable data of any VPN users.” This means nothing you do while connected to VPNArea can be traced back to you.

Consistently fast same-country speeds

Speed & Reliability

8.28.2/10
How is this calculated?

Speed ratings are calculated using upload speeds, download speeds, and ping (latency).

We test average speeds regularly using a dedicated 100Mbps connection in London, UK. Local download speed is considered the most important factor.

VPNArea is fast if you’re mainly planning on connecting to the same country or one nearby. We recorded download speeds of around 90Mbps. However, its international speed performance is poor. Our speeds fell to as low as 4Mbps, which is too slow for streaming or torrenting.

Here are the speed test results we recorded when connected to a nearby VPNArea server:

Local Speed Test results before using VPNArea:

  • Download Speed: 94Mbps
  • Upload Speed: 99Mbps
  • Ping: 3ms

Local Speed Test results with VPNArea:

  • Download Speed: 90Mbps
  • Upload Speed: 93Mbps
  • Ping: 8ms

Download speed loss when VPNArea is running: 4%

VPNArea’s speed performance is very good on local connections.

It’s a strong choice for gamers, too, thanks to its quick same-country latency of just 8ms. It also produced very fast upload speeds, which is ideal for torrenting. Even better, VPNArea’s connections were incredibly reliable with no drops at all.

International Speed Test Results

We also tested VPNArea’s speeds when connected to servers from around the world.

Here are our latest VPNArea international speed test results:

  • USA:
    • Download: 48Mbps
    • Upload: 36Mbps
  • Germany:
    • Download: 77Mbps
    • Upload: 80Mbps
  • Singapore:
    • Download: 12Mbps
    • Upload: 6Mbps
  • Australia:
    • Download: 4Mbps
    • Upload: 2Mbps

For more information on exactly how we measure VPN performance, take a look at How We Test VPNs.

Servers located in 55 countries

Server Locations

8.58.5/10
How is this calculated?

The global spread and coverage of the VPN server network is the most important factor here.

We also consider the number of city-level servers, plus how many IP addresses are maintained.

This rating does not directly contribute to the Overall Rating, but instead makes up a portion of the Security & Features rating.

VPNArea has servers in 55 countries around the world. It offers a decent variety, with dedicated servers for streaming and bypassing censorship. However, there are a total of just 165 servers, which is too few to keep up with demand. Overall, VPNArea's server features are impressive but aren't as good as top VPNs

Globe with a blue flag
55Countries
Image of a city landscape
100+Cities
Image of a pink marker
165+IP Addresses

There are city-level server options in a handful of VPNArea’s locations, with the broadest range of choice in the US. Users located in the US can choose from 42 VPNArea servers spread over 11 different cities, which is great news for performance.

Other countries with city-specific server choice include Australia (five), Canada (four), Italy (three), Spain (two), South Africa (two), and the UK (three).

List of VPNArea server locations

As usual, Europe and North America have the best server coverage, however there’s a lot of choice outside of these regions too, which is refreshing to see. There are no obvious gaps in VPNArea’s server network, but it would be nice to see some more city-level options in the future.

All of VPNArea’s servers are physically located in the region. We prefer this, as it improves security and is more transparent for users. However, it does limit the countries where VPNArea can have servers.

We really like that VPNArea owns and operates its own DNS servers, however we were disappointed by the total number of servers at just 165. There’s also only one shared IP address per server, which can mean bad news for performance, but is also excellent for privacy.

Works with Netflix

Streaming

7.47.4/10
How is this calculated?

Streaming is rated by the number of different services unlocked, how many regional libraries are viewable, and how consistently the VPN can access them.

Netflix, BBC iPlayer, HBO Max, DAZN, and Amazon Prime Video are all tested on a weekly basis.

VPNArea unblocks Netflix on its dedicated servers. We were able to watch the US, Canada, UK, and Italy Netflix libraries. Disappointingly, we weren't able to watch Amazon Prime Video or Hulu, and it only sometimes works with BBC iPlayer.

VPNArea’s dedicated Netflix servers are labeled in the app with “NFLX”. For example, to stream US Netflix, connect to ‘USA-0-NFLX’.

The video and audio quality was fine, but we couldn’t stream in 4K.

VPNArea streaming servers

VPNArea also has a dedicated UK server for streaming BBC iPlayer, but it’s very unreliable and doesn’t always work. Unfortunately, VPNArea wasn’t working with BBC iPlayer in our most recent streaming tests.

We asked VPNArea’s live chat agents when they expected the issue with BBC iPlayer to be resolved, and they told us they didn’t have a timeframe but would be notifying users of the problem. BBC iPlayer fans should therefore use one of these tested and working VPNs instead.

Torrenting allowed on all servers

Torrenting

8.98.9/10
How is this calculated?

We calculate the average download bitrate of every VPN using a bespoke torrenting setup.

Testing also factors in the percentage of servers which permit P2P, plus useful features like port forwarding.

VPNArea is a good VPN for torrenting. In our tests, it has a fast bitrate speed and allowed torrenting on all 165 of its servers. The VPN also has a private logging policy and strong encryption. You can trust VPNArea to keep your P2P activity private.

VPNArea comes with many servers that are optimized for P2P activity.

Combine this with fast local download and upload speeds, no IP or DNS leaks, and a VPN kill switch and you have a very appealing VPN for torrenters.

VPNArea’s solid no-logs policy is another bonus for torrenting, and it works well with Kodi too (here’s their kodi setup guide).

Good for China (desktop-only)

Bypassing Censorship

9.49.4/10
How is this calculated?

Our remote-access server in Shanghai, China routinely tests if a VPN can beat restrictions and access a free, open internet. Obfuscation technologies and nearby servers are also a contributing factor.

This rating does not directly contribute to the Overall Rating, but instead makes up a portion of the Security & Features rating.

VPNArea is a good choice for China. It has X-Stunnel VPN servers in many locations, which will disguise your connection as HTTPS traffic and allow you to bypass state censorship. The only downside is that this is only available on a PC. For mobile, you'll have to use another VPN.

VPNArea offers X-Stunnel servers in China, Japan, Singapore and the US (as well as a few other countries). As a result, you can connect to a nearby location for the best possible speeds.

These X-Stunnel VPN servers are only available on Windows and Mac devices, though, and there are no manual workarounds for iOS or Android. Mobile users should avoid.

VPNArea’s obfuscated servers mean that it’s also a reliable VPN service for those in other countries with oppressive censorship regimes such as Turkey, Saudi Arabia, Iran, and the UAE.

Can be used with tons of different devices, including routers

Platforms & Devices

How is device compatibility rated?

A quality VPN should maintain functional, fully-featured applications and extensions for as many platforms and devices as possible.

This does not directly contribute to the Overall Rating, but instead makes up a portion of the Ease of Use rating.

VPNArea has apps for Windows, MacOS, iOS, Android, as well as internet routers. It’s also available on TV platforms such as Fire TV and Android TV. There are no browser extensions and no Smart DNS tool, though.

Apps

Here’s the full list of platforms that VPNArea can be downloaded on:

  1. Windows Logo
    Windows
  2. Mac Logo
    Mac
  3. iOS Logo
    iOS
  4. Android Logo
    Android
  5. Linux Logo
    Linux
  6. Router Logo
    Router

Games Consoles & Streaming Devices

  1. AppleTV Logo
    AppleTV
  2. Amazon Fire TV Logo
    Amazon Fire TV
  3. Chromecast Logo
    Chromecast
  4. Nintendo Logo
    Nintendo
  5. PlayStation Logo
    PlayStation
  6. Roku Logo
    Roku
  7. Xbox Logo
    Xbox

VPNArea can be used with loads of different games consoles and streaming devices by connecting them to a router running the VPN, as this will automatically protect all of the internet-connected devices in your home.

VPNArea can be installed on Amazon’s Firestick and on Kodi too, with some manual configuration. If you want a simpler setup, take a look at our recommended VPNs for Firestick and Kodi.

VPNArea Kodi and Firestick setup

VPNArea isn’t the best option if you’re looking for a plug-and-play solution for your games console, but it’ll do the job well enough. If you’re looking for something a little more straightforward, take a look at our ExpressVPN review – its MediaStreamer service makes life a lot easier.

If you’re going to be installing VPNArea on individual devices, you can use it on up to six of them at the same time – that’s about the average we see from most VPN services.

Strong privacy features will protect you online

Security & Features

9.49.4/10
How is this calculated?

Top-rated VPNs offer OpenVPN or WireGuard protocols, AES-256 encryption, and a functional kill switch. We also consider additional security features and the global spread of VPN servers.

VPNArea will keep you safe online. The desktop app uses OpenVPN, the most secure VPN protocol. You can also connect using double hop, which is a privacy-enhancing feature that we rarely see from a VPN of this size. VPNArea’s VPN connections are secured using AES-256 encryption.

Protocols
  1. IKEv2/IPSec
  2. OpenVPN (TCP/UDP)
Encryption
  1. AES-256
Security
  1. DNS Leak Blocking
  2. First-party DNS
  3. IPV6 Leak Blocking
  4. Supports TCP Port 443
  5. VPN Kill Switch
  6. WebRTC Leak Blocking
Advanced features
  1. Ad Blocker
  2. Dedicated IP
  3. Double VPN

VPNArea includes a kill switch feature, which protects you from any potential connection drops. It also prevents DNS, IPv6 and WebRTC leaks. Even better, it operates its own zero-log DNS servers to keep your personal information private.

Screenshot of VPNArea's leak test results on browserleaks.com

What we saw on browserleaks.com while connected to VPNArea’s New York server

Additionally, VPNArea operates Double VPN servers, providing you with an extra layer of privacy when you’re connected to the VPN. There’s also a built-in ad-blocker and malware protection.

Port forwarding is available on VPNArea – but you’ll need to get in touch with support to request it be enabled on your account. You can also get a VPNArea dedicated IP for an extra annual fee.

Cluttered apps with some usability flaws

Ease of Use

6.46.4/10
How is this calculated?

This rating mainly consists of the intuitiveness of setup and everyday use.

Device or platform compatibility and customization options are also a factor.

Frankly, VPNArea's apps are ugly and not enjoyable to use. We found the design to be outdated and not fit for 2021. It's easy enough to download and install the app, but we had issues when trying to log in. We recommend avoiding VPNArea if you've never used a VPN before.

How to Install & Set Up VPNArea

VPNArea’s desktop app has some excellent features but also a few annoying quirks that ruined the experience for us a little. There’s no main screen as such, so you’re just redirected to the VPN server list once you’ve logged in.

The VPN server list is split up into useful tabs such as torrenting, streaming and obfuscated – you can sort the servers by distance, speed or percentage load too. The VPN settings all come with simple on/off toggles but we would like the app to include much more contextual information.

24/7 live chat makes up for limited resources

Customer Support

9.59.5/10
How is this calculated?

This rating is based on our assessment of each VPN’s:

  • Email support
  • Live chat support
  • Online resources

Not every VPN offers all of these, and they often vary in quality and response time.

VPNAreas has good customer support, with a wide range of options. Its customer service team is available 24/7 and replied quickly and knowledgeably to our questions. It doesn't come with many online tutorials like some top VPNs, but it's adequate for a VPN of this size.

24/7 Live chat supportYes
Online ResourcesYes

Disappointingly, some of VPNAre’s resources (such as setup guides) are limited to paying customers only.

On the website, there are loads of in-depth FAQs covering a variety of topics from encryption to the security of different VPN protocols.

We were pleasantly surprised that VPNArea offers a genuinely 24/7 live chat feature with friendly, helpful agents. We always received a response within a matter of minutes, too.

Longest plan is excellent value for money

Price & Value for Money

7.57.5/10
How is this calculated?

Price & Value for Money receives a rating, but is not factored into our Overall Rating. We believe the reader should decide what is or isn’t a reasonable price.

A good rating here isn’t just based on how cheap the VPN is, but for the value it offers overall.

VPNArea is a fairly cheap provider in comparison to other VPN services of a similar quality.  VPNArea’s monthly plan is the most expensive option at $9.90, but you can drop this right down to $2.99 on the three-year plan, saving you 70%.

Here are VPNArea’s subscription options in full:

  1. Monthly

    US$9.90/mo

    Billed $9.90 every month
  2. 12 months

    US$4.92/mo

    Billed $59.00 every 12 months
    Save 50%
  3. 3 years

    US$2.99/mo

    Billed $107.64 every 3 years
    Save 70%

All plans have 7-day money-back guarantee

Payment & Refund Options

  1. Alipay logo
    Alipay
  2. American Express logo
    American Express
  3. Bitcoin logo
    Bitcoin
  4. Bitcoin Cash logo
    Bitcoin Cash
  5. Mastercard logo
    Mastercard
  6. PayPal logo
    PayPal
  7. UnionPay logo
    UnionPay
  8. Visa logo
    Visa

VPNArea offers loads of different payment options, including all major credit and debit cards, PayPal and Bitcoin. You can also pay using a ton of international methods, such as WebMoney, Alipay and Hipercard, which is great for those living abroad.

VPNArea doesn’t provide a free trial, but instead offers a ‘no questions asked’ money-back guarantee, which is a different length depending on the plan you signed up for. The 12-month and three-year subscriptions come with a 30-day refund period, whereas the 1-month option is 14 days.

In order to apply for a refund, all you have to do is contact VPNArea via live chat or email, and your refund will be sent to you within 48 hours (VPNArea claims that 98% of users receive their refund within just 15 hours).

Do We Recommend VPNArea?

The Bottom Line

VPNArea is something of a hidden gem. It’s far from the most popular VPN on the market, but we have no hesitation in recommending VPNArea.

It’s not perfect (the app can be frustrating at times), but VPNArea’s excellent list of features and super-secure logging policy are real highlights.

Alternatives to VPNArea

The new ExpressVPN logo

ExpressVPN

9.79.7/10

ExpressVPN excels in most areas, but it's an especially good choice if you don't want to have to worry about a frustrating or clunky app - ExpressVPN is as easy to use as they come. Read ExpressVPN review

CyberGhost

CyberGhost

9.29.2/10

Put off by VPNArea's inconsistency with BBC iPlayer? CyberGhost is a super cost-effective way to access iPlayer, not to mention tons of other popular streaming services. Read CyberGhost review

About the Author


  • Headshot of Top10VPN.com Site Editor Callum Tennent

    Callum Tennent

    Callum oversees how we test and review VPN services. He's a member of the IAPP, and his advice about VPNs has featured in Forbes and the Internet Society. Read full bio


User Feedback for VPNArea